Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992


Bedrooms 2
Separate WCs1
Space 1,400 sq ft
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 6 nights


About the property

2-Story 2BR/2.5BA Townhome w/ private yard & Community Pool in Truman Annex.

'Sea Captain’s Haven' is an immaculately furnished villa at the Porter Court Complex in Truman Annex, Key West’s most desirable gated community, right in the middle of Old Town. You’ll be close to all of the Key West’s best restaurants and attractions, including Mallory Square and Fort Zachary Taylor State Park.


This home has been meticulously designed to make the most of every square foot of space. There are clever built-ins everywhere and the walls are rich with the art you might expect to see in a sea captain’s home. There is plenty of seating for the whole crew, and while you might not expect a large flat screen TV in a sea captain’s house, it’s there nonetheless. French doors open to a very private deck with chaises and outdoor dining. If you prefer to eat indoors, there is a dining area situated comfortably in the bay window, with seating for six. The gourmet kitchen is a model of efficiency, with every appliance a good chef would need. The sofa converts to a queen bed, and there is a powder room for the convenience of your guests.


The pool area is spacious, and is furnished with plenty of chaises, chairs, and dining tables with umbrellas. The pool itself is large enough to swim laps, and there is a large Jacuzzi, too. If you want to feel the sand between your toes, Fort Zachary Taylor Park is just down the block, with the prettiest beach in Key West.


Upstairs, the first bedroom has a flat screen TV, overhead fan and two twins that can convert to a king bed. The bathroom has a shower and also accommodates a washer/dryer. The master bedroom has a flat screen TV, overhead fan and a king bed. This bedroom also has a desk and chair. The en-suite bathroom has a very large custom shower.


Flat screen TV's in living room and both bedrooms, Broadband Wi-Fi Interent Access, Community Pool, Jacuzzi, Stereo/CD, DVD, Dishwasher, Washer/Dryer, Microwave, Stove/Oven, Air Conditioning/Heat, Alarm Clock, Phone, Blender, Toaster, Coffee Maker, Ice Maker, Iron & Ironing Board, Blow Dryer, Ceiling Fans, Pots/Pans/Cutlery, Bed Linens, Beach Towels.


As a Vacation Rental Broker, we will do everything possible to assure you of a memorable and thoroughly enjoyable stay while you are in one of the homes we manage. Our job is to make sure each home has been maintained to an exceptional standard and has no defects or problems that will spoil your stay. If there is a problem, we pride ourselves in our ability to address and solve that problem before it has intruded on your vacation experience. And in these uncertain times, you'll have added peace of mind knowing that the rental funds you have paid in advance will remain in a secure escrow fund until the day you enter your vacation home.


As your Key West real estate company, we can assist you in making your dream of home ownership in paradise a reality while maintaining the highest level of integrity during the property buying process. As your Exclusive Buyer's Broker we will do our utmost to discover assets and/or defects of a given home or parcel. We will negotiate only on on the buyer’s behalf for the best price and term, using every legal and ethical device to obtain the most favorable outcome for the buyer through every step in the property buying process. And that is our commitment, for each and every client we serve, on every transaction we oversee.

More Details

Property Manager
Last Key Realty
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English, French, Spanish, Czech
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a few hours
Calendar last updated:
18 June, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday townhome in Old Town in Key West

Property Type:
  • townhome
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • villa
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • city centre
  • near the sea
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Second Bathroom - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Downstairs Half Bathroom - Toilet
    Master Bathroom - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Living room - Queen sleep sofa
    Master Bedroom - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Second Bedroom - 2 Single Bed , Twins convert to King upon request
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Gated Community
  • Barbecue
  • Patio
  • Veranda
  • Terrace
  • veranda
  • Wood Decking
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(38 traveller reviews)

84% Complete
13% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
average rating of 4.7894735 based on 38 reviews

Poor location within Truman Annex

  • 2 of 5

The location alone is why I would never rent this condo again. It backs up to the US post office parking lot and it is incredibly noisy. You could not sleep with the windows open and during the day it was too loud to go out and enjoy the patio at the back. Also, the pool was supposed to be heated but was only 78°. The owners association controls that, not your rental agent. One resident told me it’s usually 88° but someone had turned off the heat… go figure, but we never swam the whole week because of the cool temperature and the fact that the pool is shaded at least half of the day . Bbbrrrrrt. Before you rent in Truman Annex, get a map of the area and avoid renting next to the post office parking lot or the county parking lot. There are some lovely locations within Truman Annex but not those who border these two areas.

  • Review Submitted: 22-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: What a disappointing review to receive, for multiple reasons. First off, we wish Susan had brought the pool temperature issue to our attention while she was here in residence because while we do not physically control the temperature we certainly have the ability to get involved with the HOA Management company to have the temperature changed - but we can only do that if we are notified by our guest that this is needed. As far as the post office noise, we are in process of implementing a solution to this issue: sound proof windows and panels are being installed in this home to alleviate the noise from the post office that has been reported by this and other guests. After 6 years of renting with no complaints this situation has only arisen this winter since Amazon started working through the post office now, with 24/7 activity. Future guests should not experience the same noise level and are encouraged to call us immediately if an issue such as the pool temperature arises so we may address while you are here versus responding to an after the fact review. We will always do everything in our power to resolve your issues so you can enjoy your time in Key West!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great expectations met in Key West Home

  • 5 of 5

Lovely town house in private enclave in the Truman Annex. Great place to escape the bad weather and winter blues. Exceeded our expectations.

  • Review Submitted: 20-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Exactly as advertised!

  • 4 of 5

The property was exactly as pictured and had most everything we needed. Our concierge was on the spot with anything we requested. Totally happy with the property, Amanda and John.

Only 4 stars due to the early morning rumble from the post office carts next door. Was not aware of that and was the only flaw in our stay. 5 stars for the property itself!

  • Review Submitted: 23-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for this review and we are so happy to hear your stay met your expectations. We are in process of implementing a solution to the post office noise issue: sound proof windows and panels are being installed in this home to alleviate the noise from the post office that has been reported by this and other guests. Future guests should not experience the same noise level.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing property...but..

  • 4 of 5

The property is just beautiful and immaculate!! Amanda could not have done more to make our stay just amazing and worry free!! She took care of everything and answered calls immediately whenever we had any concerns or issues. She even had a birthday celebration all laid out for our friend Jeff! We love Key West and the Truman Annex.

The USPS facility for the lower Keys is right over the fence from the deck. So, so noisy early in the am to about 9 or 10. If you’re an early riser, you might be ok.

The other issue is the neighbors. They clearly DO NOT want renters in their lovely enclave. Several folks were down right rude!! Way too much time on their hands. But overall, we had a great Key West experience!

  • Review Submitted: 18-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love to hear that Amanda took great care of these guests and made their Key West vacation extra special. As far as the post office noise, we are in process of implementing a solution to this issue: sound proof windows and panels are being installed in this home to alleviate the noise from the post office that has been reported by this and other guests. Future guests should not experience the same noise level. We are disappointed to hear there was negative interaction with the neighbors and have brought this to the HOA's attention in hopes of preventing this type of issue in the future, but any guest staying with us is encouraged to tell Amanda (or any Guest Services Coordinator on our team) about an interaction like this with a neighbor and we will do whatever is within our power to resolve the issue while you are in residence.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5

Very pretty setting, tasteful and well appointed, stocked kitchen and baths. Thoughtful and delicious welcoming gifts and even our favorite wine. Well maintained and very prompt attention to any needs. Concierge and hostess were right on with reservations and recommendations. Weather was perfect and the patio retreat was hard to leave. Short walk to Duval St and the whole downtown, museums and attractions-only used our car 3 times and once was to pick up family at the airport. Our week flew by and look forward to returning. Highly recommend this charming place.

  • Review Submitted: 20-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very nice! Great location!

  • 5 of 5

Condo was very nice, well-equipped and having a pool right outside your door was excellent. Would stay here again in a minute.

  • Review Submitted: 31-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
2 Miles
Key West International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
The Green Parrot
Nearest Ferry
0.9 Miles
Key West Bight Ferry Terminal
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Key West Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
0.2 Miles
US 1
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Charlie Mac's
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Ft. Zachary Taylor State Park
Car: not necessary


Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question