HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Old Hawaii At Its VERY Best – Secluded Home with Private Warm Pond

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,000 sq ft
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 6

Old Hawaii At Its VERY Best – With A Private Warm Pond!!!

The Rabbit and Dragon cottage is old Hawaii at its best. It is located in a secluded, quiet, gated community in Kapoho and features its own thermally heated, crystal-clear pool fed by the ocean in the backyard. As you open the windows, you feel the cool, consistent breezes coming through this cottage from the Pacific. It is conveniently located to all of nature’s wonders. The infamous Champagne Pond, where you can swim with the sea turtles, is a two-minute walk.

With a view of your private pool from the back lanai that stretches across the entire back of the house, relaxing and enjoying the wonderful weather that Kapoho has to offer is a must. The cottage sleeps six comfortably and has two full bathrooms. It has large indoor/outdoor living areas that make finding your own special space easy to do. A private, master bedroom and bath compliment this home beautifully.

The living/dining/kitchen area have a very open feeling wonderful for cooking, dining, and some TV watching. The large indoor/outdoor porch make entertaining an absolute breeze. 

Your Own Private 90 degree swimmable pond

Snorkeling & Swimming Only A 3 Minute Walk

2 Bedrooms 2 Baths (Sleeps 6)

Beds: 2 Queen, 1 Daybed (2 Twins)

All Cooking Utensils

Microwave

Full Kitchen

Broadband Internet w/Wifi

Satellite Television

Telephone/Free Long Distance

DVD/CD Player

Washer & Dryer

BBQ Grill

Many Restaurants Close

No Smoking

No Pets

Hilo 35 min.

Kilauea 45 min.

Rates are for double occupancy. Add $25 per additional person, plus 14.416% Hawaii State taxes. Cleaning and other fees will also apply.

TA-151-590-2976-01 24hr contact

More Details

Property Manager
Jeana Jones
Member since: 2003
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
21 April, 2018

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in the Kapoho in the Kapoho

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Catering available
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • 2 Queen beds, 1 Sofa Bed, 1 Full bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Golf
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Water Sports Gear
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • caving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(19 traveller reviews)

84% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
Old Hawaii At Its VERY Best – Secluded Home with Private Warm Pond
average rating of 4.6842103 based on 19 reviews
Wyandotte, MI
5

Perfect Hawaii Vacation Spot

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Very nice place, with lots of room. Very private and pleasant spot. Really loved the private spring feed pool. The outside deck was special too. We hope to return.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha! We are so happy to hear you had everything you needed for a great stay with us! The private spring fed pool is definitely a special feature and it sounds like you enjoyed the spacious privacy of this location. Thank you so much for the excellent review and recommendation! We appreciate you being such pleasant guests and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Croydon, XX
5

Rabbit & Dragon rocks:)

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Such a relaxing stay after being on the go for 3 weeks holidaying on mainland USA. Good access to Champagne Ponds, Tidal ponds with bohemic Pahoa township only 20 mins away. Great having a tidal pool in the backyard. House was clean and spacious.Such great memories of our stay.

  • Review Submitted: 31-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha! Thank you for your great review and recommendation. We are very happy to hear you were able to unwind and relax during your stay with us. It sounds like you were able to enjoy this home as well as some of the surrounding areas. Mahalo for being such pleasant guests and we look forward to seeing you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
El Cerrito, CA
4

Good location and nice house that needs a bit of attention

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The location is very nice. Its about a 1 minute walk to Champagne pond, which is a great swimming place. The neighborhood is nice to walk around and people are very friendly. It is remote, but not too far from Pahoa, where there are restaurants, a good bakery, and Long's. The house itself is cute, but unfortunately not very clean and needs some general upkeep. We had to sweep the floor when we got there and the linoleum is worn through to the floorboards in spots. The sheets in the back bedroom are threadbare. The kitchen is minimally stocked with a random assortment of well-used supplies. I understand its a beach rental, and we were able to cook most meals in, but a basic set of pots, pans and utensils would make it alot nicer. Overall it seems like a small amount of time and money could go a long ways toward making this house as nice as it could be.

  • Review Submitted: 21-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: Hawaii Life Vacations
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Honolulu, HI
5

The lessor known

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Perfect, the steps into the pool could use some attention but were perfectly serviceable, the house and facilities are Hawaii beach house and well appointed. We had no complaints. Having a rather large private crystal clear warm water spring in the back yard was awesome. Incredibly no mosquitoes no bugs, great location.

  • Review Submitted: 30-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: Hawaii Life Vacations
Owner's Response: Aloha! Thank you so much for your great review! We are so happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and you were able to enjoy the location without having to deal with any pesky mosquitoes! Mahalo for being such great guests, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Charleston, WV
5

Best kept secret

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Love this place. Been there 5 years. Thermal pond really rocks!

  • Review Submitted: 16-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: January 2017
  • Source: Hawaii Life Vacations
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Central Point, OR
1

Still waiting

  • 1 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very unhelpful.

The vacation rental was very dirty.

I was very unhappy with the location.

I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We stayed at Rabbit and Dragon on Jan 5 -12 and although we enjoyed our stay we have still not received the return of our damage deposi.

  • Review Submitted: 20-Feb-2017
  • Date of Stay: January 2017
  • Source: Hawaii Life Vacations
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals