HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Luxurious Log Cabin Retreat Near Moab and Red Rock Canyons!

Bedrooms 3
Space 3,300 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 8)

This luxurious Moab Hideaway, just 15 miles southeast of Moab, offers complete privacy with stunning views of snow-capped mountains, red rock, and green pasture---red rocks views from the entry porch, green pasture off the front porch and 12,482' Mt. Tukuhnikivatz off the back porch. Perfect recreation location with Arches and Canyonlands National Parks a short drive away, and rafting, hiking, mountain biking and a host of other activities nearby. Superb views of the Moab Rim and nearby La Sal Mountains and their more-than-12,000-foot peaks abound on this amazing property. This log and stone residence is situated on 1.5 acres on a hillside overlooking the Pack Creek Ranch. Enveloped by native pinion, juniper and sage, flooding the 3,344 square foot interior with the aroma of the southwestern desert, you will enjoy a superior resort experience at this elegant and comfortable retreat.

The home has in-floor radiant heating as well as Mitsubishi air conditioning and heating, lovely flagstone floors, stereo-system with Sonos amp and built-in speakers in several rooms. The lower level includes a family room with fireplace, a wet bar, and a walkout to a patio, perfect for an evening of entertaining or unwinding after a day of activity. A separate game room with piano and ping-pong table is located on the lower level for hours of recreation.

The main-level master suite has a vaulted log ceiling, French doors, a walkout to the south-side patio, and a heavenly king bed. The second bedroom doubles as an office with a Pottery Barn Deluxe queen sofa bed. The lower-level bedroom with queen bed has access to the fresh desert air through the French door that opens to a patio.

Flagstone patios on the north, south and west gird the home, and a beautiful wood deck extends from the north side of the living room. A detached oversized garage houses bicycles, inflatable kayak and hiking gear, which is available for your use during your stay. We cannot accept bookings for travelers with trailers.

More Details

Robert Thompson
Member since: 2011
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
18 October, 2017

About Robert Thompson

We built this home in 1992 and only the best craftsmen worked on our home in the Pack Creek Ranch enclave. We designed the home with patios or decks on three sides because the home is at the base of the La Sal mountains, nestled among the Pinyon-Junipers with superb views in every direction.  We love coming here to hike, canoe, bicycle and just relax -- we hope you do too!  Guy and Jeanine

Robert Thompson purchased this house in 1992


Car: necessary

15 miles from Moab, 30 minutes from Arches National Park, 20 minutes from the Colorado River and an hour from Canyonlands National Park. If you are interested in hiking in red rock canyons, it is located in a phenomenal spot.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Moab in Grand County

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 3300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Monument View ...
  • mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • rural
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Full 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Jacuzzi
    Full 2 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , w/ private patio and view
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , w/ private patio
    Game Room - 1 Large Double Bed , w/ LaCrosse queen sofa bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , w/ $3,000 Pottery Barn sofa bed, spectacular mountain views
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Player
  • Video Library
  • Terrace ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Barbecue
  • Wood Decking
  • autumn foliage
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • Parasailing
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • sailing
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
Nightly rate is based on 6 people. Add $25/night/person fee for the number over six, no more than 8. Example: a party of 8 would incur a $50/night additional fee on top of the nightly rental rate. Holidays are a 4-night minimum and rates may be higher.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(44 traveller reviews)

86% Complete
6% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
Luxurious Log Cabin Retreat Near Moab and Red Rock Canyons!
average rating of 4.7272725 based on 44 reviews

The house is a gem. Great views, few neighbors, quality furnishings and perfect distance from town

  • 5 of 5

The house is architecturally appealing and located on the foothills of some impressive mountains. Views everywhere. Great retreat from the hive of activity in town after a long day in the outdoors. Fully stocked kitchen made it easy to cook. Shelly, our house manager, was always reachable if we had questions. The sofa bed in the 3rd bedroom is as good as they get, but still a sofa bed and very firm, so keep that in mind. If the owner is thinking about any further upgrades, I'd vote for a hot tub. Would definitely return regardless.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 9, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

What a spectacular home and setting! An amazing property with all the right touches

  • 5 of 5

We so enjoyed the pristine beauty and solitude. The night sky was stunning. The home is so very special that we decided to buy it! We will add our own touch with art, textiles and pottery. We will ensure everything to be turn key for our future guests. Come and enjoy the Moab HideAway.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Two stars for great location and incredible views, but very poor maintenance.

  • 2 of 5

When we arrived we found nowhere to wipe our feet/shoes from the sandy driveway, so as we do in our home, we took off our shoes and within 30 minutes our socks were black, the flagstone floor does not appear to have been cleaned in sometime. After coming driving in from Capitol Reef we decided to eat before grocery shopping; the eating utensils and glasses were dirty or stained and needed to be cleaned; and the drawer holding the utensils was full of food particles and the pots and pans were also filthy.

We were also disappointed in the cleanliness of the back porch which we swept off and the cushions were filthy, there were cashew shells all over the porch floor. We were out on the front deck and I put my hand through the rotten wood on the banister; this seems very unsafe.

The towels and linens were very old and felt like sandpaper, as were the sheets; these items should be of much better quality and changed out periodically. The lower level bathroom hot water takes two hands to turn on and seems as if it will break at any moment. Don't be fooled by the pictures, there are no flowers and most of the bushes were dead.

On our last night we had quite a time, both my husband and I tripped on the last stair tread, we are both athletic but after it happened to both of us we realized the last stair tread is not as wide as the others and not up to code, I did not get hurt but my husband cut his knuckles and bruised his shoulder; so be careful on the last step when going downstairs.

At the end of the night I stepped on something odd in the upstairs bathroom and found it to be a recently born baby mouse, no hair on it just pink skin which means his mother was probably still in the house; 30 minutes later we encountered mom in the upstairs living room. It wasn’t until the next day after we reached our next destination that we found mom had eaten the bread (not sure what else she ate since we made our sandwiches for the ride) which was on the counter sealed up tight. This is our 10th VRBO home we have rented always with good results but this home was very disappointing. We were reimbursed our cleaning fee by the Owners, but we stand by this review; this was a poorly maintained home.

  • Review Submitted: May 25, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are terribly sorry, we have hired a new cleaning service. The fall colors in the photos are spectacular and a wonderful time to visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Owner tried to squeeze more cleaning fees sayings didn't leave place clean. I had photos to prove

  • 1 of 5

Great place, but be wary of the owner. He uses "alternative facts."

  • Review Submitted: May 4, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Chris, the invoice we sent for $50 (which you still have not paid) was to help cover the cleaning costs for the excessive mess your group left behind. Note, this is the first time we have sent an invoice for additional cleaning in all the years we have been on the platform. Your group left behind a bunch of CDs as well, please reach out so we can get those back to you. Best, Robert
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Secluded and quiet in a architecturally fitting home to its surroundings. Just lovely and serene.

  • 5 of 5

One criticism is that the glassware is limited. More small glassware needed.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 25, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Hidden Gem

  • 4 of 5

We came out with our son to visit the Parks and celebrate his 18th birthday. The house is beautiful, set beneath the LaSal mountains, and surrounded by deer. Two nice bedrooms - perfect for us.

If I'm being picky I would mention 3 things. First, it is a hide-away, meaning it's 25 minutes of driving to the center of Moab. You're in the west so it's pretty much a long drive to everywhere, but if you want busy Moab, this isn't it.

We had a number of lights out at the house, particularly on the path leading to the house. When the caretaker called I mentioned this and they were fixed right away. Good thing because it's mighty dark here at night.

Finally, the drive from Moab requires vigilance or you will have a deer in your grill. We saw deer on every trip to or from town, and about half the time they were crossing the road.

All in all, we enjoyed the house and the area very much.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 4, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Moab, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
21 Nov 2017 - 27 Nov 2017
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
20 Dec 2017 - 1 Jan 2018
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
Easter Jeep
23 Mar 2018 - 1 Apr 2018
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
25 May 2018 - 28 May 2018
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £113.73
Refundable Damage Deposit £379.1
Tax Rate 10.45%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enquire Now

You might like these similar holiday rentals