Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Fantastic first tier Gulf Views , Pool with screen Lanai, Kids Loft, Open Plan

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,200 sq ft
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms (Sleeps 7)

The upstairs unit of a spectacular duplex. 2017 heated in-ground Pool with leni! (heating pool is an additional fee, see rate table). Renovated 2017, great open space floor plan with 2 bedrooms and a kids loft with 2 built-in bunks. The kitchen has everything you need for your week at the beach with breakfast bar with 4 bar stools, plus dining room table which seats 8. Lots of seating in the living room and a game table for the kids.

The deck is half screened and half open sun deck. Screened area has dining table, wonderful spot for morning coffee or afternoon cocktails.

The master bedroom has a king bed, private bath with large walk-in shower. The queen bedroom also includes bunk beds and opens onto hall full bath.

You can also rent Salty Dog on the Rocks (VRBO 971434) for larger groups

More Details

Property Manager
Dawn Lounsbury
Member since: 2008
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
21 July, 2018

About Dawn Lounsbury

We are from Ft Lauderdale and plan to retire to the Forgotten Coast in a few years. We love life on the water and near the water. You can find us fishing or hanging on the beach.

Why Dawn Lounsbury chose Port St. Joe

Salty Dog is an awesome home away from home with actually 2 homes in one. A complete unit down and a complete home up so that we can stay in one unit and have friends stay with their own space. The best of both worlds.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday townhome in Port St. Joe in Gulf County

Property Type:
  • townhome
  • floor 2
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • A late check-out fee of $100/half hour will be assessed after 10am
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 2 full baths
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • King Bedroom - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , King bedroom with private bath and TV.
    Queen Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed
    Open loft - 2 Single Bed
  • The master bedroom has a king bed and a private bath, the second bedroom has a queen bed and single bunk beds. There is a sleeper sofa and a children's loft area with 2 child size beds. Loft is accessible by ladder to be used with supervision.
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Terrace ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(13 traveller reviews)

84% Complete
15% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Fantastic first tier Gulf Views , Pool with screen Lanai, Kids Loft, Open Plan
average rating of 4.8461537 based on 13 reviews
Bossier City

Great House. Loved the location, pool was great after a day at the beach. Will stay again!

  • 5 of 5

House was clean and nicely remodeled. Short walk to and from the beach. Amazing screened and open deck to watch the waves from the house. Owner and Manager very nice. Will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Review Submitted: 10-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Quick beach access & calm atmosphere

  • 5 of 5

This was our first time staying in this location. We have previously stayed on St. George and loved it. This location provided a similar atmosphere. The beaches are calm, not overcrowded. We enjoyed eating at local restaurants in Port Saint Joe and Apalachicola, as well as the Indian Pass Raw Bar.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time and we even met and enjoyed talking with the owners.

We caught crabs and cooked them, starfish, and even sand dollars. We all enjoyed our stay. We’ll be back, soon.

  • Review Submitted: 02-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Metairie, LA

Amazing for a family or just a get away for a couple with their dogs!!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in the upstairs unit and honestly, it was too big for just us two humans and 2 basset hounds and it was a pain to bring them up and down but we chose to bring them and rented the upstairs so it's nothing on the property! The house was amazing. It would be perfect for a big family with kids and dogs. It was super dog friendly. Our dogs get on our sofa at home so it was nice that they had covers specifically for the dogs so that the sofas wouldn't get dog hair everywhere. The beach was AWESOME. It was just a short walk from the house and it was so quaint and peaceful. It wasn't packed at all and nothing like the beaches you saw on your way to Port St. Joe. Strict leash laws though on the beach. The fur babies loved the beach and it was perfect timing since our older basset hound just had her right eye removed due to glaucoma and the younger one loved the water. Bring some poop bags with you though because I didn't see too many areas with poop bags on the beach. They also had a pool in the back but we didn't really use it. We did have to refill the propane tank though one night for the grill but we got compensated for it. It's about 10-20 mins of a drive for the different grocery stores around here. The property managers were easily accessible and always answered their phone at any time. HIGHLY recommend this place for any couple or family wanting to bring their fur babies with them. Multiple areas to lounge and sit around. 2 patio areas (1 covered with a fan),a nice sized dining table, large living room and good size kitchen. Everything was clean and perfect. Wifi router worked fine after we reset it and because it was a smart TV you could log into your netflix if you wanted to watch it. Reception is poor but who cares if you're having fun on the beach. Again, I highly recommend it and we will be back again!!

  • Review Submitted: 02-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

The house is one of the nicest we have ever stayed in. Even though it is across the road from the beach there is a perfect view of it. The house was nice and clean. Lots of nice dishes and pots and pans. The beds were very comfortable. Loved sitting out on the screened in porch and having my first cup of coffee. Will stay here again. I would totally recommend this home.

The layout of the kitchen dining room and living room is great for entertaining. We all had the best time ever at this home. It felt like a home away from home.

  • Review Submitted: 12-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very nice home with great view of the gulf.

  • 4 of 5

We stayed in the upper level portion of this duplex. Very spacious, beautifully decorated and very clean. There is a gorgeous view of the gulf from the living room and balcony. The pool is very nice and well maintained. The beach here is beautiful - very wide and powdery fine sand.

The only reason I'm giving this property 4 stars instead of 5, is because I had no cell phone connectivity there. My carrier is ATT, so I don't know if it would be different for another carrier. This wouldn't have been a big deal, except that the internet was also out for our entire week. The managers were very apologetic and did reimburse us for the loss of the internet. If you are looking for a very quiet, sparsely populated beach experience - also pet friendly - this is a very nice place.

  • Review Submitted: 03-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for you patience during your stay, We have had many issues with Mediacom and you guys actually helped us finally get our issues fixed. You guys were amazing guests and we look forward to your next visit. Everything is working great now. Dawn & John
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £140.86
Pet Fee £83.75
Refundable Damage Deposit £152.28

Pool heat is optional. If you would like to have the pool heated during your stay there is a $15/day charge.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals