BUSBEES RETREAT is your dream vacation home! Unwind in this spacious, cozy lakeside retreat located on the private side of Lake Anna! This 6,000 sq ft. estate on acreage is beautifully decorated and has all brand new furniture and mattresses. Spend your days relaxing at the water’s edge on the private dock, and your evenings roasting marshmallows gathered around the built-in stone fire-pit. Located in a deep water short cove, you can swim and float in peace without concern of boats or interrupting wakes. Brand new kayaks and canoes are available for use in the boat house. The water levels stay high all year round, the depth at the dock ladder is approximately 8’ and at the end of dock is 15’+. With a sprawling floor plan, enjoy the lakeside view from almost every room! The great room includes a curved UHD 65” tv, perfect for watching movies with the entire group. Enjoy 4 master suites, 3 with an en suite bathroom, 1 with the bathroom located right outside the bedroom. The children will have a blast in the “Bunkie Room” furnished with 3 brand new bunk beds and mattresses. The walk-out basement is a perfect entertaining area with a 60” tv, a game room including a pool table, poker table, shuffle board, dart board, Wii, PS-3, tons of board games and DVDs! Cook your meals in this oversized kitchen, fully equipped with all the dishes and cookware you will need. The double oven, built in wine cooler, and additional island seating makes this kitchen welcoming and accessible for all of our guests! Create unforgettable vacation memories that will last a lifetime in this gorgeous lake home!
- House6000 sq. ft.
- Separate WCs0
- Min. Stay2 - 7 nights
- Calendar last updated:
- 21 Oct 2018
Why Julea Morin chose Bumpass
This is a family home where we share many wonderful memories. We are so glad to be able to open our doors to your family where you can do the same!
What makes this House unique
Tucked back in its private cove, enjoy the peacefulness of the lake from the dock, hammock, or two balconies.
100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date. 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
This experience was absolutely amazing. The owners are some of the kindest, most accommodating people I've ever come into contact with. My friends and family go to Lake Anna every year at the end of summer, and we pretty much all agreed that this was the nicest home we've stayed at yet. The house was beautiful, with fresh, clean sheets laid out for us to use. The boathouse had lots of fun things to use in the water, which was perfectly warm since we were on the private side of the lake. Overall, the vacation was a dream. A HUGE thanks to the homeowners for letting us stay in this paradise.
Everyone enjoyed staying in this beautiful, spacious home!
This home is beautifully decorated and clean. Basement area was great for kids to play in the large living room area and adults had plenty of entertainment in the game room. Lots of rooms/beds that were clean and comfy. Kitchen is big and had all that plates, cups, and utensils needed with pots/pans. Dinning area fits 8 comfortably, but there were extra chairs and tables for use. Outdoors area was beautiful and has a fire pit that we used for s’mores. Everything worked as far as electrical and water except the basement tv remote control, had to turn on and change channels using actual tv. But aside from that tiny thing, we loved it and can’t wait to come back next year!
Our family of 16 had lots of room to enjoy. Plenty of quiet spaces for private time as well.
Our family of 16, from a 3 yo to an 88 yo, we’re never bored. Kayaking and fishing, bonfire and relaxing by the water. Lots of swimming and plenty of room for games. Some played golf, disc golf, wine tours and hiking at the State Park. Beautiful house.
Spider Haven --never again!!!
Home was as depicted in photos on the inside however exterior was greatly neglected. House is covered in spider webs, gutters are over flowing with leaves and debris, and siding has mold. The lake is unbearably hot! Lake Anna is used as cooling basin for the nuclear power plant and the water temperature during our stay last week was between 90-100 degrees. It was not refreshing and actually hotter than the air temperature. The listing reports there are 2 canoes but there was only one when we arrived. The stairs down to the dock are plentiful and dangerous and no railings, do not advise for elderly or toddlers.
On the inside of the home there is an old garage refrigerator did not get cold enough to maintain food. We could only use it for the kids drinks leaving 17 people with only small side by side in the kitchen. Not nearly enough room for a weeks worth of food. The dinning room table only seats 8 so we had to eat in sifts. There is a folding table but no place to set it up unless you wanted to eat in the garage with all the bugs and spiders. The dish network did not work until the day before check out. We spent 2 days with out running water and only intermittent electricity that had us all afraid the a fire would break out. The well pump went bad and took 2 days to fix with no compensation by the owners for our inconveniences. The hot water heater is far too small the house. Even with staggering showers (when we finally got water back) everyone ended up with cold showers. Landscaping crew showed up unannounced to mow on the Friday prior to check out (check out was on sat) and mowed while we were trying to eat outside kicking dirt and dust all over the deck. Would not ever rent here again!!
Hi Allison! We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay! As we had discussed previously, the issues with the water pump was a result of the severe thunderstorm that occurred during your stay, knocking out the power. When the full-house back up generator kicked on, it blew a fuse directly wired to the pump (the pump was less than a year old so was not bad). We had someone out there within hours to fix the issue, which ultimately required a master electrician. Our 150 gallon water heater is more than adequate for the amount of guests we allow, the water heater just needed a few hours to heat back up once the pump was restored. Being that the house is located in the woods, spider webs and debris does naturally accumulate, and we do have the entire property on a 6 month power washing schedule (the house/gazebo/dock, etc has been power washed since your stay). The private side of the lake is the warm side (the lake is divided between the public (cold side) and private (warm side), so we are sorry if the water was too warm for your liking. The stairs leading down to the dock, while plentiful, are exactly as depicted in our photos. With care, they have never been an issue for our family, consisting of 3 small children. You are correct that the dining room table seats 8 (as described in the listing), and we feel that there is plenty of room to set up the folding table and chairs in the family room (located right off of the kitchen which many of guests have done in the past). We did previously have 2 canoes, but 1 was recently damaged and I had not updated that on the listing yet, I am very sorry for the inconvenience! The garage fridge is less than a year old and we had not had any previous complaints about it not holding temperature so we will have someone out to check that right away, thank you for brining that to our attention! During the summer, our house is rented every single day, so in order to maintain the yard, landscapers need to come out during guests' stays, we are very sorry they disrupted your meal however. We were more than happy to provide complimentary fresh linens (all sheets, towels, bath mats, etc were replaced within one hour of your request), and did offer a substantial credit for a future stay because of the inconvenience of the water pump issue. We are sorry if that was not adequate enough for you. We greatly appreciate your feedback, and I hope I was able to clear up some of the concerns you had! Thank you again for your stay.
The house was perfect for our family. Big and Beautiful!
Everyone had so much fun! Lots of space for outside games. The dock was great and Everyone had a wonderful time! What a joy it is to hear the grandchildren say, this place is Great 👍🏼 and the adults too. They all told Pop Pop & Nana “Thank You” many times! God is Good All The Time! We would highly recommend Busbees Retreat, an amazing place! God Bless You, The Winters
55th anniversary celebration
Loved our stay with 13 of our family. Lots or room and great accommodations. Enjoyed the canoe, kayaks and many floats as we spent a lot of time on the dock. Boys liked playing pool. Lots to do inside and out. The 6000 sq ft house was very very nice.
Additional pricing information
Linen Service Included Weekly Rentals / Summer Season Rentals: Check-In is 4:00 pm on Check-in day Check-Out is 10:00 am on Check-out day Weekend Rentals: Check-In is 11:00 am on Check-in day Check-Out is by 4:00 pm on Check-out day Cleaning Fee of $265 is Mandatory Damage/Security Deposit of $500 is required for all rentals