HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Villa Colibri:Modern 3 BR villa w/pool in peaceful gated community near beache

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,900 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

3 bedrooms, 3 full en suite bathrooms, sleeps 8

Colibri is a newly built modern, spacious 3 BR villa located in the 24 hour guard-gated community of Samaan Grove. It is centrally located less approximately 10 minutes from the airport and nearest beaches. The open flow plan of the house encourages guests to relax in comforting luxury of a peaceful, secure environment. French doors slide out of the way to open out onto the al fresco dining area on the patio, a large pool deck and a private pool for sunning, swimming or lounging. Every modern convenience and ammenity is provided - air conditioning,stainless steel appliances including dishwasher, and laundry washer and dryer. Entertainment options include DirectTV in great room and Master suite, DVD player, portable stereo with cd player, radio and MP3 player. A gas barbeque grill is provided for your convenience. Land-side access to No Man's Land is a significant added benefit.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa in Canaan in Western Tobago

Property Type:
  • villa
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • village
  • Family
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Living Area
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking Off Street
  • Secure Parking
  • Shampoo
  • Split-System Air Conditioning
  • Sunbed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • Showers are equipped with overhead rain shower heads and are enclosed with frameless glass enclosures adding to the feeling of openess. Hair dryers are provided.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • All Bedrooms are equipped with air-conditioning and ceiling fans.
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Deck Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck Furniture
  • Fully Fenced Property
  • Gated Community
  • Large Cooler
  • Garden
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Veranda
  • veranda
  • Yard
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Daily Maid Service
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • museums
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(21 traveller reviews)

90% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Villa Colibri:Modern 3 BR villa w/pool in peaceful gated community near beache
average rating of 4.857143 based on 21 reviews


  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed our stay during Carnival. Everyone was helpful and available! Will definitely be back!!

  • Review Submitted: 19-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Two Thumbs up

  • 5 of 5

It was the best I have ever stayed in Tobago . The entire family had a GREAT time. Hope to do it again aoon.

  • Review Submitted: 20-Feb-2017
  • Date of Stay: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Villa Colibri was absolutely amazing, it was very peaceful and relaxing place. I will definitely book again.

  • Review Submitted: 31-Jul-2015
  • Date of Stay: July 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Amazing stay at Villa Colibri

  • 5 of 5

The Villa was truly fantastic. I did notice that some painting is required where the air condition units were. It was wonderful having a coffee percolator available for guests that drink coffee.

Would have been nice not to have to pay to go into No Man's Land. Garbage does need to be removed from No Man's Land to keep it looking pristine.

Would absolutely stay here for future visits to Tobago.

  • Review Submitted: 14-May-2015
  • Date of Stay: April 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Karen, Thank you for your wonderful review. We realize that we do have a little touching up to do as far as the pain is concerned. It is something that we have made a priority. As a fellow coffee drinker I do like to ensure that our guests have access to a percolator as I know serious coffee drinkers need their morning coffee :) We do try to ensure that our guests have all the conveniences of home. As far as No Man's Land goes, I agree that it would be nice to not have to pay. Unfortunately the fee charged is imposed by Samaan Grove Management and is not controlled by home owners. The fee goes to helping to maintain the access road to No Man's Land as it does take a lot of work to keep the brush and tree branches cut back and the track graded. I also agree with you that the garbage should be removed and the management does take care of some of it. Please keep in mind though, that No Man's Land, like all beaches in Trinidad and Tobago, is a public beach, and the management is not really responsible for keeping it pristine. It is my hope that one day, all the people of our country will be responsible citizens and take their trash with them when they leave, leaving nothing behind but footprints and taking with them wonderful memories of their time at the beautiful beach.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
San Fernando, Trinidad and Tobago

Very Nice, but travellers beware.

  • 3 of 5

The place was very nice, located in a lovely gated community on the mangrove overlooking No mans Land. The conditions of the property were as seen, however we were very surprised that 2-3 days after coming home we were being charged for damage to a towel. It was surprising to us as we had taken our own towels for use on the beach, and the maid service supplied came every day except on Sunday to the house and washed the towels every day. It was not the charge of $130.00 that bothered us as much as the principle of being charged for something you had not damaged, and long after we had vacated the premises when we were not in a position to see what we had damaged. It was very strange, perhaps we didn't tip the maid enough for her services. I suggested to the property manager that they revisit their check in and check out system, so as to protect future travellers from what could border on a very unpleasant surprise.

  • Review Submitted: 09-Aug-2014
  • Date of Stay: July 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Anna M., I own the Villa Colibri although I do have a property manager. Because I am in Trinidad and not Tobago I employ a property manager to oversee the villa to ensure that if my guests have any problems there is someone within close range to attend to the problem. The property manager is responsible for checking guests in and checking inventory when the guest checks out. We hold your security deposit for up to 7 days because we want to take our time to ensure that the villa is thoroughly checked upon your departure as a measure to help maintain our high standards. That you had monies deducted from your security deposit could only be due to damage or loss that occurred while you stayed with us. If the property manager charged you for damage to a towel you could demand that said towel be sent to you since you have now paid for it. They would happily do so. It is something we have done when we had to charge a guest who allowed their child to jump on the bed with a pack of chocolate milk thus staining the sheets which then had to be replaced. I am sorry that I did not answer your review earlier so that we could have addressed your concern in a more timely manner.
Did you find this review helpful?
29 3

Near perfection

  • 5 of 5

We were very comfortable here. It was very clean and welcoming when we arrived. Nicely decorated and well equipped. The villa is exactly like the pictures online.

Any inconvenience was minor, for example, we would have liked an extra garbage bag left in the kitchen as the bin got overfull by the third day and we had to use grocery bags to supplement the one in the bin. We did not cook on site except for breakfast.

We also would have liked another set of beach towels to exchange for the used ones when we returned from the beach at the end of the day, but, since we were able to rinse and dry the ones we used each day using the washing machine and dryer, we were able to manage with the one set.

The housekeeper came each morning, she made the beds, tidied up the kitchen and was gone by the time we came back home. Sheets and bath towels were changed after two days.

We felt very safe and comfortable here. Security is very good with 24 hour guard at the gate and regular patrols of the compound.

It is well located for easy access to restaurants, beaches, and airport all of which are mere minutes away by car.

  • Review Submitted: 15-May-2014
  • Date of Stay: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Pat, Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Colibri. I do apologize for the lack of extra garbage bags. The housekeeper, Jenny Lynn, normally leaves extra garbage bags i the cabinet under the sink. She may have forgotten this time. I will remind her to leave extras in the future. We usually don't provide extra pool towels as we have the washer and dryer available as well as laundry detergent in a bucket in the laundry closet if you would like to wash the ones you have. We do ask that you keep the towels on the compound. They really are pool towels and not beach towels. Unfortunately we have had a few left at the beach when guests returned from the beaches to the house. I hope that when you did cook you found that you had everything you needed to accomplish what you wanted as we provide pots, pans and kitchen utensils. we hope that you will stay with us when next you visit Tobago.
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0


Patricia Campbell
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
18 February, 2018

About Patricia Campbell

I am a Trinidadian who grew up in San Fernando. I left to attend the University of Florida and then attended Johnson and Wales University where I earned degrees in Pastry Arts and in Food Service Management. I was a pastry chef in Florida and in Tennessee and returned to Trinidad to live after having lived in the United States for 14 years.

Patricia Campbell purchased this villa in 2012

Why Patricia Campbell chose Canaan

After vacationing in Samaan Grove last year I decided to purchase a villa there because of the peace and quiet and the easy accessibility to beaches. I try to make it to Tobago every chance I get. It is a fantastic place to get away from the day to day hustle and bustle of Trinidad. My children also love to go to Tobago as they enjoy snorkeling and the beaches. Villa Colibri was built in 2011 and as soon as I walked in to view it I knew I could live there. I bought it with the intention of maybe moving there once I retire and knew that the house would be comfortable.

What makes this villa unique

Villa Colibri is close to conveniences such as pharmacies and grocery stores but is in a neighborhood that is safe, guard-gated and quiet. The neighborhood backs up on a preserve and native birds such as the bananaquit and hummingbirds can be seen flitting around the flowers in the garden. The national bird, the cocrico, lives in the preserve and can be heard in the early mornings and seen as they hop from tree to tree. Samaan Grove is the only neighborhood with land-side access to No Man's Land. The drive to No Man's Land is through the preserve and is an adventure. It is a journey through Mangrove and field during which you can see hundreds of fiddler crabs and a myriad birds. If you are lucky you might see other wildlife. it is a dirt track so a 4x4 vehicle is advisable.


Nylon Pool
"A shallow area in the middle of the ocean. Clear water. Close to Buccoo Reef. Legend has ..."
Pigeon Point
"Fairly shallow and pretty calm. Shower and bathroom facilities available. Food and drink. ..."
Buccoo Reef
"Great for snorkelling. Water can be rough late in the year."
Englishman's Bay
"Beautiful unspoiled beach. The one and only restaurant serves great grilled fish."
Castara Bay
"Lovely beach. "
Store Bay
"Waves can vary from very small to rough. Beach lounge chairs and umbrellas available. Famo..."
Fort King George
"Great view. Old cannons and buildings. The museum is interesting but only no open on weeke..."
Arnos Vale Reef
"Waters can be rough but my European friends spent s couple hours snorkelling here. Old Arno..."
The Mystery Tombstone
"Nothing very spectacular. Interesting riddle. Could use some upkeep. Nice fort nearby for ..."
Nearest Airport
4 Kilometres
ANR Robinson INternational Airport (TAB)
Nearest Motorway
1 Kilometres
Claude Noel Highway
Nearest Beach
4 Kilometres
No Man's Land, Pigeon Point, Store Bay, Mt. Irvine
Car: necessary

Colibri is a newly-built 3 BR villa in the upscale, 24 hour guard-gated neighborhood of Samaan Grove. Guests can relax in a private, secure, peaceful environment while still being close to the conveniences of everyday life. It is centrally located approximately 10 minutes from the airport and some of the most popular beaches. Pennysavers, one of the largest grocery stores in the area is only 4 minutes away making it convenient to stock up on supplies for your stay. The Mount Irvine golf course is a only a short drive away. Nearby Pigeon Point Beach is very popular for relaxing in one of their on beach shelters or for windsurfing, kite-surfing and jet skiing. There is even a small playground at the beach for the little ones. An added significant benefit is land-side access to No Man's Land, a small secluded strip of beach protected on one side by Buccoo Reef, making it fairly safe for non-swimmers. (Access to No Man's Land from land side now costs $200TT per vehicle. This is a charge imposed by the community and is not controlled by us). Please note that Google maps is showing an inaccurate map. The house is actually close to the Bon Accord Lagoon.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday villa in Canaan, Caribbean

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
Carnival Peak
9 Feb 2018 - 18 Feb 2018
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
29 Mar 2018 - 2 Apr 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £18 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £249.34

25%deposit required to confirm reservation. Balance plus security deposit due at least 30 days prior to scheduled arrival. Cancellation policy will be specified on booking forms or by request. Extra fee for extra guests up to maximum occupancy of 8.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Ask Owner a Question