HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Modern luxury house in the heart of the Golden Circle - Winter and Summer!

People12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms1
Separate WC's2
Space 2,368 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

5 bedroom (incl one guesthouse), 3 bathrooms, sleeps 10.

Grund is a modern luxury house 220 sqm. only 45 minutes drive from Reykjavik with hot tub, steam bath, washer & dryer, Internet wi-fi, TV. Perfect property for anyone who wants to see some of the most beautiful sights of Iceland and relax with all the comfort you can imagine. Small soccerfield w goals if you want to play and several golf courses in close range. Located in the heart of 'the Golden Circle' the famous sight seeing route.

The registration number for Grund is HG-00001169.


Owner
Thorsteinn and Bjargey
Member since: 2012
Speaks English, Swedish, Danish, Icelandic, Danish, Swedish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
26 September, 2017

About Thorsteinn and Bjargey

We have been involved in tourism for more than 20 years.

Thorsteinn and Bjargey purchased this house in 2008

Why Thorsteinn and Bjargey chose Iceland

We built this house 2008. Since we now live in London because of work, we wanted travelers to Iceland to have the opportunity to stay. Grund is located in the heart of the popular Golden Circle. Close to Reykjavik, the capital and very short to get service at Selfoss and Hveragerdi. A lot of things to see and do in the neighborhood but also an excellent place to do just nothing but relax and enjoy the nature.

What makes this house unique

The size and quality of Grund and the location makes it unique.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house on Southern Region on Iceland

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2368 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
  • mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Alarm System
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Secure Parking
  • Security System
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telescope
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 11 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 2 Separate WC's
  • Bathroom 1 mini spa - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , double shower / mini spa
    Bathroom 2 2nd floor - Toilet
    Outdoor shower - Outdoor Shower , outdoor shower
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , guesthouse
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Large Double Bed , Guest house
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , TV room
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Terrace
  • Gated Community
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Barbecue
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Decking
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Sauna
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • volcano
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • diving
  • ski
  • snorkelling
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(27 traveller reviews)

85% Complete
7% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Modern luxury house in the heart of the Golden Circle - Winter and Summer!
average rating of 4.740741 based on 27 reviews
5

My sons wedding in iceland

  • 5 of 5

We couldn't have been happier with our stay in this beautiful home.

I would highly recommend it and will certainly stay again when we return.

Thank you to our extremely helpful hosts for all your help

  • Review Submitted: Sep 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Delightful, peaceful - quintessential Iceland

  • 5 of 5

We LOVED Grund! It was the perfect home base for our multi-generational Icelandic adventure (2 parents, 3 children, 3 grandparents). It is a beautiful space for relaxing after being outside all day. We enjoyed the hot tub and beautiful views. The house layout gave everyone space at night, but a comfortable common area to visit. The kids had their own large space to spread out and play upstairs which was quite nice.

We chose the location because it placed us closer to more places we wanted to visit and explore in the Golden Circle, to reduce travel time and Grund was great for this. You will want to rent your own car.

The Owner is responsive and flexible - a great person to work with. We found the house to be clean, high quality, and well prepared for making meals and a great night's sleep. Enjoy your visit to Iceland - the country is amazing!

  • Review Submitted: May 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great house, not clean

  • 3 of 5

The house is a great size for a large group, especially with the open floor plan allowing for large family meals. We had 6 adults and 2 kids in the four bedrooms in the house, we didn't use the fifth bedroom outside and still had plenty of room. We were able to see the northern lights several nights from the patios and were centrally located to everything we wanted to see that week.

A couple of negatives:

- The hot tub cover was broken and it wasn't fully covered when we arrived. We never used it because we weren't sure about the cleanliness, more about that below.

- The house was dirty when we arrived. We had to spend the first part of our visit cleaning - sweeping up old food off the kitchen floor and dining room, sanitizing down surfaces in the living areas that clearly had not been cleaned before we arrived (old food, smears, etc.), and sweeping excessive dust off the stairs and floors.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 15, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Sarah, I'm sorry to hear that the cleaning was not up to your standard. Of course we do our very best to keep all in order and clean when our guests arrive. Regarding the hot tub. The water is always fresh, clean since the hot water runs constantly into it. Usually we do have the cover on in order to protect it from leaves and more, but does not have a lot to do with how clean it is in general. I wished you had been in contact so I could have explained this to you when you arrived and you could have enjoyed the tub like our guests do. Best regards, Thorsteinn
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Warm, cozy and beautiful!!

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect for our group of 9. We had 2 grandparents, 4 kids from ages 5-9 and three parents. Because we were traveling with children, we asked the owner if we could come straight to the home after our flight landed at 5am and they had no problems with this request. This made life so much easier, as we could all get some sleep right away and still have a full day to see some sights close by like Gullfoss. There was plenty of space for all of us. The house was very warm and all the amenities worked well. The kids loved the hot tub and exploring the area around the house. We also got to see an amazing display of the Northern Lights simply by walking outside! Everything was wonderful, and we hope that we are able to return to this beautiful spot again one day!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 25, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Central location to south coast sites, easy to find, and a hot tub

  • 5 of 5

Nice place just outside Selfoss, only a short drive to the local grocery or apothecary if you need anything. Easy to access and park at the house, after you arrive. To get to the house at arrival and leave at departure, I did need international calling to have Thorrstein or his son open a gate. After arrival though, I had all the codes and remotes necessary to come and go whenever. Great location for splitting day trips between sites around the south coast (e.g Gulfoss one day, Vik a different day). The hot tub is awesome and was used a lot by our group of travelers.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 19, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Iceland is amazing

  • 2 of 5

Iceland was amazing and beautiful. The house was great size for all of us and amazing location but it was dirty, dust everywhere, pee stains on the mattress, dirty towel under one of the beds covered in dust. Someone pants that stayed there before us was in the garden frozen. Wasn't cleared away. Hot tub was great but bubbles don't work but still relaxing under the stars. For the price the house needs to be a lot cleaner. Plus you agree with the price and pay deposit. Soon as you get there he adds more money to the bill due the currency changing which is not right!!!!

  • Review Submitted: Dec 31, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Stacey, Thank you for your review. I'm very sorry that you experienced Grund the way you described. We always do our very best to make our guests happy. I was there when you arrived and I walked with you around the house. I only got very positive feedback so this surprises my. As you know there was snow all over therefore impossible to see if last guests had left something in the garden. This is a hot tub and does not have bubbles. Regarding the payment, I usually quote in USD like in this instance. When people pay in different currency it might fluctuate a little like might have been in this instance. I would never add to the amount quoted. The contact person from the group taking care of the booking had no complaints nor made any comments about the payment. Best regards, Thorsteinn
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Location

Vestmanna
Jökulsárlón Glacier Lagoon
Hveragerdi
Nearest Airport
95 Kilometres
Keflavik airport
Nearest Ferry
60 Kilometres
Ferry to Vestman Islands
Nearest Golf
7 Kilometres
Öndverdanes golf club
Nearest Restaurant
7 Kilometres
Thrastarlundur
Car: necessary

The house is located only 50 minutes drive from Reykjavik in a quiet area close to lake Thingvallavatn, a part of the golden circle (one of the must see places in Iceland). Its closest village Selfoss is appox 15 min driving with all services needed. Excellent hiking all around and only 20 min drive from lake Laugarvatn. Geysir and Gullfoss two of most visited sights are not far. Two good 18 hole golf courses 7 km (Öndverdarnes) and 13 km (Kidjaberg) away.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house on Southern Region, Europe

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Nightly Rate
10 Jan 2018 - 18 Feb 2018
3 night minimum stay
£899
for 3 nights
From
£300
From
£300
Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,605
£5,827
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £4 per night, per additional guest
 
Nightly Rate
1 Mar 2018 - 31 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
£1,254
for 3 nights
From
£418
From
£418
Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,605
£5,827
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £4 per night, per additional guest
 
Nightly Rate
1 Jun 2018 - 30 Jun 2018
3 night minimum stay
£1,241
for 3 nights
From
£414
From
£414
Fri,Sat,Sun
£2,702
£5,827
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £4 per night, per additional guest
 
Nightly Rate
1 Jul 2018 - 31 Jul 2018
3 night minimum stay
£1,393
for 3 nights
From
£464
From
£422
Fri,Sat,Sun
£2,829
£6,672
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £4 per night, per additional guest
 
Nightly Rate
1 Aug 2018 - 30 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
£1,292
for 3 nights
From
£431
From
£405
Fri,Sat,Sun
£2,702
£5,827
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £4 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£988
for 3 nights
From
£329
From
£362
Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,605
£5,827
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £4 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Additional Guest Fee £3.7 per person per night

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals