HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Historic 1908 SE Portland Bungalow Apartment

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6, close in location, available daily/monthly

Location! Historic 2 bedroom duplex offers the true feel of Portland. Now available daily and monthly! $2400/month all utilities, wifi, cable included.

Original charm in the apartment and the surrounding neighborhood. Minutes to downtown and other neighborhoods. Short distance to Division's hot foodie scene and waterfront bike path!

The Space

This is a main floor vacation rental unit in a 1908 historic duplex. It is rich with Portland character and original charm including original Douglas Fir floors and picturesque bay windows. It is thoughtfully decorated with cozy furniture and art to set a mellow and happy mood. Enjoy cooking and eating out in the backyard under our 100 year old walnut tree. This unit features 2 bedrooms. The first large bedroom has 2 queen beds and the back bedroom has 1 queen bed. In addition, this space has a living room with couch, cable TV and breakfast table. The bathroom is located centrally in the house for all guests to use.

This unit also comes with access to the full backyard including propane BBQ and lounging area! If you plan on getting some laundry done, we have laundry in the shared space unfinished basement per request. We have a portable baby crib available for those who need it.

Things to note: this is an older house and has some quirks. Being an older house, it is not very well sound insulated from the upstairs tenants, you will be able to hear footsteps from the upstairs tenants. If you want a luxurious stay, this might not be the right rental for you. If you enjoy seeing how Portlanders live, this is your spot.

Location

What makes this unit so desirable is its location! It is located in Portland's Brooklyn neighborhood, a neighborhood characterized by its eccentricity, devotion to natural lifestyle, and easy walkability to all that Portland has to offer. At this location, you can easily access Division st (1 mile) and check out such hot foodie spots as Pok Pok, Ava Gene's, Roman Candle and many others! Downtown is a 5 minute car trip across the Ross Island Bridge and most other hot spots are within 10 minutes drive or 30 minutes bike ride, including: Alberta Arts District, Hawthorne st, Northwest District, Mississippi St, Sellwood and many more! This neighborhood is very close to the Willamette river and centrally located! Ride your bikes on the waterfront multi-use path to easily access all of the east side and cross the bridge into downtown. Plus, you can easily take the bus or the Max train!

The Brooklyn neighborhood is a pretty tight knit community where everyone knows each other and kids play in the streets. We would hope that anyone staying here would respect (and even participate) in our community!

This apartment is close to many attractions and destinations including: Oaks Bottom Wildlife Refuge, the Springwater Corridor Trail, OMSI, OHSU, Reed College, Waverley Country Club, Portland State University and Lewis and Clark University. We also have abundant grocery stores nearby from New Seasons Market (1mile) to the People's Food Co-op and the Warehouse Cafe (4 blocks).

Please read the attached rental agreement when booking.

CANCELLATION; REFUND:

If the Occupant cancels or terminates this Agreement prior to 30 days before occupancy, 30% of the total rent will be forfeited.

If the Occupant cancels or terminates this Agreement within 30 days of stated arrival and occupancy, 100% of the total rent plus tax is forfeited.

Refunds for any forfeited rent and taxes are given only if the Premises is re-rented and only pro-rated refunds will be made in the event of partial vacancies filled.

More Details

Owner
Maya
Member since: 2015
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
22 April, 2018

About Maya

My husband and I are born and raised Oregonians. I am a local restaurant owner and spend my days there as well as caring for our young son. Brian is a local real estate broker and enjoys getting to know the local community as well as those that are moving here. We work hard to ensure your stay is a pleasurable one and are always available for recommendations as well as trouble shooting.

Why Maya chose Brooklyn

We fell in love with this property as well as the neighborhood. This neighborhood has still retained the old Portland charm in an ever changing boom town. Fun fact: this house and the next door mirror image house were both lovingly built in 1908 by a man for his two daughters.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Brooklyn in Portland

Property Type:
  • apartment
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • 10pm Quiet Hours. Please respect the upstairs tenants. No parties or extra guests subject to fine. Only approved pets allowed. No smoking inside. Pati
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6

Reviews

4.2/5 -
(5 traveller reviews)

40% Complete
40% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Historic 1908 SE Portland Bungalow Apartment
average rating of 4.2 based on 5 reviews
Grover Beach, Ca
4

Great stay

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay Thanksgiving weekend. It was nice to visit with our Portland based son.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Would have preferred a hotel

  • 3 of 5

Some may say this old house has charm but I say it was like putting lipstick on a pig. There were poorly done updates to the house, enough to make it appear nice in photos. Biggest issue was lack of basics like shampoo (although there was conditioner) and cleanliness. The house was "clean" but an old soap remained in the shower, we found a deodorant cap next to the bed, and cobwebs around the house. Additionally, the house is in an area where your car may be very likely to be broken into (as confirmed by the note on refrigerator). We tried every plug in the house for the provided hairdryer, none worked. We were disappointed in our stay and would not return.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jamie, We are very sorry to hear that you were dissapointed with the house. VRBO is full of all different types of owner rentals including rustic cabins, yurts, luxury mansions, and regular urban homes. We have tried our best to convey the feeling of our home by the description of the rental itself, even going so far as to state that it is not a luxury home but instead an older home with quirks and lives like Portlanders live. We are not trying to decieve anyone but just offer a normal historic home in a historic neighborhood for people who want to see how Portlanders live. Although we work to be hospitable, we are definitely not trying to be a hotel. I assure you that we work very hard to maintain a high level of cleanliness throughout the home including cleaning every surface, nook and cranny after each guest leaves. As described in our home's welcome letter, if something is not clean or broken we urge our guests to contact us so we can make it right immediately. We would have been happy to do so for your stay. We have provided the note on the refrigerator to inform our guests of the high car break in rate in the urban Portland area. Unfortunately, this is true of every urban Portland neighborhood and especially those closest to the attractions. While you may feel that it reflects poorly on the house itself, we felt it is better to inform our guests to take basic precautions as many guests come from areas that do not have as prevalent petty theft and are therefore not used to removing valuables from the vehicle etc. With these basic steps we can help to avoid opportunity crimes. Sincerely, Maya
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Quiet, clean and quaint

  • 4 of 5

Very nice home in SouthEast Portland. Walking distance to good eats, and very close drive to all of Portland's tourist attractions. We had a girlfriend weekend vacation in Portland and the house worked perfectly for us. Good TV with ample channel selection for late-night movies. Warm and comfy beds. Highly recommend!

  • Review Submitted: 04-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean and comfortable

  • 5 of 5

I stayed here with my family of four and it worked well. The layout is nice as there is plenty of room and it was very clean. You can hear the neighbors but it isn't bothersome. It is a great old house.

  • Review Submitted: 31-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Los Angeles
5

Great Experience. Clean and Quiet

  • 5 of 5

A couple of friends and I were visiting Portland for the weekend. We had a great experience at this house. It was quiet, clean and very close to the max line so we could get out and explore the city. I come to Portland at least once a year and I will definitely look for this home the next time I do.

  • Review Submitted: 07-Nov-2016
  • Date of Stay: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review! We would welcome you back anytime you are in Portland!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £64.29
Damage Deposit £214.29

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals