Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Spectacular Ocean Front 3 BR Amelia Island Plantation, Breathtaking View

People9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,650 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 full Baths sleeps 8+

Oceanfront, unobstructed expansive views of the Atlantic Ocean. See the sunrise over the Atlantic Ocean from the living room, kitchen & Master and the maritime forest from the guest bedrooms private balcony. Gorgeous sunrises and sunsets and the moon shimmering over the ocean at night is the 'icing on the cake'.

Enjoy your favorite drink and listen to the sounds of the ocean from the balcony overlooking the swimming pool and ocean. Amelia Island Plantation is a 2000 acre premier 4 Star oceanfront resort with beautiful flora and live oak trees and marshlands, lakes and abundant with Florida bird life. Experience biking, segway tours and walking. Nearby kayaking, fishing, boat excursions.and sunset sailing. Enjoy world class golf and tennis facilities.

The historic town of Fernandina Beach is just minutes away with many local unique shops and art galleries in which to meander. Enjoy the many varieties of casual restaurants and fine dining nearby.

Your away from it all vacation!

Amelia, Naturally : Amelia Island Plantation is a environmental conscious resort development right on the Atlantic Ocean. The property includes hotels and multiple condominiums inside a gated and with a 24x7 manned guard entry. There are miles of hiking/biking paths through a natural maritime forest, lakes & tidal marshes. The beach is environmentally sound with sea turtles nests and natural dunes with abundant wildlife.

Golf Tennis : World class golf is nearby. T Times can be made. With 5 courses on the island, courses can be selected that offer a premier golf experience and golf instruction as well as public course accomodating great golf at budget prices.check with the owner for special guest rates at a golf club.

Historic Fernandina Beach: A quaint town featuring unique shops for one of a kind gifts, antiques and beachwear. Additionally many fantastic restaurants that include modest priced casual dining as well as resort casual fine dining experience satisfy the most discriminating palettes.

More Details

Owner
Sterling Wharton
Member since: 2011
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
16 June, 2018

About Sterling Wharton

Sterling & Nancy live in the north metro Atlanta where they raised a family of 5 children and enjoy Ameila for week long vacations, as well as quick getaways and weekends. We have traveled the world to exotic beach resorts including Hawaii, Thailand, Australia, NZ, Brazil and the south of France along the Mediterraean. We found them all good, not better than Amelia, just different.

When deciding on a beach home, we visited many coastal communities along the gulf, as well as along the Atlantic from South Carolina, GA to South FL. We chose Amelia and glad we did. The hotel here is beautiful but we found it was so much more comfortable, relaxing, and intimate with family and friends to have a Villa, Condo or House.

We and our children (and now young grandchildren) are glad to call Amelia our beach home and hope you will enjoy as well.

Sterling Wharton purchased this condo in 1994

Why Sterling Wharton chose Amelia Island

Privacy and Security - Once you enter the gates of the Plantation, you can leave your car keys behind. The Plantation has everything you need including a Market/ Premium grocery and a myriad of dining venues from sports bar, to romantic dining. Children can roam and play without parent worries about their security.

We enjoy having morning coffee on the balcony overlooking the ocean and pool watching the sunrise and morning evolve for a fun day at the beach.

Beach Access is unsurpassed - The Beach "where you put your toes in the sand" is only about a 100 yards along a meandering boardwalk with the pool about half way along the boardwalk with a restroom should the need arise for a quick stop to or from the beach/pool. You will appreciate the fresh water showers along the boardwalk to rinse the salt and sand from you or your beach “stuff”.

Pool with an Ocean View - Our pool is large with expansive multilevel decks. There are many private areas allowing sun and shaded areas directly adjacent to each other allowing your group to have a private space with sun or shade each individual desires while remaining together.

Grilling with a view – A phenomenal grilling area with a view of the ocean is ideal for grilling your burgers, steaks, fish or whatever you desire while enjoying an ocean view.

The close proximity to historic old Fernandina Beach is a special treat. Here you will find 19th century brick streets, unique antique architecture, along with an abundance of quaint shops, a variety of restaurant options, cultural and entertainment options.

We and our children love the nature center, miniature golf, Segways, boat launch, riding bikes on the miles of trails and watching the sunsets at Walkers landing while crabbing for a crab boil.

What makes this condo unique

We are on the second floor providing a most breathtaking ocean view patucularly as compared to ground floor or off the beach options. There is an elevator but we usually just run up the stairs since its just one floor.

We have beach chairs and bikes, just ask. We are members of Amelia River Golf Club, ask us about discounted golf and playing and advance T-time privileges, we will glad to arrange.

Covered Parking - Our Villa offers dedicated covered parking with a short covered walk to stairs or elevator keeping you dry and protected during rain or storms.

We provide an info package with your rental providing unique insights into the many dining & recreation options based on our 20+ years here.

Finally don't forget about the on site Spa is beyond compare!

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday condo in Amelia Island in Fernandina Beach

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1650 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • beach
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Golf Course Front
  • Golf Course View
  • near the sea
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Carport
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Lift ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master - Large Walkin shower
    Guest Bath - Toilet , Bath with Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Master - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Guest 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Guest 2 - 2 Double Bed , 2 Single Bed , This includes 2 bunks with doubles on bottom and top twins
  • Master has a great view of Atlantic Ocean. The Queen room has a private balcony.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Player
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Terrace ...
  • Gated Community
  • Golf
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Barbecue
  • Patio
  • veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Decking
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • In Ground Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(18 traveller reviews)

55% Complete
22% Complete
5% Complete
11% Complete
5% Complete
Spectacular Ocean Front 3 BR Amelia Island Plantation, Breathtaking View
average rating of 4.111111 based on 18 reviews
5

The VIEW! Say no more.

  • 5 of 5

We loved staying in this condo. It felt so private and the view was outstanding.

  • Review Submitted: 31-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice location

  • 4 of 5

Nice location. Dining room slider needs significant maintenance. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Review Submitted: 14-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Had a great time is this comfy condo.

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful area and very nice comfy condo!

  • Review Submitted: 19-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Lisa, Thank you for coming to visit and so glad you enjoyed, this is one of our favorite times of the year. Hoping you can come again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Mixed reviews explained:

  • 3 of 5

If your looking through the reviews, you'll notice either this property gets 1 star or 5. It is either filthy or great, so I thought I would explain. Location: GREAT. Very safe, private, and absolutely stunning. There is a small driving range on the property, so the kids got to practice their "hole in ones". There are condos on the property that are much closer to the ocean as this unit sits back behind the swimming pool. However, you can hear the ocean from the unit. This is just an old unit that needs to be updated. Some of the needed repairs that the owners are aware of are very expensive. Example- the windows as mentioned in other reviews. None of the windows are able to be opened properly. To open them, we had to remove the screens and force the windows open. The sliding glass door to the balcony needs replaced. The boys had opened it for me and left to go to the ocean. It got hot in the condo and when I went to close it, I physically could not. It is most likely something the owners are not looking at repairing. The door to the upstairs bedroom- I got up around 2:00 am and when I opened the door, it scraped against the floor and made a horrendous sound that woke up everyone in the unit. The door just needs to be re-hung and shimmed out properly- a relatively low cost fix. Again, other reviews have mentioned this, so it is just something the owners are not ready to repair at this time. Was it clean? It is the kind of clean that you do quickly. If you run your hand on the counter top, it will be clean, but if you run your hand along the backsplash, be prepared for grime and gross. The bedspreads need cleaned, the bed skirts are dirty. I imagine the bed skirts have not been cleaned since they were initially placed years ago. Get rid of them. No bedskirts are better than filthy bedskirts. The decor selected is just difficult to clean. Flower arrangements get horribly dusty. I'd get rid of them. Levour closet doors are horrible to keep clean and collect dust and filth. Get rid of them and put in modern flat doors. Wicker- an impossible material to keep dust off us, remove wicker furniture and replace with modern flat furniture. The chairs in the dining room are grooved. There was koolaid that had been spilled prior to us that was all over the back of the chair. Again, impossible to clean all of those grooves. In summary- the unit just needs to be deep cleaned and some $ needs to be spent on maintenance.

  • Review Submitted: 17-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: First thanks for feedback. Our Villa was painted and refreshed this winter December due to the 2 hurricanes in the fall of 2016 and another the fall of 2017. Unfortunately this guest was there after the hurricane of 2016 and what appears to be a less than ideal cleaning. Things are quite fresh and clean. While this response is well written there are some some inaccuracies that were likely not intended and casual observations. A couple of clarifications, there is not a driving range on the property, there are several 18 hole golf courses, with a par 3 that runs right in front of our Villa. While this is a beautiful landscaping feature along the beach there is no access from our property and for children to play here would require climbing a fence. On being back from the beach behind the pool - there is a building to our south that is slightly closer (30-50 yards) to the ocean, however the ocean views can be poor due to not being high enough to see over the dunes. Additionally there are Villas on our property behind this building that have Ocean views completely blocked. When we bought our Villa we looked at units in this forward buildings and determined we liked the higher view of the pool, ocean and pool. So I guess this is preference if one desires a unobstructed view or one obstructed by vegetation and dunes. They are all great and have excellent beach access. On "levelor" doors, we have these louvered doors on the HVAC closets to allow airflow as required by code and for safety, usually these are tidy and clean, not sure what the issue was here. Anyway, they were just freshly painted. On the age of the building, all of these Villas were built in the 70s and the same age, we have spent millions of $$ keeping them fresh, These buildings have a hard life 100 yards from the ocean, we keep them nice. On the windows, like other owners we ask visitors not to open the windows and have them arranged to not be opened. This visitor evidently tried to open them anyway with hardware removed and likley why we had damage for the 2017 hurricane, you cant stand 90 MPH sideways wind/water unless the exterior is secure. We have addressed the sliding door as well as the door to the upstairs bedroom. We are sure you will find our villa quite satisfying for a week long stay or a weekend getaway for your friends and family. Feel free to reach out directly.
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0
5

We'll be back!!!

  • 5 of 5

Thank you for sharing your lovely home with us! We had a blast! The condo fit our needs perfectly! We even brought a queen size blowup mattress & put in between the 2 twin beds & had 4 pre-teen boys in that one room. It was clean & well stocked when we arrived. Beautiful ocean views... close walk to both the pool & beach. We enjoyed walks & bike rides around the Plantation & fabulous dining experiences at several of the restaurants. We hated to leave. Once we got home (7 hrs. later), we realized a very special "blankie" had been left... as soon as I contacted the owner, he was in touch with the cleaning crew, and I'm happy to say we have it back in our possession safe and sound. Everyone really went out of their way to make sure it was returned. Those efforts are truly appreciated. We will return and I would highly recommend staying here. :)

  • Review Submitted: 19-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
2

Dirty

  • 2 of 5

Good location but not a great condo. Carpet, sofa had pet hair all over. Our clothes had animal hair every time we sat down on the couch (so annoying and I was not aware is was a pet-allowed undo). The condo has deferred maintenance, and needs major cosmetic updating. Even the elevator has plywood floor covering the broken tiles underneath (we're told it was like that for at least a year) Windows and sill looked like it had never cleaning rags. Slidding door to the patio does not close easily. Door in the king bedroom and bathroom sliding door does not close easily.,,,triple urgh! Kitchen utensils were on the cheap end, some looked like it was beaten to hell and could have been tossed out! We don't have time to deal with the hassling of complaining to the owners we were disappointed as it was more so the condition of the condo (it needs spring cleaning/maintenance) We would not recommend this condo to friends. I would absolutely agree with the other negative reviews. I was willing chance it and I guess I learned my lesson.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Alounna - sorry the experience was not what you were expecting. Our condominium building was was having some outdoor floor upgrades, assume that is why there was temporary plywood in the elevator, this was to protect the natural travertine there. Not sure about our unit having pet hair, we typically don't allow pets. We did have some juggles with our housekeeper due to an emergency illness (our prayers continue for her health and return). The windows are cleaned each time on the interior, the exterior is cleaned routinely, obviously since we are ocean front this is a continuous issue, usually the windows are fine, I suspect you may have come right after a storm. I will check the sliding door as well.Thank you for your feedback, I do hope that you will try us again. What you received is not what most folks experience.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Location

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Jacksonville International
Car: recommended

Oceanfront, unobstructed expansive views of the Atlantic Ocean and see the sunrise over the Atlantic Ocean each morning from the living room, kitchen & master bedroom and the sunset over the intercoastal waterway from the master bedroom. Enjoy your favorite drink and listen to the sounds of the ocean from the balcony overlooking the swimming pool and ocean. Amelia Island Plantation is a 2000 acre premier oceanfront 4 Star resort with beautiful flora and live oak trees and marshlands, lakes and abundant with Florida bird life. Recreation includes relaxing days on the beach, world class golf and tennis facilities, horseback riding, bike rides & hiking along the nature friendly bike/walking paths.

A natural vacation/holiday destination 'away from it all' but convenient to get to.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday condo in Amelia Island, Florida

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Summer 2018
2 Jun 2018 - 29 Jun 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,709
for 7 nights
£1,709
 
 
July 4
30 Jun 2018 - 6 Jul 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,935
for 7 nights
£1,935
 
 
Later Summer 2018
8 Jul 2018 - 17 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,784
for 7 nights
£1,784
 
 
Labor Day
31 Aug 2018 - 3 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
£1,107
for 3 nights
From
£339
 
 
GA FL 2018
25 Oct 2018 - 28 Oct 2018
3 night minimum stay
£1,163
for 3 nights
From
£358
 
 
Concours 2019
7 Mar 2019 - 9 Mar 2019
3 night minimum stay
£1,163
for 3 nights
From
£358
 
 
Concourse week after
10 Mar 2019 - 15 Mar 2019
6 night minimum stay
£1,671
for 6 nights
From
£264
 
 
Spring Break 2019
16 Mar 2019 - 27 Apr 2019
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£1,784
for 7 nights
£1,784
 
 
Memorial Day 2019
24 May 2019 - 27 May 2019
3 night minimum stay
£1,163
for 3 nights
From
£358
 
 
Summer 2019
1 Jun 2019 - 28 Jun 2019
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£1,784
for 7 nights
£1,784
 
 
July 4 2019
29 Jun 2019 - 5 Jul 2019
7 night minimum stay
£1,935
for 7 nights
£1,935
 
 
Late Summer 2019
6 Jul 2019 - 2 Aug 2019
7 night minimum stay
£1,784
for 7 nights
£1,784
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£504
for 2 nights
From
£207
From
£264
Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,408
£3,064
 

Additional pricing information

Housekeeping £90.35
Pet Fee £376.45

From $850.00 per weekend.
Inquire for special needs, extended period rentals, holidays, or last minute rental specials.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals