HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Butt & Beinne for (second !) honeymooners or, getting away

People4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
People
4
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
7 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 1 bedroom holiday cottage in Breakish

Holiday cottage Kylerhea, Isle of Skye, Highlands

This charmingly modernised 1880's-built 'Butt & Beinne' is a romantic place for (second !) honeymooners or self catering holidaymakers to get away from it all. It has been re-decorated in Winter of 2016. Sit and watch the tides from the picture window, visit the Otter Hide or, on walks along the shore, see seals and sea eagle. At night you may see Red Deer and even one of our resident Pine Marten or two. There are breathtaking views in every direction and the cottage is reached over a sturdy wooden bridge. It is around 90 meters from the shore. Arrive 'Over the sea to Skye' in true romantic fashion via the five car ferry from Glenelg (operating only from Easter to October but check with Glenelg-Kylerhea Ferry website first.) A very scenic 10 mile drive takes you to a full range of shops, restaurants, hotels and a bank in Broadford, whence boat and fishing trips are available from the pier there. For full internal shots, please contact owner for link. We listen to constructive criticism and work constantly to upgrade our facilities to make your stay as enjoyable as we can.

There is Storage Heating for the Winter months, which keeps the house warm and makes it a tranquil refuge for writers and thinkers.

EXTRA ! - The RSPB and Forestry Commission have a new hide located next to the Kylerhea wildlife hide car park. The hide is staffed five days a week by RSPB information assistants, who provide comprehensive information on the local wildlife. The hide overlooks the ferry and the Kylerhea narrows and during the summer a pair of sea eagles can regularly be seen hunting for fish over the strong tidal flows. The hide also offers the chance of seeing many of the wildlife species including seals, golden eagles, porpoises, otters, common and bottlenose dolphins etc. Basking sharks have even been seen in the kyle. The inside of the hide has displays and information about Scottish wildlife. Younger children can use free backpacks with binoculars, bug boxes, magnifying glasses and a fun set of activities devised by local school children. The RSPB/FCS hide is open from Easter to September and admittance is free of charge.

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Owner
Richard
Member since: 2008
Speaks English, French
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
6 October, 2016
Call Owner

About Richard

I was raised in the Far East but, as a descendent of Somerled’s (which we all are mathematically but I happen to be able to trace it,) Skye is my spiritual home today. When you arrive, you will see what makes it that and, why you will be drawn to it too !

Richard purchased this cottage in 1000

Why Richard chose Isle of Skye & Lochalsh

This is a cosy and quiet former croft house, which I have known for 46 years and love dearly. I haven't included a photo of myself so as to let you enjoy filling the space and claiming the magic for yourself.

What makes this cottage unique

The picture windows and the views they afford to you across to Glenelg and, behind the house, up the Kylerhea Glen to the beallach.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(12 traveller reviews)

Butt & Beinne for (second !) honeymooners or, getting away
average rating of 4.25 based on 12 reviews
Torquay, England
5

Beautiful Area - Ideal away from it all

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our holiday. The weather was cold but sunny with very little rain. We were very snug and cosy in the cottage. It had all we needed to enjoy our first trip to Skye. Definitely need a car to get around. Stunning views from the cottage.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 21, 2009
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words and the review - "Haste Ye back !" as the light, the climate and the views of the Misty Isle are as variable as one can find anywhere.
Did you find this review helpful?
11 0
1

Tolle Lage, aber leider starker Schimmelbefall

  • 1 of 5

Das Cottage liegt in einer traumhaften Umgebung und der Blick aus dem großen Wohnzimmerfenster ist wunderschön. Das Cottage selbst hat bis auf die tolle Lage leider enttäuscht. Beim Betreten des Schlafzimmers schlug uns ein muffiger, feuchter Kellergeruch entgegen. Am ersten Morgen haben wir dann an der einen Schlafzimmerwand auf Bodenhöhe schwarzen und weißen Schimmel entdeckt und auch der offene Wandschrank neben dem Bett war von schwarzem Schimmel befallen. Im Laufe der Woche hat sich auch - trotz Lüften- im Fensterrahmen Schimmel gebildet. Wir haben den Schimmel mit Schimmelputzmittel, das im Haus vorhanden war, beseitigt. Er kam aber schnell wieder. Es war kaum möglich sich länger als unbedingt nötig im Schlafzimmer aufzuhalten. Nicht nur die Wand war feucht, auch der Teppich und das Bettzeug waren klamm. Die Luft war muffig und auch unsere Kleidung roch bald modrig und war klamm, so dass wir sie im Wohnzimmer aufbewahren mussten. Dass das Cottage – trotz starkem Schimmelbefall im Schlafzimmer –auch noch für second honeymooners angepriesen wird, ist wirklich eine Frechheit! Der Vermieter hat sich während unseres Aufenthaltes auf unsere SMS hin nicht gemeldet. Der Verwalter vor Ort bestätigte uns auf Nachfrage, dass das Schimmelproblem schon sehr lange besteht und der Besitzer erfolglos verschiedenes zur Behebung versucht hat. Der Vermieter hat uns also wissentlich ein stark verschimmeltes Cottage vermietet! Nach Ansicht des Vermieters mussten wir lediglich etwas früher anfangen zu putzen als es normalerweise bei Ferienunterkünften der Fall sei.

Aus unserer Sicht gehört Schimmel nicht zu einem „erwartbaren“ Dreck und es gehört auch nicht zu unserer Vorstellung von Urlaub alle zwei Tage den Schimmel von der Wand und aus den Schränken zu putzen! Der Vermieter hat uns in unverschämter Weise vorgeworfen, selbst Schuld am wachsenden Schimmel zu sein und es hingestellt als wenn es unsere Aufgabe wäre Schimmelbefall schnellstmöglich zu bekämpfen. Am Ende zitierte er wikipedia, um uns zu verdeutlichen, dass es auf Skye ganz normal sei, dass die Häuser da voller Dampf sind und folglich auch Schimmel normal sei.

Hätte der Vermieter ehrlich auf seiner Häuserseite gesagt, dass das Haus von Schimmel befallen ist, hätten wir es nicht ausgesucht und uns auch nicht dem Gesundheitsrisiko ausgesetzt. Fazit: Die Lage tröstet über einiges hinweg, aber empfehlen würden wir es nicht.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 27, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dieses Ferienhaus ist ein ehemaliges crofter Haus, von Steinen gebaut von der Küste, in einer relativ unberührten Gemeinde in Skye. Ungeachtet der Versuche, entkernt und innen umgebaut, in mildernde atmosphärischen Bedingungen, wenn die Luft hat eine sehr hohe Luftfeuchtigkeit oder, vom Kochen, ohne ein Fenster zu öffnen und die Sonne scheint, dann kann sich Kondenswasser im Schlafzimmer zu bilden. Es ist selbstverständlich, dass diese Kondensation muss bis um Schimmelbildung, die es schnell zu tun, wenn die Bedingungen fortbestehen zu vermeiden abgewischt werden. Um auch in Rückenlage und zu unterlassen, dies zu tun ist die einzige echte Witz! Der Manager bestätigt, dass dies zuvor passiert ist, aber der Mieter unterlässt zu erwähnen, dass es ein sehr seltenes Ereignis und ist keine übliche Problem. Diese Mieter schickte eine SMS nur auf ihren dritten Tag, was bedeutet, dass sie zu spät gehandelt nur, aber war schnell, mit einem lächerlichen Nachfrage und bedrohliche Nachrichten, die natürlich wider I Follow-up ihres Aufenthalts. Mein Zitat aus Wikipedia, war, dass Skye wird als "The Misty Isle", das ist genau, warum es eine solche unglaubliche Licht gibt und, wie hoher Luftfeuchtigkeit gibt es als Norm bekannt. Was steht im Widerspruch mit der Erfahrung dieses Mieters ist, dass die Mieter, die es in der Woche gewesen war, bevor es so sehr mochte, dass sie gebucht und bezahlt die Kaution für das folgende Jahr innerhalb weniger Tage nach dem Verlassen. Ich überlasse es Ihnen, Ihre eigenen Schlüsse aus dieser Tatsache zu ziehen.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 3
5

The perfect place to get away

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I (plus dog) had a great experience staying at this cottage. Our favorite part was having a meal in front of the large dining window that overlooks the bay. The location was great for driving all throughout Skye, as well as many parts of the western Highlands. Also, Richard was very easy to communicate with about all the arrangements. We look forward to our next visit to Isle of Skye and would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 6, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely

  • 4 of 5

Incredible surroundings. Beautiful spot. Absolutely fabulous. We will definitely come back here. The croft is cosy and nice. Basic but everything is there. Unfortunately, warm water in the kitchen didn't work. But the shower was hot. Isle of Skye is beautiful and Kylerhea is great.

  • Review Submitted: May 16, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

A dream came true

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic week in this Kylerhea cottage! When we rented the fischermans home, I could'nt believe the pictures were true... But it was, and even better... The cottage is little, cosy and very romantic (although, we missed a real fireplace...) You live a short time in the middle of Nowhere... We left with tears in our eyes! And will be back.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 16, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you and, we look forward to your return :)
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Perfectly peaceful

  • 5 of 5

We were delighted with this property - it was exactly what we were looking for, and lived up to the description extremely well. We've been disappointed before with exaggerated listings, but this was spot on. The facilities were excellent and the property was surprisingly spacious and well-equipped - as we were self-catering this was very much appreciated. We especially liked the abundance of tourist information literature provided, the comfy bed after a day spent hiking, and the proximity of the shore was a real bonus as we had brought our kayak (we had a terrific time mingling with the local seals!). The nearby Otter Haven and hide provided a great evening walk - we were lucky to spot the wee creatures on our first visit. The location of the cottage itself was simply idyllic - only a handful of buildings nearby and the occasional fishing vessel passing that did little to spoil the sense of tranquility and blissful isolation. The daily drive in and out of Kylerhea glen could be daunting to some, but it became a daily highlight as we spotted deer, all manner of moorland birds (including a merlin) and busy dragonflies, and the view of the Cuillin each morning as we drove out of the glen proved to be an accurate barometer for our adventures. The process of booking was simple and I found Richard's communications to be prompt, accurate and very helpful - we wouldn't hesitate to return to the same spot next year, and would wholeheartedly recommend the cottage to others.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 14, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Location

Nearest Airport
80 Miles
Inverness
Nearest Ferry
0.5 Miles
Nearest Train
16 Miles
Kyle of Lochalsh
Nearest Motorway
80 Miles
Nearest Beach
80 Metres
Car: necessary

Near the small road to the Isles ferry and Otter Haven, just over the kyle from Glenelg with its Pictish brochs.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Breakish, Isle of Skye & Lochalsh

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Low
29 Oct 2016 - 16 Dec 2016
7 night minimum stay
£360
for 7 nights
£360
 
 
High
17 Dec 2016 - 6 Jan 2017
7 night minimum stay
£488
for 7 nights
£488
 
 
High
8 Apr 2017 - 21 Apr 2017
7 night minimum stay
£496
for 7 nights
£496
 
 
Mid
22 Apr 2017 - 23 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£396
for 7 nights
£396
 
 
High
24 Jun 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£496
for 7 nights
£496
 
 
Mid
2 Sep 2017 - 27 Oct 2017
7 night minimum stay
£396
for 7 nights
£396
 
 
High
23 Dec 2017 - 5 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
£496
for 7 nights
£496
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£360
for 7 nights
£360
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £15

The house lets Saturday to Saturday
One dog by prior agreement at £15 pcw
Winter heating supplement at £15 pcw Oct-Mar inclusive
Reduced Breaks, which are not available at peak times as a proportion of the full seven night rate quoted are: 2 nights = 60%; 3 nights = 70%; 4 nights = 80%; 5 nights = 90%

Payment of the deposit is required to secure the booking and the balance is due three (3) months prior to the entry date

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Breakish in Hebrides

Property Type:
  • cottage (detached)
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , in main living area
  • Two in the double bed and two on a put-you-up bed but it is not big !
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • bay
  • forests
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • bay fishing
  • swimming

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties