HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Luxury for up to 16, Steps to the Beach, Elevator, Heated Pool

Bedrooms 8
Separate WC's1
Space 8,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

Home, 8 Bedrooms, 7.5 Baths, (Sleeps 16)

Enjoy the best with your family, friends or co-workers in this 8+ bedroom, 7.5 bath luxury home a few steps from your private beach in the prestigious gated community of Gull's Nest, Bethany Beach, Delaware. Complete with heated pool and elevator.

This fabulous home with private beach a few steps away is equipped to host several families for vacation or reunion, a large group of friends for a great week at the beach or co-workers for a corporate retreat. It features four separate master suites with sitting areas and balconies, private full baths, as well as four other bedrooms and additional pull out couches, all with high quality bedding and tasteful, up to date decor. The home will comfortably sleep 16 people or more.

Included in the amenities are a rare for Bethany, HEATED POOL, open through November (by request), a pool house with a steam shower, a game room with a full size billiard table and foosball, Wi-Fi throughout, a movie room with over 400 titles and a custom wet bar. Televisions and audio systems abound. The dining room seats 18 and is serviced by a fully equipped gourmet kitchen and an outdoor gas grill.

Please bring your own linens, towels, spices, oils, paper and plastic goods, i.e. paper towels, napkins, toilet paper, garbage bags, salt, pepper and oils. The kitchen is well equipped with all necessary appliances, dishes, glass and silverware as well as serving dishes, etc.

Ground Floor: BR1: 2 trundle beds, BR2: 1 full Size bed, half bath, full bath, game room, movie room, washer dryer

Main Floor: Kitchen, living room, dining room. BR3: king with en suite full bath and Jacuzzi, BR 4&5: 2 queen rooms with 2 full baths

Third Floor: BR 6 & 7: kings and private baths.

Fourth Floor: BR 8: Master King with en suite full bath.

Please bring your own linens and towels. There are 4 king size beds, 2 queens and 1 full size in addition to 4 singles in two trundle beds. If you need a rental referral for linens and towels, don't hesitate to inquire.

• Fabulous restaurants – from gourmet or specialty seafood to traditional boardwalk fare and many restaurants are open year-round.

• Numerous challenging 18 hole championship golf courses

• Year-round brand name and tax free outlet shopping in nearby Rehoboth

• Boardwalks, festivals and other attractions in Bethany, Rehoboth, and Ocean City

• Sailing, island cruises, fishing and other water sports in season

• Art galleries and coastal-themed museums

• Horse back riding

More Details

Property Manager
Delaware Vacation Property Management, LLC
Member since: 2009
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
23 March, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Bethany Beach in Sussex County

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 8000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 14:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 09:00
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • Max. adults: 16
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • 7 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • 8 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
  • 8 garden chairs
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(13 traveller reviews)

76% Complete
23% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Luxury for up to 16, Steps to the Beach, Elevator, Heated Pool
average rating of 4.769231 based on 13 reviews


  • 4 of 5

Location of the houses great use of the pool with grandkids and great set up of the house was great but ice makers or terrible at making enough ice , had to buy many bags of ice .no instructions how to use the pool cover or how to drain water out of the pool , TV cable was poor all week no instructions how to use the surroundsound in the theater room Internet was very slow and not working great , could've been the perfect house if everything work properly and if there were instructions like at other rentals for use of the many amenities

  • Review Submitted: 29-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're so sorry that you had a less than perfect experience. I wish you had reached out to me. There are three working refrigerator freezers and wifi and theater instructions as well as the owner's phone # displayed prominently around the home.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

39 Surfside is Glorious!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I just returned from our vacation and it was fantastic. The house has 8 nice sized bedrooms all of which are clean and comfortable. The kitchen is well stocked with cooking supplies which works great for us as we ate most of our meals at the house. The pool is just fantastic and has a hard cover with a code, so it was easy to keep young children safe. The beach is just steps away and is clean and beautiful. The people in neighboring houses were so friendly! We had many community games of soccer and volleyball. There were tons of nice beach chairs and sand toys for us to use as well. The new dishwasher was not working properly and when we called, the problem was taken care of very quickly. What a great experience.

  • Review Submitted: 01-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The most amazing beach rental for a large crowd

  • 5 of 5

This is our third summer at 39 Surfside Dr. in what our family affectionately calls "the Mongo house". The house accommodate a large number of people including a few extras he might drop in for the weekend. The kitchen is well-stocked with nice cooking equipment and incidentals. It is easy to walk in and cook for a family of 18 without difficulty. There is a full bar in the lower level next to the pool. The beach is just across a small street. If you walk across coastal highway, there is a path through the woods, kind of a naturopath, which is terrific for walking, running or cycling. We hope to keep returning for years to come. I'm all of the homes we have rented a lawn the Maryland and Delaware shore, this one is clearly the nicest and best maintained. highly recommend it.

  • Review Submitted: 24-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Our Stay at 39 Surfside

  • 5 of 5

All six couples thoroughly enjoyed the stay. We were sad that we only stayed 5 nights. It took almost that long to find everything since the house is so large (just kidding). Really, every possible thing we needed for cocktails and dining was there. Great swimming pool and barbecue. Fantastic golf courses within a short distance.

  • Review Submitted: 26-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Our stay at Surfside was every bit of "FUN" that we were expecting. The accommodations were exactly as advertised. Several minor issues were corrected immediately by the owner. The beach, a short walk across the street, was very uncrowded. We were there with eight (8) grandchildren ages 15 to 8 and 7 adults. We never felt overcrowded. Plenty of room for all. Kitchen is fully equipped. Pool is a welcome relief from the ocean. Game room provided entertainment along with the shuffleboard court. Shopping is a short drive away.....

  • Review Submitted: 22-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

We call it the "Mongo House"

  • 5 of 5

This is an amazing house We returned this year after discovering it last year with my father and 3 siblings with their families. It is as much like a private hotel as it is a house! We call it the "mongo" house because when we first walked in we kept getting lost--there are FOUR FLOORS in the main house with a cabana outside. There are actually more beds than listed officially. The kitchen is amazing and actually has equipment to COOK, unlike most rental property. We had to call the owner with a small issue (regarding the home movie theatre) and he was immediately responsive. Our kids spent hours in the private pool . There is an elevator which made even the the top floor master suite accessible to any guest. Honestly, even my father with arthritis only used in when we first moved our suitcase in and then we just used the stairs But a true gift if needed. The only drawback to the house is that one must drive or bike to downtown Bethany. But our family has decided that the house itself is well worth that tradeoff --just having room for everyone to gather at the end of the day for a shared meal (and then spread out again...

  • Review Submitted: 28-Jun-2016
  • Date of Stay: June 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Thank you for considering the wonderful Delaware Shores area for your next beach vacation. There are many wonderful locations to consider when vacationing in this 30 mile stretch of beaches including Rehoboth and Dewey Beach, Lewes, Fenwick, and Bethany. We have some of the most beautiful white sand beaches in the mid-Atlantic, where you can soak up the beautiful summer sun. There are long boardwalks, state parks, a resort, beautiful homes, awesome hotels, great stores, and restaurants ranging from pizza, burgers, candy, ice cream, and salt water taffy, to world class gourmet.

Activities abound for all ages ranging from bicycling to fishing, golf, tennis, kayaking, boating, amusement parks and sightseeing, sunset walks, nightlife and more. And for shopping fans, the area boasts one of the largest collection of outlet stores in the country and it’s all tax free! So whether you're looking for peace, quiet and solitude or non-stop fun and action, we've got you covered.

The Delaware Shores are an easy drive from many areas. Washington DC is two hours away, New York is four hours, Baltimore is two hours, Northern Virginia is three hours, New Jersey is three hours, and many parts of Pennsylvania are only three to four hours away. We are closer than you may have thought.

Welcome to the Delaware Shores!


Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question


  • Major Credit Cards Accepted.
    A 50% deposit is required upon confirmation of all reservations.
    A $110 limited damage waiver will be applied to all bookings in lieu of a security deposit.
    Processing Fee $200 per trip.

You might like these similar holiday rentals