HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Cosy Traditional Cottage with Panoramic views offers available - Cottage 1

Bedrooms 2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights



Cottage 1

Traditional stone built farm cottage with spectacular views over Blair Castle & the surrounding Atholl valley. On ground level: comfortable sittingroom with seating for 6 people & open fire if desired, sat TV/DVD/video. Separate dining room with seating for 6 people . Kitchen with washing machine, elec cooker, microwave, fridge/freezer. Bathroom with elec shower over bath. Upstairs one double bedroom & one twin bedded room. Beds are new and of very high quality. Additional z-bed/air mattress available. Cots available on request. Linen provided. Outside washing line for drying clothes. Garden furniture & picnic bench for al fresco dining. Dogs welcome by prior arrangement.

About the property

Milton Farm Cottages

A self catering holiday destination situated within The Cairngorm National Park, with spectacular views of the surrounding countryside overlooking Blair Castle and over to the majestic Munro - Schiehallion in the distance.

Tranquility, situated up Glenfender, 1 and a half miles from the village of Blair Atholl, 3 miles from the House of Bruar and 7 miles from Pitlochry, Milton Cottage has the perfect mix with amenities within easy access. Traditionally furnished with comfort in mind, the cottage provides a sittingroom with an open fire if desired, dining room, kitchen, bathroom with electric shower over bath,1 twin & 1 double bedroom upstairs. A sofa bed or z-bed offer extra sleeping facilities. Good quality beds and linen are provided.

Revive by breathing in the pure clean air then go to bed with the sound of the nearby river to lull you to sleep having taken in the amazing night sky!

A place to get away from it all and enjoy the varied wildlife, walking or central base for exlporing the rest of Scotland!

The clean bracing mountain air and peaceful setting is as good as any tonic - rejuvenating those weary batteries!An ideal base for touring Scotland due its central location in the heart of Scotland. Pitlochry Theatre hosts a varied programme throughout the year. Majestic countryside to explore on foot, by bike, on horseback or in a kayak!

Golf Details: Blair Atholl has a lovely nine hole course. Many other courses within close proximity. Pitlochry - 7 miles. Strathtay - 12 miles, Aberfeldy 20 miles, Taymouth Castle - 25 miles. Crieff, St Andrews, Newtonmore, Kingussie, Perth (Murrayshall) are all easily reached for a day's play. We can help arrange play if you contact us.

Notes: Rental rates exclude electricity & fuel.

Arrival after 4pm unless otherwise arranged.

Departur by 10.30am on day of departure.

Please leave cottage as you find it to help us prepare for the next guests.

Short breaks may be available - please contact to check availability.

A deposit of £100 per week booked will secure booking, balance of rent due 4 weeks prior to holiday start date.

Special Summer offer: speak to owner directly for details l

Payment by cheque to:- Mrs E.M.Burns

Glan-y-Coed,Blair Atholl,Perthshire

Telephone 01796 481278.

More Details

Mrs E M Burns
Member since: 2008
Speaks English, French, Czech
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
12 October, 2017

About Mrs E M Burns

If you are interested in booking the property, please contact us at 01796481278.

Why Mrs E M Burns chose Perthshire

We think it might be better to go to cottage 2

As that has more accommodation.

Many thanks

Alison Paterson

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a nice stay and views are stunning!
Sep 2015
  • 1 of 10


Nearest Airport
70 Miles
Edinburgh/ Dundee/ Inverness
Nearest Barpub
1.5 Miles
Blair Atholl
Nearest Ferry
60 Miles
Rosyth/ Newcastle
Nearest Golf
1.5 Miles
Blair Atholl, Pitlochry, Blairgowrie , St Andrews
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Blair Atholl/ Pitlochry
Nearest Motorway
1.5 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
1.5 Miles
Blair Atholl /House of Bruar /Killiecrankie
Nearest Ski
50 Miles
Nearest Beach
40 Miles
st andrews
Car: necessary

Historic Blair Castle with its beautiful grounds and walks are on your doorstep. There are two hotels/pubs locally in the village of Blair Atholl and The Blair Atholl Mill is a restaurant and a working mill with freshly baked bread daily.

Blair Atholl Golf Course is a lovely 9 hole course in the village with many 18 hole courses within a 40 mile radius,including Pitlochry, Strathtay, Murrayshall, Newtonmore, St Andrew, Blairgowrie, enabling you to play a different golf course every day! The famous Old Course of St Andrews can be reached in 1 hour.

The House of Bruar is 3 miles North where you can spend a day shopping, eating and walking the famous Bruar Falls walk.

Pitlochry and its fesival theatre, whisky distilleries, dam & fishladder, supermarkets, souvenir shops and many eating places is only 7 miles away. Edinburgh can be reached in just over 1 hour south on the A9/M9 and Inverness to the North in the same time. Perth and its many attractions is just 30 minutes south. Due to the central location Milton Cottage, it is an ideal base for exploring Scotland.

A walkers paradise, Munro baggers are surrounded by the Ben y Ghlos and the famous Schiehallion can be seen from the cottage; while there are many marked trails for the less adventurous! Horseriding, fishing, cycling and kayaking can all be arranged locally. There is a weekly Highland Night in Pitlochry where you can sample some highland dancing and bagpipe playing!

The lovely Pitlochry Festival Theatre has a varied programme of plays & events on throughout the year. Perth Concert Hall offers a varied programme of the arts.

For the more adventurous Bungee Jumping is only 3 miles away! Details in cottage.

Available Rentals

Enter dates for accurate pricing


Rates increase with increased occupancy. 2 people -£75 p/night, 3 people -£90 p/night, 4 people - £100 p/ night, 5 people -£120 p/night
Rates include linen hire and a limited supply of electricity.
Coal/wood can be supplied and is charged as used.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Pitlochry in Perth and Kinross

Property Type:
  • cottage (detached)
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • rural
  • village
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Farm Holidays
  • Rustic
  • Activities Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Fireplace ...
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer ...
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • The shower over the bath is electric. Bathroom is on the ground floor. Relax and unwind in the luxury of a cast iron bath gazing out to the stars!
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed , 1 Cot
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
  • Cot available on request. Beds have electric blankets if desired. Duvets supplied and high quality linen supplied at extra cost of £5 per bed. Beds are new and of high quality.
  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Player
  • Video Library
  • Child's Swing
  • Golf
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Sand Pit
  • 6 garden chairs
  • wheelchair accessible ...
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • live theatre
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • ski lift pass
  • ski
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting
This is a walkers paradise! Imagine coming out of your front door and being able to look around at no less than 5 Munro's! Glen Tilt, the Lhairig Gru, Schiehallion and the Ben y Glos are easily accessible for hikers. Other marked trails for walkers and cycle paths can be reached easily. Abseiling & Kayaking with the Great Outdoors also Highland Safaris can be experienced. Bikes hired, horse riding & fishing all available locally.


3.6/5 -
(13 traveller reviews)

23% Complete
46% Complete
15% Complete
0% Complete
15% Complete
Cottage 1
average rating of 3.6153846 based on 23 reviews

Perfect holidays

  • 4 of 5

Lovely place and people. Peaceful and relaxing. We had everything we needed. The views from the house are stunning and the farm surrounded by beautiful fields. We had a really nice holidays and we'd like to repeat one day! We really recommend it.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

look elsewhere its awful!

  • 1 of 5

Others may call this property "quaint" or a "step back in time" but the reality is that its an old stone cottage , that needs considerable work done to update it. Starting with the kitchen, the reason you don't see any photos of it is because its so old and cramped. Its in the" lean too" part of the cottage, which smells and has a dampness issue. The thing that infuriated me most about this cottage is that nowhere did it state that the water is not fit for human consumption, and the owners recommend you use bottled water or boil it first. The water in the shower / taps was brown - however as the water comes from the hillside , you could possibly overlook this issue. The cottage was freezing, yes you could pay extra for open fire fuel , but when you come home late at night , the last thing you want to do is light a open fire to heat the house, then go upstairs to sleep, with no escape route for fire. (only tiny skylights in bedrooms) The stairs are a death trap, as they spiral at the top and are very narrow, my daughters had to go downstairs on their bottom as the stairs were so tricky. The bedroom furniture is so old it could be in a museum, it takes you ages to open / shut the drawers. The beds however were comfortable , the bed linen was old but clean. The cottage also had new carpets fitted throughout. The cottage may suit hikers who are out all day and just want somewhere to crash out when they get home but in no way is it suitable for a family. We were planning to stay for a week but left after 2 nights. I contacted the owner Mrs Patterson after 2 nights explaining that the cottage was a nightmare, she apologised that the "cottage was not up to our expectations" and said she would give me a partial refund - Im sure you won't be surprised to hear that Im still waiting for that to arrive in my bank account! The cottage itself is in a good area for exploring, and has a lovely outlook but is way up in the hillside so a 4x4 would be needed to reach it in bad weather.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 16, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It seems that this cottage wasn't for you - you chose a stone farm cottage and you were looking for something else. We have many happy guests who like to get away from it all and climb the wonderful hills and breathe the fresh air, take in the majestic vistas on your doorstep.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 6

Short Group Stay

  • 4 of 5

My 5 year old son and I stayed here, with two friends. Beforehand, we were given plenty of assistance with directions and needs for the cottage. On arrival, we were absolutely delighted with the traditional homely cottage, and surrounding stunning views. During our stay, we explored surrounding areas, and the cottage provided a lovely homely welcome to us when we returned. The coal fire, electric fires and electric blankets, were more than enough to keep us comforted during the mornings and nights. The cottage was also clean and well presented. We would love to return to the cottage for a longer stay in future!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 27, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Step back in time ... Beautiful

  • 5 of 5

We loved this little cottage. It is quirky, fun, too old to believe and the original furnishings are great! We read reviews and were aware of the extra costs, however the description of the cottage states electricity is included so that should be improved. The owners were friendly and so easy to contact and assist with anything we needed. Their dog is also lovely :-)

There are a few things that need upgrading though ... The TV is really terrible !! And a better hot water system and shower would be good. But really if you are aware of the hot water booster and you don't want to watch TV then it is all good.

The information board at the front door is out of date ... But it adds to the "step back in time" nature of the cottage.

We didn't want to leave this idyllic parcel of the world!

We recommend putting the heaters on and leaving them on the store etc. and bring your own TV if needed.

Enjoy making a nightly fire, and the views and walks are tremendous. The cows some to the back of the house at night, that will always put a smile on the kids faces.

The cottage is clean, the owners friendly, the beds are clean, and the linen is very good.

£5 for a bucket of coal and electricity is extra but not a financial burden.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 12, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay in our little cottage. The website has been informed that the wording re electricity charged as used has been updated as this has been misleading. TV is to be updated!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1

Nice views with hidden costs!

  • 3 of 5


- Nice views, with picnic bench to use during good weather

- Quiet, remote location

- Clean cottage

- Well equipped, although old-fashioned

- Comfortable beds


- Difficult to keep downstairs warm

- Hidden costs, with electricity charged additionally at 20p/unit and solid fuel for fire at £4.50 per bucket. Did not find out about additional electricity costs till we arrived and solid fuels for fire until day of departure (in total, around £45 extra despite keeping consumption to a minimum). No mention of this in the description

- Issues with warm water and lack of instructions for setting up timer

Overall, pleasant stay, but spoilt at end due to additional costs.

  • Review Submitted: May 30, 2014
  • Date of Stay: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
8 2

Quaint cottage

  • 4 of 5

Recommended by a friend and wasn't disappointed! Beautiful escape for the weekend - cottage is lovely and cosy! Lovely views and lots to do and see in the surrounding area. Enjoyed the Snowdrop walk by Blair castle. Open fire was a very nice surprise.

Thanks for a great stay!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 4, 2012
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1