HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

'Villa Mira Mar' Breathtaking Beachfront Home. Spectacular Ocean Views.

Bedrooms 4
Separate WC's1
Space 6,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms (4th bedroom is the Loft on Level 4), 3.5 Baths (Sleeps 10+)

“THE ULTIMATE IN OCEANFRONT VACATION LIVING!” This premier, “world-class,” beautiful property, “VILLA MIRA MAR,” is a six thousand (6,000) square foot, four level home, located on 40 feet of prime frontage from the edge of the never ending Pacific Ocean between the cities of Carlsbad and Oceanside on coastal North San Diego County, in sunny California. It is a spectacular private beachfront paradise getaway! This beautifully decorated home, with sand-cast and shell walls, creates the illusion as you enter the home as if the inside of the home is a continuation of the ocean, and that you are right at the beach oceanfront. As you enter the home you are amazed as you are confronted by the large glass oceanfront windows facing the ocean that provide the most breathtaking view of ocean. The uniqueness of the windows is that they provide the oceanfront occupant the ability to see from every angle of the home’s rooms the total ocean, and to enjoy the magnitude, and beauty of ocean, and the “sun-kissed” private sandy beach located five steps from the lower level to the home. Many pleasurable filled hours will be spent on the expansive oceanfront glass verandas on every level of the villa/home, master bedroom, living room den, and loft, watching the surfers, sometimes the porpoises playing, and on occasion the tails of whales flapping in the horizon. Or you will find yourself simply day dreaming to the sound of the ocean waves and the breaking of the surf. As you dine in the living room, or watch TV in the living room or den, or are cooking up a beautiful meal you can always have the spectacular views of the ocean to fully enjoy the magnificence of the Pacific and its surround. On a beautiful day, which is most of the days in sunny Oceanside, you can see the San Clemente Islands and sometimes the Catalina Islands too on the horizon. The multi-colored sunsets, which are seen daily, make your heart melt. You find yourself making special wishes that you know and feel will come true. This home, “Villa Mira Mar,” is a premier vacation rental, that upon occupying, will bring you to a total relaxed state and make you realize that this villa/home is a “true sanctuary” from the outside world where you can leave all your worries behind and enjoy a pleasurable filled time with peaceful enjoyment. To sum it up as described by an oceanfront occupant, “the location and house is amazingly beautiful…something out of a novel.”

Property Manager
Member since: 2011
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
21 March, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in South Oceanside in Oceanside

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 6000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 11:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Max. adults: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25 ...
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • A signed Rental Agreement is required to complete the reservation. The complete list of House Rules are listed as Addendum I in the Rental Agreement
Location Type:
  • beach
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm System
  • Basic Soaps
  • Bottled Water
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Fireplace ...
  • Firewood
  • Free Long Distance
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • PC
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Rumpus Room
  • Secure Parking
  • Security System
  • Study Room
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining Area
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Master bath - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Jacuzzi
    Guest bath - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Guest bath den level - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Powder room - Toilet
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Master Bedroom - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Guest Room - 1 Large Double Bed
    Guest Room 2 - 2 Single Bed
    Beach loft - 1 Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Queen pullout sofabed
  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Terrace ...
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Barbecue ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Sand Pit
  • Terrace
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Private Chef
  • bay
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • gambling casinos
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • Hot Air Ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(22 traveller reviews)

86% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
13% Complete
'Villa Mira Mar' Breathtaking Beachfront Home. Spectacular Ocean Views.
average rating of 4.4545455 based on 22 reviews

Breathtaking and Magical

  • 5 of 5

Villa Mira Mar exceeds expectation!

Having stayed in a half a dozen homes on the strand and countless others in the desert this home stands head and shoulders above any of them for the Ultimate in luxurious vacation experiences. Whether you are a family looking for a fabulous beach retreat with a secluded romantic master or want to get a group together for entertaining this home is ideal. Completely stocked with everything you could possibly need, expertly maintained, state of the art electronics and multiple living areas make for the ultimate just bring a suitcase and enjoy retreat. Definitely 5 Stars and will not disappoint.

  • Review Submitted: 03-Apr-2016
  • Date of Stay: March 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Auburn, Ca

Very Relaxing stay on the beach

  • 5 of 5

I loved everything about this house, and I have stayed here twice. The people were really easy to work with. I worked with both Marie, and Dave. We stay in Oceanside for Superbowl every year, and invite our friends over.

The house has a great location being right on the water, and when the tide goes down, you have your own beach enterance.

One of the otherthings about this house is they definately spent some money on the decor, and unlike most houses of this grand stature, they didn't skimp anywhere. When you go throughout the house, and you see and use various items, you don't feel like corners were cut to save a buck.

I don't want to spoil any surprises about the house, but just pay attention to the details there is something to see everywhere.

Also, it is a very comfortable, and welcoming home. It feels homey. I've stayed in a few places where it doesn't feel like it's easy to settle in, but here you can. We just unpack our stuff and get settled in pretty quickly.

I loved waking up to the ocean just outside the windows, the beautiful sunsets. This is my favourite house in Oceanside.

I would have to say though, the only thing to make this house even better, is if they had a hot tub.

  • Review Submitted: 17-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful place

  • 1 of 5

The location and house amazingly beautiful. Discribed by a visitor as something out of a novel. Unfortunately they have a water leakage problem that is very clear has happened previously beacause of the patch work in the kitchen. We were not compensated for the hours of drying out the kitchen and laundry the two floors below the master bath. We were told the jets were not working but you could use the tub as a tub. We went down stairs in the night to find a kitchen full of water. Spent hours drying it for our wedding the following day. The only things the care taker said was "oh sorry". I also found the same communication problems as others reported on other websites. It took multiple calls to get anything out of care taker. On a good note they returned out deposit very quickly.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Kim, We received your review and we feel there was a miscommunication with you regarding the jetted tub that was due to be replaced, and for that we apologize and for any inconvenience that may have occurred for those few hours. The tub has been upgraded with a recently installed new jetted tub for use by our guests. We do appreciate your comments about the beauty of the house and pride ourselves with making sure the house is presented to our guests in a high-quality, well-maintained condition. Thank you, Villa Mira Mar
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 1 of 5

I had my wedding at this property. It was a gorgeous home and location. However, customer service was poor and the house was not up to par.

Firstly, we had a major ant issue in the kitchen which made it extremely difficult for my catering company to provide quality food to my wedding party and guests.

Secondly, the outside shower drain was plugged up with sand to the point where a ginormous puddle formed beneath the stairwell. On the day of the wedding, my groom had to dig out the stand with his hands so that I did not have to drag my wedding dress through the puddle.

Thirdly, the jetted tub was not working properly which was not communicated to me ahead of time. I see back in July of this year, a previous guest also noted this on his review.

These items could have easily been overlooked, if the management were respectful and kind.

I made several attempts to properly check in and out of the home with the head of cleaning, Carlos.

Ten days after I checked out of the home, I received a reply from Marie after requesting my security deposit back. She did not hesitate to point out that I left the home in “quite a dirty condition.” Marie sent me several emails back and forth threatening to charge me for the following items: excessive trash, extra laundry, stained towels and more! She was extremely condescending in her emails stating that “[she] will have to be more specific with young bride and grooms.” I guess a 24 page contract isn’t specific enough.

I asked if we could meet in person to discuss the charges. Finally, seventeen days after we evacuated the home, she agreed to meet with us with Carlos as well. Marie showed up to our meeting 30 minutes late with no apology. During the discussion, she argued with Carlos back and forth about how the home was left and what was appropriate and what was not. We were also chastised for leaving prior to 11:00am on check out day.

After weeks of exhausting and demeaning emails as well as an unprofessional face-to-face meeting, we finally got our negotiated amount of the security deposit back twenty-six days after evacuating the home.

I should have seen this coming as Marie was not prompt at replying to me prior to my stay at all. She was always coming up with one excuse after the next. She was extremely unprofessional and rude. I just wanted to give “young bride and grooms” a heads up about my experience. I was lucky enough to be local so that I could fight for my security deposit back.

  • Review Submitted: 19-Nov-2015
  • Date of Stay: August 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
14 0

The Perfect Beach House!

  • 5 of 5

You literally can not get any closer to the sand. This house is beautiful, very spacious and all the patios have the most breathtaking views. My boyfriend and I came over Labor Day weekend with 2 other couples and we all brought our dogs! Carlos and Dave were super helpful during the check in and check out process, giving us all the info we needed to feel right at home. We left the house only to go to the grocery store and then once on the last day for breakfast at the nearby Beachbreak Cafe. Seriously could have not asked for a better weekend. We all still talk about how we can't wait to come back. Definition of the perfect beach house.

  • Review Submitted: 23-Sep-2015
  • Date of Stay: September 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 1 of 5

Gorgeous location with fabulous views. Otherwise a major disappointment. The jetted tub was not working. The electronics were flaky, the dvd did not work. One of the toilets kept leaking. Cuesticks were broken or warped

Marie initially had us coming in 2 days later. When she did return calls, it was often after 10pm. On our last full day, she droned on how she is geeting too old to manage properties and then badmouthed her daughter-in-law

cannot recommend

  • Review Submitted: 18-Jul-2015
  • Date of Stay: April 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 3


Nearest Airport
35 Miles
San Diego and Orange County Airports
Nearest Train
1.5 Miles
Oceanside Amtrak Station

Beautiful south side Oceanside, right on the border to Carlsbad, just 5 minutes from Carlsbad Village Drive (downtown). The house is located less than 2 minute walking distance to buccaneer beach. 10 minute beach walk to the pier.

Golf: Villa Mira Mar is located only 15 minutes from La Costa/Omni Resort Country Club premier 36 hole golf course. The course just received a $30,000,000 remodel. Is located on the beautiful grounds of La Costa Country Club, which offers fine dining, pool and watersides as well as a premier spa.

There are many additional golf clubs, and driving ranges near by.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in South Oceanside, San Diego County

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Mid Season
1 Mar 2018 - 15 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Peak Season
16 May 2018 - 14 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Mid Season
15 Sep 2018 - 16 Nov 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Thanksgiving Week
18 Nov 2018 - 25 Nov 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Mid Season
26 Nov 2018 - 21 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Christmas Week
22 Dec 2018 - 28 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
New Year's Week
29 Dec 2018 - 2 Jan 2019
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Low Season
3 Jan 2019 - 12 Feb 2019
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
13 Feb 2019 - 15 Feb 2019
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Low Season
16 Feb 2019 - 28 Feb 2019
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Mid Season
1 Mar 2019 - 17 May 2019
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Peak Season
18 May 2019 - 14 Sep 2019
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £216.63
Cleaning Fee £361.05
Refundable Damage Deposit £1,444.2
Tax Rate 11.5%

Holiday Seasons (CHRISTMAS, NEW YEAR'S, VALENTINE'S, EASTER & THANKSGIVING WEEKS) have a rate of $1,094 per night

Weddings and Other Special Events: Call or Email for details on weddings and other special events.

Rates may very depending on length of stay, time of booking, occupancy, etc.

Until Confirmed, rates are subject to change at any time. The first payment (security deposit) is due to confirm the reservation. Payment instructions for the remaining reservation amount will be sent upon confirmation of the first payment

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Manager a Question