Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Mountain House Retreat !

Bedrooms 5
Space 2,000 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

5 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 10

Fully furnished, very comfortable, open living space. Property situated on 7 beautiful acres in the Catskill mountains with panoramic views, fresh water pond and lovely forest landscape.

Only minutes from downhill and cross country skiing, ice skating, scenic golf courses, fishing, whitewater rafting, horseback riding and more.

In the town of Windham you will find a variety of restaurants, antique shops, concert halls, art galleries, wineries, theatres, and more. Year round seasonal beauty abounds, with the changing high colors of the foliage in the Autumn being an exceptional time of beauty.

Year round events and activities include: the Warrior Dash, concerts from classical music (Windham Chamber Music Festival) to blue grass music (Grey Fox Blue Grass Festival), Irish Arts Week, Oktoberfest, and Celtic well as nearby historic sites to visit like the homes of world famous Hudson River School artists Frederick Church and Thomas Cole.

More Details

Kip Christie
Member since: 2011
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
9 August, 2018

Guestbook comments from the owner

This house has it all. The private lake and view are beautiful, you can spend the whole day out there! We really enjoyed the house, very clean, not cluttered, big open living area. The bedrooms and beds were also comfortable. They provide loads of extra towels which was good since we were in the lake so often. The upper porch was great for the babies since it does not have steps. This home is a real vacation, away from it all with a private lake, boats, tubes, the sprawling grounds to play ball and more, the view and all. (We thought it would be too far away from any civilization but found it to be the perfect blend. It has a huge grassy area in the front which sets it away from the road with no neighbors too close by, yet there are cars that drive by every once in a while so you don't feel totally alone.) We really enjoyed our stay.
Aug 2017
  • 1 of 11


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Windham in Greene County

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:30
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 10 ...
  • Max. adults: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 30
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
  • mountain
  • Mountain View
  • rural
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 2 Single Bed
  • The 5 bedrooms in the Mountain House, sleeps 10.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Player
  • Barbecue
  • Terrace ...
  • Deck Furniture
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Garden ...
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Barbecue ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Decking
  • 14 garden chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
*Please note: For seasonal or monthly renters: satellite tv and utilities are not included in the rental rate. For monthly or seasonal renters a deposit of $1,500 is due upon reservation. If a cancellation occurs within 30 days of the rental period, the deposit is non-refundable. Full payment is due on first day of rental.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(28 traveller reviews)

75% Complete
21% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Mountain House Retreat !
average rating of 4.714286 based on 39 reviews

Great weekend

  • 5 of 5

Everything was perfect. Great stay.

  • Review Submitted: 19-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice house, clean with enough room for our group of 10. 3 adults, 7 boys

  • 5 of 5

Good location, easy drive to town and slopes. All amenities worked well.

  • Review Submitted: 25-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice home. Close to windham mountain

  • 4 of 5

Fit 6 adults and 3 kids perfectly. One complaint, the 2nd floor bathroom had a funky smell. Possibly the septic system. Other then that great home very comfortable.

  • Review Submitted: 02-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy that our guests enjoy the comfort and beauty of The Mountain House. To address the guests complaint: We just had new sealant put in around the shower drainage system before this guests stay, we apologize for the temporary smell in the upstairs bathroom it may have caused.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful house and property!!

  • 5 of 5

The Mountain House was perfect. Beautiful house, large open living area with fireplace, and beautiful views of the mountains and lake. Great kitchen with everything you could need. Meticulously clean with all the amenities of home and just a couple of minutes to ski slopes. We can't wait to come back again, we had a wonderful stay!

  • Review Submitted: 18-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New York

Thanksgiving vacation

  • 3 of 5

PROS: it was a cozy house, the surroundings were very nice, we liked the little pond in front of the house and the views.


- kitchen cooking utensils need to be updated, most of the pans/casseroles were very old, there was no there were some dishes we couldn't cook for our Thanksgiving meal (no pancakes either cause they didn't have a non sticking pan :(

- There were tons of flies in the house! I know we are in the countryside but it's the first time we have seen so many insects in this time of the year. There were many flies dead on the floor and many other flying around, it was a bit annoying. There should be a more thorough cleaning, we saw many spider webs as well.

- Internet connection wasn't working during our stay (we contacted the manager and said that it was the first time they had this problem so maybe it only happened to us)

- It would be nice to have a bigger TV or more entertainment in the house (I said this comparing to other houses we have been to).

  • Review Submitted: 30-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We at The Mountain House strive to make our renters stay a great visit every time, and we believe our numerous excellent reviews reflect this ethos. We do appreciate our renters feedback, and would like to address this visitors comments: -first, to future renters, this is a Country Mountain House -the house is well supplied with quality cooking utensils and plenty of pots and pans that were purposely chosen for the very reason that they were not non-stick. We do understand though that many people like to cook with non-stick pans, so we have added new non-stick pans to the kitchen, along with new baking pans, a blender, and mixer. -regarding flies and spider webs mentioned, the house is always meticulously clean, and we are surprised at these comments. There were no flies or spider webs when the house was cleaned before this renters stay. The only thing we can think of is that we had taken the screens off the doors and windows early for the winter, and Thanksgiving weekend was warmer than usual, if any doors or windows were left open during the renters stay, that is the only way they could have had such a problem. That said, we are leaving all window and door screens up until Dec. 1st from now on, so this can not be an issue anymore. -the internet was working during this renters stay, but a reminder to future renters, as stated in our welcome must click on the hot-spot and type in the code # given when using for the system to connect properly. Finally, the tv screen is not small, but it is not a jumbo screen either, and there is a dvd player and sound system for entertainment. We will add more games, etc. at the house for future renters.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Excellent. The perfect family get away.

  • 5 of 5

Our second time. . House is very comfortable and perfect for family get away. Sparkling. Grounds were wonderful for playing ball and other activities. Everyone enjoyed the pond with kayak and tubes. Can't wait to come back again. Eli and shira and family

  • Review Submitted: 17-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Albany International Airport
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
variety of bars/pubs in town
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
variety of golf courses in town
Nearest Train
30 Miles
Hudson Train Station
Nearest Motorway
25 Miles
Exit 21 Catskill - NY State Thruway
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
variety of restaurants in town
Nearest Ski
4 Miles
Ski Windham
Nearest Beach
8 Miles
C-D Lane Park Lake
Car: recommended


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £115.88
Property Damage Insurance £45.58

Banner Mountain House is available for weekends, weeks, holidays, special events, monthly and seasonal.

4th of July Holiday: $375 per night (2 night minimum stay)
Columbus Day Weekend: $375 per night (2 night minimum stay)
Winter Monthly Rate: $4,500 (1 month stay)
Winter Season Rental Rate: $14,000 (Dec.1 - March 31 / 4 month rental)
Christmas or Presidents Week: $500 per night (3 night minimum stay)
Winter Holiday Weekend: $500 per night (2 night minimum stay)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.