About the property
- House2000 sqft
- Separate WC's0
- Minimum Stay2 nights
5 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 10
Fully furnished, very comfortable, open living space. Property situated on 7 beautiful acres in the Catskill mountains with panoramic views, fresh water pond and lovely forest landscape.
Only minutes from downhill and cross country skiing, ice skating, scenic golf courses, fishing, whitewater rafting, horseback riding and more.
In the town of Windham you will find a variety of restaurants, antique shops, concert halls, art galleries, wineries, theatres, and more. Year round seasonal beauty abounds, with the changing high colors of the foliage in the Autumn being an exceptional time of beauty.
Year round events and activities include: the Warrior Dash, concerts from classical music (Windham Chamber Music Festival) to blue grass music (Grey Fox Blue Grass Festival), Irish Arts Week, Oktoberfest, and Celtic Fest...as well as nearby historic sites to visit like the homes of world famous Hudson River School artists Frederick Church and Thomas Cole.
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within a few hours
- Calendar last updated:
- May 25, 2018
Local Services & Businesses
Sports & Adventure Activities
Check-in: 3:30 PM
Check-out: 11:00 AM
100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date. 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.
Nice house, clean with enough room for our group of 10. 3 adults, 7 boys
Good location, easy drive to town and slopes. All amenities worked well.
Nice home. Close to windham mountain
Fit 6 adults and 3 kids perfectly. One complaint, the 2nd floor bathroom had a funky smell. Possibly the septic system. Other then that great home very comfortable.
We are so happy that our guests enjoy the comfort and beauty of The Mountain House. To address the guests complaint: We just had new sealant put in around the shower drainage system before this guests stay, we apologize for the temporary smell in the upstairs bathroom it may have caused.
Wonderful house and property!!
The Mountain House was perfect. Beautiful house, large open living area with fireplace, and beautiful views of the mountains and lake. Great kitchen with everything you could need. Meticulously clean with all the amenities of home and just a couple of minutes to ski slopes. We can't wait to come back again, we had a wonderful stay!
PROS: it was a cozy house, the surroundings were very nice, we liked the little pond in front of the house and the views.
- kitchen cooking utensils need to be updated, most of the pans/casseroles were very old, there was no blender...so there were some dishes we couldn't cook for our Thanksgiving meal (no pancakes either cause they didn't have a non sticking pan :(
- There were tons of flies in the house! I know we are in the countryside but it's the first time we have seen so many insects in this time of the year. There were many flies dead on the floor and many other flying around, it was a bit annoying. There should be a more thorough cleaning, we saw many spider webs as well.
- Internet connection wasn't working during our stay (we contacted the manager and said that it was the first time they had this problem so maybe it only happened to us)
- It would be nice to have a bigger TV or more entertainment in the house (I said this comparing to other houses we have been to).
We at The Mountain House strive to make our renters stay a great visit every time, and we believe our numerous excellent reviews reflect this ethos.
We do appreciate our renters feedback, and would like to address this visitors comments:
-first, to future renters, this is a Country Mountain House
-the house is well supplied with quality cooking utensils and plenty of pots and pans that were purposely chosen for the very reason that they were not non-stick. We do understand though that many people like to cook with non-stick pans, so we have added new non-stick pans to the kitchen, along with new baking pans, a blender, and mixer.
-regarding flies and spider webs mentioned, the house is always meticulously clean, and we are surprised at these comments. There were no flies or spider webs when the house was cleaned before this renters stay. The only thing we can think of is that we had taken the screens off the doors and windows early for the winter, and Thanksgiving weekend was warmer than usual, if any doors or windows were left open during the renters stay, that is the only way they could have had such a problem. That said, we are leaving all window and door screens up until Dec. 1st from now on, so this can not be an issue anymore.
-the internet was working during this renters stay, but a reminder to future renters, as stated in our welcome email...you must click on the hot-spot and type in the code # given when using for the system to connect properly.
Finally, the tv screen is not small, but it is not a jumbo screen either, and there is a dvd player and sound system for entertainment. We will add more games, etc. at the house for future renters.
Excellent. The perfect family get away.
Our second time. . House is very comfortable and perfect for family get away. Sparkling. Grounds were wonderful for playing ball and other activities. Everyone enjoyed the pond with kayak and tubes. Can't wait to come back again. Eli and shira and family
A great place to relax!
This was our second time here. It is a comfortable, peaceful place to spend time with your family and friends in a private space.
Additional pricing information
Banner Mountain House is available for weekends, weeks, holidays, special events, monthly and seasonal. 4th of July Holiday: $375 per night (2 night minimum stay) Columbus Day Weekend: $375 per night (2 night minimum stay) Winter Monthly Rate: $4,500 (1 month stay) Winter Season Rental Rate: $14,000 (Dec.1 - March 31 / 4 month rental) Christmas or Presidents Week: $500 per night (3 night minimum stay) Winter Holiday Weekend: $500 per night (2 night minimum stay)