HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Large Studio safe, clean, near airport & beaches.Hi-Speed Internet,Water Cistern

People4
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Photos and Description of this holiday apartment in Sabana Abajo - Large, Safe Studio apartment

Large Studio apt,sleeps 3 people, near airport and beaches (10 min) by auto.

.. Great location about 9 minutes from the international airport & 11minutes by car to Isla Verde hotels and beaches, 45 minutes from Rain-Forest , 20 minutes from Old San Juan. Has everything except food. Air conditioning and hi-speed internet available and cool in the evenings if your exploring all day. Back porch are for sun bathing or picking your own bananas, when ripe. Minimum stay for this price is 4 nights. We can accommodate shorter stays with price adjustments. Please email us for info. Monty has lots of info for seeing the island. He and his assistant can help you with planning your trips around the island. Great for nature lovers. Yes we do have parking off the street. See you soon..........Monty

Short term-Monthly rates are available for this apt and others, but plan ahead to see availablity. We do have another studio apt. with air-conditioning also..& have a large 2bd apt also for sleeping 6 people with loads of space. thanks

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
James Monty Smith (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Speaks English, Spanish

About James Monty Smith

I have been in Puerto Rico with my own businesses since 1970. I have been in the sports industry. We bought this location in a quiet residencial neighborhood near the hotels and beachs only 9-11 minutes away by car.

James Monty Smith purchased this apartment in 1999

Why James Monty Smith chose Puerto Rico

Located in a quiet safe neighborhood thats great for walking and your family. Plus near the hotels and ocean only 10 minutes away by auto.

What makes this apartment unique

Quiet and safe and only 10 minutes by auto from the Crazyness of the Hotels and beaches..... Walk to grocery stores or fruit markets.

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(14 traveller reviews)
Large Studio safe, clean, near airport & beaches.Hi-Speed Internet,Water Cistern
average rating of 4.071429 based on 14 reviews
5

Great place to sleep!

  • 5 of 5

I frequently visit Puerto Rico and this time stayed in the Studio next to the apartment I rented previously. I had a great experience with the property managers and only needed a place to sleep. For the price, it's more than worth it. Obviously this isn't a resort, this is a comfortable place to sleep, which is what I needed it for since I'm always doing something on the island and it suited my needs perfectly, which is why I'm giving it 5 stars.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes, thanks for the great write up on our studio. We always try to help and keep our clients happy. Its not first class but comfortable and down to earth. Quiet neighborhood and much better than Isla Verde Hotel noise and parking problems.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place to stay. A+++

  • 5 of 5

Super great place to stay. The owner is very friendly and keeps a nice residence for travelers. Clean, very conveniently located, and very affordable. I would highly recommend this place. Quiet neighborhood with easy access to downtown San Juan less than 10 minutes away.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 21, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Great client also. we enjoyed the talks and was a great place for him during this time and for us. thanks Jess. Monty
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Good accommodations

  • 4 of 5

It was a pleasent stay at this guesthouse. It was clean, quite, and save. I found it easy to go to places I was interested in. I will return here again.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 5, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Alan, was great. Quiet clean and lots of great friends. Thanks for staying again in our studio apt.. Monty
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Overall good experience

  • 4 of 5

The description was accurate. Close to airport. Place was clean and Monty was kind. Exactly what we needed.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 28, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We try hard to describe exactly what we have for our customers. thank you
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Located in a convenient, nice quiet neighborhood, BUT Renters beware

  • 1 of 5

Upon arriving, we were greeted by Sergio and Monty. Monty briefly oriented us to the apartment and at that point informed us that there may be days when we would be without water due to the drought. We understand that Monty had no control over the shortage of water; however this information should have been shared with us prior to our arrival so that we could either prepare ourselves or decide whether or not to rent out the apartment. Monty informed us that the previous family staying in the apartment had wasted too much water, however that we should have enough water to bathe that night. Well…that was not the case. We dropped our luggage off and went to the supermarket to grab some essentials and when we came back (30 minutes later) there was no water. Monty stopped by after our supermarket run with a 5 gallon bucket of water for us to bathe, use the bathroom, etc. This was not nearly enough for 4 people, especially since water did not return 2 days later. During our 10 day stay we had water a maximum of 2-3 days. We ended up buying gallons of water to bathe, use the bathroom, wash dishes, clean, etc. On our last day there, a few hours before our departure, Monty tells us that he just had a cistern installed and the system had some leaks that he didn't know about, which cause the apartment not to have water on most days, but that the leaks were finally resolved. This was obviously too late for us since the issue was addressed when our stay was coming to an end. (Along with the deposit, he did reimburse us partially, $25, for the gallons of water we bought throughout our stay.) Although we weren’t expecting a 5 star luxurious stay here, we expected a semi-decent apartment for the price we paid. Most pots/pans had rust, which resulted in us purchasing most of our lunches and dinners outside. There were two small refrigerators, one of which needed to be closed with an elastic cord hook so that it wouldn’t remain ajar. It would have been more convenient to have a regular size refrigerator or even a compact one. The dining table chairs were broken so we had to sit on the sofas or bed to eat. The apartment in itself could have been more maintained. The TV cable apparently has a splitter because there were times when we had no control over what we could watch, especially in the evening hours. One of the days, it said we could not change the TV because it was recording of “Miami Vice”. (3) there should have been a binder/guide of some sort with detailed info

  • Review Submitted: Sep 3, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have notified all customers before arrival about the water problems. We had just installed a water cistern. We have a on site caretaker to fix or solve any problems that might come up. Chairs TV or so on. Let us know. We were never made aware of any problems by the client while they were there, except for the water problem.. PLEASE FEEL FREE To LET OUR ON SITE CARETAKER. Solve any problems... All items noted in review have been taken care of, thank you
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great little appt

  • 5 of 5

This was a great deal. The owner and the person at the location were very helpful. The appt has 2 beds, one can fit 2 people and a nice size couch. Clean property, in the middle of Carolina (beautiful city) 10 mins from the airport ( San Juan) and about 15 mins from Isla Verde (beach)

The only issue we encountered and this wasn't the owner's fault, is that PR is going through a drought right now, so they are rationing water. We had water every other day, so keep that in mind.

Close to a grocery store, a few restaurants, Walgreens, everything is right there.

Really safe area as well. If I go back to PR would def go back here.

  • Review Submitted: May 27, 2015
  • Date of Stay: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ronald, was a great client. and we again say we were sorry the city was cutting off the water every other day. We did have the 5 gallon water jugs and gallons of water for you. see you again we hope. Monty & Jose
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
2 Miles
San Juan International
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Bodegon Resturant
Nearest Ferry
20 Miles
Farjado to Culebra & Vieques
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Several golf courses
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Hwy #26
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Chinese Restaurant
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Isla Verde Beachs
Car: recommended

The location is near airport and 10 min.from the beaches. Great for nature lovers. Nice mellow neighborhood. Plaza Carolina mall only 10 minutes by car. Surfing, Beaches & snorkeling only minutes away. The rain-forest and Farjado boat trips about 40 minutes. Lots to do from here. Isla Verde Hotels and fun about 10 minutes by car also. Not luxury,Rustic but clean and safe. Wi-fi and off street parking. Rental is with air-conditioning and Hi speed internet

Golf: Golf courses as close as 20 minutes from apt.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Sabana Abajo, Puerto Rico

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Christmas Holidays
15 Dec 2016 - 15 Jan 2017
4 night minimum stay
£254
for 4 nights
From
£52
£410
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
£224
for 4 nights
From
£45
£357
£763
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £57
Cleaning fee £45

Review rental policies and terms
Please take a moment to review all the unique policies of this rental.

Cancellation Policy - Bookings canceled at least 14 days before the start of the stay will receive a 50% refund. Bookings canceled at least 30 days before the start of the stay will receive a 100% refund. Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund. Cancellations must be made by 12:00 PM CST (Central Standard Time) on the appropriate day.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates to see total
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Sabana Abajo in Caribbean

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 420 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • near the sea ...
  • rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • We have a self contained water heater in shower to warm up the water. Hot hot water not to be expected. We keep the basics to save energy and help the environment. We do have some vegetables to pick or eat in our own garden in back yard. Bananas and coconuts soon papayas lots of them in the back yard.
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Single Bed
  • Large studio, includes large Full bed and twin bed. other sleeping mats available. Front and back yard. Cable TV and hi-speed wifi for super good internet connections. The kitchen with stove and Frigidaire. All you need is food. We try to keep a change of sheets available for you in the apt also. There is a back yard for yourself with bananas and other fruits and vegetables also. You can lay in the back yard and get a sun tan or go to the beach only 10 minutes by car.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Yard
  • 3 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • forests
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The rental rate does include air-conditioning. & high speed internet. We request that your not using air conditioner day and night. Be reasonable use when needed. thanks

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties