Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Trelbury's On-the-Beach UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights


About the property

Looking for the ideal beach front property - look no further than Trelburys-on-the-Beach. It is a sparkling clean home used exclusively for holiday makers who are looking for peace, calmness, tranquility and a safe place for the kids. It is a 3 minute walk to Woolworths, local Tavern (great meals), Lake Cathie Bowling Club (try their baked dinners!), bakery, fish & chip shop (great for on the beach), coffee shop, pharmacy, post office, newsagent - you get the idea! Close to everything to make your stay a delight. Sleeping accommodation: Upstairs are two bedrooms with 1 x Queen size bed and 1 x double bed. Downstairs is a massive bedroom with another Queens size bed and a double bunk, with a mile of cupboard space. There is a monstrous size timber laminate floor rumpus room for the kids, complete with their own video, TV etc. THE ONLY THING NOT SUPPLIED IS YOUR LINEN SO PLEASE MAKE SURE YOU PACK THESE ITEMS. There are pillows and doonas but you will need your own sheets, pillow cases, and towels.

Family Friendly - safe - secure and plenty to do nearby!

There is the normal home entertainment available, video, DVD , colour televisions (2), etc. A cross selection of video tapes, CD's are also supplied.

At the front of the house (upstairs), is the massive verandah/whale watching platform, which has a large timber (seating for 8) setting. There is a gas BBQ and a secured back yard for the young ones. There is parking on the property for 2-3 cars as well as a boat.

What is particularly impressive about Lake Cathie is that it has both an ocean beach frontage as well as Lake Cathie which is a safe haven for swimming. So you can choose to swim either at the ocean beach, or at the lake!

The kitchen has all the usual features, including microwave, large refrigerator, all your cooking utensils and table setting for 8 persons.

What to do! (and where is Lake Cathie?)

Lake Cathie (pronounced "cat-eye") is on the Sydney side of Port Macquarie. "Port" as the locals refer to it is around 20 minutes drive - Port has all the upmarket restaurants and tourist facilities. Going south from Trelburys along on Ocean Drive, you can visit the sleepy but beautiful seaside towns of Camden Haven, Dunboggin and Laurieton (the Thai restaurant is a good meal and good value!)

The drive from Sydney takes around 3.5 hours as the new highway development make driving a pleasure!

Our beach front home is also very popular with residents from the Newcastle area who find it within easy reach.

More Details

Banu Matouk
Member since: 2008
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
23 June, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Lake Cathie in Port Macquarie-Hastings Council

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 14:30
  • /
  • Check-out: 09:30
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Waterfront
  • Family
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Large Double Bed
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Barbecue


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(27 traveller reviews)

62% Complete
22% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
Trelbury's On-the-Beach UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 27 reviews

Good locaction

  • 3 of 5

Good location - close to beach, lake, shops and cafe.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Mar-2016
  • Date of Stay: January 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. A refurbishment of the house is currently under way. A new freestanding oven has been installed, there is a new BBQ; new furnishings and other improvements are scheduled.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Northern NSW

Mixed Reviews, but still a good holiday.

  • 4 of 5

We had mixed views about this property. Yes it is a great location, close to everything, and fantastic to be so close to the beach, and views from the balcony are awesome. House is very spacious too, enough room for everyone.

Although on arrival the lawns had not been maintained and were very long, we were left to contact the man that looks after the lawns, which i might add was very rude about the whole thing, and was a drama we did not want to have to worry about on holidays. The house does need quite a bit of TLC, Oven does not work well....some windows are rusted and won't open, and the ones you can open need something under them to keep up, not all the blinds work, so leaving windows open causes them to blow around. I know these are all minor things, and overall we still enjoyed our holiday, but i feel the amount of money it cost is really only for the location.

  • Review Submitted: 05-Feb-2016
  • Date of Stay: December 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Louise for the feedback. Although based in Sydney was able to visit Trelburys last weekend and have already started to address some of the issues raised. (I fixed the gap in the vertical blinds). I am sorry the local lawn contractor hadn't done the job for which he is appointed too, and being rude by him is unacceptable. I regret you experienced this. On your phone call to me re the lawns, I immediately acted and had him do the lawns the very next day, I regret it wasn't completed prior. Kind regards... Stephen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

I agree with Sharyn 4 months ago and Paul 8 months ago..Barbeque filthy ..fridge shelves were stuck together with glue and bending couldnt be used..Allen who came around to fix the oven which still didnt work was amazed at what he saw and I have photos to show..Stephen the owner sent a cleaner around at 3pm to clean on the Friday and we were leaving on the Sunday and we had cleaned where we were using..friends were amazed at what they saw..there were more..we came home and Stephen was very hard to contact by phone he hung up on us at one time and very rarely answered emails...I feel sad writing this..I think Stephen should go up and check everything out ...some of the photos on the ad must have been taken a few years ago as quite a few things are different now...

  • Review Submitted: 27-Oct-2015
  • Date of Stay: August 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I have just come back from inspecting Trelburys to personally investigate the comments from Janice (I am based in Sydney). The oven is functioning perfectly and it is surprising that the guest was unable to turn two dials to operate it, one to turn the oven function on, the other to set the temperature required. I paid for an electrician go call around on a Sunday (at a premium cost) to have a look at it for her when it was not a real repair issue at all. I spoke to the contract cleaner and there is a decided difference of opinion on what Janice suggests and what the cleaner asserts. I am unable to comment on this. Janice complained there was some dust under one of the beds so I arranged for the cleaner to go back and re clean. The cleaner wasn't too complimentary on how Janice and her partner had left the place. Despite this, her full security bond of $200 was returned. I admit BBQs are problematic as these are located outside. Guests are asked to self clean the BBQ after use as the cleaner on holiday properties do not generally clean outside facilities such as the BBQ. To encourage guests to do the right thing I am considering for the future, to offer an optional BBQ cleaning service to guests at the cost of $100 (which will be deducted from their rental bond) as a disincentive to leave the BBQ in an unclean condition AND to encourage guests to replace the cover over the BBQ when finished in order to protect it from the harsh coastal salt air. Coastal holiday properties like our, located right on the beach, generally replace BBQs every five to six months, however, this of course is not a concern to guests but it does affect the amount of tariff charged to cost recover.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Geelong, Victoria, Australia


  • 5 of 5

Our stay was lovely and relaxing. Great views from the deck and sun room. It was great to be able to holiday with our small dog. My husband just had to walk about across the road for a fish.

We had seven weeks at Trelbury`s On The Sea.

We did not want to leave. Local shops and pub only a few minutes walk away.

I would like to thank the owner``Stephen`` Nothing was any trouble for him.

We would go back there tomorrow if we could.

  • Review Submitted: 28-Sep-2015
  • Date of Stay: June 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Margo for your kind words. We try very hard to make all guests feel welcome and at home. You have the record of staying the longest of any guest over the past ten years. Seven weeks and then not wanting to leave is quite a compliment for Trelburys. Thanks again. Stephen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

What a wonderful location!

  • 4 of 5

We spent a wonderful week at Trelbury's. We soaked up the sun in the sunroom and out on the verandah. We saw whales playing offshore and watched the sea endlessly. Great walks and close by shopping. It was a week with beauty and nature.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Jul-2015
  • Date of Stay: June 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Great you had a good time and the weather was fine for your holiday. Please advise your banking details in order to return your security bond. Thanks. Kind regards... Stephen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Fabulous location poor management

  • 3 of 5

The location is beautiful and we had a lovely time with our family. However, after 3 months of chasing the owner we are yet to have our bond and none of our emails have been returned. The house was dirty, the lounge in a box and filthy stories were written in the guest book that was left out for children to read. Very disappointed.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Jun-2015
  • Date of Stay: February 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Disappointing to read this review especially given my mobile number has been provided in my correspondence yet no one has called. All emails have been properly responded.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Other Activities:

Beach and Lake


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals