HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Charming apts on west coast, geared for comfort and located for convenience - Cinnamon Cottage

Bedrooms 3
Space 750 sq ft
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 7 nights



Cinnamon Cottage

A charming, dpscious cottage style one bedroom apartment providing all the comforts of home. The bedroom has a large, comfortable bed, efficient ceiling fans, and optional AC available in the bedroom for an extra charge. Cinnamon has its a separate large shower room.

The kitchen is fully equipped with fridge/freezer, gas stove, microwave, kettle, and toaster.

The lounge has comfortable seating and television, with overhead fan. Dining is alfresco but under cover, overlooking the plunge pool.. There are sun loungers for outdoor relaxation within your personal garden space. Cinnamon Cottage has the luxury of a jacuzzi, and there are always humming birds and geckos working busily in the gardens, and at night you might be lucky enough to spot fireflies in the trees. Listen out for the whistling frogs and let them lull to you to sleep with their nightsong.

About the property

Sugar & Spice Apartments

Cinnamon Cottage is a comfortable one bedroom apartment sleeping two persons in a kingsize bed, with a ceiling fan and optional AC, and closet safe for securing your belongings. The bathroom is next door.

Relax in the comfortable lounge with overhead fan, television, wi-fi and stereo. A fully equipped kitchen, with gas stove, large fridge/freezer and microwave. There is a covered deck for outdoor dining, and guests here enjoy exclusive use of Cinnamon's plunge pool/spa directly off the deck. Of course the guests also enjoy the benefits of the resort pool at The Beach Club, where there is a top notch bar/restaurant.

Demerara Cottage is also a one bedroom unit with king-size bed, ceiling fan, optional AC [extra] en suite shower room and closet safe. This apartment has a comfortable lounge with television, wifi and radio, a fully equipped kitchen with gas stove and large fridge/freezer plus all the usual small gadgets and utensils.

An additional connecting bedroom is available for larger groups, and can accommodate up to 2 extra people for an extra 25% to the list price for Demerara. [Please see notes.]

A covered deck for alfresco dining completes the accommodation here.

Ginger Studio makes up the trio and although the accommodation is smaller, it is still a comfortable base for your holiday, providing full gas stove, full size fridge/freezer and microwave, plus all the usual small gadgets.

Wifi and streamed television are available for your entertainment, and connection to the outside world..

The attractive bedroom again has an en suite shower room, with a ceiling fan over the queen bed, plus optional air conditioning, plenty of storage and a closet safe.

The apartments are ideally located in the same grounds, near sandy beaches, and can be rented together, comfortably sleeping 6 persons. The gardens are pretty and quiet and each apartment has a private portion of the garden, with adequate sun loungers. Geckos, humming birds and other tropical birds can be seen on a regular basis, with the occasional monkey passing through, and at night, if you're very lucky, you might see fireflies lighting up the trees.

Five minutes walk away is the exclusive beachfront resort club with 50 ft pool and upmarket seafront bar/restaurant, for which visitor passes are provided. Also nearby - banks, supermarket, duty free shops, restaurants, plus a luxury cinema and designer store shopping mall.

Activities: Tennis courts are nearby, where equipment is available for hire. There are two famous golf courses in the area - Sandy Lane and Royal Westmoreland. There are many other sporting activities available, including horseback riding, cycling, sailing trips and watersports obviously, so you can be as active as you like, but you might prefer to just 'chillax' on the beach with a rum or a beer and wait for the sun to set on the horizon!

Take a stroll and visit the nearby beautiful Lime Grove Centre for the ultimate in designer shopping and cinema experience, and a selection of reasonably priced restaurants.

There are many places of interest to visit and lots of excursions on offer, so there really is plenty to do if you can bear to tear yourself away from the beauty of the west coast. Hire a car or go on an organized trip to the east coast which is wild and rugged, with many points of interest along the way.

There's so much to do in Barbados, you will want to come back time after time, and the welcome mat will be out at Sugar and Spice Apartments just waiting for your return.

More Details

Moira Campbell
Member since: 2008
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
21 May, 2018

About Moira Campbell

I am a British woman in my sixties and I've been living in Barbados for 20 years now. I am almost always here to greet guests and I'm usually around for local information and help with things around the apartments. I'm available most of the time, but I know that visitors haven't come to Barbados to see me, so don't worry, I'll leave you in peace unless I'm needed!

Moira Campbell purchased this apartment in 96

Why Moira Campbell chose Sunset Crest

The location is excellent - reasonably quiet but still in the middle of things. Easy walking distance to all local amenities and close to a bus route for those places of interest that are not so near. Situated in pretty tropical gardens, but a short walk to beach and pool and shops. Well equipped units with friendly service.

What makes this apartment unique

Peace and quiet whilst being close to everything tourists want or need.

Available Rentals

Enter dates for accurate pricing


Rental rates are quoted in US dollars and are excluding AC which is an optional extra in the bedrooms at USD12 per night per room. Ceiling fans are free.
Pool entry cards carry a REFUNDABLE deposit of USD25 per card. One card covers 2 persons.
The deposit is 30% with the reservation, and is payable with Visa or Mastercard.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Sunset Crest in Holetown

Property Type:
  • apartment (semi-detached)
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 750 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • resort
  • town
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Holiday Complex
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking On Street
  • Safe
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Demerara - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , and Vanity
    Ginger - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , and Vanity
    Cinnamon - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , and Vanity
  • The bathrooms are stylish, fresh and clean, with linens supplied twice weekly.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 2
  • Demerara - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , King/twin
    Ginger - 1 Large Double Bed
    Cinnamon - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , King/twin
  • Bedrooms have big comfy beds and are attractively decorated. Efficient overhead fans cool the bedrooms, but AC is available at a small extra charge if required. Ample closet and drawer space is provided. Hair dryers, bathroom towels and beach towels are also supplied. The shower rooms have vanities and WCs . All bedrooms have safes.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Deck Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Veranda
  • Tennis ...
  • Tennis Court
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Decking
  • 1 bicycles
  • 11 garden chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Housekeeper
  • Staff
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Guests are respectfully requested to only smoke outdoors. AC is an optional extra in the bedrooms only. Apartments are clean for your arrival. Maid service can be provided as an extra by prior arrangement. Owner is on site for questions, information and minor repairs. Small very friendly dogs on site.


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(11 traveller reviews)

54% Complete
36% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
Cinnamon Cottage
average rating of 4.2727275 based on 11 reviews

Not at all what we were expecting

  • 1 of 5

We definitely would not rent here again. Our least favorite rental experience we have ever had. Only cold water for the shower, no phone to call cabs or make dinner reservations or book excursions, A.C. only works in the bedroom and the rest of the place is VERY hot. And no privacy at all. We love Barbados and have rented in this country before but we hated this place. What a waste of money. Not to mention the entire place is a cluttered mess and full of stuffed animals.

  • Review Submitted: 05-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am really sorry this couple did not enjoy their stay. The cold water was due to a fault in the solar system, which unfortunately the solar company did not fix until they had left, and this was out of my control. However it is not true to say that the apartment is cluttered or a mess, or that there is no privacy. Renters are generally very happy with it as the previous reviews suggest, but I guess no matter how hard you try, you cant please everyone, and I wasnt very happy about the cold water myself - unfortunately I dont have a magic wand.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Very quiet and comfortable

  • 4 of 5

We stayed at Cinnamon Cottage and it was a very quiet and pleasant setting. Moira was very nice and her dogs were so precious and friendly. We were not able to make use of the Jacuzzi or the pool as we were hardly ever there. The only negative thing is that my boyfriend is deaf, and the television, although the closed caption was turned on, they never appeared. So, for the time we were there, my boyfriend was unable to really enjoy television and was basically lost. This is the only reason I give it 4 stars rather than 5. I would recommend this location to everyone. We loved Barbados.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Oct-2016
  • Date of Stay: September 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind review. I am sorry about the television, but unfortunately this is the first I 'm hearing about it. Had you mentioned it at the time, I might have been able to fix the problem. In fact it is a good idea for people to mention disabilities prior to the booking so that owners/managers can assess if the property is suitable for them.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

I've been to Barbados many times over the past 13 yrs and stayed in various rentals. This May I was lucky enough to find Sugar and Spice apartments and now will never go anywhere else. Moira the owner was friendly and helpful. Ginger Cottage was extremely clean ( even to my OCD standards ) and comfortable. Being a lone female I felt safe straight away especially with Moira's two little dogs who are super. The apartment was nicely decorated and contained everything I needed for my 3 weeks stay, including ample supply of clean towels and bedlinen. The Grounds were pretty and had solar lighting at night, with plenty of loungers for use in the daytime. The Beach Club pool is great and Restaurants / Bars / Shops are all within easy walking distance. I have already recommended this property to all my family and friends. Fabulous place, fabulous holiday!

  • Review Submitted: 04-Jun-2015
  • Date of Stay: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Ginger & Spice Cottage .......perfect stay

  • 5 of 5

This is a lovely cottage with all you could require in a fabulous position in Holetown in St James in the most exclusive part of the island I have been visiting the island since 2008 and this was the best value for money, near all the shops and bars with Lime Grove on the doorstep. Moira is a great hostess and am very firmly booked in for a whole month over the Christmas period. Can't wait,

  • Review Submitted: 04-Jun-2015
  • Date of Stay: January 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very satisfied, can’t wait to go back

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in Ginger Cottage at the Sugar and Spice complex for 4 weeks in February 2015. We were warmly welcomed on our arrival, by Moira, the owner.

The apartment, although small it is nicely decorated, well equipped, comfortable and excellent value for money.

Ginger Cottage is the smallest of the 3 units and this is reflected in the price. It comprises a bedroom, shower/WC, lounge/kitchen area and a small covered veranda for dining. There’s a choice of garden area with loungers, a shared barbecue and a hidden laundry area. There is everything for a relaxing holiday in the Caribbean.

The location is quiet, but conveniently close to all the shops and restaurants of Holetown, with an excellent bus service for exploring further afield on the island, so car rental is not essential. The private pool complex adjacent to a sandy beach, and next door to The Beach House for food and drinks is an excellent additional facility. There is a 24/7 mini supermarket open 365 days a year, just 8 minutes’ walk away.

  • Review Submitted: 31-May-2015
  • Date of Stay: February 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Penticton, BC

Awesome 3 weeks!

  • 4 of 5

My Husband and I stayed in Cinnamon Cottage for 3 weeks. Loved the location. Close to everything and the beach pool house use was spectacular. Moira and the pups were all very helpful. lol We would definatley return to this peaceful haven. Keep in mind it is like someone's 'house' with lots of 'stuff' in it. But fully equipt in every way. Only downfall (from my husband) was there is no TV as advertised (just internet streaming) and aside from clean towels and sheets, no maid service as advertised, not that it was needed as we are pretty clean and organized. Overall a definate 4 out of 5!

  • Review Submitted: 22-Apr-2015
  • Date of Stay: February 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
26 Kilometres
Grantley Adams International
Nearest Barpub
500 Metres
The Beach House and Just Grillin'
Nearest Ferry
11 Kilometres
Bridgetown Harbour
Nearest Golf
1 Kilometres
Sandy Lane
Nearest Restaurant
500 Metres
The Beach House
Nearest Beach
2000 Metres
Sandy Lane
Car: not necessary

Sunset Crest Resort in Holetown is a central location for historic Bridgetown and Speightstown, and all areas inland. Beaches are of course a favourite, but there are many tourist attractions on the island - tropical gardens, historic homes and a museum, coastline cruises, scuba diving and snorkeling to enjoy our underwater life, water sports, dinner shows, rum tours, horseback riding, safari jeep tours, plantation homes, booze and snooze cruises on catamarans, each offering a swimming with turtles experience. There's golf, tennis, walking, duty free shopping, local culture, rum shops or fancy restaurants -- you just have to get on a plane and its all here waiting for you!! Of course if you prefer to do nothing more energetic than just chill on the beach or at our resort pool, both are just a 500 metre walk away.

Surfers love the big breakers of the east coast, but generally the turquoise waters of the west coast are much calmer. Holetown is the hub of the west coast, with all the necessary facilities, including a supermarket, for a comfortable, easy holiday.

Other activities such as jet skiing, snorkelling, tennis, and golf are all here for you to enjoy. There are several golf courses on the island, but the nearest are the world famous course at the Sandy Lane Hotel, and at Royal Westmoreland. Visitor passes can be purchased for both of these, but they are expensive. There is also a municipal course not too far away.