Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Vördufell Villa at Golden Circle in South Iceland

People12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Space 1,786 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

166 sq Villa for families and groups. For 14 pers 3 double - 5 single. 2 bathr

166 sq.m. Villa. 200 sq.m. terrace. In the Vördufell mountain. In the most beautiful and popular area in South Iceland. Breathtakingly stunning view over famous mountains, glaciers and rivers. Restful environment Perfect for groups and families.

Large main entrance with good space for outdoor clothing. Two others outdoor to very large terrace, where you find hot tub for 10 persons, grill, outdoor furniture and trampoline for kids. A very well equipped kitchen for 14 persons with plenty of work space. Large dining room with fantastic view over Iceland glaciers, rivers and mountains. TV room with two sleeping sofas, a table and a chair for a computer. The Villa have free internet.( WI-FI ). Two bedrooms with comfortable double beds and in the other room is also a single bed. One and a half size bed is in a common space. In that common space is a small fridge and a table and chair for computer. Two bathrooms, both with a shower. Stairs leads to second floor where are five comfortable single beds. The Villa is in the Vörðufell mountain. A hectar land. Farms are near by and you see sheep, horses, cows and you hear wonderful birdsong in the mountain.

The location is brilliant for you if you want to see Gullfoss (waterfall) and Geysir, Skálholt, Laugavatn (Fontana Spa) Thingvellir (the nationalpark). 30 to 40 min. drive. A day trip to the highlands of Landmannalaugar, Hekla, Thorsmörk, Skogarfoss, (waterfall) Eyjafjallajökull, the Westman islands and you return in the evening to the cozy Villa in Vördufell mountain.

Lot of entertainment: Many Golf courses, Fishing, Hiking, Horseriding, River rafting, Swimming halls, little Stores, Restaurants and Bars. In the neighbourhood you can find many greenhouses and buy all kinds of fresh vegetables.

More Details

Owner
Guðbjörg Rós Haraldsdóttir
Member since: 2016
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English, Swedish, Danish, Norwegian
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
17 July, 2018

About Guðbjörg Rós Haraldsdóttir

Mother of six upgrown children. I work as a nurse in a healthcare. I live in Selfoss and I like travelling, outwear, skiing and cycling with my husband.

Guðbjörg Rós Haraldsdóttir purchased this house in 2014

Why Guðbjörg Rós Haraldsdóttir chose Southern Region

Stunning view over Icelandic mountains and glaciers at the most popular aria in South Iceland.

What makes this house unique

The house is lovely, bright and large. And the view is breath taken.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house on Southern Region on Iceland

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1786 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Single Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed , 1 Child Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 5 Single Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 5 - 2 Sofa bed/Futon , Two sleep sofas. Room for 2 people in each, total 4
Entertainment:
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(11 traveller reviews)

54% Complete
27% Complete
9% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
Vördufell Villa at Golden Circle in South Iceland
average rating of 4.2727275 based on 11 reviews
Where do you live?
3

DIY cottage

  • 3 of 5

Our host was very nice and accommodating, however hard to recommend the property. Good location, beautiful views, very clean. Two somewhat normal bedrooms. Loft has a dangerous and steep staircase so that no one in our party felt safe going up to explore. Reminded us of a recently passed father's diy projects at an old cottage. In the end it works ok with 5 people using 3 bedrooms. Kitchen was fine, BBQ worked. Clothes washer had limitations specifically did not spin well to reduce water clothes. No dryer. Hot pot (with control under the kitchen sink) worked but the plywood cover was awkward. The most fun was accidentally starting the stove fan disguised as a cabinet!

  • Review Submitted: 30-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Saint Just, Cornwall, United Kingdom
5

Beautiful location

  • 5 of 5

Our party of 10 (8 adults & 2 small children) had a wonderful Christmas in this lovely house.

Each bedroom was very comfortable, space for clothes and suitcases. Plenty of bedding and pillows.

The lounge has amazing views over the countryside which you could literally spend hours looking at.

We found everything we needed to cook and serve a great Christmas dinner. As somebody previously posted a few more mugs in the kitchen would be good.

It snowed on Christmas Eve and the children had great fun playing on the decked area and the slide. The garden is a real bonus for children to play in.

We struggled slightly with the hot tub lid but the tub itself was fantastic, really easy to empty, clean and refill. Hooks for hanging towels along side is great too.

A four wheel drive car is a must in the winter as the lane was very icy, crampons helped too for walking it.

We were very lucky to have a great show of the Aurora on two nights from the garden, the perfect end to our Christmas.

I would highly recommend this property. Great views, plenty of space and very comfortable.

Thank you Guðbjörg for the Christmas decorations and the homemade wine & chocolates, they were lovely. Thank you also for your quick responses to my many questions leading up to and during our stay, you are a brilliant host.

  • Review Submitted: 30-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your visit to Vörðufell. I am so happy that you enjoyed you stay this Christmas.I wish you and your family a happy new year and all the best. Guðbjörg.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great

  • 5 of 5

Nice quiet property in the country. Great view of morning sunrise. Would recommend.

  • Review Submitted: 10-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
London UK
4

Stunning location

  • 4 of 5

Well located for exploring Southern Iceland. The house was well equipped, and suited our large group, with enough space to spread out.

The property isn't new and as such there are areas of wear and tear, but nothing that would hamper your enjoyment of the space. We loved the hot tub!

The stairs to the attic room are very steep, and not suitable for young children, and the attic bedrooms could do with some blackout blinds.

Communication from the owner was great, with emails and questions being dealt with promptly.

We'd stay again!

  • Review Submitted: 30-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Lovely big house as a great base for an Iceland holiday

  • 5 of 5

A big group of family and friends stayed here for 2 weeks and it was a joy. The location is great for touring around the SW, with Geyser, Gulfoss, Pingvellir and others all within easy reach. The view from the verandas around the house are spectacular with the hill behind the house in view from the hot tub.

The house is lovely and spacious with 3 good doubles, 5 singles in the open-plan, low head-space loft (with very narrow stairs - more like a ladder) and several other bed options/ permutations. One draw back is there are only 2 bathrooms for a big house and lots of guests (one of which is en-suite so a little less accessible for all), but this seems to be a problem everywhere in Iceland. It would have been helpful if there were mirrors in the bedrooms so that putting make-up on didn't take up precious bathroom time! The joys of constant hot water (very hot!) both in the house and continuously replacing the hot tub, and quickly heating up radiators if needed was lovely.

Plenty of bedding and linen provided was all clean, although the towels were a bit tired and thin - but perfectly adequate.

The kitchen was well kitted out for catering for a big group, the dining table held 10 easily and there was all the crockery and cutlery we needed (though perhaps a few more mugs would have been useful - for the tea-drinkers; and glasses for the variety of alcohol)

Prospective guests should be aware that the nearest decent sized supermarket is in Selfoss - about 1/2 hour drive away. There is a small shop at the garage locally, but this is very limited. You need to plan for getting provisions. The fridge has a small freezer section, but not enough for bulk frozen goods.

All in all, this was a brilliant place to stay for a big group. It's not top of the range, but has everything you need and we had a great stay.

  • Review Submitted: 23-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Beautiful home nestled in the mountains

  • 5 of 5

A very pleasant stay with no complaints whatsoever. Our host was very easy to get in touch with and had answers to all of our questions. Clear instructions are posted on the washer and Dishwasher to make use easy. Trampoline was a lot of fun to play on. A group of 8 stayed for 3 nights and had plenty of room and a great time!

  • Review Submitted: 04-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your visit to Vörðufell. Guðbjörg.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals