HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Luxury property with private heated pool and tennis court in 5 acres of grounds

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights

About the property

Luxury accommodation in secluded village location. All bedrooms en-suite.

The Gite has been created from the barns of an 1850s Maison de Maitre. It has been renovated to the highest standard, with modern fittings but preserving original features.

The three bedrooms (2 double, one twin) accommodate 6 as standard (8 if the optional futons are used). They are all spacious and all have en-suite bath/shower rooms.

The living accommodation comprises a large open-plan space with sitting area, dining area and modern kitchen. There is a separate laundry room. A covered terrace provides a shady dining space.

Out of season, double-glazing, a wood-burning stove (logs provided) and electric heating in all rooms ensure year-round warmth.

The property is set in large grounds (over 2 hectares, 5 acres) featuring a heated swimming pool (open from May to September) with plenty of sun-bathing space, and a full-size all-weather tennis court. Other facilities include a BBQ, table tennis, basketball hoop, satellite TV (English and French channels), DVD player, games console, and WiFi.

The property is in a quiet and secluded location and provides complete privacy. The owners' property is adjacent but would not normally be occupied during lets of 7 nights or more (for lets of 2-6 nights the owners may be in residence but guests privacy will be respected and they will have exclusive use of all facilities).

More Details

Elizabeth or Nigel Brooks
Member since: 2012
Speaks English, French
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
30 December, 2016

Guestbook comments from the owner

Deep comfort combined with such an extraordinary level of rural peace meant we were rested and energised in equal doses. The owner has organised excellent care from an English speaking representative and nothing is too much trouble. Highly recommended'. M Steel, Bath, UK.
Jun 2012
  • 1 of 1


4.4/5 -
(5 traveller reviews)

Luxury property with private heated pool and tennis court in 5 acres of grounds
average rating of 4.4 based on 6 reviews

Nice property in a poor area

  • 2 of 5

We originally booked this property in 2014 for August 2015 but unfortunately immediately after booking and paying a deposit our situation changed and we tried to cancel.

The owner referred to the terms & conditions which stated that we would only receive a refund once the dates were resold - this seemed reasonable & as we know how popular houses in France are we weren't too concerned. I regularly checked the website until I noticed that it was indeed rebooked. I contacted Elizaeth to request the deposit but she said it had not been re-let & that she had accidentally put in the wrong dates.

I realised at this point there was no way we were going to get our deposit back so we delayed the booking a year

house & grounds are lovely with a few problems...

Firstly, the whole of the downstairs is open planned so unless you all go to bed at the same time (there were 8 of us) the sound carries terribly, one member of our group was pregnant so she really didn't get any peace

Secondly, it's HOT! Which you obviously expect for this region in August however there are no fans in any of the rooms and no way to open the velux window on the landing to get a through breeze. (The owners have fitted air conditioning but guests can not use it)

Thirdly, the church bells don't make for a good nights sleep! Particularly the extended chimes at 7am to call the locals to prayer

Fourthly, the immediate area is disappointing. Having spent all my summers in France (my mum is French) I'm used to much prettier areas with much better restaurants and markets. The market is ok if you need a long nightie or a straw bag but it had a very poor selection of food for a French market and even poorer choice of local restaurant.

There are other restaurants if you wish to drive 30-40 mins however we didn't want to go that far

Fifthly, there are two futons to make the house sleep up to 8 people. Two 9 year olds with us had to use these and there were awful - you could feel the wooden slats so badly that we had to take the mattresses off of the sun loungers every night to make them more comfy

Pillows were cheap, thin & uncomfortable

kitchen is well equipped and en suites are all good, there is a light grey leather sofa in the lounge that really would benefit from a good scrub - we put towels down

We were in fantastic company which saved the day. we all returned shattered needing our own beds.

My advice would be there are nicer properties in nicer areas.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry that these guests did not enjoy their stay with us. This is the first time that we have had a negative review and we therefore believe it deserves a full response. Unfortunately, for the first time since starting our gite, we had to make a deduction for damages from the security deposit paid by these guests. Although the deduction was entirely reasonable (a sun lounger had been badly damaged) it obviously rankled and we believe it is this that has influenced their review. Regarding the deposit paid for the initial booking, the week in question was never re-booked by others, and therefore we could have retained the deposit. However we offered to let the guests use it for their 2016 booking and we even charged the 2015 rates for that 2016 booking. The ground floor is indeed open plan, providing a very large and comfortable living/dining space with a kitchen area. This contemporary layout meets the needs of most visitors and is made clear in the description and photos on the web site. The bedrooms are all on a separate floor and, in this substantially-constructed building, normal noise levels should not carry from the living areas below. The week in question was unusually hot, even for the region. The reviewer was mistaken in that we do not have air conditioning in the gite, however we have now provided electric fans for each of the bedrooms. The gite is in a very quiet small village location. The village does have a church with hourly chimes, but is otherwise undisturbed. The Gascony region is a rural part of France, away from the hustle and bustle of Provence and the over-touristy areas of the Dordogne. It appeals particularly to parties seeking a quiet family holiday, but with access to the Pyrenees National Park (for hiking, cycling and skiing in winter), nearby historic centres such as Tarbes, Lourdes and Auch and the many summer music festivals. The gite itself offers a great deal, with an excellent all-weather tennis court, 12m heated swimming pool, 5 acres of landscaped grounds and a wide range of other indoor and outdoor facilities. Our guests are not normally bored! The gite is advertised primarily for 6 persons, the 2 futons (Ikea with 12cm mattresses) are intended for the use of smaller children and are generally entirely suitable – we have had no other complaints, even when used by older children. We are sorry, Tamsin, that on this occasion we had to make a deduction from your security deposit.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Wonderful retreat!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time at this superb gite and were sad to leave! The gite is beautiful and excellently equipped- we had everything we needed and more. The pool, tennis court and grounds are absolutely stunning and we enjoyed the majority of our stay simply relaxing in such wonderful surroundings . We had all our meals outside and we really enjoyed the upper terrace for dinner in the evening sun. It is without doubt the loveliest gite that we have stayed in. We would love to return!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Super Family Gite

  • 5 of 5

Wow! We nearly didn't write a review, we wanted to keep this place to ourselves. If anything, the description of the property and the pictures do not do it justice. The gite was extremely clean and well furnished, loads of space, even for a family of 6. Amazing service by the owners - they were extremely quick to respond to any concerns even though they were not in residence during our stay. The tennis courts and table tennis table ensured that energetic boys were kept busy. The heated pool enabled a number of late night swims accompanied by a glass of local Rosé, made a perfect end to the day...

Great local, new supermarket and plenty of places to eat made this the perfect place to spend a week 'getting away from it all'

Just over an hour and you're in Spain..

Will return

  • Review Submitted: Oct 31, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

A luxury home away from home

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this wonderful gite a week in June 2014. The gite was ideally located with a supermarket about 5 minutes away and within easy driving distance from the major cities of Albi (120 min), Toulouse (90min) and Lourdes (60min). The property description was more than accurate and looked even better in person that in the pictures posted.

The relatively newly renovated (4-year old) farmhouse and beautiful grounds including an orchard, gardens, tennis court and heated pool were immaculately maintained. The open concept living room, dining room and full-equipped kitchen as well as laundry facilities were ideally suited to our needs. All the equipment was in perfect working order. The outdoor dining area and heated pool were perfect for family fun and relaxation under the warm sunny June skies. The second floor of the gite contained the three spacious bedrooms (as described), each with its own adjoining full bathroom. The satellite TV was a bonus for us to watch the World Cup.

The owners were very prompt with their responses to our email inquiries and were able to provide a baby cot and highchair for our infant son. The proud and hands-on owners were extremely professional in their customer service and afforded our family complete privacy during our stay. They also provided information about the attractions and events in the local area. The owners also provided a quick refund of our deposit following our departure.

I would highly recommend this property to my friends and relatives looking for a comfortable and stress-free vacation in the Haute Pryrenees and Haute Garrone. We were attending a wedding in the area and this property was a fortunate discovery for us. Our stay at his property was a truly pleasurable experience.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 3, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Luxury in an idyllic location

  • 5 of 5

Away from the hustle and bustle of life, we could truly unwind during our holiday in this luxurious gite in August. The owners have only recently created the gite from an old barn attached to their house, the former Maison de Maitre. They have been careful to preserve some of the original features, such as the old beams, which add charm and history to their fine, spacious and comfortable accommodation. Each room, whether it be the living area, a bedroom or an en-suite bathroom has been designed with the greatest attention to detail, elegant and stylish. Wi-fi was an additional plus.

Tempting as it was to spend our entire holiday swimming in the pool or playing tennis in such a tranquil environment, the natural beauty of the surrounding area and the proximity of Lourdes and other interesting towns and villages such as Castelnau-Magnoac with its little antiquarian bookshop (French), Resistance Museum and café, enticed us away for very pleasurable trips.

We just did not want to leave!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 21, 2012
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
120 Kilometres
Toulouse Blagnac (TLS)
Nearest Barpub
7 Kilometres
Trie sur Baise
Nearest Ferry
329 Kilometres
Nearest Golf
19 Kilometres
Golf du Château de Pallanne
Nearest Train
30 Kilometres
Nearest Motorway
24 Kilometres
A64 / E80
Nearest Restaurant
7 Kilometres
Trie sur Baise
Nearest Ski
57 Kilometres
Nearest Beach
195 Kilometres
Car: necessary

Located in the Midi-Pyrenees, on the border of Gers and Hautes-Pyrenees, this area of France features bastide villages set among rolling countryside, fields of sunflowers and woodlands.

The property is located in a small hamlet, 5 minutes by car from the local market town of Trie sur Baise where there is a supermarket, a number of butchers, bakers and greengrocers, as well as a chemist, hairdressers, 3 cafes, one of the best pizza parlours in France (they have medals to prove it), a tourist office and banks.

The immediate area is quiet and rural. The property itself is set in large landscaped grounds, affording privacy for swimming in the private heated swimming pool (in season) and playing tennis on the private all-weather tennis court, as well as generally relaxing.

However, this is also an exciting year-round holiday location as it is only 55 minutes by car from the Pyrenees National Park, providing excellent skiing in the winter and rafting, climbing and mountain walking the rest of the year; while locally there is a golf club and lakes with sailing and canoeing.

In the summer each village takes it in turn to be 'en-fete', with the world-famous Marciac Jazz Festival and the Mirande Country Music Festival only 30 minutes away.


Prices & Availability

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £300

Minimum stay is normally 7 nights, although we may accept bookings for shorter periods out of high season (please enquire). Pricing is for the property, based upon up to 6 guests sharing. Two additional guests can be accommodated on two single futons (which convert from chairs) at a supplement of £28 per additional guest per week. These futons are suitable only for younger children. No supplement is chargeable in respect of infants in cots (one cot and high chair are provided).

25% of the total rental rate is payable at the time of booking. The balance (together with security deposit) is payable 4 weeks before the booking commences. Payment can be made by bank transfer (in £ sterling), by Paypal or by UK cheque. In the event of cancellation by yourselves the 25% deposit and balance payments, once made, are non-refundable unless we are able to re-let the property.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Bernadets-Debat in Midi-Pyrenees

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 192 m²
Location Type:
  • rural
  • village
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Luxury
  • Sports & Activities
  • Activities Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Firewood
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • All bathrooms are en-suite and are fully tiled with modern luxury fittings. Bathroom 1 is a shower room with modern walk-in shower enclosure, wash basin and WC. Bathrooms 2 and 3 have large shower/baths with extended showering areas and full screens, together with washbasins and WCs. All bathrooms are fitted with shaving points and have ample space for toileteries. Electric towel warmers are installed in all bathrooms with fan heaters for extra warmth in winter. There is an ample supply of hot water as each bathroom has its own full-size hot water tank.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Cot , Cot erected on request.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Futon converts from seat.
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Futon converts from seat.
  • The bedrooms are simply decorated in cream and furnished with double iron beds in two of the rooms and twin beds in the third, with ample drawer and hanging space for clothes. All bedrooms look out on to the swimming pool and landscaped gardens to the front of the house. Windows are double glazed and all have traditional wooden shutters. The bedrooms are light and airy and preserve original features. The bedrooms all have thermostatically controlled electric heating to keep them cosy during winter bookings. Luxury cotton bedlinen is provided, together with thick bath and hand towels for indoor use. Large pool towels are also provided for use outside. Bed linen and towels are included in the rate and, if staying more than one week, an additional set is provided. In addition to the 2 double and 2 single beds, one cot (with bedding) is provided together with two chairs that convert to futons (suitable for children).
  • Books ...
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Patio
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Tennis Court
  • Terrace
  • 8 garden chairs
  • 8 deck chairs
  • children welcome ...
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • churches
  • forests
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • ski
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
Classical, jazz and folk festivals and concerts are a feature of the region during the summer months, including the internationally famous Marciac Jazz festival in August.

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties