HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Enchanting Estate on Millionaire's Row, St. Lawrence River

People35
Bedrooms 12
Bathrooms9
Separate WC's2
Space 10,000 sq ft
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Gracious 12-bedroom Mansion Overlooking St. Lawrence River, Country Club Setting

Majestic thousand Island mansion overlooking the St Lawrence River. The 2-acre property sits directly across from the Thousand Island Yacht Club and Marina, backing onto the Thousand Island Golf Resort. Contact us at 1 (647) 522-4936 or email: olga.stein1@yahoo.ca

The ten-thousand-square-foot house has 12 bedrooms, eleven bathrooms, a 2,000-square-foot great room, a large library, eight fireplaces, and numerous porches and decks. Each bedroom is uniquely furnished, and eight of the bedrooms have their own on-suite bathrooms.

At least twenty people can be comfortably accommodated. The house has a fully stocked commercial kitchen which can be used by professional catering and staff if required.

The property sits in the midst of one of the finest fresh water boating areas in the world. There are bike paths, well mapped-out hiking trails, fishing, kayaking and many other recreational options. There is a gourmet restaurant directly across from the property at the Yacht Club as well as other dining options in the charming historical village of TI Park on the west end of Wellesley Island, or at the Golf Club house.

The property is situated 5 miles from Interstate 81 and minutes from the Canadian border by way of a suspension bridge.

More Details

Property Manager
owners of St. Lawrence River estate
Member since: 2016
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English, French, German, Russian, Hebrew
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
14 May, 2018

About owners of St. Lawrence River estate

Academic, writer and editor

owners of St. Lawrence River estate purchased this chateau / country house in 2010

Why owners of St. Lawrence River estate chose Wellesley Island

Historic, grand house on 2-acre estate in the midst of one of the most scenic areas in the world. Contact us at 1 (647) 522-4936 or email: olga.stein1@yahoo.ca

What makes this chateau / country house unique

Modernized house with updated facilities, suitable for large-scale entertaining, yet with a family home feel.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chateau / country house in Wellesley Island in Town of Alexandria

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 10000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 35
  • Max. adults: 28
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • • Parties or special events held at the house involving more than 50 guests are subject to an additional event fee
  • • Slips and dockage arrangements will entail additional fees.
  • • Refunds will not be issued with cancellations, but guests will be allowed to change their booking to another period subject to house availability
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Monument View ...
  • resort ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 9 Bathrooms
  • 2 Separate WC's
  • Bathroom 9 -
    Bathroom 10 -
    Bathroom 11 -
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Jacuzzi , Kashmir, cathedral ceiling, double fireplace
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Jacuzzi , St. Lawrence, handicapped equipped, ground floor
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Guest bathroom entrance
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , Off Great Room
    Bathroom 5 - Off Great Room, handicapped equipped for wheel-chairs
    Bathroom 6 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Jacuzzi , Boldt Suite, jacuzzi
    Bathroom 7 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Jacuzzi , Hart Suite, jacuzzi, separated toilet area, balcony
    Bathroom 8 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Antique tub, shared between Sunset and Golf Suite
  • Eleven bathrooms, 8 Suites have on-suite, 5 jacuzzi tubs, large volume high efficiency hot water tanks.
Bedrooms:
  • 12 Bedrooms, Sleeps 35
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Kashmir Suite--luxury furnishings, canopy bed, fire-place
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , St. Lawrence--King size, jacuzzi, fire-place
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , Boldt Suite, Queen, Antique furnishings, jacuzzi
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed , Four poster bed, jacuzzi, balcony
    Bedroom 6 - 1 Large Double Bed , Sunset (2 room suite), balcony, on-suite
    Bedroom 8 - 2 Single Bed , Golf Suite--2 singles, shared washroom
    Bedroom 9 - 1 Large Double Bed , Tree-top, 3rd floor bedroom, golf course view
    Bedroom 10 - 2 Single Bed , Quest Room, servants area, multiple cots
    Bedroom 7 - 1 Double Bed , River Suite, on-suite, overlooking St. Lawrence
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Large Double Bed , Sunset Suite, + sun-room, overlooking golf course
    Bedroom 11 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 12 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Eight suites with on-suite bathrooms, 2 additional bedrooms in master's quarters, plus 3rd floor bedroom, two of the suites have sun rooms, Sunset suite has a pull-out couch (total 12 bedrooms). Cots and blow-up beds also available. Full set of linens. All rooms have window based air-conditioning.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles
  • Boat
  • Terrace
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Garden
  • Tennis
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • Hot Air Ballooning
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Catering can be arranged

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(7 traveller reviews)

57% Complete
28% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
14% Complete
Enchanting Estate on Millionaire's Row, St. Lawrence River
average rating of 4.142857 based on 7 reviews
4

Family reunion Aug. 2017

  • 4 of 5

The Hart House is an excellent place for a family reunion. The number of rooms and the layout of the house makes it ideal for everyone having their own bedroom. My son, who loves to cook, loved the commercial kitchen. The location on Wellesley Island was great because of the closeness to the water, golf courses and pickleball courts. The only negative comment people had about the place was the cleanliness was not consistent with a top rated establishment.

  • Review Submitted: 09-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Great guests. This is the kind of group that makes welcoming people into our home a pleasure. We are working still on getting our formula exactly right for our 4-member cleaning crew. Same day check-out and check-in can sometimes make it challenging when folks leave later than arranged while another group arrives early or exactly on time. Guests can also call on our maid service if anything needs touching up or if assistance with tasks like cleaning up after meals or laundry is necessary.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Would definitely recommend!

  • 5 of 5

We had our wedding here last weekend and it was amazing. Adrian and Olga were very helpful from the very beginning. They helped us get in contact with vendors in the area, which was great because we live almost 4 hours away. The house was very comfortable and accommodated our guest perfectly. There are also cottage rentals within walking distance for overflow. All of our guest loved the house and their rooms. The kitchen was perfect for meal prep from our caterers and for general use during our stay. The grounds and surrounding areas were beautiful. We were able to get many wonderful photos without having to go far between the house, the golf course, the river and the yatch house there were many photo opportunities. The great room and adjoining rooms were perfect for our ceremony, cocktail hour and reception. Would definitely recommend!!!! Thanks Adrian and Olga

  • Review Submitted: 27-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

A Wedding Weekend Like No Other!

  • 4 of 5

First off, let's set something straight, the Caretaker of this property, almost single-handedly allowed us to pull off a wedding planned only 5 days before it took place on Labor Day weekend 2017. She was not only dedicated to making sure the property was beautifully manicured and all the vendors that were in and out of the property were directed properly, she was instrumental in helping the kitchen staff run the kitchen and keep things both in the front of the house and back of the house, running smoothly. Thank you Velvet for all of your time and knowledge about Hart House, we couldn't and wouldn't have done it without you.

We were married at Hart House on September 2, 2017. 140 friends and family and children. We had booked the property for ourselves, friends and family (about 24 of us) to stay in for the weekend of our wedding, then on the weekend before, we changed our wedding venue to be at the Hart House! The owners were readily available with communication and information to help us getting everything in order.

The property is amazing, the river on one side, the golf course on the other. Easy access to the River and all the walking you can do on the North End of Wellesley Island. The house itself is overwhelmingly beautiful. Huge spaces, commercial kitchen, bedrooms everywhere and decorated in period ornateness. The library was a favorite room for many guests. The house was the hub for an entire destination wedding, with each visitor being taken back upon entering and exploring.

Not one toilet backed up and we were there for 5 1/2 days. The only time the power went out was when the entire island lost power Sunday night (thankfully, one our way back to the giant house without power, the Caretaker had stopped by to light torches for us (at 9pm) so that we didn't arrive back to a dark mansion...thanks Velvet!)

The commercial kitchen was what really saved our wedding as it allowed an entire restaurant staff of chefs and servers to execute the dining at our event. There were two issues, the deep fryer and one oven did not work, which wasn't convenient, but also did not ruin the wedding.

Our tent and equipment couldn't be picked up before we left, and the owners and caretakers did not charge us for the extra "time" at the property and coordinated vendors to pick up for us (Wow!)

Thank you Hart House for an amazing wedding experience!

Sara and Justin Schoen

  • Review Submitted: 14-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Sara and Justin, We were delighted to host your wedding at Hart House/Thousand Islands estate. It was a bit of a challenge given the short window we had to prepare for the event, but the wedding went beautifully, and this was extremely gratifying for us and everyone else involved. Thank you for bringing your celebration to our home, and thank you for your kind words. Big hugs! Please come again!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Fantastic 4th of July Family Trip

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here from July 4th to July 8th. It was one of the only homes large enough to accommodate our large family. There was 24 of us in all. The house exceeded our expectations. The commercial kitchen was fantastic and we all ate together every morning and night in the large dining room. It was so fun watching the golfers in the morning since the dining room over looks a green. Adrian and Olga answered all of our questions prior to the trip and made booking the vacation very easy. We would love to stay here again. I can assure you that the house was very hard to leave at the end of our stay. We had plenty of hot water and towels. We wished the washers/dryers had been working during our stay, but we made due. I know Adrain is planning on replacing them, but that is difficult during the busy summer rental season. It would also be helpful if the third floor bedroom had an air conditioner. Other than these minor issues, our family was very satisfied with our relaxing family vacation. Thanks again ~The Cullen Family

  • Review Submitted: 19-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Lovely family and group, who treated our home with respect and care. Ideal guests! We would be delighted to have them back. We have purchased brand new high capacity washer and dryer. There will be a replacement for the broken airconditioner on the 3rd floor soon. With much thanks!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

If you hate your family, yourself, and good times, choose this house!

  • 1 of 5

The Good

- It only took 5 months to get our deposit back from our credit card companies (not the owners)

- All 30 family members are alive

- Writing this review was cathartic

The Bad

- Hot water was only available in one bathroom

- Space heaters were placed in every single room, and when the power went out they blamed us. 80% of us were engineers, all they needed to do was tell us where the breakers were.

- We lost central heat on the last day of our stay and had to leave early because it was too cold

- Most bathrooms in the rooms do not have locks

- The snow was not shoveled off the driveway

And The Ugly

- The owners claimed there were more than the agreed upon number of people at the house and charged us for this lie despite me offering photographic and email evidence. THEY DID NOT GIVE US BACK OUR EXPENSIVE DEPOSIT.

- We were provided a 'house keeper' who lived close by as our point-person, as the owners were out of town. When we arrived on Christmas Eve the house keeper greeted us at the house...and then never left. While we wanted to be as nice to the lady as possible, it was Christmas Eve and also our annual family gathering. It was even odder when she asked us if she could accompany us to church that night since she had drank too much of OUR wine. When we mentioned this to the owner, his response was "It's Christmas Eve and she's alone, keep her company". I'm surprised he didn't charge us for having an extra guest that night.

- The house keeper blamed us for everything that went wrong and yelled at me on the phone when I told her we lost electricity. To say she was slightly crazy is to put it lightly

- On day three a freaking bat flew out from behind one of the curtains and flew around the house for a good 5 minutes before my uncle was able to get it out the door. While this was a fun story to tell afterwards, it also made us wonder how much effort was made in cleaning the house

In all seriousness, this was by far the worst experience I've had renting a place. If you care about the integrity of the people who host you and the possibility of not getting your deposit back then I recommend staying away from this place. The owners did not send us a link to review the property (obviously!) so we had to ask Homeaway for it. Given how militant the owner is I fully expect him to attempt to discredit this post. You can take their word, or I can provide you accounts from 30 family members, a voicemail left by the house keeper and emails. xoxo

  • Review Submitted: 15-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It has been 6 months since these people stayed at the house. This is not catharsis, but a malicious attempt to smear the property and its owners. The credit card business speaks volumes. The credit card did not return the owners' money because the two efforts to reverse the entire payment were assessed as fraudulent. What was returned (the very same day it arrived in our account was the additional amount the credit card held back until it figured out what was going on with payments made and the fraudulent attempts to reverse them). While the entire account is either false or an exaggeration (including the note about the bat, the unheated rooms, and the housekeeper who was overwhelmed by the demands being made on her), it is a waste of energy to comment on this nonsense. These people rented a house, not a hotel. They should have respected the rules rather than bringing an additional 15 people, and consequently straining the systems, including the hot water and electricity. Like any house, it has its limits. That is why there is a stated limit regarding the number of guests allowed. Having people sleeping all over the house in sleeping bags clearly suggests that too many people had been invited to enjoy it. My recommendation to any homeowner with this particular party is to avoid them. They are clearly practiced at playing games with credit card payments, quite apart from taking advantage of the owners in other respects.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 4
5

Great family time!

  • 5 of 5

Adrien and Olga made sure that our stay was relaxing and fun. Any questions we had leading up to our trip were answered quickly and completely. There were no surprises when we arrived other than how beautiful the property actually was in person. We were all a little sad when it was time to leave. My family had a fantastic extended weekend and we all look forward to staying here again someday!

  • Review Submitted: 02-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Watertown International
Nearest Barpub
Thousand Island Yacht Club (across from property)
Nearest Ferry
5 Miles
Uncle Sams Tour
Nearest Golf
Thousand Island Golf Resort--surrounds house
Nearest Train
10 Miles
Via Rail Gananoque (Canada)
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
1-81 Interstate
Nearest Restaurant
Yacht Club--beside property
Nearest Ski
30 Miles
Watertown
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Wellesley Island State Park
Car: necessary

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £297.04
Additional Guest Fee £29.7 per person per night
Pet Fee £33.42
Damage Insurance £73.52
Damage Deposit £556.95

Check-out time is 10:00 am for all guests. Check-in time is 4pm for all guests.
Cleaning: For all stays, a charge of $400 applies, which consists of a cleaning charge of $250 and a charge of $150 for garbage removal.

Longer term rentals: cleaning/maid services will be provided by owners at guests' request.
Extra guests: A surcharge of $40 per person/night will apply for all parties that exceed the 24-person maximum. Infants sleeping in cribs are excluded. At no time will any party have more than 32 people stay overnight. Additional charges will apply with respect to linens and other incidentals. A larger deposit may be requested under such circumstances.

Weddings for up to 150 people: base fee $1150, facility charge $500, Cleanup $350, Garbage removal $250. Damage to premises or furniture may result in deductions from refundable deposit.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals