HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Spectacular panoramic ocean views from your balcony

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 979 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom - sleeps 6

Located in a tasteful quiet small condominium of just 7 apartments with a beautiful private garden with huge palm trees, outstanding sun deck and pool, this property has a privileged 1st floor setting with fantastic panoramic sea views.

The living and dining area, very bright and spacious, are equipped with a round table and 6 high chairs, 2 comfortable sofas (one of which can be turned into a double bed), satellite TV, Video and DVD player, and lead on to a fantastic balcony furnished with a table and 4 chairs, where you can enjoy unforgettable al fresco dinners or just relax looking at the garden and pool, the ocean or the picturesque village and its remarkable Black Rock.

From the master bedroom, with its own little balcony, you have also an amazing view and you can enjoy the changing colors of the sea from your bed.

One twin bedroom, a fully equipped and functional kitchen and laundry, plus a complete bathroom, make up for the rest of this very pleasant and charming place.

Our location, just about 1.5 km from the village center and beach, gives you the advantage of peace and quiet but ensures also a very easy access to all the usual attractions.

If you enjoy walking, you can reach the beach in about 15 min, along a scenic path on the verge of the low cliffs leading to Praia da Luz.

The ocean shore is just 350 meters away from our refreshing swimming pool and should you prefer to walk in the direction of Burgau and Sagres, the eastern limit of the Vicentine Coast Natural Reserve is a mere 500 meters from our property.

If you prefer sightseeing and visiting around, we strongly recommend Lagos, Sagres, the Atlantic beaten Western desert beaches, Silves and the Monchique mountain and why not, even the frantic Albufeira.

In case you would rather engage in nature related activities the choice is enormous:

- Dolphin encounters, boat rides on the amazing caves of Ponta da Piedade, paragliding, horse riding, golfing, surfing, sailing, water skiing and other water sports are all available within easy reach.

A certified PADI diving school is open all year round in Praia da Luz and you have a diving spot just in front of our property, the so called Pedra da Gaivota, an open lagoon, 8 to 12 meters deep.

For more excitement you can choose Sagres or Ponta da Piedade and engage on cave, wreck and night dives.

The waters around Sagres and Cape St. Vincent, where the colder waters of the Atlantic meet the warmer Mediterranean currents, are among the best in Europe for big-game fishing.

Algarve is known as the golfer’s paradise, the choice of top quality golf courses is tremendous and, within a short distance, you can choose at least 3 of them: Boavista (6 km); Palmares (13 km) and Parque da Floresta (10 km).

Algarve is a great place also for winter or low season escapes / long term stays, if you want to run away from the depressing dark and wet chilly days from Northern places.

Boasting fantastic weather, one of the best in Europe, with an average of 3,000 sunshine hours per year, Praia da Luz and Lagos are not at all deserted places in low season. You will find most of the restaurants open and plenty of activity and entertainment.

More Details

Owner
Antonio Silvestre
Member since: 2012
Speaks English, French, Portuguese, Polish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
19 September, 2017

Why Antonio Silvestre chose Lagos region

We bought the property in December 2011 and we decided we would rent it to help cover the maintenance costs and avoid having it empty for extended periods of time.

In Praia da Luz we have an agreement with a professional agency http://algarve-propertymanagement.com/index.html that takes care of everything for us while we are not there. They maintain the apartment, clean it and provide any assistance needed.

The apartment is in fact very nice and the location is just fantastic. We were considering buying another one, just in the village center and very close to the beach but, when we visited this one, we fell completely in love with the views and the peace and quiet of the location. On the other hand you are just a few minutes away from it all.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Guest book review



We had an enjoyable stay in a great location!

The weather was wonderful (up to 30º) and the kids had a lot of fun.

Your apartment is great!

Now it goes back to our cold Germany, we're hoping to come back once.
Oct 2012
  • 1 of 4

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Luz in Lagos

Property Type:
  • apartment (semi-detached)
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 979 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • beach
  • waterfront
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking Off Street
  • Security System
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Sunbed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bidet
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed
    Twin bedroom - 2 Single Bed
  • The master bedroom is also equipped with a large built in wardrobe, a small desk and a bed side table. The second twin bedroom is furnished with a bed side table and another built in wardrobe.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Player
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck Chairs
  • Beach Umbrellas
  • Gated Community
  • Garden
  • Terrace
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • bay
  • caves
  • churches
  • marina
  • museums
  • naturist beach
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Four sunbeds available. Free WiFi internet.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(27 traveller reviews)

74% Complete
14% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Spectacular panoramic ocean views from your balcony
average rating of 4.6296296 based on 31 reviews
3

Great location, slightly tired for the price.

  • 3 of 5

Lovely spot, great views, fabulous pool (shared with the owners of the other 7 flats) and a balcony looking out towards the sea. Plenty of room for the 5 of us.

The fixtures and fittings were tired with the beds and pillows uncomfortable, and the kitchen could have been better equipped if you are wanting to cater properly. We had a problem with the dishwasher but the maintenance guy came out straight away and fixed it. Communication beforehand was great.

Luz is beautiful, generally quiet and clean. There is a bit of noise from building work between the flat and the sea as a few new luxury villas are being erected but nothing serious. Make sure you drive out to the west coast as the beaches and surf are fabulous.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Guy, Thank you for the review. We understand that, despite your remarks, your general impression of the flat and pool are overall quite positive. It seems that we missed taking good care of a few items that you mention and we do appreciate your remarks. I was there personally after your departure and I agree that some kitchen appliances, towels and linen needed some refreshment, after some months of intensive usage by other guests. Among other improvements, we have replaced many positions in the kitchen, bought new very comfortable pillows and provided new towels and linen. The balcony furniture is also brand new now. Pity we haven’t managed to do that before your departure. Sorry for not having been able to completely meet your expectations, due to a temporary distraction of the property management, but we hope one day you will be back and enjoy another great holiday without being annoyed by the small details that you have identified. kind regards António & Joanna
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Decent but needs some TLC

  • 3 of 5

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights. The hosts were organized and the hand off of keys and access to the property was smooth.

Overall it's a decent property with a good location, great views, a nice pool, balcony and sundeck. The shared pool and sundeck and clean and pleasant. The WIFI worked well.

But... I can't give better than 3 of 5 stars because the interior and fixtures of the property need attention. I'm going to list my complaints here in hopes they are addressed by the owner so other travelers can have an improved experience.

The photos of the bright and clean furnishings are not at all recent. The couches are so filthy that you'll question sitting on them in clean clothes. The coat of filth on the couches really stood out among all the other issues. The walls are pretty banged up and need to be painted or at least cleaned with soap and water.

The shower curtain... oh no, so gross. Needed replacement at least a year ago - that is being generous. And that's not all, the shower curtain will creep on you while you're washing your hair and slime your body. A true terror. Then while you are recoiling in horror from the curtain, the detachable shower head will fall from it's broken mount and knock your head. Showers were not relaxing. Stay vigilant.

The kitchen implements need replacement. They are all very old or garage sale items. For example there are no sharp knives, and the plastic cutting board is shredded from use. Hope you like bits of plastic with your food.

The sliding glass doors don't close properly. The locking mechanism on the master bedroom sliding door to the balcony is missing. It is concerning that an exterior access point cannot be secured. The sliding door to the main balcony via the living room does not close easily and causes a loud whistling when it is windy.

That's the meat of it. Travelers, you can stay here, it's not truly horrible or anything, but if there are other properties available - take a hard look. Owners, please spend a weekend and a few hundred bucks getting this place in shape.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Alison and Brad, We are sorry to read about your negative experience at our place. We really appreciate your feedback and we have immediately taken concrete steps to address all the points mentioned in your comments. We only regret you haven't called the attention of our property manager during your stay. For sure he could have solved all or at least most of the negative issues. A new shower fitting head, tube and curtain are in place. The doors lock perfectly now and we have brought new cutlery and a few kitchen items. We have brand new sofa throws, a few extra pillows and new towels and linen have also been added. So far we have always received very positive reviews and yours came somehow as a surprise but it was an alert that we took well into consideration. The measures taken will surely improve the holiday experience of the forthcomming guests. I apologize for the negative details you listed. Thanks again for the feedback Yours sincerely Antonio & Joanna
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Fantastic apartment with stunning views.

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful apartment with everything you need, the location is superb with amazing views from the balcony and a 10-15 minute walk into Praia da Luz, which has a lovely beach and lots of nice restaurants.

The apartment is very bright and spacious with a great powerful shower and comfy bedrooms. The kitchen is well equipped with everything you need.

The pool area is lovely with your own sunbeds and an immaculately clean pool.

Highly recommended for a wonderful relaxing holiday😄

  • Review Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Perfect place with breathtaking oceanview

  • 5 of 5

We, a family of four, the children 10 and 12 years old, spend 5 days in this beautiful Appartement. In reality the apartment is even better than the photos and the photos are excellent! The communication with Antonio was personal, welcoming and informative from the day we booked and until our stay was over. The information of how to get to the Appartement and how to get the keys was excellent- and worked out perfectly. The Appartement, situated in a nice and quiet area, is perfectly equipped, from all you need for cooking in the kitchen to the soft towels in the bathroom, even towels for using in the pool. All was clean and very well maintained. The interior is beautiful and personal and make you feel at home. The What we loved the most was the fabulous Oceanview from the balcony. We had all our meals there, even if there certainly are many nice restaurants around, but nothing could beat a barbecue on the balcony. The children loved swimming in the pool, that was clean and warm, and did that almost all the time. Except from when we were by the ocean or visiting nice places. The beach of Luz is near and is nice, but our favorite became the beach of Lagos, just 10 min by car.

There were guidebooks in the Appartement and Antonio had recommended us nice places to visit and the best supermarkets, that was very useful. We had rented a car and that was perfect for seeing all nice places nearby. The beauty of Algarve is really breathtaking in this area. Luz has for us a perfect size, small and charming and not to crowded, Lagos is also well worth a visit. More crowded but charming. The highlight for the children was swimming with dolphins at the park Zoomarine.

We are all in the family so happy for our stay here and we warmly recommend it to anyone, certainly families with children, it's just perfect. Thank you so much Antonio and Joanna for renting out your wonderful place - it made our Hollyday!

Best regards Hilde Rosell-Rivertz with family

  • Review Submitted: Oct 24, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Excellent apartment with amazing views

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely, relaxing two week stay in this comfortable, clean and well equipped apartment. The sea views are amazing, the small complex is quiet, but only a brisk 20 minute walk to the village centre. The swimming pool is well maintained and each apartment has is own sun beds. We would not hesitate recommending this property ad have just booked again for next year.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 30, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Ottawa, ON, Canada
4

Clean and comfortable vacation home - Praia da Luz

  • 4 of 5

Very clean and comfortable vacation home in Praia da Luz, nestled among several luxurious vacation homes. The pictures are completely accurate. The view from the balcony is spectacular, day and night. The property is a short distance from the beach and its many amenities, Lagos, Sagres and the surrounding villages; very easy to get around in the area. Praia da Luz is quiet with a very comfortable feeling about it; not too crowded; a very pleasant area. The owner and property manager were responsive and helpful; property is recommended to other travelers.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 7, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Nearest Airport
95 Kilometres
Faro
Nearest Barpub
1.5 Kilometres
Fernando's
Nearest Ferry
38 Kilometres
Portimão
Nearest Golf
6 Kilometres
Boavista
Nearest Train
10 Kilometres
Lagos
Nearest Motorway
12 Kilometres
A22
Nearest Restaurant
1.5 Kilometres
Fortaleza da Luz
Nearest Beach
1.7 Kilometres
Praia da Luz
Car: recommended

Within an easy 60 min drive from Faro Airport, along the A22, this fantastic seafront apartment is uniquely situated at the edge of the Vicentine Coast Natural Reserve, yet just 5 min drive away from the lovely blue flag sandy beach of Praia da Luz, where you can find everything you need for a perfect holiday.

The charming historic town of Lagos, with its cobbled streets, bars, restaurants, shops and modern marina, is only a 10 min drive away.

Within less than 15 km you can reach 3 World Class Golf Courses; Boavista, the closest, is less than 10 min by car.

Within a short distance are several other excellent beaches such as Praia D. Ana, Burgau, Salema or, if you prefer surfing or wild landscapes, you can easily reach, the spectacular Arrifana and Carrapateira on the West Coast.

Sagres with its amazing cliffs and Cape St. Vincent are as well close (30 km) and worth a visit.

Don’t miss also the exceptional caves and rock formations at Ponta da Piedade, only 10 km away.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Luz, Algarve

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
High Season 2017
1 Sep 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£710
for 7 nights
£710
£2,663
 
 
Low Season 2017
1 Oct 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
5 night minimum stay
£399
for 5 nights
From
£80
£1,775
 
 
Promotion 2017
1 Nov 2017 - 31 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£213
for 3 nights
From
£71
£1,332
 
 
Promotion 2018
1 Jan 2018 - 16 Mar 2018
5 night minimum stay
£377
for 5 nights
From
£75
£528
£1,775
 
 
Mid Season 2018
17 Mar 2018 - 31 May 2018
5 night minimum stay
£444
for 5 nights
From
£89
£621
£2,219
 
 
High Season 2018
1 Jun 2018 - 30 Jun 2018
7 night minimum stay
£888
for 7 nights
£888
£3,107
 
 
Peak Season 2018
1 Jul 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
£977
for 7 nights
£977
£3,373
 
 
High Season 2018
1 Sep 2018 - 30 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
£888
for 7 nights
£888
£3,107
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£213
for 3 nights
From
£71
From
£80
Fri,Sat,Sun
£497
£1,971
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable