HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Charming Summer Cottage

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 900 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms , sleeps 4.

This is a charming cottage ideal for your family, friends and pets. Only 100 yards from the largest beach along the Indiana shore, the cottage is perfect for your summer get away. You are walking distance to the zoo, Washington Park, marina, museum and one mile from great shopping at Lighthouse Place, a Prime Outlet mall.

The cottage is sunfilled and cozy, perfect for a beach setting. It has all the necessities you'll need with a fully outfitted kitchen, linens and towels, 2 tvs, (one in the living room and one bedroom)and videos, books for the kids. The deck extends along the house and is just right for afternoon naps and serving meals. There's a large yard for play, including fire pit for s'mores and conversation as well as a driveway, (major plus in the summer), and close enough to the beach, you can run back and forth for the toys you forgot. Spend the evening watching beautiful sunsets over Lake Michigan then head out to one of the 4 restaurants around the park, the Blue Chip Casino, or take in a movie at the multi-plex in town.

We welcome you to spend some time enjoying the beach and hope to help make your vacation a special one!

About the cottage:

We found that we were remiss in our write-up regarding the cottage and several reviews pointed this out to is. The cottage was built in 1920 with facelifts throughout the years. It's been a family getaway for our kids and their friends since birth (oldest is now 30). It's never been gutted but is updated, hence the rates are priced appropriately relative to the market. It is welcoming and cozy and we try to provide all the amenities you need. The location is good and it's quiet. If you're looking for new this isn't for you. But if you want comfort, a good price, and location, you'll enjoy your stay.

Cheers!

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Eileen McKnight
Member since: 2006
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
27 July, 2017

About Eileen McKnight

Purchased this cute cottage when my 2 city bred kids were growing up so we'd have a place where they could be carefree. With the beach down the street, the park next door we've enjoyed many many years here during the summer. They are now in their 20s and busy with their lives.

Eileen McKnight purchased this house in 1986

Why Eileen McKnight chose Michigan City

Unlike most rentals the cottage is set up as if I lived there. I come out as often as possible. It's cozy, has all the amenities, cutely decorated. Has parking for 2 and just a brief walk down the street to the largest beach along the lake. The park is wonderful with tennis courts, a zoo and harbor side restaurant. Its a perfect location.

What makes this house unique

Location, location, location, decorated as if it's your own home. Video, games, books for the kids. Dog friendly. A large yard with fire pit for s'mores in the evening. Everything you need to enjoy the summer.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Sheridan Beach in Michigan City

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 14:30 / Check-out: 10:30
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • Boating
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • Wildlife Viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Please note, there is not a washer/dryer on premises

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(28 traveller reviews)

64% Complete
28% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Charming Summer Cottage
average rating of 4.5 based on 28 reviews
North Vernon, IN
5

Sweet little cottage in a great location!

  • 5 of 5

Clean and had all the comforts of home. Loved walking to beach for the beautiful sunsets every night. Used the grill and fire pit- loved them. Will definitely return. Owner very helpful and responsive.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy Beach Side Cottage

  • 5 of 5

I brought my two young kids and my dog here with my wife for a beach getaway. The house was cozy and clean and the whole family enjoyed the trip!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 11, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Fishers, Indiana
5

Yearly Father's Day Vacation

  • 5 of 5

What a refreshing little cottage. We've been visiting the area for six years now and really enjoy the beach. We found Eileen's place this year and couldn't be happier. She has everything you need from beach chairs and an umbrella to all the utensils for cooking. The boys enjoyed having their own beds and their own space after playing on the beach all day. Clean, bright, and open.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 23, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for such a nice review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Cute & Close to Beach

  • 4 of 5

Perfect for what we needed: grill, deck and steps from beautiful beach! Communication with Eileen was easy; everything as expected so no issues there!

Kitchen well equipped, lots of blankets for us to wrap ourselves in on chilly evenings/mornings and the neighborhood is relaxed and pretty. Also - right next to Washington Park so added bonus.

Only thing to note: yard is great but there is a home right next to the property so while this picture is accurate, the yard is to the side and the home is right next to the patio. Didn't bother us - we spent most of our time there.

  • Review Submitted: May 14, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect weekend

  • 5 of 5

We have relied upon VRBO for multiple vacation stays across the US. Our stay in Michigan City was perfect. Quiet, clean, and comfortable. Would definitely rent again.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you kindly.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Older house. Accommodations were nice. Owner very easy to work with

  • 3 of 5

We had a nice stay at this house. It is an older home, nicely furnished. We had some issues with the plumbing which the owner dealt with promptly, however it did cause some problems for us (toilet not working one morning). The beds are older and very soft. Location was good for what we needed; however, we had assumed we would have some view of the lake which we did not. It is a house nestled in among many more. It did serve our purpose for what we wanted: close to shopping and the wineries in Michigan. And as previously said, the owner was very helpful when we had issues with the plumbing.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 8, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Again thank you so much for your patience during the plumbing emergency with the toilet. Happy to hear you had a pleasant stay. As you mention it's an older home which is why it's called out in the listing. Some people would rather stay in new so this wouldn't be for them. The house is on the beach street about 100 yards away from the dune, but doesn't have a lake view. Have a nice summer!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Sheridan Beach, Indiana

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£272
for 2 nights
From
£136
£947
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £75.48
Tax Rate 8.0%

Cancellations within 30 days of visit will not be refundable.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals