HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Stunning converted monastery with amazing views, private pool

People30
Bedrooms 11
Bathrooms10
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 0 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Converted monastery with 11 bedrooms, 10 bathrooms, private pool amazing views

Peacefully located in the most wonderful position, 1 hour N of Lucca. In the heart of a very sleepy & peaceful tiny village. Absolute privacy, total peace and unbeatable views. Set in 15 hectares of private land including olive groves & chestnut woods. This enormous villa, spread over 3 floors, & originally constructed in the 1400’s has been newly refurbished with loving care to provide a high quality holiday with an extra special ambiance. This converted monastery sleeps 14 + 12, with 7 bedrooms, 6 bathrooms, 5 kitchen/living rooms. There is also a further detached house on the grounds, with a further 4 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms and a further two living/kitchen/diners. Perfect for a group of couples or small families celebrating a special occasion, this villa provides an amazing level of space and privacy for groups within groups, but plenty of space to eat together both inside and out.

There are high chestnut beamed ceilings, cotto floors, fireplaces, original stone staircases beautifully shaped ceilings, & Tuscan colours. Please note that for parties over 25, there is a surcharge of £50 per person per week

The villa: The accommodation is arranged as follows:

Ground floor: Enter in via large arched wooden doorway.

On the right, into kitchen/living diner, leading through to corridor with 2 double bedrooms & shower room.

On the left, into kitchen/living diner, leading through to double bedroom &shower room.

1st floor: From the hallway up stone staircases to the first floor where on the left is a further kitchen/living diner, leading to double bedroom with en-suite shower room.

On the right to another kitchen/living/dining room which leads to beautiful private terrace with great views.

This accommodation is connected to a further studio style double bedroom which also has its own independent access if required, via a large terrace overlooking the gardens…..

Second floor: This is the ‘penthouse’ apartment boasting a wonderful romantic terrace leading from both living area and bedroom.

Converted barn:

The converted barn is situated close to the pool area and consists of two 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartments each with their own living/kitchen/diners and personal terraces, each with beautiful views.

The gardens: Outside:

There are three private terraces leading from three of the suites, and there are also private terraces at the Barn.

Communal large traditional style courtyard, with original flagstones, surrounded by arches and traditional stone walls .

Lit at night, and perfect for large groups dining al fresco.

Wood burning ovens, grills and BBQ. Music system.

Grassed garden area.

115 hectares of private land including olive groves, chestnut woods and open fields ……

Vegetable garden where guests can pick produce,

Chestnut woods with Cashmere goats - fenced off of course,

Pool 13M x 6M with amazing views over countryside,

Laundry room and Internet point.

More Details

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa in Fosciandora in Province of Lucca

Property Type:
  • villa (detached)
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 30
  • Min. age of primary renter: 18
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Farm Holidays
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Computer Available
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 10 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 Ground floor - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
    Bathroom 2 Ground floor - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
    Bathroom 3 First floor - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
    Bathroom 4 First floor - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
    Bathroom 5 First floor - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
    Bathroom 6 second floor - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
    Bathroom 7 barn ground floor - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
    Bathroom 8 barn ground floor - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
    Bathroom 9 barn ground floor - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
    Bathroom 10 barn ground floor - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
Bedrooms:
  • 11 Bedrooms, Sleeps 30
  • Bedroom 1 ground floor - 1 Large Double Bed , can also be twin
    Bedroom 2 ground floor - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 3 ground floor - 1 Large Double Bed , can also be twin
    Bedroom 4 first floor - 1 Large Double Bed , can also be twin
    Bedroom 5 first floor - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 6 first floor - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 7 second floor - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 8 Barn 1st floor - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 9 Barn 1st floor - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 10 ground floor - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 11 ground floor - 2 Single Bed
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Golf
  • Garden
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Barbecue
  • Veranda
  • Terrace
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • forests
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • horse riding
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
The monastery has been split to provide flexible accommodation for large groups & each suite boasts its own bedroom/s, living/kitchen/diner, good quality sofa bed, hob, combination microwave oven/grill, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, satellite TV. Some have DVDs & ovens. Each has a fireplace or wood burner. All facilities are brand new. Thus, perfect for couples wishing to holiday together but requiring privacy and also small families holidaying together since with so many living rooms & kitchens, it is possible to use the many sofa beds as ‘day beds’ & keep them open without restricting space For those with older children, give them the excitement of their ‘own’ apartment within the large villa. Please see additional notes for split of property. There is also plenty of room to be together inside and out!!! Private chef/meal options available on request

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(21 traveller reviews)

90% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Stunning converted monastery with amazing views, private pool
average rating of 4.904762 based on 21 reviews
5

Fantastic

  • 5 of 5

Our hosts were extremely friendly and helpful throughout the whole week and we had nothing to complain about. One of the apartments did not have a fridge when we arrived but host Amadeo brought one the next day. I recommend to future guests to try the food offered by the hosts which is cooked in the wood-burning oven in front of your own eyes. Rosalba’s lasagna is delicious and the sparkling white wine is divine. The children loved the place because of the ample space (10 acres) available to explore and the pool was also big enough for them to splash and have fun.

Throughout the week we visited Lucca, Barga, Pinocchio Park in Collodi, Castelnuovo on market day, the Grotta di Vento and finally Pisa.

  • Review Submitted: 01-Apr-2008
  • Date of Stay: June 2007
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
5

A wonderful place for all the family

  • 5 of 5

This was a wonderful place with comfortable space for all the Family. All rooms were very nicely furnished, and there was outdoor room for a big table, where we all 22 could be seated together for the meals and other activities. The large swimming pool was popular for everyone, and there were stunning views over the mountains and valleys in all directions. The property was clean and well kept, and at least once a week the owner came by to check, that everything was fine. From a large vegetable garden we could pick tomatoes, squash, Salad and other veggies as well as figs and other fruit from the trees.

The location is within driving distance from the old cities Pisa and Firenze, and there are many nice locations to visit, and where you can buy local wines and other specialties. Also there are well supplied supermarkets within a short distance. I certainly would recommend this place for any group, who wants to spend a vacation in a quiet, beuatiful place with all facilities within reach.

  • Review Submitted: 13-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a good time and enjoyed this beautiful place! It really is perfect for a large group and as you say, the views are just stunning. Glad you enjoyed the fresh veg and figs too! Rosalba and Amadeo would love to welcome you another time. Lorraine at tuscan-retreats
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

large group (6 families) summer vacation

  • 4 of 5

great and spacy property with very different syle and size appartments. Some have great view others are rather small with no view. Pool and pizza oven ar great to enjoy relaxing and joint cooking. Many options to spend time outdoor (hicking, bycicling, city tours). Very friendly host family who gave us an introduction to the history of the building, a tour to the church tower and allowed us to harvest fresh tomatoes in the garden.

  • Review Submitted: 13-Sep-2015
  • Date of Stay: August 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: hank you for your review, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at this beautiful place, the area in general and the hospitality of Amadeo and Rosalba. For future guests please note that the smallest by far one bedroom 'apartment' within the house is 475 sq feet (44 sqm), and the largest is 659 sq feet (61.2 sqm) . The 2 bedroom 'apartments' on offer within the facility are larger.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing

  • 5 of 5

I spent a long weekend in Fosciandora for a "surprise" event around my wife's birthday. We were a group of more than 20 people aged from 9 to 50. We booked all the apartments in the Convento for a total privacy. Location is beautiful while apartments are nice and clean. Amadeo and Rosalba were just great and we felt like to be at home. Last but not least the accomodation is absolutely cheap

  • Review Submitted: 10-Sep-2015
  • Date of Stay: April 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed this special place! We have passed your comments onto Amadeo and Rosalba.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in a two bedroomed apartment with spectacular views over the countryside from both balconies. The apartment was clean and very well equipped.

The outside space was fantastic. A lovely terrace for eating outside. The pool was beautiful. It was clean and well maintained with very comfortable sun beds. There is also a ping pong table.

The owners were lovely, so welcoming, leaving us fresh figs, tomatoes from their garden. They had limited English and we had very limited Italian but we managed to communicate.

This apartment is located in a little hilltop village. It is incredibly peaceful. It is perhaps a little nerve wracking the first time driving up to the village but we were soon confidently negotiating the bends! There is a very basic shop and a small train station at the bottom of the hill but Castelnuovo di garfagnana is only about 15min drive away. There is a bigger train station there and all the shops and restaurants you would need.

There is an enormous supermarket 15 minutes drive away in Gallicano should you need it.

The surrounding area is beautiful we went to Lucca on the train, visited the street market in Castelnuovo on the Thursday morning. We went tree climbing in parc aventura in San Romano and visited the underground caves. We didn't have time to hire mountain bikes or go canyoning, but all are available close by.

We had a wonderful holiday here and can't wait to come back!!

  • Review Submitted: 06-Aug-2015
  • Date of Stay: July 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and helpful review! Amadeo and Rosalba send their very best wishes and look forward to welcoming you again at this stunning place!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great views and lots of room.

  • 4 of 5

This is a great property if you need a place for a lot of people. It had beautiful views, nice pool and helpful management. We did experience some shortcomings that impacted our enjoyment. We had a lot of people and filled the property. There were several appliances that completely did not work (at least 1 refrigerator and 1 stove). We were told they would be repaired but they were not. Also, while this property has the space to do it, they could really improve customer experience if they were better equipped for people to spend time together in the common areas. Because there is no common kitchen, to eat together we had to pull everyone's dishes together and pull out chairs, etc.... from individual apartments to make the outdoor dining areas work to eat together. Since we were visiting from all over the place, we wanted to spend time together, not be holed up in individual apartments! The website makes it sound like you can do this at the property, but it is a challenge! The newer "barn" apartments are fabulous. The older "monastery" apartments are beautifully historic, but could use some upgrading and a deep clean, and several have very poor lighting. The on-site property managers were very helpful and prepared a meal that can only be described as fabulous!! The vineyard tour we were referred to was awesome. The cooking class referral was disappointing. Overall not bad - but with a little effort the facilities here could be fabulous!

  • Review Submitted: 09-Oct-2014
  • Date of Stay: July 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback and we are glad you had a lovely holiday and enjoyed the property and the area! We are sorry that there were problems with one of the dishwashers and one of the fridges. There was a major storm the day before your arrival and after you called the owners to check they realised the controls were fused/burnt by lightening. They were irrepairable and the owners ordered new ones, but unfortunately they were unable to get them delivered until your departure day. It was hoped that with 8 other fridges and 7 other dishwashers that the best decision was to leave matters be until delivery day, but we appreciate they should all have been functioning and that the situation was not ideal. We were aware during your stay that there was some difficulty with one of the ovens, but the owner could not get to the bottom of this as whenever he tried, it worked. We had an engineer arrive the following Saturday and he could not find anything wrong with it. The monastery is thorougly cleaned each week, but traditional cotto floors for example stain, and whilst they are clean, the stains will stay evident until they are professionally cleaned with special chemicals once per year. The owner will ensure all future cleaning is personally supervised just in case other items are being missed as she does take a pride in the place! The owner has taken on board comments re lighting, but it is pretty difficult to get modern levels of lighting in a building that is over 500 years old as there are strict rules in terms of fittings which can be used. It was a much easier job in the farmhouse! We are glad that the wine tour and the meal at home were enjoyed, and will pass on the slightly poorer feedback re cookery lessons to the lady concerned. For future guests, do note that one of the downstairs kitchens has lots of extra crockery and so forth so that guests do not need to move from apartment to apartment to dress tables for dinner and 3 large tables and lots of chairs are left in main courtyard area. There are plenty of other tables which can be moved down by guests or by the owners on request, but many guests prefer to keep individual eating areas so the owners try and leave matters flexible. Amadeo is a fantastic host and is always on hand to sort out any issues, always arriving within half hour maximum and nothing is too much trouble for him!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Property Manager

Lorraine Venturelli
Member since: 2002
Speaks English, Italian
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
12 February, 2018

Location

Nearest Barpub
1.1 Kilometres
Migliano
Nearest Train
2 Kilometres
Ceserana/Fosciandora
Nearest Restaurant
2 Kilometres
Ceserana/Fosciandora
Car: necessary

Situated on the ‘sunny side’ of the Garfagnana valley within the commune of Fosciandora, which is an area which retaining its old world charm . Villa Sara is very privately situated in the smallest of the ancient peaceful villages, in the commune, & the one that arguably has the best views of all!

Despite the very quiet & dramatic location, the Villa is only a 2 min drive to a local bar/shop, post office & pharmacy & a 10 minute drive from the local town of Castelnuovo which has all facilities – shops, bars, restaurants, train station, famous Thursday morning market .

Barga the mediaeval cobble stoned town is a mere 15/20 minute drive, Lucca 1 hour and Pisa 90 min max. Florence can be reached in 1 hr 20 min…..

There are lots of towns to visit, but the real beauty of the area is in the wonderful hilltop villages, and amazing countryside. The drive into town from the villa is full of absolutely beautiful views.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday villa in Fosciandora, Lucca Area

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Low Season
7 Oct 2017 - 27 Apr 2018
4 night minimum stay
£1,820
for 4 nights
From
£455
£2,647
 
 
Summer
28 Apr 2018 - 29 Jun 2018
4 night minimum stay
£2,421
for 4 nights
From
£605
£3,402
 
 
High Summer
30 Jun 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
£4,237
for 7 nights
£4,237
 
 
Late Summer
1 Sep 2018 - 12 Oct 2018
4 night minimum stay
£2,421
for 4 nights
From
£605
£3,402
 
 
Low Season
13 Oct 2018 - 26 Apr 2019
4 night minimum stay
£1,820
for 4 nights
From
£455
£2,647
 
 
Summer
27 Apr 2019 - 28 Jun 2019
4 night minimum stay
£2,421
for 4 nights
From
£605
£3,402
 
 
High Summer
29 Jun 2019 - 30 Aug 2019
7 night minimum stay
£4,237
for 7 nights
£4,237
 
 
Late Summer
31 Aug 2019 - 11 Oct 2019
4 night minimum stay
£2,421
for 4 nights
From
£605
£3,530
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Stay tax £0.88 per night, per person. This amount will be due to the manager upon arrival. Does not apply to children under 14 years.

NB - The Stay Tax of €1 per person per night, is applicable for a maximum of 5 nights and is payable in cash on arrival.

Further discounts available for smaller groups
Prices detailed are for up to 22 guests. Do ask for any additional costs for further guests

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Manager a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals