HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Richmond Apartments 1b & 2b - unit_1211071

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
apartment
People
6
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
7 nights

About the property

Richmond Apartments 1b & 2b

Richmond Apartments 1b & 2b are modern apartments within a period property situated in a peaceful location over looking Trewyn Gardens in St Ives Town, but within a easy stroll to all amenities.

Both apartments have been recently modernised and refurbished to the very highest standards and consists of solid oak flooring to the open plan kitchens/diners with lounge area, along with underfloor heating.

Large family groups please enquire about the facility of a secure interconnecting door, these apartments then can sleep up to 12 people.

Private parking for one vehicle right in front of the each of the properties.

These properties have stunning views from the lounge, situated on the third floor and again from the master bedrooms on the fourth floor.

1b has 3 bedrooms and a modern brand new main bathroom with bath/shower over wc and wash basin

2b has 2 bedrooms with ensuite's.

All bedrooms are fully carpeted and the apartment has thermostatically controlled full gas central heating.

Rental includes all hotel quality bed linen, hand and bath towels.

It affords fantastic views from both floors and is a comfortable modern retreat. It has all mod cons to make your stay a comfortable one.

Welcome pack upon arrival.

Richmond Apartments are ideally placed within a peaceful location but within walking distance to most of St Ives attractions, Art Galleries, Museums, Potteries, restaurants, bars and cafes, golf, but most importantly the golden beaches !!

St Ives enjoys a milder climate and is a popular self catering holiday getaway, it is popular for great surfing on some of its beautiful beaches.

The coast line is wild and beautiful and boasts great scenic walks, there is also excellent walking on Bodmin Moor, domain of the legendary beast.

The fishing port of Padstow offers the famous seafood restaurant run by Nick Stein and there are scenic towns to explore such as Penzance and delicious cornish pasties to sample.

Cornwall also has Celtic links and the legend of King Arthur can be explored at Tintagles Castle.

More Details

Owner
Tina Danks
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
15 January, 2017

About Tina Danks

My Husband and I have owned these apartments for over 20 years and have refurbished the apartment ourselves to a high standard and we always enjoy our trips to St Ives and love the location and peace, as the night life within the main area can be quite rowdy in the evenings of the high season.

Why Tina Danks chose St Ives area

The apartments are located central to all beaches amenities and has parking right out side which is a huge bonus as parking is very difficult and expensive within the high season and last but not least they are lovely apartments within a peaceful area. Great for family holidays. Added bonus of the ability to cater for large family holidays now that we have installed the interconnecting door !!

What makes this apartment unique

New for this 2016 !! we have refurbished the apartment right next door and this has a secure interconnecting door so should you be a large family or group you could open this and share both apartments which would sleep up to 12 guests. Both of the apartments are fully self equipped. please enquire for a quote.

Available Rentals


Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(8 traveller reviews)

unit_1211071
average rating of 4.5 based on 8 reviews
5

Super twixmas & New Year stay

  • 5 of 5

We were two families of 11 people who rented both apartments for the period in between Christmas to New Year. Having spent this same time period over the previous 2 years in St Ives, Richmond Apartments was by far the best accommodation we have stayed in. The layout for us was perfect, we kept the interconnecting door open which meant we could live between both apartments, ideal for the younger members of the family who could play their X box on one TV while the older members enjoyed watching films etc. in the other living room. The quality and comfort of the furnishings is of a really high standard, very contemporary and more like home from home. Both kitchens are laid out lovely and really well equipped for all your needs with all the necessary equipment, it was a real surprise to find beautiful flowers, wine, chocolates and Christmas goodies waiting for us on arrival. We were blessed with beautiful sunny days which started with gorgeous sun rises view-able from the gorgeous bedrooms and living rooms where there were stunning views of the harbor and beaches also viewed from the lovely rear terrace/patio. The owner was on hand to answer any queries we had and these were dealt with promptly. The apartments are very conveniently placed close to the town, harbor and beaches. Whilst there is a steep hill down to the town, we made use of the shortcut through the gardens opposite which took out 1/2 of the hill, easily managed by my 73 year old father. If you have never been to the largest fancy dress street party outside of London which is held in St Ives on New Year's Eve you are missing a treat and I would highly recommend staying at Richmond Apartments if you do.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 10, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review of our apartments for your stay with us over the New Year period and your interest in staying again for the next NYE. I am so glad that you all had such a great time and enjoyed our apartments. I also have many fond memories of spending New Year in St Ives !! Great place to be !! I also appreciate the fact as you were a large party that you took such care of our apartments throughout your stay, thank you. I wish you all the best in 2017 and thank you for your booking with us. KR Tina
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Disappointing

  • 1 of 5

A beautiful apartment in many ways with high spec features and fittings. However, the apartments is on quite a steep hill and there is a flight of about 15 stone steps up to the front door. Once inside there is a flight of stairs upto the apartment, then another flight upto the bedrooms. It's certainly not suitable for a holiday if you have very young children, buggies or want to holiday with older grandparents. The hall is very narrow and there's nowhere to put body boards, wet suits and all the things you might want to take on the beach. The main bathroom smelt strongly of fish and we had to have the window open and the door closed all week otherwise the smell was all over the flat. There was also no towels provided in this bathroom and we had to use one of our beach towels. Instructions on how to use the washing machine/dryer would have been useful as there wasn't any and simple things like a cafetiere to make fresh coffee would have been appreciated. One of our party slept on the sofa bed which was uncomfortable for an adult although it may have been ok for a child. More annoying was the complete lack of any drawers etc so they could put their clothes away and they ended up living out of their suitcase for the week! There were a number of niggly little things broken when we arrived. One was the bedhead which wouldn't stay up straight, the other was the toilet seat which we ended up paying an eyewatering £70 for as we were blamed for the breakage. We were not believed when we told the owner it was broken upon our arrival and we then had the hassle of ignored e mails and requests about our deposit not being returned to contend with. We ended up complaining to Homeaway before this was resolved. The only concession from the owner was not paying the cost of having the new toilet seat fitted! My advice: photography anything which is broken upon your arrival. The soft close toilet seats are sure to break again as some people obviously push them down and £70 is a hefty sum to pay no matter how 'high spec' they are supposed to be. Would I stay here again? No! There's other places to stay in St Ives which are just as nice and better value for money.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 6, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Guest, I have to say I am rather saddened by your recent review, my reviews before and after your stay reflect the property as a 5* holiday apartment to which my other guests have awarded it.I am so sorry that you feel so aggrieved about so many aspects of my beautiful apartment and sincerely hope these are not due to the fact that I did unfortunately have to stop £69.00 out of the SRDD. I also note that it is nearly 6 months since your visit with us and yet you feel now that you have to write such a review at the beginning of my new season. I really do wish you had contacted me to state that you were not happy or enjoying your stay in our apartment with us at that time. ( July 16) The apartment description on the HomeAway site clearly states the location and position of all floors and it is advertised clearly “Not for the less mobile”!! I am always honest with my guest’s enquiries and actually quite often advise to its suitability. I obviously want my guests to enjoy their stay with us and to actually give them what I have advertised. I have never before had to make a deduction in our SRDD, Nor do I make a habit of it ! Both of our apartments were booked for this New Year’s Eve Week, as they have an interconnecting door and we had a large family stay consisting of 3 generations and they had a lovely time and are looking to book again for this coming year. 1 Cafetaire on order ! However I was aware of the headboard( the bed is a rather large bed and not easy to move and split when singles are requested) and the drawer unit but unfortunately each time these were attached back they would work loose again, new fittings have been ordered. The smell of Fish in the bathroom has not been reported before or after your stay and this modern bathroom was only completed in June 2016. I do apologise for not being enough towels for you 5th Guest. I wish you had notified me or the Service team on both of the above as they would have happily looked into both and delivered towels to you, that is what they are there for, to rectify any cause of concern to my guests. I appreciate your opinion and thank you for your comments, all dealt with or being taken into consideration for our New 2017 Season with the hope that all our guests have a fantastic sun filled holiday. I trust that my future guests will read both our views on the above along with all my other guest reviews, to determine whether we are worthy of a stay and indeed a booking for the new season 2017
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

St Ives Richmond Apartments

  • 5 of 5

These apartments are done to a very high standard 5 star. We have stayed there for the second time now and we highly recommend these apartment. Also surrounding restaurants and beaches are well worth visiting.

Mike & Michele Worthing

  • Review Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your great review , it was nice to have you all back to our apartment this year and we are so glad you liked our updates within the apartment and it was also nice to meet you, hopefully we will see you again in the not to distant future, thanks again for your booking with us this year. 😃
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great apartment

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic week in this great apartment! We were really lucky with the weather and spent almost every day on the beach - the children loved it. Thank you very much for the treats on arrival. It was great to be somewhere so central and quiet, and also so well equipped and comfortable, (loved the new sofas!)

  • Review Submitted: Jun 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad that you all had a great time in our apartment in St Ives and thank you for taking time to give us a super review !!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Lovely Apartment

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely stay in the apartment with our 2 children. It really does have a luxury home from home feel. The apartment was spotless when we arrived and a cotbed and stairgates (which were appreciated as there is a lot of steps) were available which was great.

The one and only thing we did notice was a drainy smell from the bathroom, however, this was only on occasion and was soon solved by a quick spray & opening of the window.

The owner was so helpful leading up to our arrival and thank you so much for the fudge!!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 4, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review and we are so glad you had a pleasant stay in our apartment and that the stairgates were put to good use, whilst we do have our fair share of steps leading up to the main living area it does afford us great views from the lounge area windows :-) I appreciate your remarks regarding the 'drainy smell' from from the shower cubicle and have decided we will be replacing the shower unit this winter and replacing all pipework to resolve this issue. Many thanks for your honesty and your very welcome to the Fudge !!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect Appartment

  • 5 of 5

Amazing place, it was great to have a parking space with a great layout with loads of space and spectacular views over St Ives and the bay across to Hayle. It was great to be central with everything just minutes away. I would also recommend eating at the Sea Food Cafe as the food and hospitality was great. It was clean and tidy and the wine and flowers was a nice thought. I would certainly recommend to other people and would love to go back.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 2, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your great review of our holiday apartment, we are so glad you enjoyed your holiday with us this year.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Car: not necessary

St Ives, often discribed as Cornwall's 'Jewel in the Crown' is one of the UK's most sought after holiday destinations.

With its temporate climate and with not one but five beautiful golden sandy beaches and fabulous coastal scenery, it cant fail to impress. Its narrow cobbled streets, fashionable shops, restaurants, bars and cafe's all make St Ives a must visit destination.

For art lovers St Ives is host to the Tate Gallery, the Barbara Hepworth Museum and the Leach Pottery as well as to over 25 commercial art galleries.

The apartment is situated in a peaceful location over looking the beautiful Trewyn Gardens in St Ives town, but within easy stroll to the harbour, beaches, all shops, restaurants, bars, art galleries and all that St Ives has to offer.

Photos

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in St Ives in Cornwall

Property Type:
  • apartment (semi-detached)
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
Theme:
  • Family
  • Luxury
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Broadband Access
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • Modern fitted bathroom with large shower cubicle, wc and hand basin - No Bath
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Guest Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
  • Master Bedroom has fantastic coastal view and has a superking zip/link bed which can be made up as singles upon request. Guest Bedroom 2 has coastal views and has a king size zip/link bed which can be made up as singles. Bedroom 3 is fitted with Full Size bunk beds.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Player
  • Video Game Console
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • not suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • pier fishing
  • diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes:
Low Peak - Special rates for four people - Up to £100 off per week Saturday change over day. Linen and towels changed sat/sat. No beach towels provided.

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot