HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Christer Pettersson

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks English, French, Portuguese, Swedish, Danish, Norwegian, Anglais

Enchanting patrician villa w large pool 45 min fr Nice Airport

6 Reviews
People10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Photos and Description of this 5 bedroom holiday chateau / country house in Tourrettes - Villa Cambaras petit chateau

Five bedrooms with view of hilltop village, near beaches, vineyards, large pool

Spoil your family and friends: book this historic, unique villa (petit chateau) built by Italian aristrocats 200 years ago for their luxury stay's in Provence.

This Italian style four storey grand old lady (restored and modernised without loosing its charm) is set in an enchanting garden with park dimensions, sports a huge swimming pool, a long driveway flanked by Lebanese cedar trees and overlooks medieval mountain villages.

The proximity to Nice Airport (45 min), Cannes festivals, Mediterranean beaches and vineyards makes Villa Cambaras the perfect choice for everyone in the extended family and group of friends. We dare say the villa, located in the midst of just about everything Provence and the Riviera has to offer, appeals to all tastes and interests.

The main building, facing the Chateau de Puy (Tourrettes castle) built by a Napoleonic General), is decorated with a mix of beautiful antiques, colonial rattan and modern furniture.

The lay-out of this 10 bed villa:

Ground floor (basement) - Bedroom next to a fountain court yard with en suite bathroom and a private lounge.

First floor - Library/dining room with ceiling frescoes, old school well equipped kitchen with a five burner Godin gas stove, conservatory/drawing room.

Second floor - Master bedroom with ceiling frescoes, delightful light from windows in three directions, large romantic en suite bathroom also with frescoes and balcony with uninterrupted view over the valley and the hilltop villages of Fayence and Tourrettes castle.

Third floor - 1 bedroom with breathtaking uninterrupted view of the hilltop villages, 1 bedroom w two single beds, bathroom

The stone barn/garden studio: Generous light and dimensions with double bed, pentry and bathroom formerly used by a resident artist.

The main entry gate to the property is followed by a tree-lined (with nearly three hundred year old Lebanese cedars) narrow driveway which leads up to the main building.

The garden, with parklike dimensions (1.5 acres) is spread across four terraces. A Roman staircase leads to a generous pool, large enough for serious exercise swimming.

Cambaras has - although in the midst of a lively valley with easy access to shopping and activities like golf, tennis, fishing and a glider academy - a country feel to it. There is a sheep farm right below, a vineyard and horse stable on the other side of the hill.

Walking- and cycling distance to the medieval hilltop villages of Fayence - lively with excellent restaurants, bars and festivals - and Tourrettes - more artistic, quaint and peaceful.

Conveniently near are also the picturesque villages of Callian, Sellians and Mons.

Village life makes itself constantly reminded with the chimes of the church bells ringing in the distance. The villages alternate with offering street markets and summer concerts. During the winter months the Southern alp ski resorts are only an hour away.

The size of the property gives enough space for families sharing and makes Cambaras suitable for weddings and anniversaries - of which we have quite a few every season.

Originally purpose built for entertainment this property has actually enchanted guests for two centuries. The same family has owned Villa Cambaras for five years.

Feel welcome to call for more info.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Christer Pettersson (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks English, French, Portuguese, Swedish, Danish, Norwegian, Anglais

About Christer Pettersson

Myself and my wife - Swedish and Irish - are former foreign correspondents. Villa Cambaras has become the meeting point where family and friends are coming together.

The photo: Christmas in Fayence

Christer Pettersson purchased this chateau / country house in 2011

Why Christer Pettersson chose Esterel - Fayence

We bought this Provence/Rivera dream home to be nearer our children - we are posted in New York at the moment.

We fell in love with this romantic villa - completely enchanted, obsessed even, - immediately. The ambiance of the property - built in a Italian petit chateau style and at the time catering for nobles of the time - and their hunting and pleasure needs - was some how built in to the walls, ceilings (sensual frescoes in the ceilings, vaults, lavender blue Provençal shutters, trompe l'oeil facade and entertainment terrace. We could envisage how Italian aristocrats and after them Napoleon's General Fabre, who built Chateau du Puy in the Tourrettes hilltop (our bedroom view), used Cambaras as a hideout, and how men and mistresses entertained themselves royally here less than 200 years ago.

Nothing we had seen until then in Provence came anywhere near Villa Cambaras. Most of the homes were nice holiday homes but most of the time without the soul and purpose we were searching for.

The other important criteria was that our children, 17 and 22 at the time, would warm to it. They would never go for an isolated house in the middle of 'nowhere'. They wanted to be able to walk to the action, restaurants, bars and village 'fetes'. Then the property is large enough for as and for our children to invite lots of friends and be able to entertain.

What makes this chateau / country house unique

Cambaras is a stunning, historic property built for old ambience entertaining. You have easy access to all the pleasures in Provence and the Riviera - 45 minutes from Nice airport.

There is almost too much to do, often guests are so pleased to stay put so they can just relax and catch up with family and friends.

There are always festivals worth visiting, large ones in Cannes of course, and smaller ones in nearby villages. It goes without saying that there is an abundance of restaurants (some with Michelin mention) and bars in all 'our' villages.

Golf players have Terre Blanche 10 minutes away - adjacent to the Four Season hotel in our commune.

The splendid Gorge du Verdon is 1.20 minutes away. Wonderful walks in Europe's largest canyon.

The Riviera beaches need no introduction, the nearest one from Cambaras is in Theole sur Meer - which offers small little beaches with soft sand - surrounded by steep cliffs.

Closer to home, 10 minutes away, we have a large lake - Lac St Cassien - which offers fishing and pedallo rentals.

A glider academy near Cambaras offers a unique opportunity to see the stunning beauty of the region from above, in the splendid silence of a glider plane.

Within 20-60 min drive you reach perfume factories in Grasse, the glitzy yacht life style of St. Tropez, the film and festivals in Cannes/Juan les Pain, the Picasso museum in Antibes, the old town in Nice, Monaco and even Italy.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We have enjoyed Villa Cambaras, she is a beautiful property and we have some fabulous memories.



F (the caretaker) continued to look after us, he is a great house keeper and we are very grateful to him.



Thank you for your assistance(..) and I will be in touch in the near future when we plan our return to Fayence
Aug 2013
  • 1 of 11

Reviews

4.5
based on 6 holidaymaker reviews

Enchanting patrician villa w large pool 45 min fr Nice Airport
average rating of 4.5 based on 17 reviews
4

Outstanding Pool

  • 4 of 5

We stayed a week at the end of August at Cambaras with our 3 children and their partners. The villa is well placed for everyone in a more grown up family to do their own thing! The trips enjoyed were Gorge du Verdon(90 minute drive), Nice, Antibes, pedalo hire and swimming at the local lake. We took a family trip to St Tropez. taking the ferry from Saint Maxime, which I highly recommend to avoid a long drive and it is also a great experience, despite the cost. Saint Maxime itself has a lovely beach and marina. I recommend taking a picnic to St Tropez, miss out on the restaurants, and walk east along the coast path out of St Tropez where you will find many small, safe beaches with an unexpected chilled out atmosphere(we found loos at the yacht club).

Back at the villa we enjoyed the Weber gas BBQ and swimming in the outstanding pool - long enough for lengths and a little hidden in the trees from the veranda so everyone can find mental space. Fabien showed me quiet roads to run - although all routes were a gripping ascent with a knee challenging return! Fantastic bread in the area with the local bakery, along the main road, a 10 minute walk. The nearby villages of Fayence and Tourettes offer many small restaurants and art shops but be prepared for a narrow, steep hill climb shared with fast French drivers(no footpath).

Camabars villa itself is full of character and the longer we were there the more we noticed – super array of books and furniture from travels around the world. Overall this property is ideally located for a group who enjoy easy access to the many delights of Provence with the relaxation of a villa and pool without the Cote d’Azur price tag.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bonn, Germany
4

Amazing property

  • 4 of 5

I rented the property for a two week period and then hosted a series of friends/family who came and went over the two weeks. Without exception everyone was amazed with the house and property - the house exceptional and even when we had maximum occupancy, one did not trip over each other...as there are several communal seating areas (both inside and out), there was plenty of room and space for "downtime". The house itself is truly like the pictures. Warm and comfortable. The pool is wonderful and the area around the pool large enough for outdoor games or for just relaxing. Yes, we became frequent visitors to the local vineyard, bakery and several of the restaurants in town.

Many of us used the location to explore the local medieval towns, the coast, and down into Nice and Monaco. As we just missed the tourist season, the traffic was minimal and truly an enjoyable holiday. Highly recommend this property.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 21, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Delightful villa in Provence

  • 4 of 5

A delightful house in the best part of Provence. Close to the airport and you can also take a quick trip to Saint-Tropez. It´s close to the supermarket and bakery and then you have the lovely villages Fayence and Tourette near by.

The villa has a very charmy touch. Its good for those who are many because you can have one floor of your own. It´s not a big kitchen but you can easily cook for many and it´s perfect to sit outside in the nice garden. it was clean and it´s well maintained with its ceiling painting in some of the room. You also have the studio to stay in, placed in the garden.

A big lovely pool, unfortunately the weather did´t aloud us to use it.

I´ll recommend this villa.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 17, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful villa in Provence

  • 5 of 5

We came to Villa Cambaras for a family reunion to celebrate my 50th birthday last summer and had a truly magnificent time! The villa is charming and beautiful, with gorgeous period-piece furniture and romantic touches everywhere. Bordered by huge trees and in peaceful, semi-rural surroundings, the villa has a relaxed and welcoming feel. The house has several levels and is spacious and comfortable. Everything was clean and in good working order. The whole set-up worked perfectly for our party: the kids and the older generation were able to hang out in a relaxed way without treading on each others' toes. We all loved the exquisite pool and the garden and had wonderful meals on the terrace most nights. (The kitchen is very well-equipped and there are plenty of good markets and stores nearby for fresh produce). The location is great: just a few minutes from the picturesque medieval towns of Fayence and Tourrettes, which we spent lots of time exploring, visiting local markets, churches and restaurants. We also visited the wine shop nearby and sampled the local rose. We went further afield too, exploring other villages and historic sites in Provence and the Rivera. Although the house is close to amenities, one feels as though one is in the country.

The owner and manager of the property were very receptive to any special needs we had. I highly recommend Cambaras and hope to visit again soon!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 13, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks I am very pleased that Villa Cambaras met your expectations and that your big one was a success!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great charming house with a lot of soul

  • 5 of 5

We had a truly great time at your house. You have really found a little piece of heaven there! The atmosphere is incredible and the property really has a lot of soul!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 18, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Family Break in Fayence

  • 5 of 5

We recently spent a fantastic family holiday at 'La Maison Cambaras'; a truly magnificient villa in a beautiful setting. We enjoyed visits to stunning vinyards on our doorstep as well as passing time in charming hill top towns such as Fayence and Seillans; both within easy reach of 'Cambaras'. As if this wasn't enough the beaches on the cote d Azur are less than an hours drive away! The villa itself has a great pool and beautiful grounds so if relaxing at 'Cambaras' was always a great option too. Perfect holiday for a family or a group of friends.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 13, 2011
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Location

Nearest Airport
58 Kilometres
Nice
Nearest Barpub
1.5 Kilometres
Fayence
Nearest Ferry
33 Kilometres
St Raphael-Frejus
Nearest Golf
4 Kilometres
Terre Blanche
Nearest Train
33 Kilometres
St Raphael-Frejus
Nearest Motorway
15 Kilometres
A8
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Kilometres
Tourrettes
Nearest Ski
51 Kilometres
Greolieres Les Neiges
Nearest Beach
31 Kilometres
Theole-sur-mer
Car: recommended

Villa Cambaras is easy to reach, 45 minutes from Nice International Airport. Take the A8 motorway towards Cannes and Frejus, look out for exit 39 towards Fayence. Cambaras is 10 min passed a popular lake, Lac St Cassian.

Our part of Provence is right in the midst of the vineyards, the olive plantations, the Southern Alps, the Cote d’Azur beaches, medevial villages and hamlets.

The Domaine Grand Bastide, a fine producer of red, white and rosé wines, is our next door neighbour. Walk through the park to the right and the wine shop is around the corner.

There are a number of restaurants with Michelin mentions, e g Le Castelleras, Le France and Le Huit, a brisk walk or cycle up the hill to, plus many bars and up there in the lively village of Fayence.

Far from the madding crowds you can still discover fine sandy beaches tucked away in the Esterel nature reserve, just 30 minutes from Cambaras.

Lac St. Cassien offers water-sport and is a top fresh water angling spot. There are walks from Fayence through the oak forests of Mons, the Saignole Gorge and the cliff of St Cezaire.

If you want to do sailing, you can rent different size boats and there are also sailing schools al the year around in Mandelieu-la-Napoule and in St Raphael.

Fayence is the European Mecca for gliding and its possible to both do gliding courses and to get up in a glider for a birds eye view over valley.

Golf: Terre Blanche has two of Europe's most exclusive, scenic golf courses. There are many other golfing opportunities in other nearby villages, such as Bergamo, as well.

The nearest large ski resort is less then 1 hour away: Greolieres Les Neiges has 22 slopes, 30 km of skiing. There are many more slopes also for the more advanced skiers in the South Alps.

Our part of Provence is right in the midst of the vineyards, the olive plantations, the Southern Alps, the Cote d’Azur beaches, medevial villages and hamlets.

The Domaine Grand Bastide, a fine producer of red, white and rosé wines, is our next door neighbour. Walk through the park to the right and the wine shop is around the corner.

There are a number of restaurants with Michelin mentions, e g Le Castelleras, Le France and Le Huit, a brisk walk or cycle up the hill to, plus many bars and up there in the lively village of Fayence.

Far from the madding crowds you can still discover fine sandy beaches tucked away in the Esterel nature reserve, just 30 minutes from Cambaras.

Lac St. Cassien offers water-sport and is a top fresh water angling spot. There are walks from Fayence through the oak forests of Mons, the Saignole Gorge and the cliff of St Cezaire.

If you want to do sailing, you can rent different size boats and there are also sailing schools al the year around in Mandelieu-la-Napoule and in St Raphael.

Fayence is the European Mecca for gliding and its possible to both do gliding courses and to get up in a glider for a birds eye view over valley.

Golf: Terre Blanche has two of Europe's most exclusive, scenic golf courses. There are many other golfing opportunities in other nearby villages, such as Bergemon, as well.

The nearest large ski resort is less then 1 hour away: Greolieres Les Neiges has 22 slopes, 30 km of skiing. There are many more slopes also for the more advanced skiers in the South Alps.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday chateau / country house in Tourrettes, Esterel - Fayence

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Autumn
12 Sep 2016 - 16 Dec 2016
4 night minimum stay
£1,537
for 4 nights
From
£384
£2,382
 
 
Christmas
17 Dec 2016 - 6 Jan 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£3,458
for 7 nights
£3,458
 
 
Winter-Spring
7 Jan 2017 - 12 May 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
4 night minimum stay
£1,476
for 4 nights
£2,582
 
 
Summer low
13 May 2017 - 16 Jun 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
4 night minimum stay
£1,844
for 4 nights
£3,228
 
 
Summer high
17 Jun 2017 - 2 Sep 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£3,608
for 7 nights
£3,608
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£3,074
for 7 nights
£3,074
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £1,153
Pet Fee £77

Security deposit is 50 % of the full price and is paid at the time of booking. Security deposit is non-refundable. The outstanding amount is paid at the latest 8 weeks before arrival.
A refundable property and content deposit, 1500 euros, is paid together with the last instalment, and is repaid within 10 days after departure.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chateau / country house in Tourrettes in Var

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house (detached)
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 240 m²
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • rural
  • village
Theme:
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bidet
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 5 - 2 Single Bed
  • A baby cot is available. As well as extra sleeping space for children.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books ...
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Player
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles ...
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Garden
  • Conservatory
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Terrace
  • 12 garden chairs
  • 8 deck chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • diving
  • ski
  • caving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties