HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

5 min from the Louvre, pedestrian area, baby bed, "green" cleaning products

People3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 365 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Montorgueil area, quiet, no vis-a-vis, "green" electricity provider.

Update: free wifi connection

Located in the pedestrian area of Montorgueil, in the center of Paris (2nd district), this warm and welcoming apartment will ravish you. Although the area is quiet, you have the best of both worlds because you are less than a ten minutes stroll to the Louvre museum, the cathedral Notre-Dame and the old Opera house. The flat is part of a 19th century building, typically Parisian.

The apartment itself has a very homely feel to it with exposed timber ceilings, a wonderful original tiled floor, a beautiful fireplace, and delightful artwork and wrought iron balconies.

The cleaning products used in the flat are as much as possible "green" products and the electricity comes from renewable energy sources (Enercoop).

The baby equipment includes a baby cot of a dimension of 120 x 60 cm, equipped with a bassinet for very young children (from birth). This bed is suitable for children up to 15 kg. Bed linen is provided. There is also a step stool in front of the sink when needed. Moreover, strollers can be left in the bicycles' room in the yard. There is no high chair.

The living room combines with an open-plan kitchen and contains a double sofa-bed, a flat screen TV, a DVD player and a charming coffee table.

The kitchen area is fully equipped with an oven, a microwave, a hob, a grill and anything else required to create a perfect dish.

The en-suite bedroom is bright and airy with two packed bookcases and a comfortable double bed.

The bathroom has been completely remodelled and is fitted out with a toilet, a hand washbasin/mirror unit and a nice shower.

For your comfort there is a washing machine, an iron and board, a dryer, linen, towels, a hairdryer and hi-speed Internet (wifi).

In a superb location and with great facilities, this is your spot to enjoy the “City of Lights”.

http://www.lequartiermontorgueil.com/

The price includes phone calls to fixed lines abroad (after owner's agreement).

The area:

Located in one of the more sedate parts of the city, the Montorgueil quartier is largely pedestrian and is a wonderful place to stroll around and get lost in the tree-lined streets and atmospheric bars, cafes and restaurants.

The apartment is still only a ten minute walk to such international landmarks as Le Louvre Museum, Opera, Jardin des Tuileries and the magnificent Obelisk.

The area is packed with a wide variety of restaurants and bars and a strong recommendation is the appropriately named “Frenchie” on the Rue de Nil.

Public transport is excellent and the nearest metro stop is Sentier less than one minutes away.

Far enough away from bustling city and near enough to walk to top attractions, this is a perfect place to base yourself in Paris.

You'll love this area, so peaceful after your visits to the museums and others, especially the street where the flat is located. The whole area will make you feel like being in one of the cutest village of Paris.

Many excellent restaurants are just within the area. If you like shopping, many shops will present you the very latest fashion in Paris. Other shops also includes typical french bakeries (you don't want to miss Stohrer!), butcheries, ice-creamers, etc. An open-air market is also opened on Thurdays and Sundays.

At 5 min walking distance, you'll be to the Louvre museum or in the Halles area, a major shopping center and the very heart of Paris.

Only 10 min walk will bring you to Notre-Dame cathedral, the Opera house, 'Le Marais', the Seine river, Beaubourg modern art museum, etc.

Bus 67 or 74 will bring you to the Sacre-Coeur and Montmartre village in less than 15 min, bus 72 to the Eiffel tower in 20 min.

RER A leads to Disney in about 45 min or at La Defense in 20 min, the largest shopping center in Europe. RER B, then C will lead to Versailles in about 1 hour.

Montorgueil / Sentier area:

You are in one of the most central area in Paris, on the right bank, between Les Halles and the Seine river to the South, the Grands boulevards to the North. Just discovering these 2 “villages” could take you a whole day!

The Montorgueil area includes all the pedestrian area around the flat, until the Saint-Eustache church (1st and 2nd arrondissement). The many food stores that you’ll see are the heritage of the former food market (Les halles, moved to Rungis now) that were taking place here everyday. However, these shops are slowly replaced by fashion shops, coffees, restaurants, design stores, etc. A few tourists are passing by, but it is still an authentic part of Paris, where you’ll encounter many Parisians living, working and partying there.

If one of your passion is cooking, then you may find many cooking utensils, basic ingredients or cooking books houses, such as Mora, G. Detou, A. Simon, La librairie gourmande, Dehillerin in Montorgueuil (rue Montmartre and rue Tiquetonne). Check these places on Internet, you will be thrilled by what you'll see!

The Sentier area is traditionally home for clothes retailer. Yet, it is becoming more and more an extension of the Montorgueil area, and many excellent restaurants are opening there (don’t miss The Frenchie rue du Nil). It is also know as the « Silicon Sentier », as many start-ups and coworking spaces are opening. Don’t hesitate to stroll around these narrows streets to discover another one of Paris’ village.

There are many passages in these two area, particularly the “Passage du Grand-Cerf” with its beautiful little shops, but also, going towards rue du Faubourg Montmartre, the gallery Montmartre / Feydeau or the passage Jouffroy, or walking towards the Opera house, by the rue des Petits Champs, the passage Choiseul.

Do not hesitate to discover the Place des Victoires too, with the Bistrot Victoire behind, at the end of rue Catinat. They serve rather simple food, but they have this typically Parisian decor and moderate prices. You can also join the Louvre through the palais Royal, going by the rue des Petits Champs, then the Rue Vivienne to your left. Of course, don’t forget to make a stop on passage Vivienne, on the right and once in the palais Royal, to take a long chair and to relax with a good book!

More Details

Owner
Justine
Member since: 2011
Speaks English, French, Spanish, Italian
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
23 September, 2017

About Justine

For many years I was traveling for my job as an adviser in agronomy in developing countries. After 10 years, I decided to come back to the place I was born and to settle a little.

I bought this flat in 2004. I instantly loved it and the whole area. I love the light (when it’s sunny!) and the warm feeling you get with the beams and the floor. It is not big, but it’s mine and I feel good there.

However, I’ve decided to rent it in 2008 to move in with my boy-friend and my daughter was born in February 2010!

Justine purchased this apartment in 2004

Why Justine chose 2nd Bourse

I found this flat in 2004, while still in mission in Laos. I immediately fell into its charm, it was bathing in the sun and so typically parisian. I moved there in July 2005, after finishing my mission. I did not regret it, the area is charming, warm and full of all kinds of quality stores.

What makes this apartment unique

It is so central that you can be everywhere in Paris in about 20 min, whether you take the bus, the metro or a bike. The pedestrian area at the foot of the building also adds to its charm and you can shop whatever you need in 5 min!

Location

Nearest Airport
20 Kilometres
Charles de Gaulle/Orly
Nearest Barpub
20 Metres
Lots and lots in the area!
Nearest Train
1 Kilometres
Gare de Lyon, gare du Nord, de l'Est
Nearest Restaurant
5 Metres
Lots and lots in the area!
Car: not necessary

The pedestrian area of Montorgueil is known by all Parisians. This is a place to stroll, filled with beautiful shops of all kinds, which sell products of excellent quality, but also bars and restaurants.

Still little known by tourists, the area has retained its charm and very Parisian atmosphere. It is also an ideal place for families, as it is a pedestrian area where the seldom cars you encounter circulate extremely slowly.

As it is a very central area, it is easily accessible and provides quick access to all the sights of Paris.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Mail in 2nd Arrondissement

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 365 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 12:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 09:30
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • city centre
  • town
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Child Bed
  • The bedroom is equipped with a large bed for 2 people. A sofa-bed can be prepared in the living-room. A bed for children (120x60 cm) can also be settled in the living room. I rarely accepts 4 people, or for short stays, for a question of comfort. I find the apartment best suited for 2 or 3 people or 2 people and a child.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • Disco club
  • outlet shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • Babysitter
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
Notes:
Sheets and towels are furnished, toilet paper too on the day of your arrival. Acces to the phone is subject to special conditions, but you may be called and call local numbers in France or in your own country after agreement with the owner (price included in the renting price).

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(56 traveller reviews)

57% Complete
35% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
5 min from the Louvre, pedestrian area, baby bed, "green" cleaning products
average rating of 4.428571 based on 56 reviews
Tallahassee
5

Stay here if you are going to Paris

  • 5 of 5

The flat is in a wonderful location. Safe, clean and has great access to transportation. If you don't mind a little walking, many places are easily accessible by foot. Justine was a lovely host. I will stay here again on my next trip to Paris.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 11, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Allison, it was nice having you there with your sisters and I was glad to help you in this Parisian experience! Take care, J.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Excellent location. Very Central and easy to reach many points. Very clean.

  • 5 of 5

We could not have asked for a better location. Justine's apartment is near a central metro line and within an easy walk to the Louvre. We stayed for 4 days and mostly walked to all the tourist spots. Each evening we returned because the neighbourhood was so lively and had Lots to explore. The apartment itself was funky and had everything we needed. Justine was an excellent host. Would highly recommend staying here!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Wonderful place to stay in Paris

  • 4 of 5

My partner, teen son and I stayed at the apartment for a week and it was perfect. Enough room for the 3 of us, comfortable beds, decent cooking space/appliances and a nice ambience. The area was ideal - we walked everywhere from the Picasso Museum, Pompideau, Louvre and Organerie to the Notre Dame and along the banks of Sienne. Metro and bus access were easy. We also enjoyed the eating and shopping of Rue Montorgueil as well as Les Halles. Justine and Lili were very welcoming and helpful.

We would stay again and recommend it highly.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 27, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Los Angeles
5

A true Parisian experience

  • 5 of 5

The apartment is charming and very French. The neighborhood is perfect for access to many sights in Paris, to the metro, to every type of food shop and restaurant you would need. Because the apartment is in a pedestrian area, it is full of life from early in the morning to late at night. Justine, the owner, is very helpful. This is a true Parisian experience.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 25, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
virginia
5

Wonderful stay

  • 5 of 5

Justine is wonderful to deal with. Very kind and quick to respond. Her place is perfect. The location was perfect for me and my daughter to walk the entire city. We loved the pedestrian zone and the proximity to so many veggie/vegan places (try Cloud Cakes!!!). We were there during an unusual heat wave and while hot, we were quite comfortable sleeping with fans provided. Finally, my daughter slept on the pullout and it was extremely comfortable.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
2

Great location, nice apartment, but..

  • 2 of 5

I would definity give this place 4-5 stars for the apartment and the location, but my rating goes down because of my interaction with Justine and that she was not honest with me. When we finally met up at the apartment I was surprised to find out that there would be extra costs to use the pull out sleeping sofa or have an extra towel. She left two bath towels and one facial towel (no wash clothes) for two people. I was also only provided a half roll of toilet paper and had to go out and purchase more. On the day we were scheduled to check out , we were packed and waiting forJustine at the apartment so we could discuss our scheduled return visit. When she came to the apartment she was flustered pushy and rude. She did not even give my friend and I a chance to discuss the details of our return visit. This is when we decided to find another place to stay. Justine told me she would refund my deposit for this second visit if she was able to re-rent the apartment. I felt that this was fair. When I checked on VRBO to see the rental status of this apartment it showed that it was booked. I emailed Justine to see when she would be refunding my deposit and she informed that she would not because her apartment was actually not booked. She said that she had blocked the dates because she diid not want to deal with a two day rental. Therefore, there was no way I was gong to even have a chance of getting any money back!!!

If you want a great location and do not care about being nickel and dimed and the chance of the owner not being welcoming or easy to work with then book it!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 23, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Again, sorry about all this, things are usually not going this way. A little explanation though might be useful: - I arrived 1 hour late for your check in bc Paris center was blocked with the marathon. I did however rushed to make you wait as little as possible, I send you emails to explain the situation and talked to you on the phone. You still however were annoyed with this situation, even though I apologised several times. I can understand, but then, I have little leverage on the marathon. - You are the 1st person to ask me for more than 3 towels for a 4 nights stay, hence my surprise. - Extra fees are charged if extra laundry is used, as is the case if you ask for a 2nd bed. - I agreed to book the flat 2 times for you, once for a 4 night'stay and then for a 2 night'stay a week after, even though I normally don't book for less than 3 nights during high season. You paid a 25% advance payment for the 2 night'stay and decided to cancel the week before. I did not have to, but I told you I would reimburse this should I re-rent it for these 2 nights. Then the heat wave (37°!) arrived and I decided to block these 2 nights after all. It was hard to do a full cleaning under these conditions and I felt this was not worth it, even at the cost of your disappointment and above comment that I was sure you would do anyway. - You said you never received the contract. Then you said you received it but that it was in French. It was however easy to see that there were 2 pages on this contract and that the 2nd page was in English. I will not comment this point further... It is clearly mentioned that credit card transfer fees are not endorsed by the landlady (me). My prices are under the market price and these fees can add up to more than 100 € monthly, so I do reclaim them. When you told me to increase my prices bc of this, you did not seem to understand that I felt this was unfair, as these fees depends on where you're from. But before this, when payments were not done through the website, the bank fees were extremely high, so I don't think this is a loss for you. - Check out is normally at 9am when I have guests arriving the same day, which was the case for your departure and I asked you to be ready at 9.45. When I arrived, your friend, bc you wanted to go at 10.30, did not even look at me and was also rude to me! So yes, I probably did not smile enough when you left. I do expect to have positive interaction with my guests and your friend's attitude was unacceptable.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 2

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Mail, Paris

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Special event Fashion week
26 Sep 2017 - 4 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
£227
for 2 nights
From
£97
£598
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest
 
Special event Salon auto
5 Oct 2017 - 16 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£324
for 3 nights
From
£97
£589
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest
 
Special event FIAC
19 Oct 2017 - 22 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£324
for 3 nights
From
£97
£589
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest
 
Vacances Toussaint
23 Oct 2017 - 6 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
£297
for 3 nights
From
£89
£580
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest
 
Autumn
7 Nov 2017 - 19 Dec 2017
2 night minimum stay
£191
for 2 nights
From
£80
£528
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas
20 Dec 2017 - 1 Jan 2018
4 night minimum stay
£457
for 4 nights
From
£106
£606
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring in Paris!
1 Mar 2018 - 30 Jun 2018
3 night minimum stay
£311
for 3 nights
From
£93
£580
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£284
for 3 nights
From
£84
£558
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £31.87
Additional Guest Fee £8.85 per person per night
Damage Deposit £265.58

English:
The security deposit can be paid through the website and is given back 7 days after your departure according to HomeAway/Homelidays standard procedure. It can also be given in cash only when you arrive, in the currency of your choice. Just indicate me your preferences and I'll adjust it accordingly.
The balance is due at least on your arrival day.
Minimum 3 nights in high season (except for last minute booking), 2 nights in low season.
Late arrivals are possible, but are charged 20 € extra after 5pm, 30 € extra after 8pm.


Français :
La caution peut être donnée par chèque, non encaissée, si vous êtes en France, ou en monnaie de votre choix convertie en euros au cours du jour.
Le solde est dû au moins à l'arrivée.
3 nuits possible en saison haute et 2 nuits en saison basse.
Les arrivées à partir de 17h sont majorées de 20€, à partir de 20h, de 30 €.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals