Children not allowed
Minimum age of primary renter:21
Max guests:2 (sleeps up to 2 adults)
No smoking in studio or garden
Rental policies: Rental payments are calculated on a daily basis subject to the minimum length of stay (2 nights).
100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date. 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
Peaceful and Relaxing
We spent the weekend celebrating our 45th Wedding Anniversary in this lovely little place. Beautiful garden and the accommodation was wonderfully clean and comfortable. Unfortunately no local pub or shop but would recommend The Lord Nelson pub in nearby Winterslow SP5 1QS. Close enough for a visit to Stonehenge and Salisbury . Would certainly be happy to stay again next time we are in that part of the country. Would highly recommend.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review. Very much appreciated.
Really sorry not to have been able to meet you this time but do hope that you will come again one day.
First Class All Round
I will definitely be back to this wonderful location and lovely property. Very comfortable, with excellent facilities, all modern and clean. I could always get a speedy wi fi connection and mobile signal.
The hosts were very helpful and friendly without being intrusive and the clever design of the property and grounds allowed privacy. The village and surroundings are so beautiful and there is an interesting history trail. West Dean is also close to many places well worth visiting, such as the New Forest and Salisbury, Stonehenge, Old Sarum, Portsmouth Historic Ships etc.
Off road parking was useful too, as I only used my car once in two weeks - the train service is so regular (station just around the corner). Only 10 mins to Salisbury, 15 mins to Romsey and just over an hour to Portsmouth on the train.
I'm only disappointed that I haven't discovered it before!
A relaxing week in rural Salisbury.
It's not a cottage but is an annexed part of a larger house and is described as a studio. It was really quite small and consisted basically of a bedroom cum kitchen and an en-suite. We had just arrived in the UK after spending almost two weeks travelling by air and through Italy so we had far too much gear than would really fit in. We also had a mountain of laundry to do but with the nearest laundry facilities in Salisbury we ended up doing some hand washing and buying a drying rack to hang it on. That would probably not be a problem for UK based holiday makers merely seeking a week away in a rural setting. The lack of cell-phone coverage was more important, however, because there was no land-line in the cottage. Reliance on the public call box outside by the side of the road might not be entirely appropriate. Overall, however, we found it to be very clean, well maintained and with excellent amenities.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am sorry that you had a problem with your cell phone signal and do wish you had mentioned this to me. The signal is good here if you are on the EE network. The internet connection has high speed broadband and the password was both in the manual and by the television. We, as do most of our guests, use Whats App to speak to family and friends abroad.
There are laundries in both Romsey and Salisbury who would both be very happy to do a service wash. Salisbury is approximately eleven minutes on the train or a drive would be approximately 20 minutes. There is no mention of laundry facilities in the studio but if guests ask to use our machine and drying facilities that is always fine with me. I routinely ask guests who are staying longer than a week if they would like to use our machine.