Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Thisledo Holiday Cottage, Skipton - Just a few minutes walk from the town centre

People2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 215 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

A perfect one bedroom Holiday Cottage to explore Skipton & the Yorkshire Dales

Charming and spacious one bedroom holiday cottage close to the centre of the popular Yorkshire Dales town of Skipton. The holiday cottage offers comfortable and well presented accommodation and is ideal for exploring both the historic town of Skipton, the surrounding area and the magnificent Yorkshire Dales.

The cottage consists of one good size double bedroom (sleeps 2), a spacious bathroom with shower, washbasin and WC. The cottage maintains well equipped fitted kitchen with gas Rayburn and a second gas cooker. For relaxing and comfort the cosy sitting room and dining area is heated with a lovely coal effect gas fire. The holiday cottage is PET FRIENDLY too so you can bring the entire family! There is secure cycle facilities available at the cottage for two bicycles.

For your comfort and convenience, the following information gives a little more detail about the cottage.

AMENITIES

There is no car parking at the cottage, other than to load and unload. Parking is available a two minutes walk away on a safe & quiet local street.

Full gas central heating

Free WIFI

Colour TV, DVD, satellite TV Service and video player

CD player and radio

Standard crockery, glasses and cups

Microwave

Fridge and separate freezer

Front loading washing machine

Tumble Dryer

Drying Room

Iron & Ironing Board

Private walled outdoor stone patio area with two garden chairs & table

Cycle Storage

INCLUDED ITEMS

Bed linen & towels

Towels

All fuel and power

Welcome pack and tourist information

NEARBY

Railway Station (less than 15 minutes walk, 5 minutes by taxi)

Food / beverage store is one minute walk

Nearby Bus Service (less than 10 minutes walk, less than 5 minutes by taxi)

Nearby Shopping (Skipton Town Centre is only 5 minutes walk away)

Local pub is a few minutes walk

PETS AND SMOKING

One well behaved dog under strict control is welcome. If you wish to bring more than one dog, please let us know when you book.

Smoking is not allowed in the cottage

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2017
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
24 August, 2018

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage around the Skipton around the Craven District

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 215 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 14:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Not suitable for children
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Reviews

3/5 -
(1 traveller review)

0% Complete
0% Complete
100% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Thisledo Holiday Cottage, Skipton - Just a few minutes walk from the town centre
average rating of 3.0 based on 1 reviews
3

The property was clean and fresh

  • 3 of 5

Nice wee cottage but -

The stairs are very steep with a tight turn at the bottom - not for the infirm also there is no banister at the top and you could easily miss your footing going from the bedroom to the bathroom (in an unfamiliar house - fortunately we took a stair gate with us which helped.

The court yard garden is very small and you have no privacy from neighbours so obviously they don’t have privacy either- there is a low wall separating the row of cottages about 4 feet high. We could hear the conversation the people a few doors up we’re having and they weren’t loud.

Having to park the car in the next street was not good - mostly we had to park at the top of the hill - again not suitable for the infirm.

We had an impromptu visit from the owner one evening. He was a very nice man but I personally didn’t appreciate the visit, at the very least a call or text to ask if it was convenient would seem appropriate.

We came home early but that was in part due to the hot weather as our dog wasn’t coping and that’s nobody’s fault.

Overall we were somewhat disappointed.

  • Review Submitted: 28-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments. The cottage is part of a row of terraced housing dating back to the start of the 20th century when staircases were steeper, motor vehicles were a rare sight and the cottages shared an outside common yard area which they jointly enjoyed with their neighbours. Over the years, the outside area has been split so that each cottage enjoys it's own space. The weather during your stay was exceptionally hot and the surrounding neighbours, all holidaymakers , were taking advantage of the good weather enjoying a drink outside and discussing their day. The staircase does have a banister running the length of the stairs. The cottage does not have its own parking. The close by parking suggestion we recommend rarely causes problems and we're sorry you found this not to be convenient. I'm sorry that you did not appreciate myself calling in to check that everything was okay. I was also calling in to put the waste bins out for collection and on this occasion due to the heat needed to water the hanging baskets and flower tubs.This is the first time, we have received an unfavourable comment on a visit; previous guest have all commented that they appreciated seeing the owners. I am sorry to hear that your dog was struggling with the heat. I know that our spaniel is less distressed now the weather has cooled down and I hope that your spaniel is likewise.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £10

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals