A perfect one bedroom Holiday Cottage to explore Skipton & the Yorkshire Dales
Children not allowed
Max guests: 2
100% refund if cancelled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if cancelled at least 30 days before arrival date.
The property was clean and fresh
Nice wee cottage but -
The stairs are very steep with a tight turn at the bottom - not for the infirm also there is no banister at the top and you could easily miss your footing going from the bedroom to the bathroom (in an unfamiliar house - fortunately we took a stair gate with us which helped.
The court yard garden is very small and you have no privacy from neighbours so obviously they don’t have privacy either- there is a low wall separating the row of cottages about 4 feet high. We could hear the conversation the people a few doors up we’re having and they weren’t loud.
Having to park the car in the next street was not good - mostly we had to park at the top of the hill - again not suitable for the infirm.
We had an impromptu visit from the owner one evening. He was a very nice man but I personally didn’t appreciate the visit, at the very least a call or text to ask if it was convenient would seem appropriate.
We came home early but that was in part due to the hot weather as our dog wasn’t coping and that’s nobody’s fault.
Overall we were somewhat disappointed.
Thank you for your comments.
The cottage is part of a row of terraced housing dating back to the start of the 20th century when staircases were steeper, motor vehicles were a rare sight and the cottages shared an outside common yard area which they jointly enjoyed with their neighbours.
Over the years, the outside area has been split so that each cottage enjoys it's own space. The weather during your stay was exceptionally hot and the surrounding neighbours, all holidaymakers , were taking advantage of the good weather enjoying a drink outside and discussing their day.
The staircase does have a banister running the length of the stairs.
The cottage does not have its own parking. The close by parking suggestion we recommend rarely causes problems and we're sorry you found this not to be convenient.
I'm sorry that you did not appreciate myself calling in to check that everything was okay. I was also calling in to put the waste bins out for collection and on this occasion due to the heat needed to water the hanging baskets and flower tubs.This is the first time, we have received an unfavourable comment on a visit; previous guest have all commented that they appreciated seeing the owners.
I am sorry to hear that your dog was struggling with the heat. I know that our spaniel is less distressed now the weather has cooled down and I hope that your spaniel is likewise.