HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Falcon Ridge At Highgate-Summer Breeze And Mountain Views

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 2,850 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 6 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

1541 High Gate Road is in an exclusive community on a mountain top two miles from Highlands. Set amongst wild rhododendron, flame azaleas, mountain laurel and many hardwood species the view is superb in all seasons. The house's character is defined by the view, distinctive interior design, privacy, and convenient to all restaurants and attractions of Highlands.

The master bedroom suite is on the ground floor with two bedrooms on the second floor. A spacious great room has living, dining, kitchen and a fireplace conveniently together. Screened windows with southerly breezes keep the house cool in summer months. The covered deck has a gas fireplace for relaxing with family or friends in the evenings.

Amenities: Wood burning fireplace, A/C, a wine cooler, HBO, Cable, 2 TVs, one a 54" Screen, Netflix, Internet and WIFI. Luxury Linens, Deep soaking tub, Sleeps 6 in 3 private bedrooms each with private bath. Two King size beds and two twin beds plus a rollout extra bed. The mattresses are top of the line Sealy and new.

The High Gate woods abound with many species of birds including grouse and wild turkey. If you are lucky late in the day you may catch a glimpse of a brace of falcons that nest in the protected forest land to the west of the deck. On a recent morning a flock of young wild turkeys (jakes) led by a hen were on Highgate Road.

This is a special home with the interior furnished in a clean modern style that complements the mountain architecture. The ambiance is enhanced by the presence of part of the owner's art collection. In sum it is a destination for those who want to escape the noise of everyday life and renew your senses.

More Details

Owner
Ernest V. Montford
Member since: 2016
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English, French
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
19 April, 2018

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Highlands in Macon County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2850 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:30
  • /
  • Check-out: 16:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Garden

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(9 traveller reviews)

88% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
Falcon Ridge At Highgate-Summer Breeze And Mountain Views
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 9 reviews
5

Beautiful, Art-Filled Mountain Retreat

  • 5 of 5

Just returned from a wonderful week at Falcon Ridge at Highgate. Everything was perfect, from the superb views, to the beautifully appointed yet cozy great room. We particularly loved the artwork filling the home and giving it such character. We spent lazy nights after big hiking days, drinking wine and playing cards by the massive stone fireplace with the whole family. The beds were wonderful - everyone in our crew commented on the pillows and excellent linens. We brought up our telescope and really enjoyed the crisp clear night skies from the deck, warmed up by the outdoor fireplace. I especially appreciated the very well-stocked kitchen and charcoal (there is no substitute!) grill for our big dinner-in night. Walks around the neighborhood were daily treats and provided ever-changing views and a bit of exercise for us "flatlanders". The owner was super responsive and even made sure we had plenty of firewood upon arrival. Excellent, invigorating vacation - cannot wait to return to this slice of heaven.

  • Review Submitted: 21-Feb-2017
  • Date of Stay: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Mountaintop Home

  • 5 of 5

We truly enjoyed everything that this beautiful home had to offer. Very comfortable and cozy!

  • Review Submitted: 24-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great family home

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay! The house was well stocked and very comfortable. The beds and linens were luxurious and we all slept great. We loved having a perfect kid room with twin beds. We enjoyed the location- very close to Highlands Main Street. All in all, an excellent experience!

  • Review Submitted: 25-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Atlanta, Georgia
5

Great family vacation

  • 5 of 5

House and property are lovely. Well maintained. Not over decorated. Beautiful location. Close to town.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Atlanta
1

Lovely home with some issues

  • 1 of 5

We have rented many homes on VRBO and homeaway over the last 10 to 15 years and never had a bad experience. This home was one of the most expensive that we had ever rented. It is a lovely home in a great location and neighborhood. We had some issues - some that were dealt with by the owner some were not. The home was not clean when we arrived (example: dirty floors and very dirty bathroom with hair in the shower). The owner did refund one half of the cleaning fee and offered to send a cleaning person, which to me is too disruptive since we are paying a lot for our time at the home to relax. There were animal/rodents in the walls near the master bedroom that were loud enough during the night to wake you up. The owner also submitted an insurance claim that we had damaged a piece of furniture. We did not and stated that to the insurance people. The home is lovely but I would not choose to deal with the owner again.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Feb-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This negative review is about damage the renter did to my home and vengeful reaction as I confronted her with it. It's the only negative review ever. I bent over backwards to satisfy them to no avail. The criticisms are inaccurate and unfounded. The damage deposit was returned as well. They are undesirable to do business with. Read the other posted reviews from happy visitors. You can't please everyone.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Close to Highlands but Captivating Mountain Views

  • 5 of 5

If you are searching for a peaceful and tranquil spot to vacation this is it! It is a small piece of heaven here on earth.

1541 Highgate Road is a located in an exceptional neighborhood for walking and enjoying the fall foliage.

The porch/ deck was perfect for star gazing.We can't say enough about how much we enjoyed the week!

You will find all the comforts of home and more in this charming, welcoming, mountain house.

And if you require help or have any questions , the home owner is the best about looking out for you.

We will definitely be back!

The Mercers- Atlanta, GA

  • Review Submitted: 24-Oct-2016
  • Date of Stay: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £142.86
Damage Insurance £42.14

Exception for dogs only if agreed upon to pay non-refundable pet deposit of $100.00 per dog.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals