Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Relax in a one of a kind getaway!

Bedrooms 3
Separate WCs1
Space 3,161 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Spacious custom three level, 3 bedroom, 2 1/2 bath home with magnificent views

Previously listed as VRBO # 173105. Our listing number changed when we decided to manage our home, rather than have a management company handle it.

Come enjoy our luxurious, private home perched on the top of the hill with magnificent Colorado Mountain Views. Convenient to Colorado Springs, Woodland Park and all of the adventure offered in the Pikes Peak Region.

Relax on one of the three spacious decks and enjoy the magnificent views in the refreshing Colorado Mountain air while soaking in the hot tub after a day of Colorado adventure.

The master suite is located on the upper level of the house for total privacy. It features a quality king size bed, dresser and two night stands. Adjacent to the bedroom is a private bathroom with custom tile work, multi-jet shower, separate soaking tub, custom alder cabinets with granite counter top, dual sinks, a French bidet and heated toilet seat. There is a separate sitting area with 2 plush chairs and a 19' flat screen HDTV off the master bedroom. The master suite also has a private balcony overlooking the valley.

The middle level of our home has 2 spacious bedrooms, both with quality king side beds, night stands and dressers. This level also has a full bathroom with tub/shower combo. A large living room area with leather sofas and a cozy wood burning fireplace to snuggle around. This is a great room for lounging around and playing games. You will also find a fully equipped laundry room on this level. The main deck is located off this level. The large redwood deck is on the east side of the house and captures the warm morning sun and is fully shaded in the afternoon. This deck has great views of the Ute Pass Valley. There is patio furniture for lounging and a large Hot Tub for relaxing on this split level deck.

The main level of the house is perfect for entertaining. Very large, open spaces, vaulted ceilings and amazing rock work. This level has a newly remodeled, fully equipped kitchen that offers everything needed to make a simple or gourmet meal. Complete with stainless steel steel of the art appliances, maple and alder cabinetry with granite counter tops, island cooking area with bar seating and cherry wood floors. There is a sitting area in the kitchen for those who want to entertain the chef while he/she prepares meals. Enjoy your meals at the wrap around granite bar in the kitchen or in the formal dining room on a gorgeous granite slab table.

There is a half bathroom and two magnificent living room/sitting areas on this level. The newly added living room has a gorgeous gas fireplace with stacked stone, leather sofas, plush chairs and a 60' flat screen HDTV. There is also a wet bar nestled in the corner. This room has large sliding glass doors that open up to the vast patio area. The perfect room to hang out and watch movies!

This house is also equipped with everything you need for communications. There is a land line with long distance service and high speed Wi-Fi Internet.

You will truly be "spoiled" in this magnificent Colorado getaway. It has all the amenities of home with none of the stress!

Our cancellation policy is that if you cancel your reservation 45+ days prior to your stay, we will charge 25% of your total. If you cancel 30 to 45 days out, we will charge you 50%. Within 30 days, we keep the full amount. Having said that, if we are able to rent the house out after you cancel, we will refund your full amount.


*Colorado Springs - Garden of the Gods, Cheyenne Mountain Zoo, Seven Falls, Air Force Academy Museums

*Manitou Springs - Pikes Peak, Cog Railway, Case of the Winds, Cliff Dwellings

*Cripple Creek - Historic Mining Town and Gambling

*Canyon City - Royal Gorge

*Salida - Arkansas River - Rafting, Fishing

*Fairplay - Mining and Ghost Town

*Breckenridge Ski Resort

*Buena Vista - Arkansas River - Rafting, Fishing, Hot Springs

*Woodland Park - Dinosaur Museum, Shops and Restaurants

*Florissant - Petrified Redwood Forest, Fossil Beds, Homesteads

*Monarch - Ski Resorts

*Leadville - Ski Resort, Mining Town

*Divide - Colorado Wolf and Wildlife Center

<iframe scrolling="no" frameborder="0" style="overflow: hidden; border: 1px solid #ccc;" src="" width="260" height="350"></iframe>

<div style="display:inline-block;"><iframe scrolling="no" width="592" height="1024" frameBorder="0" style="overflow:hidden;border:none" src=""></iframe><a href="" style="display:block;text-align:center;margin-top:-30px; font-size:12px;" rel="nofollow"> #850857</a></div>

More Details

Barbara Weidner
Member since: 2016
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
17 September, 2018

About Barbara Weidner

Paul and Barbara are married and live in Florida. While we love it there, we enjoy Colorado and everything that it has to offer, from the cooler weather, snow, the beautiful Aspen trees and the majestic mountains to the quaint, charming town of Woodland Park and it's people.

Barbara Weidner purchased this house in 2007

Why Barbara Weidner chose Woodland Park

When Paul was younger, his parents would travel in their motor home to Colorado in the summers. Their home did not have air conditioning, so they would leave during the summers. One year, they invited Paul to join them during their travels to Woodland Park. Paul joined them and fell in love with the area. When he decided to buy a second home, Woodland Park was his first and only choice for a get away retreat!

What makes this house unique

This is a wonderful location that is quiet and relaxing, but close enough if you want to head over to Pikes Peak, the Garden of the Gods or the ski resorts.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Came out for Grandson's graduation from USAFA. Our favorite moments were 2 simple dinners here at this beautiful home. The dining room is wonderful. Several great areas for conversation throughout the house. This is truly a beautiful home. Fully equipped kitchen, very high tech state of the art. Views from all the windows.
May 2015
  • 1 of 7


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house around the Woodland Park around the Teller County

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 3161 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • See information in Description.
  • Included in the sales tax fee is the 3% credit card convenience fee.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 3 - Toilet
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Bidet , Master Bathroom
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(29 traveller reviews)

93% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Relax in a one of a kind getaway!
average rating of 4.9310346 based on 36 reviews
Quincy, Illinois

Heavenly retreat with room for 2 families or 3 couples!

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic week in Woodland Park. This home was more than we expected. My husband and 2 teen boys shared this beautiful retreat. 3 large bedrooms with very comfortable king size beds, plenty of storage, and room to relax. There are 3 separate sitting rooms. 1 with a gas fireplace and 1 wood burning fireplace. The kitchen was the best stocked kitchen we’ve had in our VRBO experience with cookware, dinning service to serve Christmas dinner, a full spice rack, coffee and Keurig to brew. Gas grill, charcoal grill and smoker to throw a fantastic party. The outdoor fireplace is amazing but due to the dry weather there was a burn ban (no open flames outside). We saw deer, wild turkeys, chipmunks, baby bunnies, and a 7 ft bear greated us just off the patio but was just as surprised as my husband! (Not agggressive). We had just cooked chicken on the grill and he thought he was invited to join in. In the area we recommend Garden of the Gods(we went twice), Whitewater rafting with River Runners in Canyon City, Seven Falls was beautiful. Arrive in the evening to see it by daylight and lit up just after dark. Manitou Springs and Old Colorado City to shop and great places to eat! We enjoyed the Cliff Dwellings. We visited th Falken Firefighters Memorial. Such a tribute to our hero’s and specifically 9/11 firefighters. I wish we booked the walking tour with the Wolves near Garden of the Gods prior to our trip. They were booked already for the week as soon as we arrived. The highlight of our trip was the Jeep Tour of Pikes Peak. Truly amazing! The views are spectacular. Go in the evening. Peaceful as we shut down the park. We went into Woodland Park to the small local movie theater. It was amazing, quaint, and the staff was very welcoming! Good idea for a rainy day or evening. Do not miss the Donut Mill! AMAZING DONUTS. Cinnamon rolls the size of hubcaps! My favorite was the glazed twist. Melts in your mouth! Very close to WalMart and Safeway. 1-2 miles down the road. We had everything we could have asked for. Thank you for your gracious hospitality and sharing this remarkable location. We hope to have the opportunity to return again soon!

  • Review Submitted: 23-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Angela, Thank you for the wonderful review. You captured our home in a nutshell. There is so much to do around the house, which is one of the reasons we love being out there so much. You are welcome back any time, just let us know! Barbara
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
The Woodlands, Texas

Simply wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

It’s hard to know where to start. I’ve rented more than 100 houses over 30 years so I know when owners understand what their guests require. I’ve not stayed in a better supplied house, ever. The owners seem to have thought of everything. We cooked in the kitchen and outdoors on the grill. Every imaginable item of kitchenware was at our fingertips. Evenings were spent gathered around the huge outdoor fireplace and plenty of firewood was provided. All beds were comfortable with plenty of extra bedding if needed. The 3 gathering rooms gave everyone space to read, write, paint or just nap. The house was immaculate, everything worked, the views and gardens are spectacular. I note one prior review complains about lack of plastic food containers that they could take with them (and keep). I’ve never heard of a rental providing such items and assume these were inexperienced renters. If you are considering renting this gorgeous house, do so with every confidence. If you need a thing or have a question, you will find the owners very responsive. We can’t wait until we return to this magical spot.

  • Review Submitted: 22-Aug-2018
  • Date of Stay: August 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Homey, clean, & built for group entertaining and mountain get-aways

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed in quite a few mountain homes and this one was one of our most pleasant stays. Beautiful location with great views of the mountains and enough big windows to enjoy them from the inside. We were a little apprehensive upon entering the driveway of the property at first, since there was a large black pick-up truck parked there, and we were wondering if there was someone there, or if we had misread the VRBO description and perhaps the owner or caretaker lived on the property. As it turned out, it must have just been the owner's extra vehicle that he/she left parked in the driveway.

One of the most noticeable attributes of this home is the wonderful artwork in almost every room. VERY well-stocked kitchen. We did have a bit of a time trying to figure out just how the oven in the stone wall worked though (there are 2 ovens in the house). It smoked a lot when we first used it, but that may have just been from the little bit of food that was left in it from previous guests. We ended up taking out our pizzas from that one and putting it in the main, larger oven under the island, and even that one was not entirely clear as far as when it was pre-heated or not. It would be helpful for future guests (who, like us, have never had or used a trash compacter) to maybe leave brief instructions on how to use that too. It has a button for "solids/locked" and "normal/unlocked" and we were not sure what was what. It also had no timer or indicator as to where in the "compaction process" it was, so we waited around 30 minutes and then opened it to see that it had done it's job.

The outside areas are GREAT. The front has a wonderful outdoor fireplace with lots of cushioned seating. The doors that lead to that area are a little tricky to slide open and closed, and even lock, but we just went out the kitchen door to access that outdoor space. The decks on the house are also ample & nice, with the hot tub and outdoor dining table/chairs on one, and a smaller private deck off of the master suite. The hot tub was big enough for the 5 of us, just a little foggy and we wondered if that was just the cleaning solution.

Beds were very comfortable, with plenty of room for everyone. The house also has 3 living rooms, so it was very relaxing to spread out and play games each evening. We did try watching the large t.v., but sometimes the Direct TV (satellite) would cause the program to stop frequently, especially the music channels.

We highly recommend! Thanks!

  • Review Submitted: 06-Aug-2018
  • Date of Stay: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great property with relaxing views.

  • 4 of 5

Our group of 3 adults and 3 kids stayed in this wonderful home for 6 nights. Waking up and having coffee on one of the decks or enjoying the quiet morning in the hot tub was so relaxing and the view of the mountains was beautiful. It was easy to get to all the things we wanted to see in the area and the home was set up so we could enjoy a movie, play a game of horseshoes in the pit outside, or just relax. The beds were comfortable and there was plenty of space to spread out. If there is one thing that stood out from other homes we have rented that could be improved upon is the kitchen supplies were a little lacking. We purchased our own dishwasher tabs, foil, saran wrap, measuring cups and Tupperware to take sandwiches in. The owners were great to work with and made sure we had all the information we needed about the property, the surroundings and the current fire stage for the area.

  • Review Submitted: 31-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad that you had a wonderful time in our home. With regard to the items you felt that were not provided, I would like to respond. We do not provide dishwasher tabs as they are not safe should children ingest them. We keep a large jug of gel dish washing liquid under the sink. Our housekeeping staff makes sure to keep it available for guests. With regard to the measuring utensils, we keep several measuring cups and spoons in the draw in the island. Our housekeeping staff has confirmed that they were still there after your visit. While we typically do not purchase saran wrap and aluminum foil, it is often left by guests for other guests. We keep spices to the left of the stove, soap and toilet paper in the kitchen and bathrooms, as well as trash and compacting bags in the kitchen. We also keep laundry detergent in the laundry room. You are correct that we do not have Tupperware at the house. We provide glass dishware to store your left over food while at the house. We do not provide containers for you to pack up your food when you leave. I'm sorry you were not able to find these items in the kitchen during your stay. Thank you! Barbara
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Winchester, VA

Absolutely gorgeous house, in a great great location

  • 4 of 5

My family of 5 stayed in this property this July and had a great time. The house is absolutely gorgeous and has everything you could possibly need. Everything in the house is high end, especially the gourmet kitchen. There are three different living areas and that does not include the outdoor spaces, so there is plenty of room. The house is clean and very very well maintained. I've stayed in a fair number of rental houses and this may be one of the nicest I've been in. The location is convenient to attractions and shopping. Garden of the Gods is less than 15 minutes and Pikes Peak highway is even closer. The hot tub is nice on cool evenings and is deep enough that you don't lose any water when five are using it. The outdoor fireplace is beautiful, unfortunately there was a fire ban while we were there and didn't get to try it.

The only reason I didn't give a full five stars (would have done 4.5 if I could) is the road leading up to the house. Heavy rains from afternoon thunderstorms can make getting up the hill to the house a little rough. One day while we were there the creek near the bottom had actually overrun the road making it impassible. The flooding subsided in a couple hours and we were able to get up the hill, just something to keep in mind when renting this house.

Also be aware, there are bears. We saw a couple, or maybe the same one twice. The house provides a bear proof can that works well, but one morning, a bear had dragged it (or something) and it was a few hundred yards down the hill. The can did its job and the garbage was secure, but had to drag the can back up the hill to the house. Not a downside for us, we are fine dealing with nature, just something else to be aware of.

We had a great time at this house and would absolutely stay again and would highly recommend it if you are looking for a gorgeous mountain retreat. Great vacation, and many thanks to the owner for sharing this home!!

  • Review Submitted: 28-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Christopher, Thank you for the wonderful review. Unfortunately, as you know, Colorado has been experiencing a severe drought this summer. More so than usual. When we finally received the much needed rain, the little creek at the bottom of the hill didn't tolerate it well. We are sorry for the inconvenience that you had, but we are truly glad we received a little rain so that the fire ban could be lifted. The road conditions that you experienced were due to the weather conditions. Normally, this road is always an easy drive as it is a two lane gravel road and very well maintained by the county. In particular, the bears are forging for food in the summertime. While we have owned this house for 11 years, we have never been lucky enough to see a bear!!! We have seen evidence of their existence which is why we have a bear proof garbage can. Again, thank you for your review. Barbara and Paul
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Grand Rapids, Michigan

Very relaxing....

  • 5 of 5

Everything we had hoped for and more! Was a blessing to reconnect with family in such a comfortable, beautiful mountain setting. Especially enjoyed the views while having morning coffee on the deck each day; and the hot tub was perfect after a day of hiking and taking in the area's activities. The home was nicely appointed in every way!

  • Review Submitted: 26-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Colorado Springs (COS)
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
Crystola Bar & Grill
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Shining Mountain
Nearest Train
12 Miles
Cog Train
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Crystola Bar & Grill
Nearest Ski
60 Miles
Car: recommended


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £114.8
Refundable Damage Deposit £382.65

Check-In: After 4:00 PM MST
Check-Out: Before 10:00 AM MST

* Must be at least 25 years of age with valid credit card to reserve.

* An additional $150.00 cleaning fee will be applied to each reservation.

* Refundable $500 Security Deposit, required at time of final payment.

* If more than 6 people stay per night without prior written consent from the owner, a $25 charge per night, per additional person will be charged for the duration of your stay.


REFUND POLICY: More than 90 days prior to reservation, we refund your deposit. Between 45-89 days, the deposit is forfeited. Once final payment is made, there is no refund. However, if we are able to rent it to someone else, we will refund your money less service fees.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals