Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Drylaw House Edinburgh Sleeps 20 Guests

People20
Bedrooms 9
Bathrooms7
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Drylaw House - sleeps 20 guests in 9 bedrooms & 7 bathrooms, extensive grounds

Drylaw House is not the kind of house you expect to find in the middle of a capital city. As you make your way through residential streets you will find an unassuming gateway, that leads you down a long tree lined driveway to a stunning Georgian mansion house, surrounded by a walled garden. You instantly forget where you are as it feels like you have been transported to the middle of the countryside. With mature trees and landscaped gardens all around, you are not overlooked; Drylaw really is Edinburgh's best-kept secret.

Built in 1718 as a replacement for Old Drylaw House, which is now a ruin in the grounds, the newer property is a beautifully symmetrical early Georgian house, with the back as impressive as the front. Enjoy a BBQ or game of croquet in the beautiful gardens, or relax in the hot tub with a glass of bubbles after a busy day of sightseeing or shopping.

This house is ideal for anyone wanting to explore Edinburgh. Drylaw House is only 10 minutes in a car or a taxi from the city centre, or alternatively you can hop on a bus at the end of the drive. Taxis vary in price, but there is lots of competition with private hire firms and Uber, however a typical black cab would cost in the region of £8-11 depending on the time of day. You can head into town and take advantage of Edinburgh's vibrant night life one evening or simply stay put and relax in front of a roaring log fire whilst our talented chef, Mark Heirs, whips up some gourmet delights for dinner.

Drylaw House is extremely spacious, with two TV rooms and even two kitchens; there are plenty of places to escape for some quiet time, with a good book and a G&T. The house lends itself to all occasions, family holidays, birthdays, anniversaries, wellbeing retreats and corporate away days.

First Floor Bedrooms

Large double bedroom with four poster king size bed and 2 day beds

Twin Bedroom

Master Bedroom with king size and bed and en-suite shower room.

Shower Room

Bathroom with claw foot bath and a hand held shower.

Games room with pool table

Second Floor Bedrooms

Two Double rooms with standard double bed and en-suite shower room

One Twin Room

Bathroom with bath and overhead shower.

Lower Ground Floor Bedrooms

Large bedroom with 3 single beds

Double bedroom with king size bed

Double bedroom with king-size bed

Bathroom with bath and overhead shower

Shower room

TV Room with large flat screen TV and DVD and Sky Package (To be confirmed)

Second kitchen with electric oven and ceramic hob, dishwasher, fridge.

Dining Room

Study / Reading Room.

Ground Floor

Large entrance hall.

TV Room with 2 large sofas, TV and DVD player and open fire

Kitchen with double aga, microwave, fridge / freezer and dishwasher (is there only one?)

Dining Room this will have a new table to seat 20-22 guests with open fire

Drawing Room this will have larger sofas and more occasional seating with open fire

Utility Room

Cloakroom

Amenities & Other Details

Double Aga

Fridge Freezer in main Kitchen

Fridge and Freezer in Second Kitchen – TBC

Electric Oven in second Kitchen

Washer / Dryer in Second Kitchen – TBC

Washing Machine and Tumble Dryer in Utility Room

TV's and DVD's x 2

Virgin TV Package – TBC

Pool Table

7 Seater Hot Tub

Outdoor Garden Games

Hairdryer in all rooms

Linen and Towels provided

Hot tub towels provided

Several iPod Docks

More Details

Property Manager
Helen Thomas
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a few hours
Calendar last updated:
14 August, 2018

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Edinburgh in Scotland

Property Type:
  • house
General:
  • Internet
  • Parking
Bathrooms:
  • 7 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom #1 -
    Bathroom #2 -
    Bathroom #3 -
    Bathroom #4 -
    Bathroom #5 -
    Bathroom #6 -
    Bathroom #7 -
Bedrooms:
  • 9 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • Bedroom #1 - Twin
    Bedroom #2 - Double
    Bedroom #3 - Double
    Bedroom #4 - King Bedroom
    Bedroom #5 - Twin Bedroom
    Bedroom #6 - King Size Double plus 2 Single Day Beds
    Bedroom #7 - King Size Double
    Bedroom #8 - Triple Bedroom
    Bedroom #9 - King Size Double
Entertainment:
  • Pool Table
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Notes:
Sleeps 21 in 5 Double Bedrooms, 1 Triple Bedroom , 2 Twin Bedrooms and 1 kingsize bedroom with 2 day beds. 2 En-Suite Bath / Shower Rooms, 5 House Bath / Shower Rooms. 2 TV Rooms, 2 Dining Rooms, 2 Kitchens, Large Drawing Room, Extensive, Private Gardens, Games Room, 7 Seater Hot Tub

Reviews

5/5 -
(5 traveller reviews)

100% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Drylaw House Edinburgh Sleeps 20 Guests
average rating of 5.0 based on 5 reviews
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
5

Great venue and service

  • 5 of 5

Drylaw was a late change to our booking after a previous booking in Oban was cancelled 2 days before we were due to arrive due to a building fault. When making the change we had a lot of work to do to reschedule all the activities that were booked for the weekend. It was disappointing that House Parties did not make an offer to recognise the inconvenience caused, they did offer to meet any out of pocket expenses (there were none) and while Drylaw was a more expensive property than the one originally booked. House Parties did also try to find a venue for dinner.

The house is amazing, wonderfully clean and well equipped, within easy reach of the city centre and shops. Niki from Drylaw was extremely helpful and accommodating, wonderful customer service.

Only a couple of minor suggestions, a tumble dryer would be useful, especially for towels and the BBQs had some historic dirt and grime, we chose to use disposables.

  • Review Submitted: 13-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: House Parties
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. Our Terms and Conditions state that should a property become unavailable all we are liable to do is to refund your money. Fortunately, we were able to offer your a more expensive property at no extra cost to yourselves. You mentioned you had organised a whiskey tour and dinner in Oban, my staff and also the owner of Drylaw spent many hours finding alternatives, including a private chef, 3 reservations for 20 guests at restaurants and suggestions for a whiskey event in Edinburgh, all which you turned down. The owner of The Drury also offered to re-imburse any deposits lost from the whiskey tour company, but you advised this was not necessary as you had not been charged. The owners have taken on board your comments and a brand new tumble dryer has now been installed. I am sorry you did not feel we did enough to help you reschedule your special event.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Motherwell, United Kingdom
5

My hen weekend

  • 5 of 5

Myself & my bridesmaids booked this amazing place for my hen weekend. We had the most fantastic time! The house is out of this world, it has everything you could possibly need & more. It is so clean and the hot tub was amazing. Everyone was so lovely & made us feel very welcome. Would book this again for another special event :) x

  • Review Submitted: 05-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: House Parties
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
London, United Kingdom
5

Absolutely fantastic

  • 5 of 5

A really stunning place to stay, I couldn’t recommend it highly enough and the owners were so helpful.

  • Review Submitted: 14-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: House Parties
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Berlin, Germany
5

Great stay

  • 5 of 5

Incredible old house, new furnished and well modernized. Nicki and John are just perfect hosts. Highly recommended stay!

  • Review Submitted: 12-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: House Parties
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Prestwick, United Kingdom
5

Brilliant hen weekend in a fabulous house

  • 5 of 5

I booked Drylaw house for my friends hen weekend at the end of March. We were the first people in the house and it was absolutely fantastic. We had the best weekend. The house caters for 21 people on 4 floors. There is a hot tub in the basement which is brand new with decking area. They provided flip flops and robes which was a lovely touch the rooms were all gorgeous and could tell a lot of work had been done to the house. The kitchen has a lovely aga and the house was so cosy. The kitchen also had everything you could possibly need and 3 good sized fridges for the prosecco to chill! The garden area is also lovely and big. We had a cocktail lady come in (vintage cocktail company) on Saturday afternoon which was amazing and a private chef catered for us in the dining room which worked perfectly (Alistair Reid of tartan stag catering). Couldn't recommend both enough they did a fab job. My hen was very happy and everyone couldn't stop saying how lovely the house was. Thank you for such an amazing weekend.

  • Review Submitted: 27-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: House Parties
Owner's Response: Dear Kiera, I am so glad you enjoyed being the first guest at Drylaw. It sounds like you had a lovely weekend and we will add the cocktail making company onto our list of suggested companies we recommend. Hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Helen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question

Notes

  • Contractual booking deposit: 33.00% rent
Available
Unavailable