HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Beautiful cottage in stunning Cotswold village

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview


Details
People
4
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
4 - 7 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday in Broadwell - Red Cottage

2 bed cottage sleeps 4

Red Cottage is a beautiful brick built cottage. Throughout the cottage is decorated and furnished to the highest quality.

Ground floor - large cosy lounge with dining area, quarry tiled floor and log burn fire. A lovely cottage kitchen with washing machine, microwave, oven. First floor - pretty twin bedroom. Bathroom with hand-held shower over bath.

Second floor - fabulous double bedroom with beams, dormer windows with views over the surrounding countryside.

Services

• Wifi available

• Electricity, central heating, initial fuel for the fire, linen and towels included.

• Colour TV with many digital channels with DVD player.

DVDs games, books, toys, etc.

Outside

• To the rear of the property there is a pretty courtyard, with table and chairs

Local Attractions: The village of Broadwell is perhaps one of the prettiest villages in the Cotswolds, situated in an area of outstanding natural Beauty. The village has the benefit of a most attractive Village Green, there is also a beautiful village church, a stream and a ford, a lovely Public House serving a good range of beers and food.

Just over a mile away is the Historic market town of Stow-on-the Wold, with a supermarket, shops, pubs, restaurants. Nearby Moreton-in-Marsh (4 miles), Bourton-on-the-Water (5 miles). A little further there is Stratford upon Avon, and Oxford. There is also the main line station going into London Paddington from Moreton-in-Marsh.

Restaurants & Pubs: There are numerous fantastic public houses in all the local villages, many of them owned by the local brewery. In nearby Stow-on-the-Wold and Bourton-on-the-Water there are a more varied range of great restaurants and tea rooms.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • not suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Stephanie & John Howson
Member since: 2011
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
7 November, 2016
Call Owner

Guestbook comments from the owner

My two sisters and I stayed in this cottage in Broadwell for a week.It is a pretty little village with a pub and a village green.Broadwell is a mile and a half from Stow on the Wold which a great town, good pub, great deli, plenty of antique shopping and super Tesco.

The cottage is picture perfect with lots of country craft touches. In the mornings you could hear the birds chirping and cuckoo sounds.

We had a lovely time as the cottage is so central. We went to Bath, Sratford upon Avon, Broadway to see the folly, Morten in the March, Bourton on the Water, Cardiff and upper and lower Slaughter. Lower Slaughter was lovely, paticularly the waterwheel at the old mill.There is also a great gift shop at the old mill and we bought some great gifts.



One of the best places we visited was Greater Tew, a village with lots of chocolate box type houses with thatched roofs. We spent time walking around and stopped for a coffee and a slice of lemon drizzle cake at the local cafe.
May 2013
  • 1 of 5

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(9 traveller reviews)

Beautiful cottage in stunning Cotswold village
average rating of 4.111111 based on 14 reviews
4

Cute cottage...peaceful area

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at the cottage. It is a cute little cottage...that comes with very steep steps. The kitchen had the basics but could have been a little better equipped (no large salad bowl), a wee bit cleaner but did have nice wine glasses and champagne glasses. Despite the cold temps, we did not turn on the heat = except to dry some clothes. The fire was nice and I did ask for extra firewood...which came in handy with 7 C temps. Overall we had a good stay and liked the location for access to all the cute little villages.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful characterful cottage - delightful!

  • 5 of 5

I booked a short stay at Red Cottage at very short notice. Right from the first communication everything was excellent. The owners took the time to email me even though they were on their own holiday and made sure I had all the information I needed before I arrived at the cottage.

The cottage itself is in one of the prettiest villages I've seen and is ideally located for exploring the Cotswolds: Stow on the Wold is only 1 mile away.

The cottage is really well equipped and well furnished. The quality of the bedding is excellent (that goes a long way with me) :-)

The owners eye for style is apparent throughout the cottage with homely touches that make the whole cottage such a pleasant place to be.

I love the old fashioned feel of the kitchen which despite its quirkiness is very well equipped and easy to work in. A back door in the kitchen leads to a very pretty courtyard garden with beautiful plants - ideal for sipping an evening glass of Pimms.

I was impressed by the high standard of cleanliness in the cottage. I can honestly say I couldn't find anything negative to say.

If you're looking for a home from home in a very pretty and relaxing village, then Red Cottage is the place to be. Thank you for my stay.

Morag Richardson

Peterborough

  • Review Submitted: Jun 16, 2015
  • Date of Stay: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Morag for the lovely review, and we're really pleased you liked our cottage. We've tried to make it as comfortable as possible whilst keeping the old cottage charm. We'd love you to come back and and visit again sometime. Thanks again, John and Stephanie.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
The Netherlands
3

Nice cottage in beautifull village

  • 3 of 5

We enjoyed our stay in the centrally located village of Broadwell in the Cotswolds.

The cottage is ideal for a couple.

Mind your head when you are tall, all doors are rather low.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 20, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
5

Perfect Launching Pad for Cotswold Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We are a family of four with two teenage daughters from the USA. The Red Cottage was a perfect home base for day trips in the area. The cottage was well equipped with plenty of space. The bedding was very comfortable. My husband bumped his head a few times on the third floor beam but the charm of the room made up for that. Wifi worked great which was important to our girls. We loved eating in the garden. We hope to come back sometime and recommend this rental highly.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 19, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your review. Really pleased you had a wonderful stay. Sorry about the bumped head on the beams (being 5 foot it is never a problem for me) but I am sure the beam has had a few victims over the years. We hope to see you back sometime.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
1

Beware

  • 1 of 5

This cottage was unclean to say the least. Started looking for other accomodation immediately as we could not stay there. This took some time and longer than we expected due to availability in the area. We are overseas visitors with no phone.We advised the owner there was a problem( too many to mention one) Not as advertised at that time. No phone, no parking space, no shower, no hot water in daytime hours, loud boiler in the twin bedroom and dangerous entry/exit to master. Mold on dormer window. Washroom was disgusting. We have many pictures of the problems in this cottage. Moved out first week with no refund as requested. 1st week used to secure other accommodation ruined our holiday (time & expense).

  • Review Submitted: Jul 10, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were stunned by this review, as we did not hear from the guest until the end of the first week, where the guest requested a full refund citing the hand held shower over the bath being the deal breaker. When the refund was not forthcoming, he then claimed numerous other incorrect statements, as put in the review. The house is certainly not unclean, we have had so many lovely comments from our guests, say how lovely clean and presentable the cottage is. . The furniture, bedding and towels are very good quality and replaced regularly. The parking is outside the cottage like in most English country villages. I feel this review is vindictive and not at all reflective of our cottage or the experience fed back by any our other hundreds of guests. We have owned our cottage for 9 nine years, have many customers returning time and time again
Did you find this review helpful?
2 12
4

Happy Easter in the Cotswolds

  • 4 of 5

My wife and I stayed in Red Cottage for a week along with our two teenage daughters. This was our first visit to the area and we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

The cottage is clean, cosy, well decorated and offers every home comfort. The location is excellent, providing easy access to some lovely villages including Stow on the Wold, Bourton on the Water and Chipping Campden.

The weather was indifferent but we were able to enjoy some good walks, the hospitality on offer in some of the village pubs and some of the local attractions. The falconry centre in Moreton in Marsh was a firm favourite along with the trout farm in Bibury where the girls proudly landed their first fish!

Oxford is within easy reach and Bicester Village provided some serious retail therapy when we needed some respite from the rain.

We would certainly recommend both the cottage and the area and look forward to returning when the weather has improved

  • Review Submitted: Apr 17, 2012
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the lovely review, really glad you had a lovely time and the weather didn't stop you enjoying yourself. Thank you also for the tips on places to visit always really handy for other guests. Hope your daughters didn't spend too much at Bicester Village (I have done some damage to my credit card there in the past). Kindest regards Stephanie
Did you find this review helpful?
10 0

Location

Nearest Airport
71 Miles
Heathrow
Nearest Barpub
200 Metres
Broadwell
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Naunton
Nearest Train
4 Miles
Moreton-in-Marsh
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Stow-on-the-Wold
Nearest Beach
67 Miles
Clevedon
Car: recommended

Under 2 miles away is the Historic market town of Stow-on-the Wold, with a supermarket, shops, pubs, restaurants. Nearby Moreton-in-Marsh (4 miles), Bourton-on-the-Water (5 miles). A little further there is Stratford Upon avon, and Oxford. There is also the main line station going into London Paddington from Moreton-in-Marsh. Blenheim Palace is only 20 miles away and a popular day out with visitors. Cheltenham is great for shopping and is also only 20 miles from the cottage.

Golf: Golf available to non-members at Naunton Golf Club. Naunton Downs Golf Club

Naunton

Cheltenham

Gloucestershire

GL54 3AE

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday in Broadwell, Cotswold district

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Early Winter
28 Oct 2016 - 20 Dec 2016
4 night minimum stay
£236
for 4 nights
From
£59
From
£78
Fri,Sat,Sun
£343
 
 
Christmas/New Year
21 Dec 2016 - 5 Jan 2017
7 night minimum stay
£605
for 7 nights
£605
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
£236
for 4 nights
From
£59
From
£78
Fri,Sat,Sun
£343
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £20

We ask for 25% deposit, then the balance to be paid in full 6 weeks prior to your holiday. We do not accept credit cards, but you can pay by either bank transfer or cheque.

Bank transfer or cheque or paypal

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday in Broadwell in Gloucestershire

Meals:
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking On Street
  • Thermos Flask
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Player
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • not suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • forests
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • snorkelling

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties