Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Riverside Cottage in Whitby - in a stunning location overlooking the River Esk

Bedrooms 3
Separate WC's1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights


About the property

Modern 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom, large holiday cottage with river views & balcony

Riverside Cottage offers traditional elegance in a beautiful, tranquil location on the banks of the scenic River Esk.

'Riverside Cottage' is an exclusive, contemporary 3-bedroom, and 2-bathroom cottage ideally placed very close to Whitby town centre and it's many attractions, including Whitby Abbey.

This gem of a cottage with full river views nestles below the former Victorian railway viaduct on a tidal section of the lower River Esk. You can watch the tide ebb and flow all day long. The views are constantly changing on this spectacular tidal point in the river.

Riverside Cottage is first for quality and comfort, and sleeps 6 people comfortably.

Riverside Cottage has two good sized double bedrooms and a further (3rd) bedroom with modern bunk beds, perfect for the kids or even adults. All are delightfully decorated in light and airy colours.

(Cot, high chair provided free of charge on application)

Our superb rooms are luxuriously appointed and feature all of the amenities you would expect from first-class accommodation. The cottage setting is in a beautiful tranquil location with a free slipway to the River Esk and enjoys open views down the river toward the open sea.

Ideal for more than one family or couples or even single travellers.

The lounge having french doors has its own private balcony overlooking the River Esk and the charming contemporary dining room also has a view across the river. Riverside Cottage has a contemporary decoration throughout, with divine hard wood floors, and crisp contemporary colours and furniture.

The first floor bathroom has a shower over bath, and the second floor bathroom has a bath, both in white.

The fully equipped modern kitchen is large, light and airy again with a contemporary design.

We welcome families with children and offer an array of Children’s Facilities for your convenience. These include a Quality travel cot for children less than 2 years of age and High chair.

We do not provide cot bedding, but there is no charge for children’s' facilities.

For the comfort of all our guests and to maintain the highest of standards, we are strictly non-smoking

Please note that to keep YOUR costs down we do NOT provide towels as standard. They can be hired from us at just £3 per person as an optional extra if you wish. Please email us after making a booking to ensure these will be available for you if you do not want to bring your own.

Also available are a selection of short breaks throughout the year.

We also have another cottage on HOMEAWAY WEBSITE - ID = 8253321


More Details

Mike Peacock
Member since: 2017
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
20 May, 2018

About Mike Peacock

We are a well travelled couple having been to 53 countries to date

We know what we want and hope that we provide the same for you to enjoy too

Mike Peacock purchased this cottage in 2004

Why Mike Peacock chose Whitby

We loved this cottage from the start - Why...

On the banks of the river

Great views from every window

Scenic location

Free parking

Easy access to Whitby town and close enough to A171 for all other local towns

What makes this cottage unique

The benefits of staying here is that it's quiet but you're near enough to walk to town.

It's relaxing. Great nights or days taking in the view, drinking wine or whatever you prefer whilst sat on your own balcony watching the world drift on by as the tidal river constantly changes


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Whitby in Scarborough District

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 18
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Pets may be allowed only after discussion with the property owner. A small fee will apply if pet accepted.
Location Type:
  • rural
  • town
  • waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Lower floor WC and handbasin
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath (no shower)
  • Toilets on all floors Bathrooms on floors 2 and 3
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - Modern bunk bed sleeping 2 in this room
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Golf ...
  • Garden ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(9 traveller reviews)

66% Complete
11% Complete
11% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
Riverside Cottage in Whitby - in a stunning location overlooking the River Esk
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 9 reviews

Highly recommended

  • 5 of 5

We have just left Riverside Cottage after a 5 night stay starting on 5th November

We actually booked almost a year ago and after reading the last review before we arrived at the cottage we were slightly apprehensive.

There was no need to be, the cottage was absolutely perfect. It was warm, inviting and spotlessly clean. We had no complaints at all other than we had to leave after our 5 days.

The owners called us to see if all was OK and they offered advice about places to eat, walk etc. and they seemed very friendly and easy going.

There was tea and coffee etc. on arrival which is always nice to have. The weather was quite chilly during parts of our stay but inside the property was always snug and warm.

The property has great views of the river and surrounding countryside.

To the rear there is a children's playground which our 5 year old daughter loved. That and chasing and feeding the numerous ducks and geese that are on the bankside.

We would recommend this cottage to anyone and we’ll probably stay here again in the future.

All in all we had a very pleasurable break.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your review We are glad you had a nice break and that your young daughter enjoyed the playground and terrorising the many nearby ducks :) Thank you for recommending us and we hope very much to see you again in the future. Regards Mike & Louise
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Well appointed and great quirky location

  • 4 of 5

We really liked this property. It had everything you needed and was really clean. The owner rang me on arrival to check everything was ok. On a private estate literally next to a Grade 2 listed viaduct over which you can walk into town.

  • Review Submitted: 02-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review us. Glad you enjoyed your stay. The Viaduct is a great way to walk into Whitby as it keeps you off the roads and therefore safe for kids. It is the fastest way in too. Regards Mike & Louise
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely setting but slightly disappointing.

  • 2 of 5

Spent the first 2hrs cleaning the house, floor not brushed, mopped, carpets not hoovered, walls, doors and windows not cleaned. Apparently not allowed in the house until 4.00pm due to cleaners, not sure they turned up!.

Bed linen in first double bedroom didn't seem to be clean.

Heating set to come on at set times which was sligjtly frustrating.

Bunk beds very squeaky and girls moved into lounge for a peacefull nights sleep.

We don't normally complaint but thought you would appreciate the feedback.


Mark, Kate & Ellie

  • Review Submitted: 29-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback We were sorry to hear that the house was not as you expected when you arrived on 26th October. We would like to mention that we actually do regular 'spot checks' on our cleaners. We call in sometimes during their cleaning times and at other times we inspect the property after they have gone. Any failings are mentioned to them. This ensures we keep a good state of cleanliness throughout and effective upkeep at all times. We do at times find the odd thing they may have missed but never to the vast extent that you mention in your review, ie 2 hours cleaning of windows, walls and doors! All used bed linen is washed and ironed after each guest vacates. We can only state that we wished you had contacted us immediately upon entry and we would have checked everything out for you in a very speedy manner. To leave it until review time is not the best way to get a timely response or remedial action from us as you have already left the property. We can only say sorry again that you were not satisfied with your stay. All of our other reviews are seemingly opposite to yours and at this late date cannot understand why this would happen as the same cleaner has been employed throughout. Going foreward: Purposely we have left it more than two weeks to respond to your October review. Without mentioning your review to our cleaner we have carried out two separate spot checks since you have left. On both occasions the cleaner had already finished her work. We were very happy with the cleanliness of the property afterwards and very keen to prove to ourselves that it was not going to be as you mentioned. The cleaner had left milk, tea, coffee, sugar and teabags for incoming guests. The place was spotless. All beds had clean linen and were well made and we had no cause for complaint. Thank you again for taking the time to respond to our review invitation. Regards Mike & Louise
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Not ideal for a young familly

  • 3 of 5

Lovely warm house in a beautiful setting with some stunning walks.

No ideal house for a young familly The floorboards were very squeaky and the bunk bed children's room is on the middle floor with both doubles on the top floor. This was our only fault.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review Glad you enjoyed your stay and the cottage was nice and warm. Sorry that the bedroom layout didn't suit you on this occasion. We do indicate and clearly show on our website the layout of the cottage. We would hope that guests would ensure the property is suitable for them and their children before they make a booking. If not, then this is the time for the guest to book a property more suitable for them. We don't really believe this a 'failing' of the owners or that it implies that the cottage is unsuitable! The house developers thought it better to have two bedrooms and a bathroom on one floor with a further bedroom and the master bathroom on a different floor. We actually feel this is the best layout and shares out the cottage facilities a little better so that everyone is not on top of each other. Regards Mike & Louise
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place to stay...out of the hustle and bustle

  • 5 of 5

Quiet picturesque spot..short drive into whitby. Everything we needed for an enjoyable stay. Would definitely come back.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much Glad that you would return again The cottage is in a nice scenic spot by the river with views all round. It's also a pleasant walk into Whitby, over the viaduct should you wish not to drive Many Regards Mike & Louise
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect for family getaway

  • 5 of 5

Property was just what we needed. Well equipped and comfortable. Location was idyllic. Was there with my baby granddaughter and parents and ticked all the boxes. Was nice and quiet. Would recommend

  • Review Submitted: 12-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Ellen Come back again anytime. As you say, location is idylic :) Regards Mike
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Whitby, North Yorkshire

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
14 Apr 2018 - 24 May 2018
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
25 May 2018 - 1 Jun 2018
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
2 Jun 2018 - 6 Jul 2018
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
7 Jul 2018 - 20 Jul 2018
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
21 Jul 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
1 Sep 2018 - 25 Oct 2018
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
26 Oct 2018 - 2 Nov 2018
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
3 Nov 2018 - 23 Nov 2018
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £5 per night, per additional guest
22 Dec 2018 - 4 Jan 2019
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
5 Jan 2019 - 8 Feb 2019
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £20

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Owner a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals