HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Luxury multi-family groups holiday villa heated pool tennis guincho beach sintra

Bedrooms 7
Separate WC's1
Space 6,458 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

A commanding property with commanding views, Villa Zen is blessed with stunning scenery all around and magnificent grounds; the ultimate property for a large gathering or multi-family celebration in the sun-drenched portuguese riviera. Offering an abundance of space, both inside and out, the property provides a welcoming, comfortable setting for guests of all ages.

There is much to keep adults and children entertained and for those who are prepared to venture away from the property, charming restaurants, traditional villages, magnificent sandy beaches and world-class golf courses are never far away. Villa Zen is ideal for those wishing to be close to all the attractions of the Lisbon-Cascais-Estoril-Sintra whilst enjoying complete peace, tranquility and privacy.

More Details


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa in Parish of Alcabideche in Cascais

Property Type:
  • villa (detached)
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 6458 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Max. adults: 10
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • beach
  • mountain
  • near the sea
  • village
  • Family
  • Holiday Complex
  • Luxury
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Fireplace ...
  • Firewood
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 2 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
  • 6 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Master suite ground level - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Suite level 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Suite level 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Suite level 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bidet
    Suite level 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Master suite level 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Jacuzzi
    Toilet ground level - Toilet
  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master suite ground level - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Cot , Sleeps two adults, one child. Ensuite bathroom with shower.
    Master suite level 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Cot , Sleeps two adults, one child. Ensuite bathroom with jacuzzi
    Suite level 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Sleeps two Adults. Ensuite bathroom with bath.
    Suite level 1 - 2 Single Bed , Sleeps 2 adults or 2 children's. Ensuite bathroom with bath.
    Suite level 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Sleeps 2 adults. Ensuite bathroom with bath.
    Suite level 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Cot , Sleeps 2 adults. Ensuite bathroom with bath.
    Bedroom ground level - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Cot , Sleeps 2 Adults, one child. Capacity 4 to 6 adults/childs.
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Table Football
  • Game Room
  • Games for Kids
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Patio
  • Veranda
  • Tennis ...
  • Tennis Court
  • Terrace
  • veranda
  • 16 garden chairs
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Car Optional
  • Chauffeur
  • Housekeeper
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
The villa is ideal for a large family or for two/three families with their children. Because the way the villa was build each family can have their own quarters and maintain privacy. A Cottage sleeping 4 (with two bath rooms) can be available on request. We do not provide tennis rackets and tennis balls. Please bring your own equipment.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(46 traveller reviews)

84% Complete
13% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Luxury multi-family groups holiday villa heated pool tennis guincho beach sintra
average rating of 4.7826085 based on 46 reviews

fabulous: location, house, hosts - worked perfectly for our family reunion

  • 5 of 5

We were 6 adult couples and one set of little kids. The seven bedrooms and lots of bathrooms worked out perfectly. The house is furnished with taste and care, the group spaces are great indoors and out, the view from the infinity pool is over the sea, .....

We took advantage of the local cook to have several meals prepared for the group, this worked out well - and being Portugal, we had leftovers for days afterwards !

Our group included surfers and hikers as well as tourists and all were happy. The house is at the edge of the Sintra forest (hikes) and close to the Sintra palaces (tourists). Lots of people went into Lisbon for day trips, the rail station in Cascais makes this easy.

The closest beach is for surfers - too much riptide for bathers - but the pool at the house is great and makes it easy to keep an eye on the kids.

Shopping was no problem, our group was english and french speakers and all the people we met were helpful.

The hosts were helpful, available, but never obtrusive.

Our widespread family has done a lot of reunions in rented houses - this was one of the best experiences.

Strongly recommended

  • Review Submitted: 03-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Peter, thank you for your review. We are happy that your stay meted your expectations. It was nice meeting you and we hope to see you again one day ! Kind regards to All, Adele
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Nice house- bad owner

  • 1 of 5

Our family spent an enjoyable week here. However one day, the sunshade broke due to no fault of our part as it was automatically extending. We informed the owner of the issue immediately (as in the same day) as we didn't want any subsequent residents to get hurt if they tried to use it. Luckily, no one in our party was injured when the structure dropped.

After we left, we noticed that our deposit hadn't been returned within the required time. When we enquired as to why, we were met with a slew of allegations including that of trespass, interference with the electrics of the house and the overriding of the safety devices on the sunshades. We were also criticised for the manner in which we booked the house several months previously and also that we had broken the light bulb in the pool ( which is three foot underwater).

Although taken aback, we obviously denied the allegations ( we were just a family celebrating my parents 70th birthday). Regardless, the owners stated position in writing was that they could take whatever money they wanted as that was what it said the contract.

This made me realise that we hadn’t seen a contract! I looked through our records and found nothing. I also contacted HomeAway who confirmed that no contract was presented to us as part of the booking process. However, the owner refused to acknowledge that there was no contract and insisted they had the right to do what they wanted.

Eventually, they dropped their various allegations (as in didn’t mention them anymore) but still retained a lot of money from us for what was at best a product defect but at worst poor maintenance. They did not provide any breakdown of where these costs came from.

It’s not the money that upset us. It was the aggressive manner in which the owner acted. It really has spoiled the memories of what was supposed to be a great family holiday. It's a nice house but my tip for anyone thinking of renting this place- get a copy of the contract and don’t report anything that stops working during your stay. You will be charged for it!

My message to the owner- your behaviour after we left spoiled what was until then a perfect family holiday!

  • Review Submitted: 17-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Madam, I am really surprised to read your comments ! On the day of your departure you insisted that you would pay for the repair of the sun umbrella ??? We asked you like we do ask to all our guests if they had a good holiday and all of you were looking very happy with the week spent in the house ??? We did at that time appreciate your proposal to pay for the repair since it was you whom requested to the maid the remote controls for the use of the sun umbrella. The maid had taken the remote controls away because high winds were expected during the week of your rental. For your security, the maid explained you not to use the wind bypass on the remote control. As you have seen this is a very heavy equipment and we cannot afford to have it fall on guests ! Also the gardener did warn you several times to close the umbrella because winds were too strong and umbrella was moving dangerously. We did send the repair costs to Homeaway like the procedure requires. Value of repair i believe was very fair, a couple of euros only. Regarding the contract i do not understand what it is about since we are renting the property since 2011 and never we rented without a contract or a confirmation that renter has reviewed and accepted the contract. I am sorry if you have missed this but we were informed by Homeaway that the rental contract was accepted. We really feel sorry of all this and we were not going to charge you for this repair but since you insisted to pay for it we just followed the procedure. Never in 10 years of rental we have retained one euro for breakage to our guests; only after your insistance we send the invoice to you. The villa has one bad review amongst fifty 4 or 5 stars reviews ! I am kindly asking you to go through the reviews and you will understand that never such situation happened before ? I do not understand this change in attitude ? Jean C
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • 4 of 5

We were a party of 16 adults in the age range 17 - 60. The property was great for our group, having plenty to occupy the younger members, namely tennis, table tennis and snooker. The pool is lovely, the balcony outside the lounge on the top floor is a complete sun trap and a perfect place to sit as the sun goes down with a chilled drink in hand.

We had two lovely meals in the restaurant on the road into town, La Estrella I think it was called and could recommend it. Also we had the catered option in the villa one evening and that was also delicious. All in all a great place to come for a three family get together. Thanks Adele

  • Review Submitted: 23-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Our stay at Villa Zen, July 2017

  • 5 of 5

We were a group of two families including 13 adults and two children. Being a sporty family, the tennis court, table tennis, pool table and swimming pool were well used.The house had plenty of room to accommodate all of us and was well equipped. The outside area was well laid out and included a gas barbecue. The location of the villa was excellent.The older children in their twenties were able to visit Lisbon and Cascais in the evening, while our grandchildren had a lot of fun on the beaches north of Guincho. Adele organised a local lady to prepare an meal for us one evening and recommended a restaurant in the village that was superb, easily accommodating our group of 15. Overall, a memorable family holiday

  • Review Submitted: 27-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful home rental!

  • 5 of 5

This was an exceptional place to stay. It was spotlessly clean and well designed so that our whole family could stay together, but get away to their own bedroom when they needed some down time. And seven full and 2 half baths were wonderful and we never ran out of hot water! We loved having the pool and the playground area for the children, and all in a secure location. We also enjoyed having some meals prepared by a local cook. I would definitely recommend this home to anyone looking to rent a place for extended family or friends. Janis USA

  • Review Submitted: 17-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Spacious, well maintained property. Great for big family groups

  • 5 of 5

Our group (12 adults, 5 kids and 3 infants) stayed in the villa and the nearby cottage for 1 week in August. We had asked for a catered meal to be prepared for our arrival which was very convenient and very reasonable cost. The maid came daily on weekdays which was great for keeping the place clean and tidy. The pool was lovely - great temperature and plenty of sun loungers for relaxing in the sun at the pool side. The villa itself had plenty of space and multiple areas for relaxing with the group or away from the group. Great space both inside and outside (on the terrace) for dining and the BBQ was great to have as well. Bedrooms are all a good size and most of them en suite. Good facilities for washing and drying clothes in the utility room.

The nearby town is a 5 minute drive or a 20 minute walk. It has a lovely pizza restaurant that we went to and a decent supermarket for picking up groceries.

We had a great stay at the villa! Thanks!

  • Review Submitted: 31-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Astrid, It was a pleasure meeting you and your party. We are really happy that the villa and its facilities exceeded your expectations. Kind regards, Adele Adele
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Member since: 2011
Speaks English, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Dutch
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
8 February, 2018

Why Adele chose Parish of Alcabideche

Villa Zen is located in Malveira da serra, residential zone per excellence, which gives those who stay there the fascination of living contemplating the Atlantic ocean, in what is the most prestigious residential area of Cascais.

What makes this villa unique

A truly one-of-a-kind estate in a spectacular location at the south entrance of the protected Sintra-Cascais natural-park.

On the sunny portuguese riviera with its high quality of life.


Nearest Airport
30 Kilometres
Lisbon airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Kilometres
Estrela da serra
Nearest Ferry
5 Kilometres
Cascais marina
Nearest Golf
3 Kilometres
Penha longa golf course
Nearest Train
5 Kilometres
Cascais train station
Nearest Motorway
2.5 Kilometres
A5 motorway
Nearest Restaurant
1 Kilometres
Estrela da serra, Monte mar, Furnas do Guincho
Nearest Beach
3 Kilometres
Guincho beach
Car: recommended

Villa Zen is located in Malveira da Serra, residential zone per excellence, which gives those who live there the fascination of living contemplating the Atlantic ocean, in what is the most prestigious residential area of Cascais. A truly one-of-a-kind estate in a spectacular location conveniently located with Cascais, Estoril and Sintra only a few minutes away.

Lisbon is less than 30 minutes away by car.

A quick 10 min. drive to Cascais/Sintra, and 5 min. to Guincho beach. Guincho, is world renowned for its surfing, windsurfing & kiteboarding and offers rentals and surf-schools. Sintra, a UNESCO world heritage site with its castle, palaces & gardens set in lush vegetation and enjoying ravishing views is a lovely 10 min. car drive across the mountain. A bit closer, in the other direction, is the coastal resort of Cascais, where you will find superb beaches, restaurants, night-life and shopping, as well as a charming old town.

Lisbon is only an easy 25-30 minutes away, making the charming capital and other world-class cultural/historic sites a great day trip.

Portugal is know as a golfer's paradise. There are more than 20 golf courses and academies along the Lisbon coast, awarded the best established golfing destinationin Europe in 2007. Golf can be played every day in Portugal. The villa is located within 5 to 15 minutes drive of Portugal's top golf courses (Penha longa, Quinta da marinha, Oitavos, Quinta da beloura, Estoril golf course).


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday villa in Parish of Alcabideche, Lisbon District

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
2 Jun 2018 - 28 Jul 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
4 Aug 2018 - 18 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
25 Aug 2018 - 27 Oct 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £706.28

A deposit of 800 Euros is required to confirm your booking. This deposit will revert to a breakage deposit upon your arrival. Breakage deposit will be refunded seven days after your departure provided no damages were found.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.