Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Lake Wallenpaupack - 4 Bedroom Home - HUGE Private Dock

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,000 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

4 bedroom, private dock, 2000 finished sq feet, LAKEFRONT

Lakefront home with four bedrooms, two full baths, open kitchen/living area with three sets of double sliders opening to sprawling wrap-around deck with plenty of seating, a gas grill, and a covered/screened in area for dining with lake views. Finished walk out basement opens to lower private deck with water views. Two indoor stone fireplaces to keep you cozy and an outdoor fire pit for enjoying evening s'mores and late evening stories.

Master bedroom has a king sized bed and boasts stunning treetop water views. Two additional bedrooms on the second floor with skylight, a double bed, and two sets of bunks to sleep all of the kids of a family comfortably. A fourth bedroom on the main level has a queen bed and provides privacy and the ease of one-floor living with access to a full bath, kitchen/living area, and a large deck on all one level for full indoor/outdoor vacation enjoyment for guests of all abilities. Main level kitchen is fully equipped, living area with fireplace, large screen TV, DVD player, and double lounger. The basement has another large TV, fireplace, pull out couch, and sliding doors walking out to the lake front private deck.

Huge private dock with all day sun in the only cove with a speed restriction, so you can feel safe splashing around and paddling all day long. Explore in our kayaks or paddle around in the paddle boat, or bring your own boat and tie up to the dock.

More Details

Ryan Lupero
Member since: 2016
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
22 September, 2018

About Ryan Lupero

Life long lake enthusiast who works on the water. I grew up on a lake in upstate New York for the majority of my childhood. I wanted to create a house that families can come make memories that you'll cherish forever.

Ryan Lupero purchased this house in 2015

Why Ryan Lupero chose Hawley

Lake front with huge private dock is unlike any other house in the area. The deck and dock get all-day sun!


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house around the Hawley around the Paupack Township

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Upstairs Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Located next to master bedroom
    Main Level Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed , Has gorgeous views of the lake
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Bunk Bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Located in finished basement - queen sofa bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed , 1 Bunk Bed
  • Plenty of closets and furniture for clothing
  • DVD Player
  • Table Football
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Terrace ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • diving
  • ski
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(8 traveller reviews)

62% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
Lake Wallenpaupack - 4 Bedroom Home - HUGE Private Dock
average rating of 4.25 based on 8 reviews
Lititz, PA

Clean, comfortable family retreat right on the lake

  • 5 of 5

This was our first vacation with our adult children and one-year old grandson and this home was perfect in so may ways for us. Pre-vacation the owner was very responsive to questions and when we arrived, the house was clean and well-equipped for our week stay. In this case the pictures really don't do it is far better than it looks on the VRBO site.

The dock was ideal for our boat, which we were able to use every day. The fishing was amazing - our son caught 20 lg mouth, 1 sm mouth & 2 pike - half of them right off the dock. The only challenge is the amount of steps from the lake to the house. It's a climb that requires some stamina.

The house itself is perfect for everyone to spend time together in the kitchen, eating and living areas, which all are together. The window A/C unit cools those areas well and there's another window unit in the master bedroom upstairs. There are ceiling fans in every room, so that helped keep the other rooms cool. Having two full baths also was convenient. We ate all our meals at the table in the screened in porch, which was nice.

In summary, Ricky's Bunk House provided our family the perfect week-long vacation full of great memories.

  • Review Submitted: 28-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the wonderful review. It was great having a family that cared for the house like it was your own. We would always welcome The Donmoyers back in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Making memories at Ricky’s Bunkhouse. A wonderful experience.

  • 5 of 5

Twelve family members all getting together at Ricky’s Bunkhouse for three milestone birthdays. A wonderful week in a wonderful setting. Ryan, the owner, was very helpful in making the week easier and making sure we were comfortable, right down to having all the fixings for S’mores waiting on the table when we came in. We made lasting memories while having great fun. Ryan’s Bunkhouse project is in memory of his Dad and will serve to continue his legacy for years to come.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Aug-2018
  • Date of Stay: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Williamsville, NY

Very nice facility and a very good week overall. .

  • 4 of 5

The cottage is very nice and clean with significant recent improvements and is very well equipped. It's a little snug but the enormous deck with awning makes up for that. The kitchen has no dishwasher but everything else you could possibly need.

The setting is very scenic with a well protected dock at the end of a bay that was ideal for mooring my boat. Our family really also appreciated the lake, kayaks, and the paddleboat as well as the few additional toys provided. The shoreline is a little rocky but that wasn't a concern for our grandkids who spent most of the week in the water.

There is one caveat that I'll mention though. Although we were well aware of the stairs up from the lake, the photo on the listing makes it look somewhat less daunting a climb than it actually is. This property is NOT one I'd recommend for anyone with physical limitations. The hillside is quite steep with almost no level land anywhere. The two decks and a platform near the fire pit are the only places for level chairs or games. I had brought bocce balls for the kids, but they stayed in the car since they'd all have been in the lake in seconds. .

There are 80 stair steps and a couple of uphill pathway sections from the shore to the main level, (my Fitbit indicated the equivalent to 7 or 8 staircases) - no problem for the kids or my athletic son and his wife. I'm 73 and in generally good health apart from some mildly deteriorating joints so It wasn't a major concern for me but my wife has some challenges with limited stamina having mostly recovered from a severe pulmonary embolism a couple of years ago, so it was more problematic for her. A trip up from the lake to the cottage required some assistance and 3 or 4 rest stops to catch her breath. At the suggestion of the owner, we used the staircase next door for her where there are more even steps, a side railing for support and a couple of landings where she could recuperate. Also, the driveway is VERY steep and she had a tumble that fortunately resulted only in some road rash but it could have been more serious.

It's not my intention to make this sound too negative. Overall, it's a lovely cottage with great amenities on a very nice lake and we all had a great week. Even the weather cooperated with only one thunderstorm one night and sunny warm days. Stores are convenient and there is a free boat launch ramp nearby. One evening, we had a lovely dinner at "The Boathouse". Highly recommended.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Center Valley, Pennsylvania

Lake week

  • 1 of 5

Lots of choices on this lake - choose another property (owner).

First hour upon arrival we were questioned as to why we had three cars for five people, even quoted / threathened with Artcile 2 of the lease that cleary reads ten people, we had five. Someone is watchng us?!

Really small kicthcen, no dishwasher - this is vacation afterall. Had to supply our own dishawshing soap, paper towels, dish towels, trash bags(?), coffee filters. He did leave Windex like we were going to clean the windows - did I mention this is vacation afterall? House is considered air conditioned yet there is only one window unit in family room and one in an upstairs bedroom. Three bedrooms remaining had ceiling fans but no AC.

Basement is being remodeled, floor has new epxoy cover and it smells like it was it done the day we arrived - never used the basement for that reason. Fire pit is terrible, a plastic adirondack chair broke first day due to the uneven area. The owner stated he did want to get in a 'pissing' match - his word - with us over a broken plastic chair yet he kept $50 of our deposit for a $17 chair you can buy anywhere.

Steps to the dock number almost 70. The first series of stairs from the new deck (best part of the house) number 26 straight down, no landings. NO WAY is this in code ( at least in our part of PA). They'll twist within two years I am sure. Owner is either new to this business or really doesn't want people in his house.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Odd review from someone who signed our guestbook and sent a follow up email saying they had a great week. This all stems from a broken chair, which they intentionally hid under the deck that we had to find. Yes, the chair is $20 at home depot, but my time to replace it is worth something. As for the number of people, the contract calls for you to list who is coming, as this is our home as we like to know who is staying there. Tim only listed 4 people, yet more than that were spotted on the dock and 9 beds were slept in. When we questioned Tim, it was not antagonistic, we just wanted clarification to which he became annoyed. As for the stairs, we have an approved Certificate of Occupancy from the building inspector. The epoxy in the basement was done 1 1/2 years ago and in no way smells. We have had 18 families rent our home with no issues. Tim is not someone we would have welcomed as a returned guest even before his review based on his attitude, lies, and the uncleanliness of the kitchen and bathrooms.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful vacation

  • 4 of 5

We loved staying at this lake home. The 4 bedrooms were perfect for our family.

The lake was lovely and there was a shallow area for our toddler to play in the water safely.

We enjoyed fishing and swimming off the dock. Spent lots of time on the deck overlooking the lake.

Altogether a great week!

  • Review Submitted: 05-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
west chester

Wonderful Family Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5

Ryan and Sue,

Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with my family. Everything was great when we arrived very clean and well decorated. We had a family of 11 and their was plenty of space for all of us. The extended deck was a great space for all of us to gather. The dock was much bigger than any other dock I saw and that was great for sunbathing and relaxing by the water! Overall we had such a wonderful time and would defiently come back.

  • Review Submitted: 19-Jul-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £150.72
Refundable Damage Deposit £565.2


We do not rent to under 25. No Prom groups, graduation, bachelor or bachelorette parties.

No Pets

Weekly summer rentals are from Saturday to Saturday.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals