Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Jazzberry Cottage in the heart of South Lakeland

Bedrooms 2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights


About the property

A perfect rural holiday retreat with comfortable and modern luxury throughout

Jazzberry Cottage is a brand new quality cottage conversion occupying an enviable location in the heart of the Southern Lake District.

A perfect rural holiday retreat with comfortable and modern luxury throughout. It is more reminiscent of a contemporary hotel than what you would expect from a traditional Lakeland cottage, with the 'cheeky cottage chic' styling proving a winning combination. Jazzberry boasts all modern luxuries such as waterfall shower, full central heating, Italian Sofas, SKY TV etc whilst maintaining the intimate feel of a classic Lakeland cottage with a traditional fireplace, wood burning stove and original doors.

Boasting two comfortable, contemporary furnished bedrooms sleeping four people (master king and a twin) and a stunning large family bathroom, Jazzberry is perfect for a family holiday or just a chance to chill in company of friends.

The spacious fully fitted kitchen offers everything you require should you decide to self-cater.

More Details

Mrs Emma Carrick
Member since: 2008
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
14 August, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Cumbria, United Kingdom

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • rural
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Master - 1 Large Double Bed
    Twin - 2 Single Bed
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness centre
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • swimming


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(13 traveller reviews)

84% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Jazzberry Cottage in the heart of South Lakeland
average rating of 4.769231 based on 13 reviews

Excellent open plan cottage with lots of character.

  • 4 of 5

Excellent openplan cottage the only downside was the rear garden was not secure for dogs and lead straight onto a busy A road.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely cottage very well presented and comfortable

  • 5 of 5

Very central for getting around. The cottage was very comfortable everything needed was there. Hotel across main road was really nice had a very pleasant meal there.

  • Review Submitted: 08-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Would stay again

  • 5 of 5

Very clean and cosy would stay again

  • Review Submitted: 23-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very clean and tidy and welcoming

  • 5 of 5

The property was very clean and tidy and luxurious. We had a great welcoming note from Emma with muffins, bread, butter and milk. Everything we needed was in the house. We were very impressed with the bath and powerful shower and will miss that part of the property the most. There is a busy road running behind the cottage which is in the description of the property but as we spent little time at the cottage during the day and indoors during the evening, this didn't bother us or kept us awake. The cottage was in a good location and 2mins away from the steam train station that takes you to the ferry terminal and from there to Bowness and Ambleside. Both these towns were very pretty and definitely worth a visit. Lakeside (Fell foot country park) is about a 10min drive from the cottage and well worth a visit. Beautiful sight and a lovely big green picnic area. I would definitely recommend Jazzberry cottage and would not want to stay anywhere else if we come to visit again.

  • Review Submitted: 14-Sep-2016
  • Date of Stay: September 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice But Noisy

  • 3 of 5

A nice house, lovely roll top bath, just right for a soak after a hard days walking, being on three floors could be a problem, was disappointed with cleanliness as we seemed to have an infestation of those daddy long leg spiders which like dust, my husband had to hoover all around Windows and ceilings on arrival, l'm afraid to say the matress on the master bedroom bed was really badly stained with was very off putting, but the most disappointing thing was the traffic, we live on a busy main road but this was constant 24/7 totally impossible to sit out for a Drink or Coffee as you couldn't here each other talk, couldn't have the windows open far too noisy and difficult to get the car out, saying all that we manage to have a very nice holiday, the neighbors where lovely. Would not return.

  • Review Submitted: 14-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry hear you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay. I would like to think that all our guests had a lovely experience when staying in Jazzberry; however I am a realist and know that this will not always be the case. We endeavour to learn and improve from all feed back whether that be good or bad, and the vast majority of our guests do enjoy what Jazzberry offers. Firstly and for me the most disappointing aspect was the stained mattress. This is not the norm. The cleaner is supposed to inform of any stains. If you had called when you discovered the oversight and I would have popped by with a freshly laundered topper. The owner assessed and agreed that it had been badly stained and a new topper has been ordered and will be in place for the next guests. I agree the road is a contentious issue and the location is not to everyone's taste. I think it depends on how accustomed you are road noise. I would say that 5% of our guests mention it, but we have a high number of loyal returnees and many guests leave very positive reviews and comments in the visitor book. I really wish we could please all the people all of the time. You must have stayed during the heat wave and had the windows open? As a previous review states "The location at first looks to be busy and noisy....but once the doors are closed it is very peaceful" We do not hide the location of the property and it is clearly shown on the map as being located next to an 'A' road. In the online description it states "The cottage has a small decked yard area, however this leads out onto the A590 and the front door leads directly onto the road. I wish that I could wave a magic wand and ask guests to let us know what they are looking for / not looking for when they book. We know how important being happy in accommodation is, so if people ask about the road and the noise, I never fabricate the truth and suggest that perhaps Jazzberry isn't for them. I also suggest people use the street view option on google maps to get a feel for the cottage. But we also know that many people appreciate the other amenities such as the modern, comfortable interior, the roll top bath and walk in shower, log burner etc and as people have reviewed ... a "good location with ... access to main roads and the many beauty spots that the South Lakes has to offer" I am glad that you did manage to have a nice holiday. We do take feedback very seriously and will act on all we can. Thank you, Emma
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Home away from Home!

  • 5 of 5

Myself, my fiancé and our two children stayed in Jazzberry Cottage for 4 nights during the school holidays. It was beautifully clean and tidy with everything we needed included in the house. The email we received from HomeAway informed us that there was a keysafe so that we could let ourselves in when we arrived which was easy - especially as we arrived nearly 2 hours behind our schedule! So there was no need to arrange this with anyone. We loved the little 'welcome pack' of fresh bread, scones and a beautiful bunch of flowers that was in the kitchen when we arrived. Emma was easy to get in touch with and promptly arranged for the sky box to be fixed straight away when it unfortunately broke during our stay. Wonderful service! The cottage was in a great location and so close to many family activities in the Lake District. Overall, we had a wonderful stay and wouldn't hesitate to return next year!

  • Review Submitted: 04-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0



Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £175

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals