Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Hawthorn House; a detached 18th Century Country Cottage!

Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights


About the property

Peaceful Location with access to Shops, Tearooms, Pubs & the Beach

Hawthorn House is a detached 18th Century Cottage with a large mature garden, located in the popular village of Hunmanby, near Filey. The property has recently been refurbished to a high standard and offers all the modern day facilities whilst retaining many characterful features including low ceilings, exposed timber work and handmade hardwood doors. The cottage provides an ideal base for exploring the Yorkshire Coast, Wolds & Moors.

Property Manager
Member since: 2013
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
4 August, 2018

About NYCH

North Yorkshire Coast Holidays is a family run business, located in the picturesque village of Hunmanby. We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service and we endeavor to make your experience with us a memorable one.

From the moment we receive your initial enquiry to the moment you depart (after hopefully a thoroughly enjoyable stay), we are only ever a click or call away. We aim to reply to all emails within 24 hours and answer calls on a daily basis in our dedicated office.

Our aim is to provide all of our guests with a friendly, efficient service and ultimately, to facilitate a thoroughly memorable and pleasurable stay. From our glowing reviews, we are inclined to believe we are well on track however, that won't stop us in our pursuit for further success.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Hunmanby in England

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • beach
  • village
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
  • The family bathroom is located on the first floor. There is also a toilet cloakroom on the ground floor.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 8 (4 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: There are 4 spacious bedrooms situated on the first floor; The master bedroom boasts a king size bed, en-suite bathroom & walk in wardrobe. There is also a double room and two twin rooms.
  • Books
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Golf ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
Notes on accommodation: There is ample private parking at the property. This is a NO SMOKING property. Pets are NOT allowed. Utility Room: A washing machine and drying facilities are available in the utility room which is located adjacent to the Kitchen. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Bed linen and towels are provided. If you are staying for a week or less these will not be changed. The property will not be cleaned whilst you are staying. If you require these services please discuss this with NYCH as there will be an additional cost.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(10 traveller reviews)

70% Complete
30% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Hawthorn House; a detached 18th Century Country Cottage!
average rating of 4.7 based on 10 reviews

Cosy cottage

  • 4 of 5

Lovely cottage, lovely big kitchen. Ideally located for all east coast holiday resorts. Didn't use the garden as the Weather was unsuitable. The only downside was the PlayStation dvd player which wouldn't play our dvds and there was no lead for the controller. We didn't use the sky tv. Would definitely stay at hawthorn cottage again

  • Review Submitted: 06-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, unfortunately we were unaware the DVD aspect of the system was not working however, we will look into this straight away.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely holiday base

  • 4 of 5

I chose this rental for 4 adults and three young children hoping for enough space for all . This was definitely the case as the layout and spaciousness was just as described ..ideal for us. Location good with a car , plenty of parking space . Lovely garden which unfortunately we couldn't make best of due to the weather . The rooms were comfortable and the house overall was lovely . The house was clean and the only problem we encountered with the washing machine was repaired as soon as possible once reported .I am in agreement with other good reviews of this property and would have no doubt in recommending it or staying again ourselves .

  • Review Submitted: 16-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Hawthorn House and hope to see you again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely house for a holiday.

  • 5 of 5

The house was perfect for a holiday home, everything you need, and close to the sea too. We stayed with 2 families and there was lots of room for us all! The house was huge! Very clean and cosy. We would definitely stay here again! Lovely garden too for warm evenings. Looks like there used to be a hot tub would be nice to have one again! But no complaints we had a lovely holiday.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Really glad that everyone enjoyed their holiday at Hawthorn House. Hopefully be welcoming you back soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very comfortable and clean and tidy

  • 4 of 5

Very comfortable and well situated.

Unfortunately we had to leave a day early, due to illness.

Only downsides: the grandchildren missed the hot tub!!!

The icemaker is still not working from last year, or we may be doing it wrongly.

The property is rather expensive, but it is good quality and this was the holiday season.

  • Review Submitted: 15-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, it is a great help. We will forward your comments on to the owner. We hope to see you again in one of our properties.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

An absolute gem

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here as two families of 4 . An absolutely beautiful house much space and beautifully decorated. The beds were really comfy. 2 sitting rooms and fabulous kitchen diner. Amazing garden and lots of great shops nearby. The only tiny thing I could suggest would be black out blinds in the twin bedrooms ...our boys were fine but our friends' children were awake pre 6am with the sun !! We had an amazing time here and will definitely book again . Thank you very much xx

  • Review Submitted: 06-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Beautiful period cottage property

  • 5 of 5

Hawthorne house has been maintained to the highest standards , pertfect for large or multiple families and small children .

The house was immaculate on arrival. Warm with beamed ceilings cosy feel and laid out perfectly for our needs .

The enclosed gardens are nice and we made full use of the trees by decorating them with lights for our stay.

Down stairs toilet a bonus ,

Ensuite in master a bigger bonus too.

Parking for up to six cars comfortably .

Probably the best house we've stayed in or maybe a tie with the owners other property Denmark house which is equally nice however this one suited our needs better.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Jan-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the positive review!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Filey is 3.5 miles away and boasts a 5 mile stretch of award winning sandy beach. Chalets are available to rent from Scarborough Borough Council. Access can also be gained to the beach at Primrose Valley, Hunmanby Gap and Reighton Gap. A great place to stroll, relax, eat ice cream, fossil hunt, paddle, swim and surf.


There is a train station and bus stop in Hunmanby. A car is not essential as you can get the bus or train to Filey, Scarborough or Bridlington and go on the beach and access all the facilities there. We can give you directions when you call to arrange the key collection.


A short drive leads to the heart of the seaside town of Filey with its 5-mile stretch of award-winning sandy beach. Hunmanby Gap, one of the East Coast's best kept secrets, has rock pools and fossil hunting. Scarbrough, Bridlington and Flamborough are easily accessible. Coastal and countryside walks surround the area, from energetic walks to leisurely strolls; cycle trails and tracks and the Cleveland Way and Wolds Way offer unrivalled distance walks.

Further Details:

There is a supermarket, cash point, hairdressers, pubs, takeaways, leisure centre, cafe and doctors in Hunmanby. Filey offers more facilities which include the beach, shops, cafes, amusement arcades, restaurants and banks. Scarborough and Bridlington are the larger towns that have the larger retail stores and swimming pools.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Hunmanby, United Kingdom

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Summer Holiday
20 Jul 2018 - 23 Aug 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Bank Holiday
24 Aug 2018 - 2 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
3 Sep 2018 - 11 Oct 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Half Term
12 Oct 2018 - 28 Oct 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
29 Oct 2018 - 17 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
21 Dec 2018 - 27 Dec 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
New Year
28 Dec 2018 - 3 Jan 2019
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £150

Booking Notes:
All bookings are subject to availability. The party leader must be at least 18 years of age at the time of booking. For bookings made more than 10 weeks in advance you will need to pay a 20% non refundable deposit (minimum of £100), with the remaining balance payable 10 weeks prior to your arrival. For bookings made less than 10 weeks in advance, the full amount will be payable at the time of booking. Further information can be found on our website.

Changeover Day:
Changeover days are Friday and Monday but please contact us if you wish to have a different holiday start date.

Notes on prices:
Prices quoted are for seven night stays with a Friday start date. Fridays and Mondays are our normal changeover days. For 3 and 4 night stays contact us for a price.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Manager a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals