Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Totland Holiday House Rental, Beach nearby, Wi Fi, Terrace & Garden, Sea Views

Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights


About the property

House in Totland Bay, Isle of Wight. Peaceful House and gardens with sea views

This lovely spacious peaceful house and gardens offering far reaching sea views is located just above Totland beach with its clear shallow waters and safe bathing. The National Trust coastal path adjoins the garden, running down to the beach in one direction and up to Headen Warren with its stunning views and enchanting pathways in the other. The garden is home to red squirrels, rabbits and pheasants.

There are cosy pubs and seaside bistros nearby for refreshements after a lovely scenic walk across the Warren and Needles headland or time spent on the beach.

For little ones the Needles Pleasure Park is nearby, offering chairlift rides down to the beach and various other amusements. From Headen Warren you can walk across to Tennyson Down and down to The Needles pleasure park and beach. Headen Warren itself is criss crossed with charming little paths leading amongst the heather to outstanding views over The Needles and beyond to Studland Bay and Bournemouth on a clear day. Totland and Colwell Bays are lovely sandy beaches, particularly Colwell, with safe bathing and interesting rock pools for the young. The Waterfront Restaurant and bar in Totland Bay is a good place to sit with a drink and perhaps a meal and gaze out over the water - on a clear evening the sunsets are beautiful. Colwell Bay just around the headland has a waterfront bar/restaurant, The Hut, a beach cafe and a comprehensive beach shop selling all sorts of beach toys and hiring out wetsuits and body boards as well. In addition we have the excellent Red Lion pub in old Freshwater with a lovely garden. There is a large new Co-op and a good butcher and fishmonger (who will sell you local crab, lobster, sea bass and sea bream) in Freshwater nearby. The charming little town and port of Yarmouth with its ferry links to Lymington is a short ten minute drive away. It has many interesting shops as well as pubs and restaurants and the lovely George Hotel with its seafront garden. You can hire bikes and cycle along the old railway line beside the River Yar to the old part of Freshwater for lunch at The Red Lion.

The house sits in around an acre of garden nestling into the slope of the hill behind it. There is a flat lawn next to it with mulberry, laburnum and fig trees with a slope rising up to the sun deck area with garden furniture offering lovely sea views towards Lymington and Hurst Castle. We also have a hammock there to relax in. There is another lawn area and a path leading up past apple and pear trees trees to the top of the garden. Guests can walk out of the top of the garden and straight onto the cliff path which leads to the beach in one direction and Headon Warren and Tennyson Down in the other. There is a short driveway next to the house offering parking for up to two cars. We are more than happy to offer short breaks during the autumn/winter season or longer one month lets. The house has been refurbished to the highest standard and offers Fibre Wi Fi, a Nespresso coffee machine, i Pod dock and other small luxuries. The entrance hall leads to a huge sitting room with windows overlooking the garden. Two sofas, large dining table and chairs, flatscreen TV and DVD player, Hi Fi system. Fitted kitchen in New England style with breakfast bar and stools, leading to pantry and utility room. Downstairs loo. Very large main bedroom with two large windows overlooking the gardens. King size double bed, fitted wardrobe, dressing table, 'day bed', full size cot. Second smaller bedroom overlooking the garden with bunk beds and chest of drawers. Bathroom with white suite, heated towel rail and large walk in shower. Bed linen supplied, beds made up ready for guests arrival. Please bring own towels and cot bedding.

More Details

Hilary Vernon
Member since: 2014
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English, French
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
20 August, 2018

About Hilary Vernon

We took early retirement moving down to the Island in 1997 and settling in the West Wight area. West Wight is very beautiful with lovely beaches and walks.

We enjoy doing holiday lets and meeting and welcoming our guests. The house is great for families with a big garden and proximity to the beach.

We can offer longer 31 day lets from November to the end of March. Please enquire for availability and prices.

Hilary Vernon purchased this house in 2005

Why Hilary Vernon chose Totland Bay

The property is very peaceful and secluded away from the bustle of everyday life.

What makes this house unique

The house can accommodate families with three children and has a huge garden which is great for playing hide and seek and generally running around. There is a nice deck where parents can sit and keep an eye on them whilst enjoying a glass of wine and the sea view.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a lovely stay. Lovely house in an amazing peaceful setting. Loved the pheasants and the primroses!

We did the following: Walked to the Needles from the house and then the chairlift, visited the Steam Railway and enjoyed a sunny day at Compton Bay

Also loved The Cabin at Colwell Bay for a lovely scone and cake.

Ate out at The Waterfront and The Red Lion - both good!

Thank you for the extensive welcome pack too.
Apr 2018
  • 1 of 2


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Totland Bay in Totland

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Max. adults: 3
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Absolutely no smoking inside the house.
  • Please leave the house reasonably clean and tidy with everything put back where it was originally.
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • Ocean View
  • rural
  • waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
  • Bathroom: Bathroom with white suite, bath & walk in shower. Separate downstairs loo
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 5 (2 bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Main bedroom: King size double bed, "day bed" & full size cot. Smaller bedroom: bunk beds.
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • bay
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes on accommodation: Car advised. Secure parking. Outside: Sundeck/ terrace, large private garden Utility Room: Iron, Clothes dryer, Washing machine. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Linen provided. Please bring towels. Other: Central heating, Hair dryer, i Pod dock, Wi-Fi available.


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(14 traveller reviews)

85% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
Totland Holiday House Rental, Beach nearby, Wi Fi, Terrace & Garden, Sea Views
average rating of 4.642857 based on 16 reviews

Lovely stay

  • 5 of 5

Hilary and Nick are very helpful and welcoming owners. Made sure we were all settled in and had what we needed.

Lovely property, great quiet location. Just what we had hoped it would be.

Convenient to local shops, take aways and pub.

10 minutes walk down the coastal path to the sea to a good local restaurant. Well worth the visit.

Only 5 minutes walk west along the coastal path to the downs and some fantastic scenery where you can see for miles. Lovely spot for a picnic.

Will definitely be back.

  • Review Submitted: 07-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Ideal holiday

  • 5 of 5

We had such a delightful week at Little Mount. The house is in th perfect position with the beach not far and made especially fun via the secret path to the cliff path.

The house is well kitted out, the main bedroom is vast with windows on three sides, the children's bedroom has bunkbeds which our two were completely over the moon about.

We had a warm welcome and tour from Hilary, lots of information to hand which set us up for an adventurous half term. We went on lots of trips - Blackgang Chine and Robin Hill the children's favourites on top of the beach.

We would recommend this house to families as well as couples wanting a completely relaxing break. Will will be back, thank you Hilary and Nick for a fantastic stay in Totland Bay.

  • Review Submitted: 08-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Penny for your lovely review and we hope to see you again. We offer three night breaks outside school holidays. Hilary and Nick
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Lovely quiet holiday home

  • 5 of 5

A lovely holiday home. Very quiet and well equipped.

Very helpful owners. Would definitely recommend.

  • Review Submitted: 12-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Lovely peaceful location, poor experience on departure. Downstairs too cold.

  • 1 of 5

Despite impressions, the house is not for the exclusive use of the traveller, the owner lives in the other half. Not a major problem, but should be clearer on the advert.

Could only find a disposable BBQ, and the terrace, although a lovely location appeared to be an old wooden base of a previous structure. E.g. a shed.

Downstairs was cold even after following the instructions for the storage heaters. Ran out of hot water with shallow bath.

Were having a nice time despite this, and went on some lovely walks. On the last night our 8yo had a nose bleed in his sleep, so we put the pillow cases and sheet in the washing machine, put out the rubbish as instructed and put our breakfast things in the dishwasher and turned it on. We handed back keys and told the owner.

On the way home, we had an email saying that we had left the place in a mess, turned up the radiators and run the washing machine and dishwasher concurrently – 50% of damage deposit was being withheld to cover additional costs of cleaning and energy consumption.

We have since agreed to pay for the pillow cases as they may have been damaged by a nose bleed. We do feel that additional costs for cleaning and energy should be itemised on booking. These fees should not be taken from a damage deposit. Additionally a Maid Service is mentioned, but apart from the change over person there was no maid service. It was not made clear to us that full cleaning of the house was required from us upon departure.

The semi is a great location for walking to the bay and across to the Needles straight out of the front door, there is a great side entrance where you can take off your boots outside under cover before coming into the house and it's also very peaceful, and there are some nice touches like a collection of DVD's, and a generous welcome pack. If you do decide to stay here, its probably best not to leave anything to chance and to contact the owner about even the smallest detail, they are only next door and it will avoid any misunderstanding.

  • Review Submitted: 22-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry to hear that our guests were not totally happy with their experience, although their remarks in our Visitors' Book were very positive. We would strongly refute the comments regarding the house. It is a fully independent property standing in its own private gardens of an acre and it is of course for the exclusive use of our guests. Unfortunately we were away at the time of arrival but our guests were shown in by our housekeeper who explained about the night storage heaters and the immersion heater and how they work (our detailed welcome pack also explains this). With regards to the cleaning and the deposit, all we ask is that our guests leave the property in a reasonably clean and tidy condition, ie how they would expect to find it. As customer satisfaction is our number one priority, we have refunded nearly all of the guest's deposit.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 11

Nice house in a lovely location.

  • 4 of 5

We stayed a week in Little mount and had a really good holiday. It was a peaceful location being on the west of the island. You can walk down to the sea from the house, which we did with our two young children and had lunch at the local restaurant with lovely sea views. The children loved their bunk bed room and we enjoyed the spacious main bedroom. Going in March the house was a bit cold with sash windows but as the week went on it managed to warm up. The owners were helpful when we had a few issues and were quick to resolve. The house was very clean and had lots of little extras, dvds, Games etc aswell as some nets which we used to catch some crabs with the kids at nearby freshwater bay, which was great for rock pooling action! The garden has a relaxing deck area where you can sit back and enjoy a sea view through the trees and observe some local wildlife!

  • Review Submitted: 10-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review. The house and gardens are ideal for families and I'm glad you enjoyed some sunshine on the deck during a fairly variable week weather wise. We hope you will visit us again. Hilary and Nick
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

perfect comfortable base for exploring the west IOW

  • 5 of 5

the best feature is the rural feel and the walking out from the garden to Totland Bay or to Headon Down and the Alum Bay/Needles/Tennyson Down/Freshwater Bay area

  • Review Submitted: 10-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Barpub
0.5 Kilometres
The Waterfront on Totland Bay
Nearest Ferry
4 Kilometres
Wightlink ferries in Yarmouth - 10 min drive
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Kilometres
The Waterfront or The Hut in Colwell Bay
Nearest Beach
0.5 Kilometres
Just down the coastal path - 5 minutes
Car: recommended

Special interest holidays:

The Isle of Wight region

The Isle of Wight is an ideal holiday destination offering beautiful landscapes, beaches and charming small villages. Made popular by Queen Victoria who had her maritime residence at Osborne close to Cowes, the Island is famous for sailing in the Solent, its beautiful coastline including sandy beaches, spectacular countryside and long sunshine hours.

Many people come to the Island for the spectacular coastal and country walks - the Island has a network of footpaths, many of them up on the Downs offering wonderful views. The West Coast is particularly beautiful with Compton Bay's long sandy beach being popular for swimming, surfing and interesting dinosaur walks and fossil finds. Charming Freshwater Bay is a good starting point for the Tennyson Trail - a dramatic coastal path with far reaching views.



Totland Bay is a peaceful countryside area yet right above the beach and about three miles outside Yarmouth. Alum Bay and The Needles are walkable from the house up the coastal path.

Places of interest nearby apart from the beaches are The Needles Pleasure Park, Dimbola Lodge, Tennyson Down, Yarmouth Castle and the River Yar.

Totland Bay and Colwell are safe sandy beaches - Colwell is particularly child friendly with lots of beach shops and wetsuits plus bodyboards to hire.


Nearest ferry: Wightlink terminal in Yarmouth 5 km.

Just two hours from London by car or train the Island is very accessible. Wightlink ferries run from Portsmouth to Fishbourne or Lymington to Yarmouth. The Red Funnel car ferry runs from Southampton to East Cowes and there is a Red Jet passenger service from Southampton to West Cowes.

The property is a 10 minute drive out of Yarmouth travelling towards Alum Bay and The Needles.


Nearest beach: 5 minutes walk 300 m.

Nearest amenities: 1 km.

Further Details:

Bicycles are available for hire in Yarmouth - the area around Yarmouth offers lots of flat paths and tracks to cycle on.

Water sports, Horse riding, Fishing.

Walking holidays, Rural or countryside holidays, Beach or lakeside relaxation, Cycling holidays.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Totland Bay, South East England

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
High Season
7 Jul 2018 - 1 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Early Autumn
2 Sep 2018 - 29 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Late Autumn
30 Sep 2018 - 31 Oct 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £100

We ask for a modest Security Bond which is returned within seven days unless communication is needed over any damage, breakages or missing items.

Changeover Day: Saturdays during June,July and August

16 Jul 16 - 3rd September 16: Saturday.

Rest of the year: Flexible.

Notes on prices:
Pay by cheque, bank transfer or Paypal.
Return guests offered a discount.
Minimum 3 night stay.

We can offer longer lets (up to 31 days) during the winter months - November to end of March - please enquire for availability and prices.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals