Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Menlo Park Cottage In Allied Arts

People2
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2

One bedroom one bath Menlo Park Cottage in Allied Arts. Queen size bed, Washer/Dryer, WiFi, Full Kitchen, Central Air and Heat. Centrally located between San Francisco and San Jose, CA. Walking distance to Stanford University. Full functioning office with computer and printer. The cottage can convert the office space into a second bedroom using our queen sized mobile bed. Walking distance to downtown Palo Alto and Menlo Parkl Off street parking for one vehicle.


Owner
Owner/Manager
Member since: 2016
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
14 July, 2018

About Owner/Manager

Hi,

We are a family of four, but really five as our St. Bernard/border collie is our third child.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Allied Arts in Menlo Park

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
General:
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 2
Entertainment:
  • Television
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(11 traveller reviews)

90% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Menlo Park Cottage In Allied Arts
average rating of 4.818182 based on 11 reviews
5

Wonderful home!

  • 5 of 5

We had such a lovely stay with our baby daughter in Menlo Park. The home was so comfortable for us and made our trip just great. Walked to downtown MP every day, which was so pleasant. I can't recommend this home and wonderful hosts enough. Thank you so much!!

  • Review Submitted: 25-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Katrina, Thank you for staying with us. Love to host you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Adorable Cottage with Wonderful Hosts!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I had a lovely stay here on our visit back to Menlo Park. The Cottage is located behind Richard's home, so he's easily accessible if you need anything. It's clean, cozy, and just spacious enough for two people. The location is great, too - not far from downtown Menlo Park or Palo Alto, and just a block or two from the Stanford Shopping Center. Richard got us checked in quickly and made sure we had everything we needed for our stay. Highly recommend and hope to visit back sometime!

  • Review Submitted: 30-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Mixed Blessing

  • 3 of 5

The Menlo Park Allied Arts cottage was mostly delightful, with a few issues.

Pros: excellent location for walking access to Stanford Hospital, where my spouse was receiving cancer treatment in his chest, and also to delightful downtown Menlo Park. Charming interior, nice finishes and comfortable, attractive furnishings. Considerable privacy even though next to main house and garage. Reasonable cost for the area.

Cons: cottage had just been used for a party; freezer was full of smoothies and ice cream, fridge full of beer and wine, sticky spills on shelves. Owner kindly shared the beer, but we felt the lack of space to store our required diet. Large-scale construction project with associated noises across the street. Mandatory parking spot under a sappy tree.

Most concerning was a $300 smoke damage charge filed shortly after we left. Due to my spouse’s condition we are careful to avoid any lung irritants. Neither of us smoke, lit any flames or used the stove for anything but boiling water. I reached out to the travel insurance company and home owner but have received no response.

My spouse and I have stayed at short-term rentals across the country for years, and have never had any damage charges. Our deposits have always been returned. This unexplained damage charge during a challenging medical time is very concerning. I would suggest future guests meet with the owner upon checkout to ensure there are no surprise charges.

  • Review Submitted: 24-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I had five different people come in to the cottage within an hour after your departure. All of us noticed the smell of cigarette smoke. We have a very strict no smoking policy. I had to hire a professional cleaning company to get the smell out. We were very disappointed about the smoking. Perhaps it was your daughter’s visit, because it was clearly emanating from the bathroom and it was the day after her visit. What else can I say? None of us smoke here.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent location, lovely rooms, everything you need.

  • 5 of 5

Ideal location a 10 minute stroll from Stanford / Sand Hill.

Very quiet, private cottage with full kitchen, laundry. Ideal for work or a local vacation stay.

  • Review Submitted: 13-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Karl, Thanks for staying with us. Hope to see you again. Thanks, Rich
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great apartment with everything you need

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our time in the cottage. It had everything we needed and was very well located. It's also a very nice space to spend time. Thanks Richard!

  • Review Submitted: 18-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5

As a business traveler it gets really old staying in hotel after hotel. This was a wonderful deviation from the big square box lodging. Very quaint and cozy in a safe neighborhood!

  • Review Submitted: 15-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Insurance £44.92

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Available
Unavailable