HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

TISH & JEFF

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks English, Spanish

5* luxury Cortijo, private pool, g@mers den, spa, gym and much more.

16 Reviews
People10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday villa in Íllora - Cortijo Bujio

Prestigious four bedroom cortijo all with en-suite bathrooms, tv's & ipod DS

VOTED IN THE TOP 5 'Best private villas & cortijos to enjoy in Andalucia, offering luxury, tranquillity and authentic charm.' Forbes April 2013.

VOTED as one of the top 10 villages "Having the best views in the world" by National Geographic Nov 2015.

THE ALHAMBRA PALACE, Spains most popular tourist attraction.(Just 40 minutes drive away from the Cortijo).

Set amidst spectacular countryside with breathtaking views and stunning scenery.

Pathways lead through the expansive grounds to the large swimming pool (10 x 5m) flanked by a Moroccan style casita with its own bar and barbecue area plus a wood burning paella ring. The swimming pool has a number of sun loungers and parasols. A children's play area, with paddling pool is ideally located by the swimming pool for parental supervision.

Accessed via a bridge and built on stilts, our fully equipped open-air gym is available for guests. We have a range of cardiovascular and resistance equipment. (over 16's only).

Surrounded by tranquil vistas across woodlands and olive groves, guest can relax and De-stress in our therapy room where our skilled masseuse, Eva, is available to provide a range of personalised treatments suited to individual needs. Guest can also take advantage of our games area which offers, cycling, badminton, table tennis and much more.

The picturesque whitewashed village of Montefrio is just 15 minutes drive away.

Nestling among olive groves, Mediterranean pine and ancient Spanish oak trees, the Cortijo has breathtaking views of the surrounding hills and snow-capped peaks of the Sierra Nevada. Bujio is truly a haven of rustic tranquillity, offering absolute peace and quiet. Described as feeling like a 'private island set in a mountain'. This prestigious four-bedroom Cortijo has retained many of its original features and like all similar traditional Andalusia homes, is designed to stay cool in the heat of the summer months. It has been sensitively adapted to maintain its character and to provide guests with a calm, relaxing environment that offers privacy in informal, stylish surroundings. Visitors can relax on sun loungers, soaking up the Andalucian sun by the pools edge. A Children’s multi- play area and paddling pool - is ideally placed for adult supervision. Bujio also makes an ideal Christmas / New Year getaway.

Semi-professional kitchen - 5 ring gas cooker, double oven, deep fat fryer, fridge/freezer, microwave, Dualit toaster, juicer, Delonghi coffee machine, double s/s sink and dishwasher.

Living room.

Original flagstone floors and beamed ceilings with an Andalucian open fireplace, luxurious sofas and armchairs. I-pod docking station. Separate dining room with open access on 2 sides leading to the courtyards, with facilities for Al Fresco dining.

Moroccan style G@mers Den with a large cinema screen (over 350 DVDS). 50inch plasma satellite TV, XBox360-Kinect, and PlayStation 3 consoles with Internet access (BYOG & controllers). A selection of board games, children's book's and toys, is also available.

We supply, 100% Egyptian cotton bed linens, towels, cotton bathrobes and slippers. The property is cleaned and linens changed weekly.

Their is a charge of 150€ if the Cortijo requires cleaning upon your departure.

BEACH:

Motril beach 1 hour drive away

There are 20 km of beautiful beaches that go from Salobreña to Castell de Ferro, wonderful landscapes with large cliffs dotted with watchtowers from Muslim times looking over to the African Continent.

Visitors will be able to choose between small coves, large and spacious beaches, busy or quiet beaches and all of them with the most spectacular and breathtaking sunsets, enjoying 320 days of sunshine each year.

GOLF

The Santa Clara Golf course is located in the town of Otura. This 18 hole golf course, designed by Enrique Canales Busquets has been created with total respect for the natural environment and indigenous wildlife, providing a fantastic meeting place for golf enthusiasts. Just over 30 minutes drive from the Cortijo. Santa Clara Golf Granada is notorious for its spacious and fast moving greens. The course has a large variety of challenging obstacles, as a result the course is perfectly designed for every kind of handicap.

Club Amenities include: Clubhouse, Conference room, Locker room, Indoor pool Outdoor pool, Sauna, Creche facilities for guests, Children’s playground and Bar.

General Information.

Greenfee weekdays € 42.00 - weekends € 52.00. No handicap required. Other facilities include, driving range, chipping area, putting green and teaching pros. Golf carts can also be hired.

MOST VISITED TOURIST ATTRACTION IN EUROPE: THE ALHAMBRA PALACE.( JUST 40 MINUTES DRIVE AWAY FROM THE CORTIJO).

The name Alhambra comes from an Arabic root which means 'red or crimson castle', perhaps due to the hue of the towers and walls that surround the entire hill of La Sabica which by starlight is silver but by sunlight is transformed into gold. But there is another more poetic version, evoked by the Moslem analysts who speak of the construction of the Alhambra fortress 'by the light of torches', the reflections of which gave the walls their particular coloration. Created originally for military purposes, the Alhambra was an 'alcazaba' (fortress), an 'alcázar' (palace) and a small 'medina' (city), all in one. This triple character helps to explain many distinctive features of the monument.

MOSQUE OF CORDOBA.

The Great Mosque of Cordoba was considered a wonder of the medieval world by both Muslims and Christians. Built on a Visigothic site, which was probably the site of an earlier Roman temple, the Great Mosque of Cordoba was begun between 784 and 786 during the reign of 'Abd al-Rahman, who escaped from Syria to the Iberian Peninsula.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • not suitable for elderly or infirm
TISH & JEFF (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks English, Spanish

Reviews

4.8
based on 16 holidaymaker reviews

5* luxury Cortijo, private pool, g@mers den, spa, gym and much more.
average rating of 4.8125 based on 16 reviews
5

A beautiful escape

  • 5 of 5

The villa was stunning - beautifully restored, set in the hills about 15 minutes drive from a lovely little village and spotlessly clean. I went with my wife and four year old son and we all loved it. For us the pool was the highlight, set at the top of the hill with lovely views across the olive tree covered hills. We spent most of our time here, darting from water to the sun and then the cool shady bar/lounge area. The interior design was obviously well considered, the attention to detail was exceptional and you could easily take three different families there and still have your own privacy. Tish and Jeff were very helpful, always on hand to offer advice or sort any issues. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful setting but cold!

  • 4 of 5

Charming, immaculate, nicely appointed villa. The setting is absolutely stunning! HOWEVER, I would not recommend a winter stay. We were there for 3 nights and the house did not get warm until the last day - - the master bathroom never did get warm and the master bath tub never did have hot water (a shame, since it was gorgeous!) We were expected to build fires to help keep the villa warm and the main fireplace did not draw correctly, so that the villa (and all of us) smelled like smoke. (We are country living folk with our own wood-burning fireplace, so we know how to build a fire.) We used the kitchen extensively but they did not supply drinking water (we were told to bring our own) or any pantry essentials, like spices, etc. This is challenging since the nearest grocery is quite a distance away. Also, a substantial cash deposit is requested when you arrive and it is not returned for a week, so you lose money when the exchange rate kicks back in when it is wired back to to you. As a side note, definitely go to Montefrio for the castle at the top of the hill during your stay-- but take a map! Navigating the city is challenging. Also, we easily day-tripped to the Alhambra from the villa and also traveled the "back roads" after our stay there to the coast for a gorgeous drive.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderfully peaceful holiday home

  • 5 of 5

It is the attention to detail that made our holiday here so enjoyable. Tish and Jeff have converted the house to a very high specification and the views are absolutely spectacular. But what made it special for me was that everything was spotless. Chairs, cushions and sun loungers all had brand clean covers at the beginning of our stay and the house, kitchen and bathrooms were immaculate. Many has been the holiday when I have had to clean a kitchen or a bathroom on arrival but not this time. The kitchen was beautifully equipped - there was nothing that I don't have in my own kitchen AND all the knives were sharp. This is very important if you're a keen cook! Tish and Jeff were kind, informative and very friendly and the whole experience was a very happy one for us all. We will definitely be back.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 16, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
5

It is all about the view

  • 5 of 5

Not to even mention the pleasure of relaxing after a day of touring. Or just a day of relaxing. The place has a different terrace to sit out on depending on the time of day. The pool is perfect for any time of the day. This is an oasis.

  • Review Submitted: May 19, 2015
  • Date of Stay: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Most unique place I've ever stayed in

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed here for five nights during our honeymoon. We stayed at three others villas/hotels in other parts of Spain, but this was by far our favorite. In fact, I'm pretty well traveled - I've stayed in around 35 countries - and this was probably the most unique accommodations I've ever had.

The villa is a refurbished farmhouse, and its style is modern and Moroccan. It has the feel of luxury, yet isn't over the top. When we arrived, Jeff and Tish were there to greet us and show us around. They're a friendly couple from England that live in the nearby town. After helping us get settled, we followed them in our car into town since we needed to buy groceries. They were also quick to help during other days when we had a question.

The villa itself was clean and spotless when we checked in. It's clear that the owners take great pride in what they've done here. It has everything you could want - real fireplaces (with all the firewood you could want), a kitchen fully equipped, an outdoor gym, pool (being Nov it was a bit too cool for us to plunge), a stunning master bathroom, and a huge movie screen in its own room. The bedrooms are different and each have their own character. Again, this place is very unique. The villa is secluded, which was perfect for our honeymoon, and the scenery beautiful. You see olive groves on every side. One afternoon we grilled outside and just soaked in the views.

I've already told a few friends and family members that they have to stay here in the near future. I live in Miami and have seen many beautiful places. But there was something about this villa that captured me. We'll definitely be back!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 6, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
London
5

What a Find!

  • 5 of 5

Just got back from a family holiday in Cortijo Bujio. I cannot recommend this place enough. A beautifully done up farm house overlooking the Sierra Nevada, with heaps of Andalucian charm coupled with modern day luxury. Add to this a ridiculously well sited swimming pool, supremely tasteful interior and every games facility (indoor and outdoor) you can think of and you get a holiday to remember. Tish and Jeff could not have been more helpful and made us feel very welcome (even putting up with an impromptu Flamenco show from our Flamenco obssessed 6 yr old daughter). We're already booking for next year...

  • Review Submitted: Sep 5, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Nearest Airport
80 Kilometres
Malaga
Nearest Barpub
8 Kilometres
Montefrio
Nearest Ferry
200 Kilometres
Cadiz
Nearest Golf
40 Kilometres
Granada
Nearest Train
40 Kilometres
Granada
Nearest Motorway
16 Kilometres
Malaga to Granada
Nearest Restaurant
8 Kilometres
Montefrio
Nearest Ski
50 Kilometres
Sierra Nevada
Nearest Beach
40 Kilometres
Iznajar
Car: necessary

For those wishing to absorb some of the local Spanish culture, the picturesque whitewashed village of Montefrio is just 15 minutes drive away. Set in a dramatic location, the village is flanked by two hilltop churches, which dominate the skyline. It is a site of cultural interest, the Alcazaba fortress ruins can still be found at its highest points. Near the village, which has retained much of its Moorish character, there is a vast archaeological site known as Las Penas de Los Gitanos, famous for its prehistoric tombs and remains of Roman and Visigoth settlements. As much as it is rooted in history and a timeless agrarian lifestyle typical of the region, Montefrio is also a working town with its feet firmly in the present; it has a wide selection of shops, bars, restaurants, banks and other amenities, and a thriving, close- knit community.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday villa in Íllora, Granada Province (Costa Tropical)

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
AUTUMN
4 Sep 2016 - 30 Oct 2016
7 night minimum stay
£1,860
for 7 nights
£1,860
 
 
EARLY WINTER
31 Oct 2016 - 18 Dec 2016
7 night minimum stay
£1,800
for 7 nights
£1,800
£6,000
 
 
CHRISTMAS
19 Dec 2016 - 9 Jan 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,990
for 7 nights
£1,990
£7,500
 
 
WINTER
10 Jan 2017 - 8 Apr 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,900
for 7 nights
£1,900
£7,000
 
 
EASTER
9 Apr 2017 - 23 Apr 2017
7 night minimum stay
£2,300
for 7 nights
£2,300
 
 
SPRING
24 Apr 2017 - 23 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£2,200
for 7 nights
£2,200
£8,000
 
 
SUMMER
24 Jun 2017 - 2 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£2,700
for 7 nights
£2,700
£10,000
 
 
AUTUMN
3 Sep 2017 - 29 Oct 2017
7 night minimum stay
£2,000
for 7 nights
£2,000
£7,000
 
 
EARLY WINTER
30 Oct 2017 - 17 Dec 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,900
for 7 nights
£1,900
£7,000
 
 
CHRISTMAS
18 Dec 2017 - 9 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
£2,100
for 7 nights
£2,100
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £500

PLEASE NOTE: WE ONLY ACCEPT BANK TRANSFERS AS PAYMENT - THE SAFEST AND SECUREST WAY TO TRANSFER MONEY ABROAD (Money advice service) We do not subscribe to the homeaway payment system.
A 30% deposit is required to secure reservations. Balance due 60 days prior to your arrival. Smoking is not permitted in any indoor areas. For information on pets please contact us directly. A refundable damages deposit of 500.00€ is required prior to, or upon your arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa in Íllora in Andalusia

Property Type:
  • villa (detached)
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 450 m²
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Safe
  • Security System
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
  • Egyptian cotton bed linen and towels, 100% pure cotton bathrobes are included. The property is cleaned weekly and sheets changed once a week. Their is a charge of 150€ if the Cortijo requires cleaning upon your departure.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 Single Bed , can change for double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
  • Each of our rooms are centrally heated, ensuring that guests can enjoy Bujio all year round. To add to the Cortijo's charms the lounge and master suite have traditional Andalusian open fireplaces in keeping with the property's rustic origins. Each bedroom uses only the finest Neals yard organic bathroom products.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Player
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck Chairs
  • Bicycles
  • Binoculars
  • Child's Swing
  • Terrace
  • Large Cooler
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Patio
  • Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Terrace
  • 4 bicycles
  • 12 garden chairs
  • 12 deck chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • not suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Chauffeur
  • Daily Maid Service
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • ski lift pass
  • ski pass optional
  • ski
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties