Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

2 Bed Apt, 1st Floor with A/C, Lift And Large Shared Pool In A Quiet Location

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,022 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights


About the property

Apartment in Marsascala, Malta - 1 Min Walk To The Pool, 5 Mins Walk To The Nearest Eateries & Bus Stop, 5 Mins By Bus To The Beach

***** VERY IMPORTANT **** Please read notes at the end of this Description.

Apartment Idea tal-Bajja, which translates to ‘glimpse of the bay’ like it's sister apartment in Melleiha (G234), brings a touch of luxury to self catering accommodation on Malta. Located in the South East of the Island, Marsascala must be one of Malta's hidden gems. The beautiful bay and local boats is a 5 minute walk to the waters edge. With Valletta and its major bus hub located just a 15 minute bus ride away, the excellent local bus service means this is the ideal location from which to explore the whole of Malta and Gozo without the need of a car. With use of a shared pool and a 5 minute bus journey to the nearest beach, the apartment is well placed for those wanting to simply relax with bars and eateries just a 5 minute walk away. The apartment is well equipped, fully air conditioned, has cable TV and free to use WiFi. With two bedrooms, two bathrooms and two sofa beds 4 adults and two children can be accommodated comfortably. There are 4 steps from the entrance door to the lift.

Please Note:

1) If you request a reservation through the Book Now option and we are unable to respond to you within 24 hours, you will automatically be sent an Email advising that your reservation has been declined. DO NOT TAKE ANY NOTICE of this - we respond to all enquiries personally and in the order that we receive them. We work full time so a 24 hour turn around is not always possible

2) If you request to pay through the Ownersdirect payment system you will be charged an additional amount of up to 11% by Ownersdirect (not us). If you pay by Credit Card or through PayPal (we can send a secure link from PayPal for Payments) you are automatically covered against loss of funds at no extra charge by your Card Issuer and/or PayPal.

More Details

Kevin Weaver
Member since: 2010
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
6 July, 2018

About Kevin Weaver

We have been taking holidays in the Maltese Islands for 15 years and have our own apartment on Gozo. We felt there was a gap in the market for luxury self catering accommodation and that is what our apartment delivers.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Marsaskala, Malta

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1022 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • village
  • Air Conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Lift
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • Master bathroom with bath, and shower attachment. En-suite to master bedroom with walk in shower. Mirror with light, shaving socket, heated towel rail, sink and WC in both bathrooms.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 6 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedrooms have solid wood furniture made by a craftsman from Gozo with bedside tables, chest of drawers & wardrobe. TV/DVD, lamps, clock radio, hair dryer. Bedroom 1 with double bed, cable TV. Bedroom 2 with two single beds Two sofa beds in the lounge
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Balcony ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Notes on accommodation: Pool towels and bathrobes are provided for use during your stay. A complementary wash bag (1 per couple) is provided. It contains items like soap, shower gel, flannels, deodorant, toothbrushes, toothpaste, razors, shower caps, shoe shine and combs. So if you want to travel with just hand luggage you can. Complementary slippers are also provided. A food pack containing water, bread, milk, tea, coffee, bacon, eggs, tomatoes, beers, toilet rolls and wine is provided. Outside: Patio doors from both bedrooms lead to the rear patio with 2 wooden tables and 6 chairs. A water feature, wall art and lighting make this a lovely place for alfresco dining or an evening drink. Patio doors from the lounge lead to the front balcony with 6 chairs and a bistro table. From here there is glimpse of the bay. The large communal pool (seasonal opening times) is a minutes walk away with a pool attendant, sun beds and umbrellas. There is a lovely view of Marsascala church and bay from the pool area. Off the bedrooms is an enclosed patio with water feature and citrus plants. There is a table and seating for 6 people. Utility Room: Iron, ironing board, laundry basket, pegs and airer are provided. Travel cot, high chair, sterilizer, baby bath, changing mat, baby alarm plus bowls and spoons are provided for little ones. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: The apartment is cleaned and the bed linen and towels are changed weekly. Further cleaning can be arranged at an additional cost. The bedding is Egyptian cotton and towels fluffy. A kitchen towel, tea towel and oven glove are provided. Other: Parking is in bays adjacent to the property.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(15 traveller reviews)

80% Complete
13% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
2 Bed Apt, 1st Floor with A/C, Lift And Large Shared Pool In A Quiet Location
average rating of 4.733333 based on 15 reviews

Very spacious, but a bit tired

  • 3 of 5

The first impression of the apartment was good, plenty of room and facilities seemed good. After a more careful look we realised that it really need a bit of TLC. The sofas in particular were in an awful state. They were PVC and all of the coating was coming off, all over the floor and your clothes. We found a couple of cotton blankets in the bedrooms and used these as covers. The grill on the oven didn't work, although there was a separate large oven/grill in one of the cupboards which we could have used, but it was too late by the time we realised this. There was no shower in the family bathroom, although all of the fittings were there. I'm not sure if it said there was a shower or not, but it wouldn't have been a big job to put a working shower over bath as the fittings were there anyway. It would have made it so much better for those using the twin room. By far the biggest problem was that my husband had to be rushed into hospital. The emergency numbers were not very obvious, being rather small, and not immediately noticeable. There was no numbers for doctors, emergency or other wise, and no numbers for taxis. I called the ambulance (112) when I eventually found it, and gave them the exact address that Mr Weaver had given to me, but the paramedic pointed out that it was worded incorrectly and they couldn't find the apartment easily. When I told Mr Weaver about this he simply wasn't interested stating 'that is how they all are in Malta'. Obviously not! He also said I should know what the emergency number was, and should have found out how the system worked in Malta before I got there. Not an easy task, especially when there is supposed to be an agent to assist you with such emergencies. Unfortunately Steve (the agent), who I was told was there 'to assist you with your holiday', wasn't at his best either, taking an hour and a half to reply to my voicemail message when I was looking for some advice. I doubt if we will be returning to Malta, although I have to say that the hospital we were taken to (NHS) was pretty good.

  • Review Submitted: 05-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Labelling our apartment as tired is an exaggeration and unfair. We take pride in ensuring that everything is maintained to a high standard (as can be seen by other guest reviews). We were only made aware of the problem with the shower and the sofas the week before these guests arrived. The shower head has now been replaced and temporary covers have been fitted to the sofas which replacements are source. Apparently the "faux leather" covering suffered a sudden and dramatic failure disintegrating into strips. However, these guests did mention these issues in their Email to me, but saved it for the Online Review. The opening paragraph of the Email contained the words "serious issues encountered while staying at your apartment". One of the guest was suddenly taken ill and collapsed. The first issue was about finding the emergency number; it is on framed document including other helpful numbers and the apartment evacuation plan and is hanging alongside the entrance door to the apartment. These same guests spend up to 6 months a year in Spain living and working and have worked in the holiday industry for 20 years. I am surprised that they do not know the European emergency number. The address we include in our notes is the official registered address and every guest, including these, who have stayed there over the last four years have found it without a problem. Add to that somebody was waiting in the street for the Paramedics there should not have been a problem; Ta Monita only has the one street! Our agent returned the guests first phone call within 10 minutes - he was in the shower. The apartment comes with free WiFi and most people today have smart phones and can look up telephone numbers and they will be current, printed lists go out of date quickly. I read their Email carefully several times before sending my balanced reply; it was not that I was "disinterested" but rather I could not really work our what they wanted from me. As independent travellers you do have to come away prepared with information about what to do in emergencies. It is sad that this happened and ruined their holiday but (apart from the shower and sofas) I cannot see that any of these events were of our making or what we could have done differently. In recognition of the fact that their holiday was ruined and how important holidays are, I offered them a discounted stay for another time - this was thrown back in my face with venom.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 4 of 5

Well stocked and comfy welcome package was fab. Pillows need renewing though. Pool is really good for younger kids as about 1.3m in depend. Pricey for a family over the course of a holiday. €5 per person per day but quiet with good sunbeds and vending machines. Local restaurants OK kids menus limited. Buses great but wish I had hired a car.

  • Review Submitted: 15-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful apartment

  • 5 of 5

Really great apartment with everything you need for a holiday. Marsascala is a lovely place to stay if you want a quiet break.

  • Review Submitted: 01-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

An amazing family getaway with all the amenities!

  • 5 of 5

We were thoroughly impressed with every aspect of our accommodation. Descriptions and pictures were very accurate and it was clean and comfortable for a family of four. The location made it very easy to see all of the attractions and visit other villages in our rental car. The manager and his team provided exceptional customer service, answering any and all of our questions and giving us insights on where to go and what to see. We arrived in the early hours of the morning and were met at the apartment by a smiling face and a care package of food essentials to get us going- even a couple of bottles of wine!! We would highly recommend a stay here; you won't be sorry!

  • Review Submitted: 30-Nov-2016
  • Date of Stay: October 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great apartment in a great location!

  • 4 of 5

On our arrival in Marsascala, we were met by Sharon who was very friendly and could not have been more helpful. We were very impressed with the apartment which was well equipped and furnished. There was a well stocked welcome pack and toiletries for each bathroom making it possible to bring only cabin luggage - an excellent bonus for travellers wanting to keep the cost down! For us the location of the apartment was a huge plus. It was only a few minutes stroll to the lovely harbour where there was a variety of cafés and restaurants. Sadly the recommended Stuffed Olive was closed while we were there but we did enjoy Ximo and Sepia restaurants. Lemon and Lime was a particular favourite for drinks especially the cocktails!! The harbour area in the evening has such a happy atmosphere with local families meeting together as well as tourists like ourselves. We would highly recommend the little shop which is on the right just down the hill opposite the front of the apartment building literally a minute away. The owner is so helpful and though the shop is small it does seem to have everything you might need. It is worth spending time exploring the area behind the harbour as there is a chemist and a butchers plus a small post office actually on the harbour front! The pool was not open during our stay but our husbands did brave the sea which was still reasonably warm! We stayed the first week in October and the weather was warm even in the evening. Buses to Valetta were fairly frequent and passes of different types are available from the bus station in Valetta. Be warned though, the buses are crowded so be prepared to stand! There are also buses to St Thomas Bay which has a sandy beach but the walk around the headland is only 25 mins and actually worth doing though we did bus it back! Personally, we thought Marsascala the best place that we visited on the island so a really good choice Kevin and Alice. Your apartment makes a stay there so easy and comfortable.

  • Review Submitted: 25-Oct-2015
  • Date of Stay: September 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Amazing this property

  • 5 of 5

This is an amazing property...clean, convenient and close to all activities.

Our vacation was ruined due to a rather unscrupulous property owner who we have since learned double booked our property and decided to put us in in a 4th floor condo that was under construction with no AC, water pressure and a lift that wouldn't work.

We quickly turned to Owners Direct and found Kevin and Stephen who happens to have a small opening for 6 days during high season....we were very fortunate.

I cannot thank them enough for saving our family vacation. We we definetly go back and are making plans to return in 2016. You will love this property....I promise you will not be disappointed.

  • Review Submitted: 30-Jul-2015
  • Date of Stay: July 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0



The waterfront is a 5 minute stroll from the apartment. There is a swimming zone here. The local fishing boats bob in the water. Along the bay, get here early and buy straight off the boat. There are seats for taking in the view plus eateries.

There is no beach at Marsascala; it is a 5 minute bus ride to the nearest beach at St Thomas's Bay where there are umbrellas and sunbeds to hire. The beach is small but very clean. There are no watersports but there are places to get drinks and snacks.


The airport is a 15 minute drive by car. It can also be reached by bus.

A car is recommended for guests with mobility problems if they want to go out and about. The Gozo ferry is an hours drive away by car. The ferry crossing is 20 minutes. Valletta can be reached by bus and from there you can take a trip to Scilly or a sea plane excursion to view the islands from the air.


Many places can be reached via the Malta sightseeing bus which offers a hop on, hop off service with north and south routes available. The capital Valletta, The Blue Grotto (take a boat trip into the caves), Marsaxlokk (traditional fishing village) are all worth a visit.

The old style buses have been changed to new air conditioned ones - not so charming but they do offer better coverage of the island.

Further Details:

There is a local shop within 2 minutes walk supplying the basics.

There is a bank, pharmacy in the town. There are stalls selling fruit and vegetables a 5 minute walk; these are always busy and the butcher is a further 5 minute walk away. On the outskirts of town, 6 minutes drive by car there are larger supermarkets; some deliver. Chef's Choice supermarket is very close to a bus stop and has a wide range of meat and some fish products. The meat selection includes steak, chicken and pork along with less familiar items like whole tongue, chicken livers and rabbit.

Eating out varies from full a la Carte to Chinese, to snacks. Some places will deliver.

The nearest restaurant to the apartment is a 5 minutes walk and is open during the winter months. The inside is traditional Maltese with outside seating overlooking the bay. 5 minutes in the other direction is an Italian restaurant this is not open in the winter. There are many other eateries and below are the ones we have eaten at.

Ximos, Tal Familja, Stuffed Olive, La Spigola (this is 5 mins from the apartment on foot), Chicos (we have only had breakfast here), Terra e Mare Trattoria I Taliana (this is 5 minutes from the apartment in the other direction), Summer Nights.

There is a soft surfaced children play area at the end of the bay with all ages catered for.

A 5 minute drive or bus journey there is a free family park with childrens play areas, animals, outside gym and maze. Parking is free.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Marsaskala, Malta

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
01-Jul-2018 - 31-Aug-2018
1 Jul 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
01-Sep-2018 - 30-Sep-2018
1 Sep 2018 - 30 Sep 2018
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
01-Oct-2018 - 31-Oct-2018
1 Oct 2018 - 31 Oct 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:

VERY IMPORTANT: Payments by Credit Cards are automatically guaranteed by the Credit Card Company - We use PayPal to collect payments by Credit Card and do not have access to your card details. You do not need to pay the Owners Direct Surcharge for piece of mind on your payments. Our Agent in Malta is Steve Ganado ( part of who can verify we are legitimate.

E-Bank Payments should only be made to 11-02-01 02136976

Changeover day is flexible to allow guests to take advantage of cheaper mid week flights. There are no check in / check out times - the apartment is available from the time you arrive until the time you depart.

Notes on prices:
All prices are in UK Sterling. Prices are per week. Stays across price bands will be calculated prorated on the bands in which the dates fall.

We are not the cheapest but we aim to provide the best!

In the event of cancellation we will attempt to re let the property, possibly at a discount. If we are successful we will refund the difference of any monies already received less any shortfall on the re letting. In the event that we are unable to re let all monies paid will be forfeit.

The swimming pool is operated by the Complex Developer and has an Attendant on hand during opening hours (usually May - September). Use of the pool is charged at Eu5.00 per person per day for weekdays and Eu10.00 per person per day at weekends.
Our prices include 1 pool pass which gives seven Eu5.00 units. Further passes are available from our agent in Malta or the admin office on the complex. The pool pass must be shown to the attendant when entering the pool area and should you wish to leave and return in the same day make the attendant aware. Any unused or part used pool passes should be left in the apartment on departure.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Ask Owner a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals