Grade II Listed Barn in Higher Clovelly, Devon, England with Panoramic Sea Views - Large Garden
Andrew & Stephanie Keeling
About Andrew & Stephanie Keeling
My wife and I live in Surrey. We have two grown up children and two border collies and we all love to escape the bustle of city life to the tranquility of North Devon whenever we can.
Andrew & Stephanie Keeling purchased this Barn in 2004
Why Andrew & Stephanie Keeling chose Hartland
We have holidayed in North Cornwall and North Devon since 1987 when our children were toddlers and it has always been our dream to own a little part of this wonderful coastline. in 2004 we saw an advert from an estate agent of a derelict Victorian barn that was to be developed. We were lucky enough to be in from the start and were able to change the plans to suit our requirements although we had to allow for the Grade II listing. I use a wheelchair so we were able to ensure level access to the ground floor and garden.
What makes this Barn unique
We love that we are one mile from the A39 with it's easy access to North Cornwall and North Devon, yet we are off the road in a peaceful, rural location with outstanding coastal views that many would drive miles to see.
Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Fab location, 8 happy people!
A lovely building in a very beautiful location. We were 4 adults, 4 children. All happy. The property has the more stunning coastal and rural view from the generous garden which has lovely flower borders. The only sound in the garden is from the friendly neighbouring donkeys, the cows and swallows nesting on the patio! So much to explore in this area, that we went to several beaches, Tintagel, Boscastle and Clovelly. The house was very well equipped and we didn’t need for anything. The owners were very friendly and helpful throughout. We would definately stay again to explore more of this beautiful area. Thank you!
Thank you! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, you are welcome back any time.
Excellent Property and Location
The Byre is a first class property that has everything that you could want or need in a holiday home. The property is beautifully maintained and in an excellent location. I would definitely use again and recommend to others. Thank you
First impressions of the cottage was very good however.....
On the advert it shows a video of the garden but it's the neighbours garden and not the one we stayed at, as it is on the side of a road and you have a farm just in front of you.
We had a problem with the upstairs heating and the second night we were there the double bed had collapsed on us and as it was Christmas eve I didn't want to put anyone out so we slept on the mattress on the floor, I sent an email with pictures and tried contacting the manager the day after boxing day, I managed to get through to the manager who wasn't that helpful I explained we had been sleeping on the floor for 3nights and she had told me that there was a problem with the bed in the past but not bad enough for people to sleep on the mattress on the floor. I had a call from the owner who was pretty rude and aggressive, to be honest telling me to basically shut up so he can tell me how to get upstairs radiators on, I let him speak then told him I'm a builder and a plumber by trade and that there was no need to be so aggressive to me over the phone. Then I asked him when someone can come out and fix the bed, again I had him speak to me in a very unprofessional manner, said there was nothing wrong with the bed and that his manager had miss lead me to the fact there had been complaints about the bed and that he was using it at the beginning of December and it was in perfect condition and it must have been us that damaged it on purpose. So after 4 nights of being on the floor a maintenance guy called around to fix the bed he was a really nice guy who also went out of his way to bring me crutches as I had fallen down the steep slippery steps on the side of the cottage, where there is no lights to illuminate the hazadous steps, no hand rails and in need of a good jet wash I emailed the owner and his response was hope your foot is better soon and I'll look into the steps. The fall had stopped us from going out, we are big into our walks and love exploring so this destroyed our second week in fact after a couple of days laid up I went to the hospital to make sure it wasn't broken and as soon as I knew it wasn't we packed up and left a few days earlier. I let the owner know but had no response from them. I feel I should have had some sort of payment back due to no upstairs heating and that my daughter slept on the settee downstairs also having to sleep on the mattress on the floor and having to cut our holiday short
We are sorry you were disappointed with your holiday. Your comments are completely inconsistent with our previous 30 reviews.
The video that you mention is a 180 degree panoramic view from the back of the house. There are also still photos showing our large private garden.
You started your stay on 21st December and it was not until 27th December that you contacted our housekeeper to complain about the upstairs heating and the bed.
I rang you immediately to try to resolve these problems. I am sorry the call did not go better but I found it very difficult to get you to listen to how to solve the simple heating problem. I understood your anger as you had been without upstairs heating but, as I said to you, all we wanted was for you to enjoy your stay.
The Byre has room thermostats and the thermostat in the upstairs gallery needed to be turned up. Visitors before and after your stay have had no problems with the heating.
The bed frame had not been broken before and we have had no complaints from visitors. The housekeeper said that one of the wooden slats had been broken, not the frame. We organised a workman to repair the bed on the 28th morning which was the earliest we could get as it was Christmas. We now have a new bed on order to replace the repaired bed.
I did not accuse you of breaking the bed on purpose. It just broke as you were using it - no one's fault.
We have let our property for 15 years and there are numerous other holiday homes on the farm. We have never had any accidents on the steps or complaints about them. Following your accident we have asked the owners of the steps to review their safety.
Having reviewed our email correspondence with you I do not recognise your claim that we had no sympathy for your injury. We urged you to go to the hospital though you were reluctant to do this. Crutches were loaned to you by our handyman.
We did everything we could to make it an enjoyable Christmas for you, with a tree, decorations, Champagne, a tin of shortbread, candles, etc. We had no idea until 27th December that you were so unhappy and then we tried our best to help you as soon as we could. If you had told us earlier we would have tried to help you sooner.
It is disappointing that you chose to leave 2 days early on the 31st but all the complaints you had had been solved by the 28th of December, and as you said in your email of the 31st your ankle had improved considerably, enough for you to be able to drive home.
Excellent accommodation, amazing view, great location. Perfect for families and friends.
We had a wonderful 3 day break in the October half term. 3 adults, 4 children and Rolo the dog. Plenty of space for everyone. Very well equipped in the kitchen area. (I do like to cook) Accommodation warm, clean and very welcoming. Extremely peaceful and stunning view from the back of the property. Would highly recommend. Andrew and Stephanie were easy and friendly to communicate with.
Can’t wait to go back!!
Attractive accommodation, conveniently close to lovely destinations.
We must have chosen one of the dullest weeks of a beautiful summer to visit The Byre, so we missed the stunning views which must be available on brighter days, however we were close to many beautiful places which are worth a visit in any weather. Our party had mixed requirements, small children are catered for by a couple of themed parks which our granddaughter would have stayed all day. We had a couple of kite surfers who headed up to near by beaches. All of us loved the charming villages, beaches and of course the cream teas.
The accommodation was accessible and a little quirky. If I have a criticism, I think the downstairs bathroom could be more accessible with handrails and bath seats and when we needed to change the sleeping arrangements , there was no access to any extra bedding.
These are just individual requirements, easily satisfied. On the whole the Byre is excellently positioned, charming and reasonably good value for high season. I would come here again even if the weather did not improve.
We had a fantastic stay at the Bryr very comfortable and every thing there you needed. The weather wasn't very good but the cosines of the cottage made up for it. The dogs loved the large garden and the beaches near by thank you for letting us stay 😀�
Hartland Quay, about two miles, spectacular cliffs with incredible contorted rock formations.
Duckpool, sheltered pebble beach, sand at low tide.
Sandymouth, large pebble beach, plenty of sand at low tide.
Bude has good surfing beaches. Summerleaze has a tidal swimming pool.
Widemouth Bay, wide sandy beach. Swimming, surfing and rock pools to explore.
Northam Burrows, 1.5 miles of sandy beach protected by a wall of huge pebbles. Ideal for kite flying, swimming, surfing and sailboarding.
Nearest airport is Exeter. Use of a car is essential due to rural location.
Hartland 2 miles with Post Office, local shops, pubs and fish and chip shop. Lighthouse and Quay. Hartland Abbey.
Clovelly 2 miles, historic traffic free fishing village.
Bideford 15 mins, market town with shops and supermarkets
Bude 15 mins, beaches, shops and supermarkets.
Dartington Crystal, Torrington. Glass making, tours, hands on activities.
The Big Sheep, Abbotsham. Whole day of rides, shows, dog trials, horse whispering, duck trials, pony rides and sheep races.
Milky Way Adventure Park. North Devon's biggest indoor adventure play area.
Splash Leisure Pool, Bude offers a waves session for all the family.
Tarka Trail has 30 miles of cycle paths along the disused railway lines of North Devon's beautiful countryside. Cornwall's version is the Camel Trail.
Tamar Lakes, near Bude. Coarse angling. Upper Tamar lake well stocked with carp well over 30lbs, bream, rudd, roach, perch, eels.
Sea fishing from Clovelly or fish off the quay at Appledore.