Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Beautifully Renovated 300 Year Old Farm Building.15 Minutes to Le Mont St Michel

Bedrooms 2
Space 2,152 sq. ft.
Property type barn
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights


About the property

The Barnhouse Sleeps 5 (2 bedrooms) Converted barn oak beams, exposed stone walls, spiral staircase - A Peaceful Getaway, Perfect For Long Country Walks and Enjoying the French Countryside

The Barnhouse is brimming with character and beautiful original features. Ideal for families and couples, with extensive gardens, BBQ area and a splash pool, this converted barn is a perfect, quiet place to relax after a day of exploring the varied sights in the local area.

Great for quick get a ways or longer holidays. Warm in winter and cool during the summer.

Only 20 mins from Le Mont Saint-Michel, 40 mins from St-Malo and Dinan.

Recently redecorated in Nov 2017 the Barnhouse consists of a large open plan living, kitchen and dining room. There is a log burning stove with plenty of wood to keep you warm and cosy.

on cool evenings.

A spiral staircase leads to the mezzanine bedroom with a four-poster bed. The bathroom ( leads off this room) has an amazing Jacuzzi bath, twin sinks and a shower cubicle.

The second bedroom has a bunk-bed and a single bed and is accessed through the mezzanine bedroom.

We can also provide z-beds for additional guests.

There is a large garden, with 2 seating areas, a BBQ, and plenty of room for parking.

We provide towels, bedding, and all the kitchen basics you'll need, including salt, pepper, oil, and fresh milk.

Excellent Free WIFI and English channels on the TV.

Our nearest town is Pleine Fougeres (3 mins drive) which has two boulangeries, un tabac, a butchers, restaurant, and a weekly market.

We are also very close to the Ville Cartier forest where there are beautiful walks and outdoor activities such as horse riding, tree top adventures, and paddle boating.

There is a market for every day of the week in the surrounding towns and villages.

We are within easy driving distance of Pontorson (10 mins), Combourg (20 mins), Dol-de-Bretagne (20 mins) Cancale (40 mins), and many of the region’s most beautiful beaches.

Close to the Port of St Malo (50 minutes).Brittany ferries to the UK.

More Details

Laura Mayall
Member since: 2012
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
20 July, 2018

About Laura Mayall

Hi there,

My name's Laura. I am the owner of Le moulin de Launay.

I fell in love with the place the moment I laid eyes on it and spent 15 years living in France while I renovated it with my husband.

When my daughter was born we moved back to the UK, so now I have wonderful caretakers over there to look after the houses and the animals.

It's a gorgeous part of France. I hope you have a wonderful time there.

Kindest regards,


Guestbook comments from the owner

"Truly magical. This is the French dream come true." Ian Pindar, Hull.

"The cottage is just heavenly. You really have thought of everything. Thank you for a dream holiday." Sheila and David Price, Nottingham.

"I want to stay forever!" Cathy Gibbs, Largs.
Apr 2012
  • 1 of 1


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday barn in Vieux-Viel in Ille-et-Vilaine

Property Type:
  • barn
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2152 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • rural
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Farm Holidays
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Free Wifi
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • 'Spa' bathroom with jacuzzi bath and twin sinks. This is accessed through the mezzanine bedroom.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 3 Single Bed
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 5 (2 bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Spacious open plan mezzanine bedroom with double four poster bed plus 2nd bedroom which leads off the mezzanine. Additional fold out beds and cots are also available on request.
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing


Good! 3.8/5 -
(6 traveller reviews)

66% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
16% Complete
Beautifully Renovated 300 Year Old Farm Building.15 Minutes to Le Mont St Michel
average rating of 3.8333333 based on 7 reviews

Great Stay

  • 5 of 5

Adam and Ian were super helpful throughout the entire process- even lighting the fireplaces before we arrived to be sure that the place was warm.

The house was perfect and cosy and I would recommend it to my friends.

Thanks again for everything.

Hope to see you next time.

  • Review Submitted: 19-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

beautiful location, many issues

  • 2 of 5

The house we stayed in was the smaller one and was very beautiful, just like in the pictures. However, when we arrived we were looking around for the beds since we couldn't find them. We called our hosts who apparently forgot we were 4 and not 2 so they came back, unlocked a room, and showed us the additional beds that had not been prepared. She gave us some linens so we prepared the beds ourselves but the linens weren't the right size and there weren't enough so we used blankets from around the house. It was disappointing. Also, the gas canister in the kitchen was out, which we discovered at 10pm when we were starting to cook dinner. There was no solution this late at night so the hosts opened the adjacent building and let us use that kitchen, which worked, but was difficult to move all the food back and forth and very cold. Also disappointing. The shower was leaking, which we were made aware of only when we arrived. We didn't realize how huge of a leak it was and the water spayed all over the kitchen table below the shower, it was too big to just fit in a salad bowl. Again, disappointing. Otherwise the hosts were kind, friendly, and flexible with checkout time. But in the end, no one was really prepared for us and we would have rather stayed somewhere else.

  • Review Submitted: 11-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2


  • 5 of 5

The rusticly renovated barn hides all the modern comfort you might wish: dish-washer, washing machine and even a jacuzzi!. The surrounding beautiful nature makes you forget all the daily stress immediately. In the neighbourhood you can visit the nice local market (Pontorson for example). Also Emma & Peter made us feel welcome by starting up the woodstove before we arrived. You find everything you like when you arrive at your holiday-place: coffee, tea, and even a bottle of wine! We'll certainly book this place again during the next summer!

  • Review Submitted: 03-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: February 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Lovely location

  • 5 of 5

We had the Barnhouse on the end of the building. Beautiful house, full of character. Facilities were first class and the grounds beautifully kept. Loved meeting the chickens who visited us for some breadcrumbs and returned the favour with lovely free-range eggs! Very quiet location in the countryside, so peaceful. Well supported by Wendy & Darren who ensured we had everything we needed, The area is close to Mont St Michel, and Cancale, and we have visits to the wonderful Dinan and Vitre too. Altogether a great location and lovely week's stay.

  • Review Submitted: 28-Jun-2015
  • Date of Stay: June 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Gill & John Thank you for the lovely comments and also the recipe you gave us for the delicious tomato dish you made whilst staying here. We try our best to make sure all of our guests have a happy and relaxing time here at Le Moulin and we really hope you come back and stay with us again. Best wishes. Wendy & Darren
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Best holiday we have ever had!

  • 5 of 5

What an amazing time we had staying at the Barnhouse. It is such an incredibly lovely properly but it is ran by even more lovely people. Wendy and Darren made us so welcome from the moment we arrived. They had the house beautifully prepared for us and we had a delicious hamper on arrival. We traveled around a lot over the week and loved the area so much, there is much to see and do. But undoubtably it was made perfect by returning to the Barnhouse each evening. The properly has been restored so perfectly keeping its old charm with every modern function we needed. I especially loved the jacuzzi bath! We would recommend this property to anyone and hope we can return next year. Many thanks again to Wendy and Darren for being such perfect hosts.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Jun-2015
  • Date of Stay: May 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Callum and Lucy. We're really happy that you had such a lovely time here and always try our very best to make our guests feel welcome. We pride ourselves on the high standards we keep and know what a difference it can make to your holiday experience. It was an absolute pleasure having you as guests and we hope that you return again some time in the near future. Wendy & Darren
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Millhouse - you must be joking!

  • 1 of 5

We booked the Millhouse and paid in advance for the welcome hamper and wine to make our arrival special. It certainly was an experience as when we arrived with our daughter and dog after a long journey across France we were greeted by a perplexed house sitter who said that the accommodation was being renovated and there was no way that we could stay in it! Needless to say there was no hamper either and the house sitters had to make hasten arrangements to accommodate us in the Barnhouse and Loft as alternatives.This meant that our daughter had to stay in separate accommodation and our first night was spent cleaning the the properties which had not been prepared for guests .

I don't know who was more annoyed , our family or the house sitters who had to try to deal with the problem.

The owner had confirmed by e mail that the property had been booked weeks before our arrival and had been very efficient in accepting payment direct into her account. Sadly that is where the efficiency ended as neither did she acknowledge the mistake or offer any explanation or apology for her actions. We have had no response to e mails and no offer of financial recompense .

The Barnhouse was dirty and furnishings were shabby-hardly the luxury accommodation that was promised.

My advice would be not to book the accommodation as I would have more confidence that the payment would be accepted than the accommodation paid for would be provided!

This is in not a criticism of the housesitters who did their best to rectify a problem that was not of their making.

  • Review Submitted: 30-Aug-2013
  • Date of Stay: April 2013
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Mr W, Somehow your booking wasn't put in the diary. In 17 years this has happened once. I'm so sorry it was to you. We have tried to contact you privately on several occasions, but you have not responded. As so much time has passed it seems that you will not be getting back to us, so I have decided to write publicly. I’m afraid just after you made your booking and for a brief time I wasn’t in a good way. Unfortunately your booking was was not dealt with after payment or put into the diary. It was completely my fault and I do most sincerely apologise. I know it’s no comfort to you, but you were the only one. When you arrived it was totally unexpected by my hosts in France. They were in the midst of the annual spring clean and although they had almost finished preparing two of the gites ready for the start of the season, your accommodation was not at all ready.I have absolute faith in my hosts, who always put guests first and you will see from all the lovely comments from people who have lovely their stay that they are doing a wonderful job caring for my beautiful, charming property. I believe you were consulted and offered either a full refund or the alternative accommodation or the chance to move into your initial choice once the cleaning had been done overnight. You decision was that rather than the refund or the move, you would accept our two other properties. These together were several hundred pounds more than the original house, though of course as a gesture of good will and by way of apology on our part, no additional charge was made. I was very glad that you also enjoyed a wide selection of complimentary items such as Champagne and wine, as I felt very bad to have spoilt the start of your time with us. I was reassured by my hosts that once the initial mistake was dealt with, you and your family had gone on to enjoy your holiday. The additional living space was large enough for your whole family to relax and eat in at the same gite when you chose to. I also understand that the hosts went on to prepare the house that you booked and that once it had been cleaned they checked back with you to make sure that you hadn't changed your mind about moving, which you hadn't. It seems from your review that you were hoping for additional compensation when you got home. If you are willing to get in touch with us, we would would be happy to offer you a discounted holiday in the future with some more complimentary items from our extras list. I hope you take
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1


Nearest Airport
49 Kilometres
Nearest Ferry
47 Kilometres
St Malo
Nearest Train
13 Kilometres
Car: necessary


We are superbly situated for visiting both the beaches to the west, such as Granville and also the beaches to the east such as St Malo.

Both are about 40 minutes of driving along lovely coastal roads.


Car use is essential given the distances to the nearest towns and places of interest.

There are several airports in Brittany serving destinations in Europe. TGV train services link the region with cities such as Paris, Lyon, Marseille, and Lille in other regions of France. In addition there are ferry services that take passengers, vehicles and freight to the Republic of Ireland, the United Kingdom, and the Channel Islands.


Vieux-Viel Village

Our quaint village is only a short stroll away along the pretty lanes that run through the rolling countryside. The village has a small bar. 20 minutes walk.

Trans La Foret

Great boulangerie and the beautiful Ville Cartier Forest with its lakeside restaurant, parcour, (climbing trees on wires) boating lake, pony rides and kid’s adventure playground. 40 minutes walk.

Further Details:


From casual pavement cafes to superb Michelin starred world class restaurants. For traditional Breton Fayre, try Sarrasin gallettes. and a mug of local cider. Jean Marc and Lawrence are the proud owners of our nearest restaurant which provides casual food in a casual atmosphere. A favorite restaurant with many of our visitors is La Cour Verte where you can watch as your choice of local meat is roasted on an open fire. Non-meat loving options are available too! For seafood lovers Cancale is a must. The pretty coastal town is dedicated to fabulous restaurants selling the very best seafood in the world.


Grab some culture and learn about the history of the area. The medieval museum in Dol de Bretagne has great displays.


St Malo aquarium is one of the best aquariums in Europe. You can sing in a yellow submarine and watch in awe as a shark swims over your head.


There are plenty around to visit and explore. Combourg is the most famous in the area and has a lovely lawns for picnicking. No visit to France is complete without a visit to one of the stunning chateaus.


Exploring Brittany by bicycle is just lovely. The speed of travel really suits the tranquil environment and gives you chance to see things that you could otherwise miss. No need to bring your own, we hire bikes.


Close by on the flat sands of Cherieux, you’ll find top class sand-yachting.

Whatever it is that you love doing on holiday, you’re pretty sure to find it nearby. . .

When you arrive you’ll be given a visitor’s pack with up to date information about the area and lots of ideas of what there is to do here. Whether it’s a reservation for a romantic dinner for two at a great restaurant or directions to the best out-of-the-way sandy coves, your nearby hosts will be happy to help.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday barn in Vieux-Viel, Ille-et-Vilaine

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
High Summer Holidays
14 Jul 2018 - 2 Sep 2018
6 night minimum stay
for 6 nights
Autumn Half term
27 Oct 2018 - 4 Nov 2018
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Changeover Day:
Please contact us as we can be flexible out of Peak season.

Minimum stay:
Please contact us as we can be flexible out of Peak season

Bookings of less than 7 nights or non-Saturday starts will incur a one-off supplement of £75 to be added to the normal rate.

Guests over the age of 13 years will be charged a small fee of £2.50 per person per week French Government Tourist Tax. This will be added onto your quote once we have details of who is in your party.

Well behaved dogs are welcome. We charge £20 per dog or £30 for two. This includes a small treat for your pet on your arrival.

There is a £20 charge if you require a cot or z-bed.

We really want you to relax and enjoy your time here at Le Moulin and work hard to maintain our very high standards of cleanliness. However, upon departure we do expect guests to leave the property clean and tidy and therefore take a deposit of £50 to cover any extra work that may need to be done at the end of your stay. This is also to cover any breakages made. This will be refunded back to you by Laura (owner of Le Moulin) once we have had a chance to check things over and are happy with everything.. We hope you understand.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question