HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Zoe Cawthorn

Member since: 2007
Speaks English, Spanish

Luxurious Moorish style villa & apartment, pool, Boules, ping pong, sleeps 1-10 - Apartment Castano 1

41 Reviews
People2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Photos and Description of this 1 bedroom holiday apartment in Órgiva - Cortijo El Castano

A Place in the Sun 'Arabian arches and mosaics echo the style of the Alhambra'

Sunbathe by the private pool in the peace and quiet amongst the olive groves of Tijola, near Orgiva, in the foothills of the Sierra Nevada. Enjoy the wonderful sunsets and star gaze at night, wtih a glass of wine after enjoying a BBQ. Buy your vegetables and fresh fish from the small local market town of Orgiva. Visit the white washed Berber villages which cling to the southern slopes of Spain’s highest mountain range or visit the Alhambra Palace and go shopping or eat out in the famous city of Granada. Recently described by Chris Stewart in his best selling book 'Driving Over Lemons' this rural area offers peace and tranquillity with easy access to the bars, restaurants and supermarkets in Orgiva. Just 1 hour south of Granada and 1 hr 40 mins east of Malaga, with the coast and golf only 35 mins away and skiing in the winter, just 1 hour 15 mins, the villa has been designed with the 16th century Alhambra Palace in mind, but with all the luxuries and comforts of the 21 century. We live next door so any questions or problems please just knock on the door.

Details for holiday apartment Apartment Castano 1, 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2, 1 Bathroom

This apartment has been designed to offer flexibility of accommodation, the focus of which is a large private balcony with splendid mountain views. A delightful place to enjoy a BBQ.

Bedrooms: one, two or three double bedrooms available all with large fitted wardrobes, ceiling fans, air-conditioning and central heating. Each has a TV aerial point.*

Bathrooms: one or two available, each beautifully finished with luxury showers and central heating.

Sitting Room: comfortably furnished including TV, ceiling fans, central heating. French windows onto large balcony area, with distant views over the small pueblo of Los Tablones and the Contraviesa mountain range.

Kitchen: Fully fitted and very well equipped (partly open plan) with large fridge/freezer, dish washer, use of washing machine, electric cooker, hob and microwave.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Zoe Cawthorn (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Speaks English, Spanish

About Zoe Cawthorn

Nigel and I (Zoe) met in 1998 and realised that we both had a desire to live in the sun. We started looking for our dream place in the year 2000. The minute we discovered this beautiful area of Spain, we knew that this is where we wanted to be. We bought the property in 2003 and spent the next 3 years renovating it to bring it up to date. We wanted to make sure that it was updated to a high level of comfort. We have been pleased with the comments people have given us about how much they have enjoyed the property. As we live next door we are always on hand to fix any problems as soon as possible.

Zoe Cawthorn purchased this apartment in 2003

Why Zoe Cawthorn chose Sierra Nevada Area

The location and views were what attracted us to the property! We knew that we would be renovating any property that we bought, so our main concern was the views and the location. Just two and a half kilometres from the market town of Origva and with spectacular views of the mountains, we find that everyone who stays here loves it. Some of the best walking areas of Europe are all around. It is so easy to access so many places from here - the beach 30 mins drive and the ski resort of the Sierra Nevada just over an hours drive away. It is so easy to access motorways to visit Granada, the coast, Cordoba and Sevilla. The mountain villages are within easy reach - the property ideally located for most things.

What makes this apartment unique

The house is surrounded by olive groves, orange and lemon trees, avacado and pomigranate trees. The water system that the Moors introduced still runs down from the Sierra Nevada mountains to this day, which means the area is unusually green for Spain. We had a blank canvass when we bought this house so after visiting Granada and Morocco many times, we gave it the style that is so right for this area - the last place the Moors lived before returning back to Morocco. You will see some of the features that we have put in, on the website, but you will see many more when you visit the house. We brought many pieces of furniture from Morocco including a fountain which is in the small courtyard.

Guestbook comments from the owner

This is the first holiday where we haven't gone rushing around all the time but sat back and 'chilled'. That is a testament to the fabulous surroundings and relaxed fab hosts. Sun, wine, swimming and great views - fantastic. Thank you Zoe and Nigel
Oct 2010
  • 1 of 24

Reviews

5
based on 41 holidaymaker reviews

Apartment Castano 1
average rating of 4.97561 based on 65 reviews
Norfolk, UK
5

Excellent escape . . . . be as active as you feel!

  • 5 of 5

We've just booked with Zoe for our third consecutive year; another two weeks of bliss to look forward to. Beautiful surroundings in an exquisite area of Spain. Get out and about, or simply stay put and relax. Accommodation is all you could want, both in apartment and villa. Clean, well-appointed, and Zoe and Nigel are constantly eager to ensure your stay is as uncomplicated as possible. Pool and gardens expertly maintained, in all, a sheer delight.

We would recommend this accommodation to anyone who wants to get away from it all, with the option of getting in amongst the busy costas if you like. A car is essential if only to shop in the pretty town of Orgiva. But there is so much to see in the Alpujarras or further afield, on or off the beaten track.

Plenty of restaurants and bars close at hand in Orgiva, or eat in, the kitchen is well equipped for quite adventurous cookery.

And at the end of a busy day exploring (or not, as you like) a tipple or two (with sliced lemons straight off the tree) in the garden surrounded by mountains and gazing up at a million stars . . . . . . it doesn't get any better than that!

John & Ange

  • Review Submitted: Oct 6, 2008
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We agree with you about the star gazing enhanced with gin and tonic (fresh slice of lemon) in hand, which is also one of our favourite past times. Look forward to seeing you next summer.
Did you find this review helpful?
21 1
5

Idyllic peaceful retreat - wonderful

  • 5 of 5

5 nights, 2 people, mid September 2016. Informative and efficient communications with owners prior to arrival including provision of easy to follow directions. On arrival we were warmly welcomed by Nigel, who gave us a tour of the apartment and property. The apartment was very well appointed with a fully equipped kitchen including full oven and dishwasher. We had a beautiful secluded terrace with amazing views - the perfect breakfast spot. The pool area although shared with the villa was segregated in such a clever way that it felt like it was just us there. Throughout the stay Nigel and Zoe were the perfect hosts - friendly, informative and helpful yet never intrusive. We had a wonderful time here and will definitely be back - our stay was relaxing, peaceful and very comfortable.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow the quickest review ever! You must have been on the plane home when you wrote this! Thanks so much for this lovely review. We are pleased that we have been able to design the property so that everyone has their own privacy but know that we are around and where to come should they have problems. We look forward to your return visit. Thanks again. regards Zoe and Nigel
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Moroccan- style Retreat

  • 5 of 5

Very comfortable and beautifully styled accommodation. Lovely pool and gardens and everything you need for a stree free stay. Very friendly and helpful hosts.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your comments, we are very happy that you enjoyed your holiday in our holiday home.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Moorish retreat

  • 5 of 5

The accommodation is comfortable and has everything you need. Nicely decorated in Moorish style with attention to detail. The view from the balcony is beautiful and the swimming pool refreshing. A nice retreat and base for walks to explore the Alpujarra's.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 13, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We really appreciate it as it helps other potential guests know what to expect. We are happy that you enjoyed our property and the area.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Villa Castano - relaxing family retreat

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in the villa with our 17 month old son and it was perfect for us.

Villa Castano is a lovely quiet property, well maintained and had the benefits of being quite baby friendly (gated garden, pretty much on one level, cot bed with proper mattress available etc) Nigel and Zoe provided fantastic customer service whilst we were there too.

We enjoyed the pool, the black out shutters (meaning for the first time in a year and a half we all slept in until 8;30am!) the petanque, (since purchased a set!) the wonderful mountain views and of course the glorious sunshine!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 12, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves so much. It is really important to us that our guests, enjoy the property and their holiday to the maximum. We know that the little extra comforts are so important to make the difference between a good holiday and a great holiday. We want everyone, whatever their age, to be able to relax and get the most out of the time they spend here. Look forward to seeing you again sometime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Everyhing you would expect in the mountains!

  • 5 of 5

Dear Zoe and Nigel

Cortijo El Castano is absolutely top flight. Fabulous! The attention to detail really shows. The colors really snap out to the eyes.

The estate I much, much better than most. The best so far that we have ever stayed.

You are both a nice couple and even better hosts! Ron and Phyllis

  • Review Submitted: Nov 28, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
55 Kilometres
Granada
Nearest Barpub
2.5 Kilometres
Typical Spanish Bars in the town of Orgiva
Nearest Ferry
120 Kilometres
Malaga and Almeria.
Nearest Golf
30 Kilometres
Approx 35 mins drive
Nearest Train
55 Kilometres
Granada
Nearest Motorway
15 Kilometres
Lanjaron.
Nearest Restaurant
2.5 Kilometres
Typical Spanish resturants in the town of Orgiva
Nearest Ski
80 Kilometres
Approx one hour and 15 minutes drive
Nearest Beach
25 Kilometres
Salobrena
Car: recommended

Whilst not being a large town Orgiva, capital of the Alpujarras holds a weekly market in the town. There are many tapas bars, restaurants and small supermarkets. There are also 2 health food shops and a herbalist pharmacy. Enjoying many fiestas throughout the year, this is very much a Spanish town.

Lanjaron is a spa town, where the Spanish have enjoyed spa treatments for over 100 years. The minerals found in the different waters are said to be an aid for any number of ailments. Visit the fascinating city of Granada with its spectacular Alhambra Palace, and the old Moorish quarters of the Albaicin. Shop in the town centre or just enjoy the hustle and bustle of the street restaurants and cafés in this ancient student city.

Just 35 mins away are the relaxing beaches of the Costa Tropical. The white villages built by the Moors have a charm and style unique to this area. Spend the day visiting different villages and discovering some of the local crafts, still practiced in the region.

Other Activities: Petanque/Boules, table-tennis and badminton facilities all available at the villa

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Órgiva, Sierra Nevada Area

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Mid Season - 1
8 Sep 2016 - 30 Sep 2016
3 night minimum stay
£197
for 3 nights
From
£66
£456
 
 
Low Season - 1
1 Oct 2016 - 23 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
£145
for 3 nights
From
£48
£340
 
 
Mid Season - 1
24 Dec 2016 - 6 Jan 2017
3 night minimum stay
£197
for 3 nights
From
£66
£456
 
 
Low Season - 1
7 Jan 2017 - 30 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
£436
for 3 nights
From
£145
£340
 
 
Mid Season - 1
1 May 2017 - 7 Jul 2017
3 night minimum stay
£197
for 3 nights
From
£66
£456
 
 
Peak Season - 1
8 Jul 2017 - 6 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£680
for 7 nights
£680
 
 
Mid Season - 1
7 Sep 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£197
for 3 nights
From
£66
£456
 
 
Low Season - 1
1 Oct 2017 - 21 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£145
for 3 nights
From
£48
£680
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Easter school holidays are classed as Mid Season.
Spanish Fiestas as Peak Season
A damage deposit of £200 is required on arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for Apartment Castano 1in Órgiva in Granada Province (Costa Tropical)

Property Type:
  • apartment (semi-detached)
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 75 m²
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Luxury
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking On Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
  • All bedrooms have large wardrobes, air-conditioning, ceiling fans and central heating.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Player
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Small Cooler
  • 8 garden chairs
  • 6 deck chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties