HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Spacious Mousehole Cottage, with Parking, Garden and wifi

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 646 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Spacious Comfortable Cottage, Central location Sleeps 4

Unique cottage with garden and Private Parking on front. Just one minute's walk from Mousehole Harbour. The cottage is single-storey, light and bright, with comfortable furnishings and original paintings. The sitting room has oak floors, smart TV and a wood burning stove for winter evenings. Landline telephone. A fully equipped kitchen for those who like cooking, with range cooker, dishwasher, Le Creuset cookware and all the utensils you could wish for. There are two bedrooms - one with two single beds, the other with a luxury kingsize bed (5ft wide) and television. Netflix available. Quality linen and towels are all provided. Tiled bath with overhead shower. Laundry room with a washing machine and drying rack.

Secluded outside terrace off the kitchen with table, 4 chairs and a Chiminea for barbecuing. There is another terrace with table and chairs at the top of the lawned back garden, while a further table and two chairs sit within the front garden.

More Details

Owner
The Old Exchange
Member since: 2011
Speaks English, French, German, Italian
Calendar last updated:
16 November, 2017

About The Old Exchange

Our family and friends have always loved coming to Mousehole and enjoy the beauty and charm of the village and Harbour. We enjoy walking and painting on the many lovely beaches nearby. It is a very friendly village with shops, art galleries, a pub, post office and several restaurants serving great food.

The Old Exchange purchased this cottage in 2007

Why The Old Exchange chose Mousehole

Mousehole is a great place to de-stress and relax, walking round the pretty streets and enjoying the friendly atmosphere. We love the Sea Salts and Sail Festival held every two years and the Mousehole Lights at Christmas. Walking to Lamorna Cove on the stunning south west coast path. Having beautiful beaches all to ourselves, the Minack Theatre and great farmers' markets with local produce. Porthcurno is our favourite white sand beach. Mousehole sits on the edge of Mount's bay with the spectacular views of St Michael's Mount.

What makes this cottage unique

We can park in front of our property and unpack after a long journey (parking is rare in Mousehole). Sitting in the garden behind the house in the evening, watching the sun go down.

Guestbook comments from the owner

From our guest book:

Cottage amazing!! Very comfortable and everything you could wish for.

Baker family August 2011



Lovely relaxing break in your stylish and well-equipped cottage

Christine and Tony October 2011



Fab cottage. So comfy and bright. Had a wonderful time Rachel, Richard and Martha April 2012



In spite of weather we have been cosy, comfortable and warm in your lovely cottage May 2012 Christine and Keith



We loved The Old Exchange and felt settled straightaway. Such a comfortable house with all we needed Phil and Anne June 2012



A lovely stay. This cottage is the best have stayed in Cornwall - clean with attention to detail. We have been coming to Mousehole for 10 years and we had a happy, restful time. The Georges.



This is a lovely cottage - comfortable and very well appointed. We loved being so close to the harbour - Sept 2012 Russ and Kathy Herttzog, Texas, USA
Aug 2011
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Mousehole in Cornwall

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 646 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 30
  • Children welcome ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Please inform owners of any breakages or appliances that are not functioning.
  • Arrivals must be after 3pm and departures by 10am.
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • rural
  • village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • Bathroom with slate floor, white tiles. Bath/shower, W.C. Heated towel rail. Electric shaving point. Lit mirrored cupboard.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 4 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with 5ft luxury pocket sprung king size double bed. Bedside tables, wardrobe, chest of drawers. TV. Bedroom 2 - Two single 3ft beds. bedside table, chest of drawers. Goose Down duvets, pillows and The White Company linen and fluffy towels.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Veranda
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • live theatre
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • hospital
Notes:
The Old Exchange is a rare cottage for Mousehole having the luxury of private parking. Wonderful not to have to pull suitcases up and down hills from village car park. The cottage combines vintage and contemporary design to provide a comfortable, welcoming holiday home in a beautiful setting. Outside: Large Parking space. Front garden, lawn at rear of property and sun-trap patio eating area accessed from the kitchen with large table and 4 chairs for enjoying alfresco eating and sundowners. Chiminea. Utility Room: Separate Utility room - Washing machine, iron, board and large overhead drying rack. Electric clothes dryer. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: All cleaning, heating, logs for woodburner and linen and towels provided. Egyptian White Company cotton sheets, goose-down duvets, white towels and tea towels, oven gloves. Housekeeper local. Cleaned weekly. Set of linen left for longer bookings Other: Television in main bedroom Electric storage heaters.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(21 traveller reviews)

80% Complete
19% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Spacious Mousehole Cottage, with Parking, Garden and wifi
average rating of 4.8095236 based on 22 reviews
5

Lovely place to stay

  • 5 of 5

The owners went out of their way to help us. Lovely helpful people. Gorgeous cottage . Parking was great. Great location.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review. So pleased you enjoyed staying in the cottage and found the parking so useful. Hope you will return some day - perfect guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Anaheim Hills, California
5

Perfect Stay in Mousehole

  • 5 of 5

The Old Exchange cottage makes a wonderful comfortable base for exploring this part of Cornwall. We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay here and wished we could have stayed longer. The beds are comfortable and most everything you could need is provided. The parking space is a real plus!

  • Review Submitted: 08-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely cosy cottage in a fabulous location

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic stay, loved the cottage and the village. The cottage was very well equipped and comfortable and is in a perfect location for exploring the Cornish countryside and beaches. Some great places to eat in Mousehole too.

The only slight difficulties we had were with the shower as my husband is tall and the bathroom ceiling is low and with the parking space as our car is large, but nothing the owners can do about either so it's just something to bear in mind. We wouldn't hesitate the go back to the cottage in future though. Thanks very much for giving us the opportunity to stay in your lovely cottage.

  • Review Submitted: 15-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So pleased you had a good holiday. Bsorry you had a problem parking. Mousehole roads are very narrow, but the parking space is wide and long. We have a Volvo Estate and have no problem if you reverse in.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great place in ideal spot

  • 4 of 5

This is a super spacious two bedroom property approximately 300 metres from the harbour. Everything you could wish for in a holiday rental is provided by the vendors. The place feels more like a home than just a place to stay. We only stayed for three days but wished it could have been for longer. Our two grandchildren who live close by stayed over for one of the nights and we played games with them which were also provided in the home. This is a place that caters for the whole family and I would recommend it to anyone. Thanks for sharing your home.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A cosy and stylish cottage with everything you need for great stay! Five stars!

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful cottage! The best place to explore Cornwall from. Really cosy, lovely wood burning stove and a comfortable bed! I can't think of anything that was missing from the cottage. Mousehole is great and with the cottage being a stones throw from the harbour, you won't want to leave!

  • Review Submitted: 27-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your great review and really happy that you enjoyed your holiday. Please come again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great house, lovely location!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great 10 day stay at The Old Exchange with my 4yr & 2yr old. Loved the property - nice & clean, well equipped (the room to hang wet beach clothes in was v handy!) with plenty of space for all your holiday clothes & buckets/spades & toys. Great to have a parking space which are in short supply in Cornwall. It was a very short walk to Mousehole harbour where our children loved playing - it's a small beach but handy for paddling in the water and some lovely cafe's nearby. Great location for lots of day trips out - we visited Lands End, Eden Project, Porthcurno Beach, St Ives, St Michaels Mount and spent an afternoon in the newly refurbished Lido in Penzance.

Anne & Richard provided some great information beforehand & answered all my queries really quickly. My children loved being able to walk to the beach in 2 minutes and get an icecream and we liked getting a good coffee!. There's also a very small play area right opposite the house with slide & swing.

We would definitely recommend.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Jul-2016
  • Date of Stay: June 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Newquay Cornwall Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
The Ship Pub, Mousehole, The Old Coastguard Hotel
Nearest Ferry
3 Miles
Scillonian, Isles of Scilly, Penzance
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
West Cornwall Golf Club
Nearest Train
3 Miles
Penzance
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
2 Fore street, The Old Coastguard Hotel
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Mousehole Harbour

Coast/Beach:

2 minute walk to Mousehole harbour where there are two safe beaches.

Porthcurno - golden sands and turquoise water is a 10 minute drive. Minack open air theatre.

Sennen Cove and St Ives great surfing beaches are a short drive.

South West Coastal path from Mousehole to Lamorna Cove.

Travel:

Train Paddington to Penzance (approx 5 hours). Penzance has bus service to Mousehole every 30 minutes. Newquay airport is 35 miles.

Car: Approx 5 hours from London. Property has private parking.

Air: Daily flights from London Gatwick to Newquay, flight time 1hr 10 mins.

Distances:

From Mousehole- Newlyn 1 mile, Penzance 3 miles, St Ives 13 miles. Close to Porthcurno and Sennen surfing beaches.

Further Details:

Pack your walking boots, there is a coastal footpath to Lamorna Cove from Mousehole. Maps and books at house. Mousehole has great restaurants, The Coastguard Hotel has garden with amazing sea views, and bistro dining with Michelin trained chef at 2 Fore Street. Village shop and Post Office.

Delicatessen, art galleries and great gift shop Seawitch Stores.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Mousehole, Cornwall

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
November
4 Nov 2017 - 15 Dec 2017
7 night minimum stay
£600
for 7 nights
£600
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £10 per night, per additional guest
 
New Year
30 Dec 2017 - 5 Jan 2018
4 night minimum stay
£486
for 4 nights
£850
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £10 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter
6 Jan 2018 - 9 Feb 2018
3 night minimum stay
£324
for 3 nights
From
£20
Fri,Sun
£580
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £10 per night, per additional guest
 
Half term
10 Feb 2018 - 16 Feb 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£750
for 7 nights
£750
 
 
Early spring
17 Feb 2018 - 23 Mar 2018
4 night minimum stay
£680
for 4 nights
From
£170
From
£175
Fri,Sat,Sun
£700
 
 
Easter
24 Mar 2018 - 13 Apr 2018
7 night minimum stay
£850
for 7 nights
£850
 
 
Spring
14 Apr 2018 - 25 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
£510
for 3 nights
From
£170
From
£20
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£780
 
 
Half term
26 May 2018 - 1 Jun 2018
7 night minimum stay
£875
for 7 nights
£875
 
 
Summer
2 Jun 2018 - 29 Jun 2018
7 night minimum stay
£900
for 7 nights
£900
 
 
Summer
30 Jun 2018 - 7 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,250
for 7 nights
£1,250
 
 
Late Summer
8 Sep 2018 - 5 Oct 2018
7 night minimum stay
£900
for 7 nights
£900
 
 
Autumn
6 Oct 2018 - 26 Oct 2018
4 night minimum stay
£740
for 4 nights
From
£20
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£800
 
 
Half term
27 Oct 2018 - 2 Nov 2018
7 night minimum stay
£850
for 7 nights
£850
 
 
Winter
3 Nov 2018 - 21 Dec 2018
7 night minimum stay
£700
for 7 nights
£700
 
 
Christmas/New Year
22 Dec 2018 - 4 Jan 2019
7 night minimum stay
£950
for 7 nights
£950
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£525
for 3 nights
From
£175
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £30
Refundable Damage Deposit £200

Booking Notes:
Contact owner by e-mail or phone 07754828761 for booking details and any questions. 20% deposit payable at time of booking and total payable 8 weeks before arrival date. There is an additional £200 security deposit payable which is fully refundable once the keys have been returned and the cottage left in good order. Short breaks possible in low season.

Changeover Day:
Changeover day Saturday Arrival after 3, Departure by 10. Local Housekeeper.

Notes on prices:
£30 charged for pet.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals