Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Creel Cottage 17th Century House With Spectacular Sea Views

Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

House in Portsoy, Banff, Grampian, Scotland, UK - Situated On The Historic 17th Century Harbour With Far Reaching Views Over The Moray Firth

Creel Cottage was originally a pair of fisherman's houses when it was built in the 17th century at the same as the harbour was built. There are old paintings showing the herring boats stacked up in the harbour. Today the house is often the subject of paintings and photographs and now there are just a handful of boats in the harbour and most of these for pleasure.The house is furnished with antiques including the French antique beds and persian carpets. The paintings on the wall are in keeping with its nautical past. The views are spectacular and constantly changing from calm blue seas to North Sea rollers crashing over the harbour walls. Thankfully the harbour affords protection from any stormy seas. You can sit back and enjoy the display which at times can be magnificent. In the summer it is possible to swim in the harbour but look out for the harbour crabs which can be rather large! The house has a fully equipped kitchen and pretty bathroom as well as full gas central heating.

Laura Riley
Member since: 2006
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
18 June, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Portsoy in Aberdeenshire

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Bathroom with bath, WC and sink.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 4/6 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with king size antique French bed. Bedroom 2 with 2 single antique French beds.
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Notes on accommodation: Portsoy House has full gas central heating. Outside: There is some private ground to the east of the house and a sitting area to the west of the house on the other side of the road. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: The property is cleaned before arrival and fresh linen and towels are provided.


3/5 -
(2 traveller reviews)

50% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
50% Complete
Creel Cottage 17th Century House With Spectacular Sea Views
average rating of 3.0 based on 2 reviews

Quaint, fisherman's cottage with loads of charm!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I love staying at Creel cottage and return there every year. It's got bags of charm and we love that it's an authentic fisherman's cottage, directly on the harbour (and near The Shore Inn).

The decor is bright and clean with decadent furniture - think huge headboards and chesterfield sofas that look like they belong in a castle - not a quaint seaside cottage. Not a complaint tho as it adds to the charm and the beds are comfortable and linens good quality.

Amenities are good too, all that you would expect; washer/dryer, microwave, fan oven, big fridge freezer, also the central heating is good - it soon warms the house on cooler days.

I've already recommended Creel to family and they love it too, we just have to make sure to book before they do!

  • Review Submitted: 21-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Tired, jaded, uncared for and odd.

  • 1 of 5

Having collected our key from under a pot at Fordyce we arrived at cottage to find it not looking quite as nice on the outside as it did in the photo: Discoloured and mouldy looking, cracked windows, scabby paintwork on front door , and with fag ends and broken glass at entrance. Once in it got worse. Old tired carpets, smelled musty like an old persons house, paintwork falling off walls. On entering the kitchen I was met by a lengthy drink stain drip on facing edge of worktop. Closer inspection found dirty glasses, tin opener and spoons etc. I took photographs of this and many other things we were not happy about but I am not sure how to include them here.

The bathroom seemed to be held together with sticky tape, The lights were so close to the shower that I actually touched them whilst drying myself with a towel. In the kitchen we felt we needed to clean the oven shelves before using and my husband and I both got burned on the leg from the oven door which swings back on you (I presume the oven may not be set even on the floor)? The dining table was a bit small for 4 to eat around and it felt odd that you went into what felt like a separate cold flat downstairs to watch TV as the radiator was stuck on zero.

The views of the harbour were lovely when you could see through the dirty windows. We did enjoy most of our holiday as we are familiar with the area and tried to spend as much time as possible away from Creel Cottage. However we were disappointed with the standard of the cottage. Not really worth the money we paid for the week and not how we expected it to be. I would like the chance to send you some photos to illustrate my complaints. Is there a name and email I could send them to.

  • Review Submitted: 07-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were shocked to receive this review completely out of the blue since we had no communication from Lorna during her stay and the guests immediately prior to Lorna had sent us a very appreciative email enthusing about our cottage. You can read their review which gives entirely the opposite impression to the one that Lorna has given for example "the decor is bright and clean". Goodness me a 5 star review followed by a 1 star review with guests within hours of each other! Creel Cottage is a beautiful 17th century cottage of great character on the harbour front. If you don't like old and historic, if you don't appreciate character, if you are not into antique Persian carpets, then Creel Cottage is not for you. During stormy weather sea spray will batter the windows and because the cottage is grade A listed the windows are sash and case and not double glazed. If the cottage feels old it is because it IS old, very old. We want our guests to enjoy their holidays and we have staff on hand to deal with any issues that may arise which is why we were particularly disappointed that Lorna failed to contact us about her concerns during her stay, denying us the opportunity to look and attend to her problems (although I have to admit that we could not find any problem with the nearly new oven nor with the completely level floor on which is stands). Perhaps the failure to contact us was because the real problem was that Lorna had rented an old historic cottage and what she really wanted was a modern house and that is not what Creel Cottage is.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0



Portsoy House is by the sea and it is possible to swim outside in the harbour. Noteable sandy beaches close by are: Sandend 1 mile. Sunnyside Bay 2 miles. Cullen 4 miles. Banff Links 7 miles.


Aberdeen Airport is 45 miles to the south (just over an hour's drive).


The pretty fishing village of Sandend is 1 mile away. The seaside towns of Cullen and Banff are 4 miles and 7 miles respectively. The market town of Huntly is 17 miles inland of Portsoy.

Further Details:

Portsoy has a full range of small shops including a supermarket only until 10pm, bakers, butchers, newsagents, sweet and ice cream shops, 2 antique shops, a secondhand bookshop and even a kilt maker! There is a choice of pubs and restaurants as well as coffee shops and take aways.


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Damage Deposit £50

Booking Notes:
A 25% deposit is required to confirm the booking. The balance is required 2 calendar months before arrival. Payment can be by UK cheque, direct bank transfer or Paypal which allows payment by any major credit or debit card.

Changeover Day:
Changeover day is Saturday. Arrival should be after 4pm and departure should be before 10am.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals