Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

16th Century Thatched Cottage in an Acre of Mature Gardens

Bedrooms 5
Separate WCs1
Space 2,000 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights


About the property

thatched cottage in Littleham, Nr. Bideford, England, UK - Nestled In a Beautiful, Peaceful, Rural Valley

Hollands is a grade II listed, 16th century thatched farmhouse set in an acre of beautiful, mature gardens in a secluded North Devon valley. Located 5 miles from dramatic National Trust coastline, in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and a UNESCO biosphere reserve, this really is a wonderfully unspoilt, undiscovered part of the South West. 2 miles from the historic market town of Bideford, we are close to lots of local attractions: beaches, cliff walks, fishing villages, moors, great pubs, working farms. This family home is full of character and period features. The main house dates back to the 1500s and is of traditional Devon long house construction. Oak beams, cob walls, ledge and brace doors and even horse hair plaster in some rooms are complemented by fresh Farrow and Ball colours, quality antique furniture and paintings throughout. With contemporary bathrooms, LCD TVs, broadband wifi, DVDs, board games, etc, every creature comfort has been considered.

Victoria & Tom Shard
Member since: 2009
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
17 August, 2018

Guestbook comments from the owner

"what a wonderful place this is. we are so sad to leave tomorrow. the children have loved it & have been so safe. the kitchen has seen many large family means & heard much laughter."
Oct 2009
  • 1 of 1


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Bideford in Littleham

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 13
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • rural
  • village
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
    Toilet 1 - Toilet
  • Two contemporary bathrooms. Bathroom 1 with power shower. Bathroom 2 with spectacular views over the valley. Cloakroom with WC.
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 9/13 (5 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: 4 large double & 1 single bedroom, all beautifully furnished, with Egyptian cotton bed linen and white towels. 2 sitting rooms, each with a double sofa bed plus 2 small children's bedrooms.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Notes on accommodation: Being so remote, it's also perfect for a group of friends for a long weekend. Outside: Hollands is very child friendly. It's been a family home for years, so it's very safe. There's loads of space inside to run or crawl about and the acre of gardens are perfect for hide and seek. Set in a sheltered valley, these mature English cottage gardens are full of secret hideaways and suntraps. They are a bird lover’s paradise. Swallows and house martins nest in the eaves, pheasants roam around the garden, while buzzards and a barn owl hunt in the adjacent field. The acre of gardens are yours to enjoy undisturbed. A very peaceful setting for a relaxed lunch. Tables, chairs and BBQ provided. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Linen, towels, heating, electricity and logs are all included in the price. Other: There's also a 2nd kitchen and boot room downstairs. Relax with a DVD from the library in the 2nd sitting room.


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(13 traveller reviews)

84% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
16th Century Thatched Cottage in an Acre of Mature Gardens
average rating of 4.6153846 based on 14 reviews

Lovely weekend

  • 5 of 5

The Hollands is a lovely, characterful cottage in gorgeous surroundings.

The house is an ecclectic mix of furniture and objects; they all work well together and there is everything that you’d need by the way of kitchen equipment.

The owners couldn’t have been nicer or more accommodating with regards to helping us to organise different elements of our trip.

I would definitely recommend this property and would stay again.

  • Review Submitted: 07-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect retreat for the Family

  • 5 of 5

We spent three nights in glorious Devon to celebrate my Mum's 70th Birthday. It was a perfect space and location for 8 adults, 4 children and two babies. The house is completed charming and has a very warm, family feel with great communal spaces and beautiful surrounding gardens which are perfect for children to explore. The bed rooms are comfortable and full of character, and the bunk rooms offer an exciting place for children to sleep. We hope to return and would highly recommend the cottage to those wishing to relax and unwind together. The house is big enough that you can find your own space, or if you wish all be together.

  • Review Submitted: 15-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

10 out 10 stars! Felt like at home. Spend a wonderful bank holiday weekend there. Highly recommended!!

  • Review Submitted: 06-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Christmas 2017 at Hollands

  • 5 of 5

We had a marvelous stay over Christmas - all 7 of us + dogs - an old house full of character!

The kitchen and Aga proved the pivotal point of the house with plenty of space, seating and warmth.

The woodburner in the lounge provided the focal point for evenings and contirbuted to the overal warmth of the house (not the warmest time of year) but house always warm with plenty of hot water on demand when we came back form long walks on the super local beaches with the dogs!

Situated in fields with only one house near by ensured complete solitude.

Basically we had a lovely time - fully recommended!

Ken Tuffin

  • Review Submitted: 07-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Moldy musty tired and old "cottage" - DO NOT STAY HERE

  • 1 of 5

This is the 1st time we have ever left feedback on a vacation rental, however, we feel the need to make everyone aware of our complaints following our stay at the Hollands in Bideford. The trip which cost some several thousand pounds for 9 nights was disastrous. In the end we cut the planned 9 days short by 3 days and left after only 6 days and booked hotels nights in place of the Hollands Rental.

We did contact the owners directly to seek resolution. This process however did not work. They did reply, however, did not do anything to resolve the issues. We made a further complaint, which they ignored. We then left and stayed in a hotel, which was much cleaner than their rental.

We have to express our disappointment with the house. The house is in a great place and looks great. The issue is with the interior furnishings, fixtures and fittings. All if not all the furnishings, such as the couches, tables, chairs, lamps, all the kitchen utensils, are all pretty tired and let down the whole house as well as the whole experience.

It seems everything needs updating, there is also a muggy smell throughout the whole house, especially down stairs, everything in the kitchen is very dated, old, somewhat dirty and tired looking.

In the end despite spending many thousands on a 9 night stay we left early, with the continuing smell and state of the house, we decided it was better to stay in a hotel than spend another night in the house.

We did not feel comfortable using any of the outdoor furniture, due to age, algae and their frail condition. We booked this house much on the expectation of sitting out on an evening enjoying the setting and gardens. This issue was addressed to the owners, however, the issues were not resolved and to try and save some of the holiday, we went a bought ourselves a patio set so we could actually enjoy the garden and thus vista’s.

The furniture is described as antique, perhaps, although the couches and chairs I would describe as well used. The lamp in the lounge is all ripped, most of the couches are either ripped, no cushion and tatty. The dining room table has a plywood top. For example, I had to push the legs for some of the kitchen chairs back together, otherwise they would have fallen apart. We also did not use any of the wardrobes as the smell was overpowering and did not want all our clothes to smell. We had a bug problem, various spiders, wood lice, plus a mold problem in the little Holland bathroom.

  • Review Submitted: 20-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry that Hollands was not what you’d imagined. Your comments are truly upsetting and unexpected – this is in fact the only complaint we’ve had in 10 years of booking through Owners Direct. People leave the kindest comments and funny stories in our guestbook. We are sorry our décor was not to your taste. Obviously this is not something we could change during your stay, but I’m sorry the hamper of local produce we sent you didn’t help make your stay enjoyable. The house dates back to the 1500s so is quirky. We deliberately fill it with historical objects. We like old things. Some of the antiques are a little weathered, it’s true, but that’s through decades of stories. Luckily, it seems most people like this too. The farmhouse kitchen chairs are a mismatched bunch. And the warmth of the Aga shrinks the wood, loosening the joints, so we are often repairing them. It sounds as though you found a couple of loose ones. My apologies. The cookware too is eclectic: some pans are stainless steel, some Le Creuset, some original aluminium Aga pans dating back 50 years. I personally love the Aga pans, but they’re not for everyone. The silver plate cutlery has been handed down the generations so is a medley of styles. You’d be lucky to find a matching set! I’m sorry you didn’t find the dining table - it is a fine Edwardian mahogany table. The plywood top you mention is used for playing table tennis. But I must take issue with you regarding cleanliness though. This is something we take very seriously. Sandra and her team are painstaking and do a wonderful job. We are very proud of their work. And the bedlinen is beautifully pressed. Our English cottage gardens are a bit wild, certainly, but we love them. There is a beautiful RHS garden nearby where I go when I seek perfection. I must agree with you though, some of the outdoor furniture was on its last legs. It’s now mostly been replaced you’ll be pleased to hear. For the record though, it is lichen on the picnic table, particularly beautiful and common to the rocks and slate roofs of North Devon because of the pure air quality here. The house is remote and surrounded by fields. The odd creepy-crawleys do creep in I’m afraid. I know it can be a surprise - my daughter is also squeamish. We thank you for your constructive, if harsh, criticism and will be sure to attend to each and every point. We do want all our guests to enjoy themselves here as much as we, our family and our friends do.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2

Wonderful Setting, beautiful home......could not recommend more highly

  • 5 of 5

An idyllic setting, with every comfort and facility that we could have wanted. We had a fantastic stay with family members, lots of fun and laughter. Perfect location for us, gardens were lovely. We will hope to be back soon.

  • Review Submitted: 08-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: recommended


We're in an Area of outstanding natural beauty. Beaches are a quick hop in the car. Our favourites are Instow 15 mins sandy, kids, very safe; Westward Ho & Northam Burrows 15 mins sandy, surfing, kids; Speke's Mill Mouth 20 mins rugged, unspoilt, perfect for experienced surfers; Saunton Sands 25 mins sandy, surfing, kids, Welcombe Mouth 30 mins rugged, unspoilt, rock pools and wonderful cliff walks; Saunton Sands 35 mins, sand dunes, surfing: Croyde 40 mins, sand, surfing: Sandy mouth, Cornwall 45 mins rugged, sand, surf, rock pools, beautiful cliffs.


Being so remote, a car is essential.


If you don't fancy a beach, there are plenty of amazing walks through Dartmoor and Exmoor National parks, along the South West coast path, Clovelly or closer to home in Littleham. Cycling enthusiasts will love the Tarka Trail, naturalists Lundy Island. Diving, sea fishing, game fishing and horse riding are all popular here. The weather isn't important in North Devon as there is so much to keep you occupied. Bideford is our nearest town 10 mins drive where you will find pubs and shops.

Further Details:

North Devon has become a haven for foodies too. Both Tom and I love good food so we've researched great pubs, restaurants and farmers' markets. Bideford has a number of lovely restaurants, Lathewells being one; great food, lovely staff in a very relaxed atmosphere. The Duke of Iddesleigh, delicious pub food in a beautiful old pub (won CAMRA best in North Devon).The Royal George , Appledore, serves great fish and has a lovely view of the water. The Coach and Horses, Buckland Brewer, good food, cider and darts. Further away, but worth it, is The Old Smithy at Welcombe, locally sourced food with a pretty beer garden (one of our favourites). In Appledore, you can buy fish straight from the boats. Bideford farmers' market has great local produce, Second and fourth Saturday of each month. Morrisons and Asda are 10 mins drive and Sainsbury's a 20 min drive. It's always worth checking out the Pannier markets in Bideford and Barnstaple for locally grown vegetables and produce.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Bideford, Devon

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Summer 2018
14 Jul 2018 - 7 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Autumn 2018
8 Sep 2018 - 2 Nov 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Winter 2018
3 Nov 2018 - 21 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Christmas & NYE 2018/19
22 Dec 2018 - 4 Jan 2019
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Winter 2019
5 Jan 2019 - 15 Mar 2019
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Spring 2019
16 Mar 2019 - 12 Jul 2019
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Summer 2019
13 Jul 2019 - 6 Sep 2019
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Autumn 2019
7 Sep 2019 - 1 Nov 2019
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £200

Booking Notes:
Contact Victoria by email for availability. We ask for a 25% deposit to secure the booking then the remainder 4 weeks before holiday. We send you via e-mail a Hollands Hand book and a things-to-do document so that you are well prepared for your stay.

Changeover Day:
Weekly bookings are Saturday 3pm to Saturday 10am but please ask - we're flexible when we can be. We also offer long weekends.

Notes on prices:
Long weekends are also available, based on a 4 day stay.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Ask Owner a Question