HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Large 4BR with 40' Private Dock on Pentwater Lake

People8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 2,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8), Private Dock

80 feet of lake frontage with a 40 foot dock for your private use. Full access to Lake Michigan for fishing or other sports. Two large family rooms (1 with wet bar and gas fireplace) provide plenty of room for everyone. Large dining room with gas fireplace. Open-air deck and 3-season room. Large picnic table on the basement patio. Over 2400 sq. ft. with views of Pentwater's famous sunsets from every room!

Enjoy shopping in the friendly local stores. Ice-fishing, snowmobiling, cross country skiing available in the winter. Only 1.5 hours from Crystal Mt. for great family skiing and snowboarding. (Contact owner for winter availability.) Festivals, art fairs, band concerts on the Village Green in the summer.

Keywords: House, dock

More Details

Owner
Caroline Denlar
Member since: 2006
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
7 August, 2017

About Caroline Denlar

Originally from Bethesda, MD outside of Washington, DC. Teacher in Waverly Schools outside of Lansing and Executive Secretary at Blue Cross 1970-1994 in Lansing, MI. Permanently moved to Pentwater in 1997. Moved into Mack Place Condos in town (by the blue water tower) in 2005 and opened up the Lakehouse for rentals. Used to sail up and down Lake Michigan shoreline from 1972-1982.

Caroline Denlar purchased this house in 1982

Why Caroline Denlar chose Pentwater

Bought this property in 1982 because it was on Pentwater Lake. Beautiful view in the fall! Easy acces to town.

What makes this house unique

Private 40' dock right outside your door. Easy access to the Expressway and also to the village of Pentwater. Walking distance to Boathouse Bar and Grille for excellent pizza, soup and sandwiches. Many, many amenities provided to make it feel "just like home!"

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Pentwater in Oceana County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , On main floor.
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , On lower level.
  • Sinks in each bathroom. Towels provided.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , on main floor
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , on main floor
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed , on main floor
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed , on lower level with own sink, shower, toilet
  • Queen size Beds (3) Two upper level bedrooms have Queen beds. One lower level bedroom has a Queen bed. , Twin or Single Beds (2) 1 upper level bedroom has 2 twin beds.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Player
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • Miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • Parasailing
  • sailing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Games, Puzzles, Books, Color Books, etc. available. Guest book with lists of restauants, shops, activites in the area, etc.

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(13 traveller reviews)

100% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Large 4BR with 40' Private Dock on Pentwater Lake
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews
Hudsonville, MI
5

Beautiful, fully stocked, very clean home with air conditioning.

  • 5 of 5

This was our second year staying at Denlar's. We love the location and the property. Caroline takes good care of us and is very warm and friendly. She always leaves a yummy treat. We can walk to The Boathouse for the best soup around, which we did several times. Pentwater is a great town and area.

  • Review Submitted: 22-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! I'm glad the Stair Glide helped getting in and out of the house for some of you. Yes, the Boathouse Bar and Grille definitely offers excellent homemade soup. We look forward to seeing you all again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Pentwater home

  • 5 of 5

The home and the area was awesome. The owner was great and very helpful. Love the area and a great experience. My grandsons loved having ability to fish when ever they wanted. Great place for our family get together.

  • Review Submitted: 29-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for being such conscientious guests! We're delighted you had a good time and the boys enjoyed fishing off the dock. We hope you choose to return on future vacations.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5

This house was great for our mini family vacation. We had 5 adults and 2 toddlers. Everyone had their own space and the rooms were very comfortable. There is plenty of space for everyone to relax. The 3 season porch overlooking the lake was a great place to hang out, catching the breeze from the lake and avoiding the bugs. Caroline has the house so well organized and filled with anything you could want, from games and coloring books for the kids to tons of beach toys, blankets, and towels. The kitchen was especially well organized, making it easy to find things when preparing meals. She really goes above and beyond to make sure the house is ready for you when you arrive. We got in late in the evening and she stopped by to turn on the outside lights and A/C prior to our arrival and left us a plate of homemade cookies (a big hit with my 2 year old). We had a great weekend exploring the Pentwater River and Lake on our kayaks and having the dock to pull up to when we were finished paddling was really nice. The house is a short, easy bike ride into town or a 5 minute drive, so we were able to explore there and get the things we needed easily. I highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a place in Pentwater or near the Silver Lake area, mostly because Caroline is a gracious hostess who really makes sure her guests are content throughout their stay. She is easy to reach if you need something and even sent me back my son's baby blanket that was accidentally left. We will definitely be back to Pentwater and wouldn't hesitate to rent this same house again. Thanks Caroline!

  • Review Submitted: 10-Sep-2015
  • Date of Stay: September 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you had a good time! Thank you for the kind words. Come again to enjoy all that Pentwater has to offer.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Washington Twosnhip, MI
5

Lovely Lake Home

  • 5 of 5

This home was perfect for our three generation visit and was immaculate upon arrival. The location is really great, minutes to downtown and right on the lake. The dock on the property enabled us to launch nearby and then have the boat at the house available for cruises on Pentwater Lake and Lake Michigan. It is hard to think of things to add to previous reviews, but I must mention again how accommodating and helpful Caroline, the owner, was throughout our stay. She is one in a million, and I highly recommend staying at her house.

  • Review Submitted: 05-Sep-2015
  • Date of Stay: August 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: You have a delightful family! I'm so glad you had a chance to visit this side of our beautiful state and that you all had a fun time together. Come see us again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome Vacation!

  • 5 of 5

I look at reviews every time I rent a place and I can say that the reviews listed are spot on, but I would like to add to them.

This was our 15th rental and I would rate it at the top of my list. The home was perfect for our group of 6, but could easily accommodate 8 or more. It was decorated nicely and spotless when we arrived. It had everything we needed and more. The beds and furniture were comfortable and the view beautiful. Wifi and air conditioning worked well. Two fridges were good to have. We spent our days travelling in the area and boating on the lake (best sunsets ever). Loved that the lake channeled out into lake Michigan and went for a boat ride to Silver Lake to see the dune buggies and jeeps on the sand dunes. Enjoyed the Farmer's market on Mon. and Thurs. and downtown Pentwater. Dinners were spent at home, ladies on the deck, boys barbecuing.

What made this stay especially nice was the owner. Caroline is friendly, accommodating and very helpful. She even sewed a tear in our boat cover! The cookies were a great treat.

In all my rentals, she was by far the most easiest and kindest person to work with. Definitely hope to visit again!

  • Review Submitted: 09-Aug-2015
  • Date of Stay: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm glad you had such a good time and enjoyed the Lakehouse. We appreciate that you noticed our efforts to maintain a clean, safe and fun environment for guests visiting our lovely area. Thank you for sharing some of your adventures as you have traveled around our beautiful state. I think you've been more places than I have! I know you enjoy trying different places to stay as you travel, but we would love to have you stay with us again sometime. Thank you for being such wonderful guests!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
St. Louis, MO
5

Loved Our Stay

  • 5 of 5

We could not have enjoyed our stay more. The location is fantastic - close to terrific state parks in Pentwater and Ludington. We used our paddle boards almost every day exploring Pentwater Lake and the Pentwater River. The layout of the house is perfect - our two boys had their own spaces upstairs while we enjoyed the quiet of the downstairs. Caroline, the property's owner, is a wonderful person - genuine and kind. Her homemade cookies were a hit! Would we rent from her again? ABSOLUTELY!!!!

  • Review Submitted: 19-Jul-2015
  • Date of Stay: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was such fun getting to know you and I really enjoyed meeting your 2 sons. Wonderful young men!. You were all so busy enjoying the lake and surroundings it made me realize and appreciate even more the beauty of where I live. Thank you for sharing with me.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Muskegon 40 miles, Grand Rapids 90 miles
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Boathouse Bar and Grille
Nearest Motorway
1.5 Miles
US 31 North
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Boathouse Bar and Grille
Nearest Ski
70 Miles
Crystal Mountain, Thompsonville, MI
Nearest Beach
2.5 Miles
Charles Mears State Park, Pentwater, MI
Car: necessary

Sandcastle Children's Museum in Ludington, MI

Petting Zoo in New Era, MI

Pentwater Historical Museum in Pentwater, MI

Jet Ski and Pontoon Boat Rental in town.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Pentwater, Michigan

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£1,392
for 7 nights
£1,392
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £150.1
Tax Rate 6.0%

No renter or visitor pets allowed on the property - inside or out. Strict limit of 8 overnight guests. Limited parking area: oversized boat trailers may need to be stored elsewhere. Call owner for information.

Reservation/damage deposit is due within 1 week of reservation. Final payment is due no later than 30 days before start of vacation. Payment is by personal check to: Denlar Lakefront Rental.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Available
Unavailable
This calendar has not been updated in over 2 months and the availability shown may not be accurate.

You might like these similar holiday rentals