HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

'Paula Deen House' Stay Where She Started Her Business 3 Bedr

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

**Come visit Paula Deen's house where she started her business!!!!

Lovely Single family house in the Mid-town area.

Enjoy the kitchen that a famous Food Network Cook and Hostess started her business in; 'Paula's Home Cooking'. Then stop at her

Restaurant 'The Lady and Son's' in Town for one of the Best meals

ever. Southern Cooking is here. There are some of the best

restaurants in the South located in this city. Also the trolley

tours of Old Savannah and of course the River Front.

Come on Down and Enjoy Y'all.

Beds:

Queen

Queen

King

Savannah International Airport: 15 mins

Central Air Conditioning

Keywords: Single Family House

More Details

Owner
Ed
Member since: 1999
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
24 May, 2017

About Ed

I grew up in the Philadelphia area and graduated from Temple University majoring in Architecture. I currently live on Long Beach Island, New Jersey. We currently have 4 rental properties from Florida to New Jersey.

Ed purchased this house in 2006

Why Ed chose Savannah

My daughter graduated from Savannah College of Art and Design with a masters in Architecture. She was the inspiration for the purchase of this house and lived here while attending college.

What makes this house unique

Paula Deen lived here during the mid 1990's and started here business as the bag lady. Working in her kitchen and sending Bobby and Jamie out on their bikes to serve bag lunches to the local businesses in downtown Savannah.

Guestbook comments from the owner

The Paula Deen house has been the Best Place to stay. The house has everything we needed. We utilized every part of this house with our 7 people and the back yard was a unanimous favorite.

The house is close to everything.

We were surprised by the trolley stopping in front of the house. That made everyone more excited that we were staying here.

On one of our adventures we stumbled across the gift shop for Paula's store and discovered that she was doing a book signing and we were able to meet with Paula and her family!

We shared with them where were staying and they were all excited. Jamie even said he might come over and knock on the door, that he hasn't been there in 20+ years.

We enjoyed the Lady and Sons for dinner the next night. Then Saturday for lunch, we saw Paula and family at Chick Fila.

This has been the "Best Vacation Ever".
Jul 2014
  • 1 of 3

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Ardmore/Gould Estates/Olin Heights in Midtown

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Player
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • Boating
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • Parasailing
  • sailing
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
King, Queen, Queen bedding in 3 bedrooms

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(58 traveller reviews)

'Paula Deen House' Stay Where She Started Her Business 3 Bedr
average rating of 4.465517 based on 61 reviews
5

cozy,clean, comfortable

  • 5 of 5

we rented this property for a wedding in Savannah.

We had 8 people in our party.

I loved the house. It had everything we needed.

we enjoyed coffee at the outside table.

We enjoyed our stay. would recommend this place.

  • Review Submitted: May 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Paula your home rocks

  • 5 of 5

Clean, homie, comfortable. Kitchen very nostalgic and stocked well with all essentials. Highly recommend for 6 adults. All bedrooms were clean and comfortable

  • Review Submitted: May 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quaint

  • 5 of 5

Ed,

Thank you for allowing us to rent your house. We had a great time. We went to Tybee Island and swam, then to the Crabshack and ate and fed the alligators. We went to Ft. Puloski and Ft. Jackson. Stopped by Juliett Gordon Low's house (girl scouts), then sauntered around downtown Savannah until we found an original restaurant, Spanky's and ate. We Woke up Sunday and worshiped at the Cathedral of St. John the Baptist which is magnificent church!

Each night we came back to the house to visit and play games.

The only issue(s) if you call it that: Kitchen needs more lighting (Owner advised there were unnoticed dimmer-slides next to switches). The fish pond needs more water. Seems the fish are spending time at the top which indicates need of oxygen (owner was going to add water - there's been little rain lately), and the loose-leaf pages you mentioned were not found (owner was going to locate/replace).

We had a great time. Thank you again.

  • Review Submitted: May 2, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We had a wonderful time. The house was so convenient to historic Savannah and Tybee Island.

  • 5 of 5

The house was so comfortable and quaint. We felt like we were staying at one of our family's home. We especially enjoyed the patio - we ate our breakfasts and dinners out there. So relaxing. We highly recommend this property to anyone wanting to visit Savannah in a relaxing way.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 3, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Disappointing stay.

  • 2 of 5

This property has the potential to be a charming place to stay. Unfortunately, the owners have not maintained it adequately. The location, in a quiet residential neighborhood, was very nice and convenient. However, the kitchen was disappointing. Paula Deen would probably be appalled to know the kitchen where she started her business did not have a working stove. The stove is there, and is gas, but was not plugged in. There was an inexpensive extension cord, but we did not feel it was safe to use that for a gas stove. The refrigerator door handle was barely holding on. One of our party reattached the loose end with a hairpin. The icemaker does not work, but in defense of the owner, there was a bag of ice and some plastic ice trays. There is a portable dishwasher, but we chose to wash our dishes by hand, rather than roll it across the kitchen. The bathroom linen closet had cardboard on the floor, and cleaning products lying around. It gave the general impression of being dirty.

As I said, the potential is there, but the property gives an overall impression of shabbiness.

Before giving this review, I reached out to the owner in the event he was unaware of some of these problems. He has not responded, indicating he had no interest in rectifying the issues. As a result, I felt compelled to give an honest review.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 2, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry, I did reach out to you and I did respond by email. You un-plugged the range making the range un-usable. There is not an extension cord. It was the range plug. You un-plugged it. We have replaced the refrigerator, thanks to your input. I am sorry you didn't contact me at the time the problem occurred. We are very responsive to problems and would have sent someone immediately to correct any deficiency you may have had. You chose not to contact me and write this review. Thank you for your review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Place

  • 5 of 5

I stayed here with a bachelorette party (8 women) for the St. Patrick's Day Rugby Tournament. The house was super roomy and adorable, it was perfect for us! It was less than a mile from Daffin Park and about a 10-15 min ride from River Street. It was the perfect location. Everything was clean and well organized. I would definitely recommend this house!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Savannah International
Nearest Beach
15 Miles
Tybee Island Atlantic Ocean Beach
Car: necessary

Located within 7 minutes of the Historic District and River Street and a short drive to Tybee Island the house is is in a quiet neighborhood with free parking for 4 cars.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Ardmore/Gould Estates/Olin Heights, Coastal Georgia

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
2017
14 Apr 2017 - 31 Jul 2018
3 night minimum stay
£683
for 3 nights
From
£191
£1,419
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning and booking £96.63 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available
Unavailable

Special Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar holiday rentals