HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Warren Dunes - Large 2 Br-2 Bath, Hot Tub, Wbfpl , Next To Wineries

People10
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10

This metal sided lodge with a metal roof was once offices for a construction company. The owners happened to be our landlords when we rented their cottage across the field. We fell in love with the 2000 acre park behind us and wanted to create our own space.

Since we renovate homes for a living, we were able to collect a lot of items along the way that didn't fit someone else's vision for their new space. There was also the mismeasured door or cabinet or window that needed a new home. All of these lovely items found a new home in our converted structure.The screened porch was a covered dirt floor for lumber. Our great room was a garage and the bedrooms were offices.As you can see from the pictures, it has come a long way.

It is hard to get the experience of feeling you are a million miles away from everything unless you take out a second mortgage on your home and head to the Polynesian Islands. Fortunately for us, we found this crown jewel of a 2000 acre park called Warren Dunes on the lake one hour and twenty minutes from Chicago. We are on the North end of the park away from the main entrance so it is like owning your own private estate on the lake. We hardly run into a soul all year round. Since we can not enjoy all the time ourselves, we decided to share the secret with you..

More Details

Owner
Patti Navilio
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
21 August, 2017

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Bridgman in Berrien County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • recreation centre
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(11 traveller reviews)

81% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
Warren Dunes - Large 2 Br-2 Bath, Hot Tub, Wbfpl , Next To Wineries
average rating of 4.6363635 based on 11 reviews
5

Comfortable, Clean and Beautiful

  • 5 of 5

We loved the place! When we arrived there were several vases of fresh flowers. The place is decorated nicely and we had plenty of room for two adults and two children. The beds were comfortable and everything was very clean - one of the cleanest rentals in which I have stayed. We loved the big screened-in porch and had breakfast there each morning. We would love to come back and have a fire out on the porch the evening when it's a little cooler outside. The location is great. We walked to the dunes from the house one morning and the view at the top was beautiful. It was a short drive to the main entrance to Warren Dunes. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying and I am happy you enjoyed our home. One of my favorite times is winter with a roaring fire going all day long in the living room and jumping in the hot tub from time to time. So please come back in the winter and my rates than are half my summer rates!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great rental in Bridgman!

  • 5 of 5

We LOVED staying at the Birds of a Feather rental this past weekend. It was a perfect meeting place for our group of friends as some of us are from Detroit and others are from Chicago. The property is close to the wineries and the beach-they location CANNOT be beat! The home was clean and had everything we needed to make us feel right at home! Lastly, the screened in porch and hot tub were amazing and so relaxing to use. Patti/Owner was available almost immediately when we had questions which we really appreciated. Thanks for everything Patti!!!! We will definitely be staying here again in the future!!!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 26, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying and I hope to see you soon. I am so glad that you and your friends enjoyed my house and took advantage of everything the location offers. Every year there are more wineries, craft breweries, excellent dining choices and eclectic shops. It has gotten better every year in the seventeen years I have been coming up here. I am glad you took advantage of the beach trail which is the main reason we bought that house.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cincinnati, Ohio
4

Great spaces and personality.

  • 4 of 5

This place was big and as pretty as the pictures! It has great beds, mattresses and sheets.We slept well! It was a comfortable for our family, four adults and two children. Tons of linens and kitchen essentials were there already. The owner has a generous spirit and responded quickly to my questions. I withheld a star for cleanliness, but since I am not a neat freak I felt right at home among the dust bunnies. Beds and space are my priorities and this place was a winner for our family.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 22, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying and I am happy you were comfortable in my home.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Weekend getaway for 9 friends

  • 5 of 5

This place was awesome for me and my group of friends celebrating a birthday! Just a 20 minute walk from the house through some beautiful sand dunes takes you out to a quiet part of the beach. The sunset from the top of the dunes is unbeatable! The hot tub and fireplace set a very nice and relaxing mood. There is currently alot of construction going on around the property but with all the fences and nice landscaping we hardly noticed it. We had 9 people so we had to use almost all the extra sleeping space (the rollaway beds, and the pullout couch). It definitely worked for a weekend getaway with people who didn't mind sharing sleeping space, but it was very cramped with all the beds out in the living room. Patti was very welcoming and helpful. Hope to be able to go back one day!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 15, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying and I am so happy you enjoyed the house and the beach trail. I hope to see your soon. Perhaps a spring fling when it is warm and you can enjoy the spring pricing which is almost half of summer!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Decent but disappointing experience

  • 2 of 5

Overall, the "inside" property is decent but the outside had no curb appeal and was unkept. There were two new properties being built on the same land adjacent to where we were staying; same ownership. We were not made aware of this until the evening before. There were electrical cords, lumber, tools, and light fixtures on the grounds surrounding our rental. Construction workers were onsite 8 AM to approximately 7 PM for the three days we were there with their hammers and saws. We felt like the owner needed a little more time to prepare for our arrival. The backyard had not been mowed with foot high weeds everywhere which hindered us being outside on the property with our pet because of the mosquitoes and ticks. The small fenced in patio as we entered the home was also overgrown with weeds and branches which I cleaned up so we could use the fire pit for a couple of hours. In addition, we could not get an Internet connection even when we had the owner come inside to assist and left indicating we would be fine but it was still not working.

In summary, if you're staying "inside" the home at all times, the property is decent and there was an outstanding screened in porch with a hot tub. The home is also located two blocks from the hiking trails and the dunes which was a very positive experience. The outside of the property was just very disappointing with construction workers and the messy yard which hindered our overall experience of the rental property.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 4, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry that these guests had to experience the house with construction going on that hindered their asthetic experience outside.The reason the yard had not been mowed was because it had been raining for a week straight prior to their arrival.Fortunately for anyone coming now, the work of the other two lodges is complete and the debris is gone. The landscaping is maintained regularly by a crew. I wasn't aware of any problem with the internet. They told me they couldn't get the TV working and I came in to fix that. I am sorry that they choose to write a review instead of asking me to address any issues for them. I will bend over backwards to make sure my guests are happy.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Mother's Day Retreat

  • 5 of 5

Brought out my family (30 week pregnant wife, father-in-law, 2 year old son, 1 year old daughter, & 2 boxer dogs) for a mini vacay and there was ample room for all of us. Patti went above and beyond to give us information on the town and things to do. I went for a hike to the beach with the dogs and loved the dunes.

We hit the hot tub in the evening and had a wood fire going outside. Peaceful & afforded a time to relax and connect. We all agreed that the beds were very comfortable. Everyone had a massage from Evolve Spa in the rental as there is a massage table. We recommend Alex - she did a great job! There was a lot of glass we needed to pick up higher to childproof the place, but all in all there was everything we needed there. Again, Patti was wonderful and we would recommend to friends and family.

  • Review Submitted: May 14, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Train
15 Miles
New Buffalo Station-Amtrak
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Warren Dunes
Car: necessary

I back up to the 2000 acre park called Warren Dunes. I am also in the middle of all the wineries.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Bridgman, Michigan

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Peak Summer
5 Jul 2017 - 24 Aug 2017
1 night minimum stay
£267
for 1 night
From
£185
From
£329
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,562
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £16 per night, per additional guest
 
Late Summer
25 Aug 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
1 night minimum stay
£206
for 1 night
From
£123
From
£226
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,315
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £16 per night, per additional guest
 
Labor Day
1 Sep 2017 - 4 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,069
for 3 nights
From
£329
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £16 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall
5 Sep 2017 - 5 Nov 2017
2 night minimum stay
£329
for 2 nights
From
£123
From
£226
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,192
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
£173
for 1 night
From
£90
From
£160
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£822
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £77.55
Additional Guest Fee £7.75 per person per night
Pet Fee £23.26

60 day cancellation required for refund

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals